Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun

WINCHESTER Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun

Wingshooters and shotgun enthusiasts around the world can agree the Winchester 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun is one of the hardest-working over/under shotguns around. Staying true to our love of fine shotguns (and great values), Cabela’s proudly offers this exclusive version of the American-designed, Belgian-made classic at a no-frills price. The oil-finished walnut stock and forend have an exclusive shape and checkering, along with subdued receiver engraving. These features blend together for a vintage, 101 game-gun look and feel. Single trigger with tang safety/selector. Includes improved cylinder, modified and full choke tubes. 12 ga. Barrel length: 28". Length of pull: 14-1⁄4". Wt: 7.2 lbs. Chamber: 3".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Review 1 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Sacramento CA.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value for your money.

Date:January 11, 2012
I have this gun and have shot 1,000s of targets with it with no problems. It functions well with any kind of load
heavy or light. Installed extended chokes made a big difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bellevue AB
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester 101

Date:January 13, 2012
I have a 10 year old Winchester Supreme- the same gun as the current 101, made in Belgium , with Invector+ chokes, and the 26 inch barrels. It has been an excellent gun for pheasants and ducks. At 7 lbs, it isn't the lightest o/u around, but the weight results in mild recoil with field loads, and noticeable but manageable recoil with 3 inch high speed magnums for waterfowl. Like all o/u 's, the barrels do not shoot to the same point of impact. The lower barrel shoots slightly high-just right for rising birds, and the upper barrel shoots dead on . After 10 years, I find this gun to be too heavy for a full day of long walking for upland birds, but as an all-purpose gun, it has been great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

O/U built like a fine watch.

Date:May 31, 2012
I waited till I put about 1,000 rounds through this fine example of a shotgun before making any written statement. Shot patterning on the pattern board at my gun club shows a beautifully consistent coverage in a near perfect circle. Almost weird looking at the pattern with nonexistent gaps. If you miss a clay target its your fault and no blame can be given to the gun. Nice balance and swing. I removed the stock to inspect the workings. Fit and finish was like a watch. The walnut stock shows real character and not a simple straight grain configuration. FN did an outstanding build for Winchester. This is a field o/u with non-gloss finish, so maybe it is not as pretty as the shiny more expensive shotguns, but pick it up and your eye automatically registers quality. I've shot the three of the cheapest brands of 12 gauge I could find and no misfires. This Winchester 101 is going to be handed down in the family. Excellent choice and no regrets on this purchase. Good on you Cabala's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Will update after a few cases

Date:October 31, 2012
Put 3 boxes through it and I am verry pleased so far. Pattern is consistent. Only bummer is that it does not come in the plastic case unlike its upscale brothers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lotta Gun

Date:December 3, 2012
Purchased this gun 4 months ago. Have about 200 rounds through it. Was not prepared for the recoil this gun offers with 3" shells. Added a 1" pad helped a little. Big change from my old Belgium made A5 Browning. Still a very nice, well made gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun for the money

Date:April 4, 2013
I have shot about 500 rounds through it , skeet, trap, & sporting clays, and it shoots very well with no issues. It has some heavy kick because of the light weight and may rock your world with 3" shells. It points and balances great for me and will reach out there for long sporting shots. It has very good fit and finish for a hunting shotgun. A 30" or 32" barrel would be icing on the cake for me but 28" is the longest offered at this time. Good job Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful Gun!

Date:May 8, 2013
The stock on mine has dark knots throughout the grain and really draws your eye toward the higher grade wood than one would have expected at this price. Don't let the matte-finish fool you - this is much easier to maintain than the high-gloss finish - which will come in handy whether you make this your go-to field gun for those chilled-morning pheasant and grouse hunts or your gun of choice for the skeet, trap, and sporting clay ranges.
The action is quite unlike many other over/under at this price with thought-provoking wildlife scenes that are quite becoming when freshly oiled - they show very well - particularly in the sun! Additionally, it is a tight action with a strong break - and clearly will remain that way with many years of use.
Back-bored and a single brass bead up front, I've added a set of Briley chokes and am very pleased with the patterning. I've put ~ 500 rounds through it thus far without any problems, have received a lot of compliments on it, and couldn't be happier with the quality. I recommend to anyone looking for an over/under that this is a great gun for the money. Thank you Cabelas for the great offer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just the right mix

Date:July 1, 2013
I have been looking for a shotgun for a long time and wanted to get an O\U. It seemed that I would have to choose between price and appearance until I found the 101. it was just the right mix. Price was middle of the road for O\U and the gun had the engraving and "pretty" elements that you expect to see.
I have taken it out the last two weekends and it shoots like a dream. The extractors are great and send spent shells flying, and I love that you can select the barrel you want to fire first and then pull the trigger like a simi-auto.
I also love that if you only fire one barrel, the extractor will only eject the spent shell.
Love the shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:July 16, 2013
Very nice shotgun! The Winchester 101,Quality at an affordable price.. 250 rounds so far with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy overall

Date:July 28, 2013
I purchased the 101 for skeet shooting and have over 2500 rounds through the gun with no issues. I wouldn't put it in a glass case for the looks (average at best wood detail) but I feel this is a good quality/price combination for entry-intermediate level shooting. I must have shouldered 40 guns before purchasing and couldn't find one that felt quite like this 101. The action was tight for 200 rounds and broke in nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best of the rest!!

Date:August 27, 2013
I own a few shotguns, ranging from an old Fox double, an SX3 semi auto, a Browning Gold, and so on, but by far my favorite is the Winchester 101. FN really knows how to make things that go boom. Of course as with any shotgun, fit is 3/4 of the battle, but after that, your looking for quality, fit and finish, and recoil. You will be amazed how a rather mundane looking shotgun can reek of quality once you look under the hood. Do yourself a favor, and open one of these up, and you'll see what I mean. And recoil? Its by far the lightest kicking shotgun I own, and that's comparing a 12 gauge to a 20. And I might add, a 20 in a gas operated semi auto. This shotgun in my opinion can't be beat. No gold inlays, or hand inlayed mother of pearl, but if your looking for a shotgun that is affordable, and will be handed down to your grandkids, without ripping your shoulder off, this is the one!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid and Affordable

Date:January 2, 2014
Love this gun! Picked it up earlier this hunting season and have used it on over a dozen hunts. Pulls up perfectly for me, a very nice fit. Dropped a bunch of birds with it and quite a few clay targets as well. I have no complaints. Solid gun for the money. Highly recommend this gun to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun

Date:February 2, 2014
Purchased my Model 101 at the Buda, TX Cabela's a year and a half ago. Bought it just for Skeet Shooting. This gun is well balanced, fits me like a glove. A couple of things that I would liked to have had on mine as "stock accessories" would be a Hi-Vis bead, a mid-rib bead and for it to come with extended choke tubes and more than just IC, M and F. I purchased the Hi-Vis sight and Briley Choke Tubes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:March 5, 2014
I got this gun for Christmas 2013 and have waited to post a review until I have shot 1000 shells through it. I have used this gun strictly for skeet and have used only Remington Gun Club rounds. The gun fits me very well, it points and swings well. Through 1000 rounds being fired I have not had one failure to fire or failure to eject. For a pure skeet gun it could be a little heavier but overall it is a joy to shoot with. I do recommend buying some extended skeet chokes if you intend to use the gun as I do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:April 8, 2014
I was looking at other O/U shotguns but price kept me away. I was shown this gun and it felt exactly the same in my hands, but 60% less price. Metal with artwork might not be as good quality and as fancy as other guns, but I plan on using this gun for hunting, not to look at. Gun works great so far and wood and barrel of good quality. If you are looking for a good, upland field gun, or gun for recreational shooting at a good value, this is the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® 101 Field Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:September 7, 2014
Bought this gun yesterday. Shot prolly 4 boxes of shell's through it today. Couldn't be happier with it. Wife likes it also. Great gun for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.