Customer Reviews for WEATHERBY Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle

WEATHERBY Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle

Weatherby’s Series 2 takes the proven advantage of their popular Vanguard action and gives it a whole new look, feel and level of performance. Every Vanguard Series 2 is guaranteed to shoot Sub-MOA (.99" or less at 100 yards) right out of the box when used with specified Weatherby factory or premium ammunition. The match-quality, two-stage trigger has no creep and adjusts down to 2.5 lbs. The lightweight, composite Monte Carlo Griptonite™ stock is impervious to weather and features a pistol grip and forend inserts. It also has a right-side palm swell to enhance shooting comfort. Matte-blue bead-blasted finish reduces glare. Three-position safety.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 out of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Review 1 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy one

Date:December 7, 2014
I can afford nice rifles, so I'm not one who's always casting about for something cheap yet reliable. However, I specifically bought this one for a "beater" because I don't like taking my showroom perfect Mod. 70 Supergrade (made in 1949) out in the rain. So I was merely hoping for an adequate rifle, nothing special. This baby has exceeded my expectations to a dizzying degree. I really like the 3-position safety (and the fact that it locks the bolt--a feature missing from the Ruger American I bought it to replace, since I was constantly knocking the bolt partway open on that one--very irritating). If you're not bothered by two-stage triggers--and I'm not--the Vanguard has a good one. Take up is light to the breaking point, which is very definite and has no creep. I would guess it's around 3 pounds or so. Smoothness of the bolt, and the way it strips the a round off the top and chambers it without any catches or clunkiness, is more similar to that of a well-broken-in rifle, not one I just took out of the box. I like that it has a floorplate style magazine, which is easy to open when you mean to but won't open accidentally. It has a nice, more-than-adequate recoil pad and the stock, while not particularly attractive, is grippy where it needs to be and probably well-nigh impossible to break. Finally, it's as accurate as advertised. After a proper barrel break-in/cleaning regimen, I shot a perfect 3/4" cloverleaf with my favorite 30-06 handload (a 165-grain TTSX over 53 grains of H414, if anyone's curious). This is more rifle than one has a right to expect for the money, and with an Alaskan Guide scope (another EXCELLENT value), it's going to be more than a satisfactory hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle at a good price

Date:November 12, 2014
My wife gave this to me as a gift for our 10yr anniversary and I could not be happier with it. The rifle is in 300 win mag with a Leupold scope to top it off. The fit and finish are of good quality for the price range and the action is very smooth. Most of the rifles that I was able to shoot before this were older with the triggers that had lots of creep. The trigger in the Vangaurd did take a couple of times to get use to but it is great once you know where the travel stops and the clean break will happen. It did meet the Sub MOA with good Hornady ammo that can be bought over the counter. I can not say enough good things about this rifle/scope combo. If you are on the fence about buying one of these rifles you will not be disappointed at the range with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great out of the box accuracy!

Date:August 7, 2014
I have 3 Vanguard2s, 2 in 6.5 Creedmoor and 1 in 223. The 1st 6.5 Creedmoor that I bought is the most accurate out of the box rifle with factory ammunition that I've owned. Sub-MOA groups were the norm with Hornady factory ammunition. The Vanguard2 isn't a light rifle, but I'm too old to speed-climb mountains, so the few ounces of extra weight aren't a major negative factor for me. I am a "tinkerer", in that I seldom leave a rifle in its original factory specs, and have swapped the stocks on all 3 rifles. I swapped to the Boyds Prairie Hunter style laminated stocks on a 6.5 Creed and the 223 and to a McMillan Sako Hunter on the 2nd 6.5 Creed.
Note that Weatherby changed the rifling rate of twist in the 223s from 1 turn in 12" to 1 turn in 9" so that heavier bullets could be used. I was told that the change happened at serial number VB084281, with the higher serial numbered 223 rifles having the quicker rate of twist.
I would highly recommend the Vanguard2 to anyone looking for a very accurate factory specs hunting rifle in its price range, particularly so if you're looking for a 6.5 Creedmoor or a quick-twist 223.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good gun for price

Date:April 20, 2014
I purchased Weatherby Vanguard2 0.270 this spring. I am happy with the gun overall. Last year I purchased a Savage Trophy Hunter 111/11 for deer hunting. So here is my comparison between those two from my usage experience:
Accuracy: Both rifles are very accurate.
Material: Weatherby is made from superior material.
Recoil: Weatherby is slightly heavier but has considerable lower felt recoil for same caliber.
Design: I liked Weatherby design overall, its cheek support with stock is really great while shooting. Both rifle has nice trigger and very smooth bolt. Only advantage Savage has over weatherby is that Savage 111 rifle barrel is not attached with stock and has little gap between barrel and stock which allows barrel to cool down faster. But that faster cooling really did not give me any use when hunting deer where only first one or two shot matters. Overall, weatherby design gives less felt recoil, much comfortable and pleasant feeling when I hold, target and shoot.
Price: For rifle+scope, Weatherby costs about $100-150 more than Savage (if you already have a scope then both rifle will cost same).
Both are great guns for cheap price, great for carrying in field and hunting. However, I would recommend weatherby because of it's nicer design, lesser felt recoil, superior material and better feeling when holding+targeting+shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Weatherby® Vanguard is an Excellent Rifle

Date:February 21, 2014
I own two of these rifles. 30-06 and 270 caliber. I am lookig to get another one soon. They both shoot great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle, but heavy

Date:January 2, 2014
I have owned a 7mm rem mag since 2002. I like the firearm, but generally opt for a lighter rifle on my hunts as I do a lot of walking. I replaced the trigger on mine as the original trigger was horrible. However, weatherby has since corrected this problem and now the triggers are satisfactory. My rifle had horrible accuracy with the dozen factory loads I tried. With reloads, I could shoot 5 round 3/4" groups at 200 yds. Any negative review of accuracy would be based on factory loads, which I experienced up to 9" groups at 100 yards. I could rant about factory bullets, but that is not the gun's fault. If you are serious about hunting and ever shoot past 100 yds, then start reloading as all factory rounds pale compared to good reloads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love It

Date:December 29, 2013
I got my Vanguard S2 in .30-06 this summer on sale and couldn't be happier. Thing is definitely deadly accurate. I sited it in at the range and then took it out to the desert for some fun, I was busting soda cans at 250+ yards, every shot. Took my first deer with it in November, love it.
Forget about the rem 700, get one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Gun!!!

Date:December 26, 2013
I bought this gun in a .30-06 and is the best hunting rifle i have ever owned. I take this gun Bear, Elk, Deer, and cougar hunting and i have never had a problem with it. I got mine in Stainless steal which I'm not sure if its available still.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle!!

Date:December 6, 2013
Bought this rifle a few weeks back for my son, had a Zeiss scope put on it and it was bore sighted at Cabela's. Took it to the range and fired 3 shots inside of an inch. (after moving it 8 inches right) I am contemplating buying the Mark 5 for myself, (mostly because I want the lefthand model) but I may look into this one instead. Great Gun!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first Weatherby

Date:November 27, 2013
Checked it out in the store on a Friday and really liked the fit & finish but was skeptical about the 1 MOA claim but I bought it, took it home and stripped it down & cleaned & lubed it. Over the weekend loaded up some low power .308 rounds to use for "break in" (R-P brass & Hornady 110 Gr SP with 35 Gr H4198) & Monday took it out to the range for scope zero and "break in". OAT @ 45 F with a 10 MPH X-wind and fired four 3 shot strings @ 50 yards with barrel cooling between strings. Moved target to 100 yards and fired 4 shot group, did final adjustment to scope and fired final 4 rounds with the resulting 1/2" wide X 1/4" high group (see picture). This just became my favorite rifle and the most accurate in my stable. The price was right and Weatherby's claims all justified. Can't wait to work up some "real" hunting rounds with heavier bullets!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As Advertised

Date:November 23, 2013
New to hunting and wanted something reliable. Have 2 friends that have one so I knew what I was getting. Did look at a couple of others but this just felt right. It has the smoothest action out of everything I tried and was the most comfortable. About the only thing I didn't like was that it doesn't come with a box mag option immediately. Will be getting the kit for that soon.
After I got home and cleaned it up I went to the range and only a few minutes and it was dialed in. Cant wait for hunting season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent rifle

Date:October 18, 2013
Two years ago I purchased on of these rifles in .257 Wby Mag. A few rounds after I zeroed the scope, the rifle began making 3-shot groups way smaller than 1" in size with 100gn Barnes TSXs, thenn 110gn Nosler Accubonds, and then 120gn Nosler Partition bullets. The two-stage trigger is the best of its kind, in my opinion. No adjustments were needed on the trigger. For the price, you cannot beat this rifle for accuracy and reliability. Simple.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding hunting rifle

Date:September 7, 2013
I'd been wanting to buy a 30-06 hunting rifle for several years to provide a little more downrange energy on elk than my Howa Model 1500 in .270.
After looking at quiet a few 30-06 rifles in 30-06, I finally stumbled across the Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 and was pleasantly surprised at the feel and fit (for me) of this rifle. As the barrel and action are made by Howa (my .270 is a sub 3/4" shooter), I believed that the shooting characteristics would be excellent...and I wasn't disappointed.
I'm not a believer in "barrel break-in" as I've never done it on any rifle I've ever owned and have had great accuracy from all of them.
That said, I took three sets of ammunition and my new Weatherby Vanguard to the range. The amunition included Federal 150g Sierra Game King BTSP, Federal 180g Vital Shok Nosler Accubonds, and my hand loaded 165g Nosler Accubonds.
The Federal Sierra Game Kings produced a 5 shot group at 1.05" with 3 rounds clover-leafed. The Federal Vital Shok had a 5 shot group at .905". The handloaded 165g Nosler Accubonds (5 rounds) grouped at .82" with a 3 shot cloverleaf. These were shot after an initial barrel cleaning, but with the gun being brand new and unfired to that point.
I couldn't be happier with my purchase and the experience only re-enforced my belief in any barrel/action made by Howa.
Buy this rifle. Fit, function and finish are great and you will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Rifle!

Date:June 14, 2013
I can't imagine a better rifle for the money. I have had zero problems with my .257 Weatherby Mag and absolutely love it. Whoever can't drive tacks with this baby should hang up their guns. The .257 WBY Mag is like shooting a laser beam. I have the rifle zeroed at 200 yards with 100 gr spire points but have taken game ranging from a 350 lb boar at 25 yards to a blackbuck antelope that I drilled through the eye at 608 yards without changing a thing on my scope. I just held a touch high and dropped the antelope. I have even taken elk at 200 yards with the 100 gr spire points. How can you not love 3602 fps muzzle velocity with a 100 gr bullet?? I have also bought this model in .30-06 so my son can shoot the reduced recoil 125 gr cartridges and am buying the .22-250 for varmint hunting next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rifle

Date:April 23, 2013
I purchased the weatherby vanguard s2 chambered in .243. I had read a lot of reviews on how accurate this rifle is and decided to buy it. I put a leupold vx3-Low mount scope on it and went to sight it in. At this price I expected reasonable accuracy not great. I bought several factory loads in different weights and different bullets to see what shot best. the worst group was a 1.5 inch 5 shot group and the best was a .480 5 shot group with factory 85 grain ammo. these groups were with 10 minutes between shots with bolt open to allow to cool barrel to same temps for each shot. with consecutive strings of fire and a hot barrel groups opened up to right at 1.7 inches average group. I took the rifle with me to the farm a few weeks ago to see how it does long range and was amazed. I was consistantly hitting water bottles the size of a ground hog at 400 yards. this rifle is now one of my favorite and I have quite a few.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vanguard 2

Date:December 28, 2012
I took my Vanguad 2 300 WBY. to the range right after my purchase and broke in the barrel by firing and cleaning after each shot for 12 rounds, the first 3 shot group with Weatherby factory 165 gr. TSX you could cover with a dime, harvested a deer this year what more could you ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic tack driver

Date:December 17, 2012
This is the first item I think I have ever reviewed but was so impressed I had to leave my opinion. First of all the complete purchase experience was first rate. I started out looking for a new scope. The Cabela's associate was fantastic. After looking at a few choices he told me about a door buster deal that was on it's last day. A Zeiss Conquest 3x9x40 in matte finish on sale for 1/2 price. I had originally wanted a higher magnification but after discussing my hunting preferences he suggested we go outside and try out the 9 power. After ranging items past 550 yards and still not needing anything higher than the 9 power, I was sold. Not to mention the clarity of the Zeiss. Had this associate not gone above and beyond to make sure I was experiencing the real life features on the Zeiss I might have chosen something else that I would not be happy with.
But this review is about the Weatherby. Not sure if the reviewer that gave it 1 star read the guarantee was with premium ammo or not but I beg to differ. First I bought the S2 in 300 Win Mag for a Wyoming elk hunt next year. I have other calibers that would take down an elk but wanted the extra umpf of the 300. I have to say this purchase which was a week later than the scope was just as nice. Took the rifle home and mounted the Zeiss with some Warne HD mounts( a great choice). Then had to wait nearly a week to get to the range with a buddy to sight it in. Let the range master bore sight it and he put two shots on paper at 50 yards. I took it to the 100 yard mark and my 4th round found center of the bulls eye. I fired off two more rounds and forget 1" moa, you could cover the last three shots with a dime. My cartridge selection was Federal Premium 180 grain Barnes Triple Shock bullet. This my second Vanguard. The first being a wood stock beauty in 25-06. I am sold on Weatherby and the Cabelas in Allen, TX!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rifle

Date:December 2, 2012
Bought this rifle in 308 Winchester and took it to the range today to sight it in with a Leapold VX1, 3x9x40 scope. It is definitely a MOA rifle. 3/4 inch groups at 100 yards with Remington 150 grain Core Lokt softpoints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great!

Date:November 21, 2012
I bought the Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 in .270. It is my first hunting rifle, and I am thrilled with how well it shoots. After sighting in the scope, I have been able to shoot 3 shot groups at 100yds that measure LESS than 1 inch. Not just once, but consistently. I would recommend this rifle to anyone looking for the best bang for the buck (pun intended!).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weatherby® Vanguard® Series 2 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome shooter!!!!

Date:November 6, 2012
I mounted my scope and bore sighted it and headed to the range with some hand loads that shoot well in my Mark V in 257 WBY. mag. Set up my target at 100 yards hoping to at least be on paper with the first shot.
Set the rifle in the led sled, lined her up and fired the first round. My eyes aren't what they used to be and with no spotting scope I looked through the 9x rifle scope for a hole. Thought I saw something about six inches high and four inches left. Fired another shot, looked through the scope again, only saw the same spot. Fired again, looked, same spot. Figured I had to move the target back to 50 yards and spend a lot of time at the range that day.
I walked down to the target and I couldn't believe what I saw. That spot was one ragged hole where three bullets has passed through!
Went back to the bench made some adjustments and can now shoot dime sized groups all day long.
Now the Mark V stays in the safe and the Vanguard 2 goes hunting with me in all kinds of weather.
Could't ask for a better shooting rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25