Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol

The easily concealable Springfield XD(M) has a 3.8" match-grade barrel. Its compact nature and easy-to-grip handle fits comfortably in your hand. Each handgun goes through a salt-bath nitriding process that leaves a rugged, corrosion-resistant Melonite® finish. With the extremely short trigger travel and a similarly short reset, follow-up shots are faster and more accurate. The Ultra Safety Assurance Trigger System™ prevents accidental discharge from dropping or bumping by locking the trigger until direct, rearward pressure is applied. Stricker status can be checked by sight or touch. Handgun only fires when the shooter has a firm grip on the grip safety. Comes with the XD(M) gear package. Includes: interchangeable backstraps for a custom fit, a holster, a double-magazine carrier, two magazines, magazine loader and a black hard case.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Review 1 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glendale,AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy this gun!!!!

Date:May 30, 2011
After buying the XD 3" Sub-Compact from Cabela's and shooting countless rounds with no jam or issues,
I decided to buy the New XD(M) compact.
All i can say is that If you are happy with the XD 3" you will be very impressed with the XD(M).
Great Accuracy, Great trigger, Great to carry as well,
and did i mention how great it feels and looks?
My next gun will be a Springfield product no doubt about it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Handgun

Date:June 17, 2011
I purchased the .40 compact June 1st. Have shot it a few times already and have to say my initial reaction is Wow!!! I looked at several other manufacturers compact .40's. They were all very good handguns. Went with the XDM because it felt good in my hand and the XDM package has a lot of value. The handgun felt good when I held it at the store but it felt even better when I pulled the trigger. Another reason I went with Springfield is I heard their customer service was really good. On my initial trip to the range the short magazine released out of the mag well twice when I was shooting. Called customer service and they rushed me out a new magazine. No questions asked. I like it when a company stands behind their product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lansing, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this Gun!!!

Date:June 24, 2011
I love the way this gun performs, hands down. You can fly through rounds with it and still be accurate not have any hang ups or any problems. I compared alot of other Makes and Models and the versatility of this one is just what I needed, which no others really had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Handgun!

Date:November 29, 2011
Purchased the XD(M) 9 subcompact 1 month ago for concealed handgun and have fired over 1000 rounds. This is a very accurate handgun, feels great in my hand (I'm a big guy), no mis-fires, looks great, easy to break down and reassemble and is well made. This is a fantastic conceled handgun and I would recommend to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Springfield XDM

Date:December 29, 2011
Incredible hand gun. Everything that is said about this gun in any review, on any site is correct. Accurate, easy to clean, doesn't jam, etc. it's all true. I'm a novice and this gun was recommended by a co-worker. Best advice I ever got.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: commerce twp., mi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i love evrything about it.

Date:January 8, 2012
i love my xdm. it is accurate, trigger pull is amazing, sights are great. has great safety features. has tremendous firepower with either 13 or 19 rds. i would reccomend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Franklin, LA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

By far the smoothest pistol...

Date:February 12, 2012
My wife and I resently purchased the XDM 9MM and we Love it. I have put over 2000 rounds through it and haven't had on jam or double feed. This is a fenominal weapon...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Allen Park, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable & Versatile Handgun

Date:March 30, 2012
For starters this is my first handgun which I purchased chambered in .40 caliber. With the intentions of concealed carry and with a name like Springfield, I knew I made the right choice the first time I held this thing in my hand. With about 500 rounds through it so far, its an amazingly accurate and seemingly reliable weapon. Considering the versatility the XDM package offers, I personlly fell in love with the 11rd mag for carrying and the 16rd mag for the range and have since purchased additional 16rd mags. With the interchangeable backstraps, speed loader and other items included in the package, for the money, you can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jesup, IA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like this pistol!

Date:April 2, 2012
This is the first 40 S&W and Polymer handgun I've owned. I wanted a compact home defense and possible CC weapon. This pistol can perform both, but it'll be a little bulky in the summer.
I fired many different rounds (6 different brands and 300 rounds) at 35 feet and I was impressed with its accuracy. I performed rapid fire drills and had no malfunctions.
Best part was take down and clean up. This was much easier than any other pistol that I own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha,NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just Sick.

Date:April 18, 2012
I picked up the 9mm version of the xdm compact and I cant put the thing down. lol. I am fairly new to shooting but the accuracy on this gun is amazing. (match grade barrell ] The grip is the most comfortable of any I held at cabela's, even better when you add a Pierce pinky grip extender to the standard 13 rd. mag. Finally, the firepower you posses with the 19 rd extended mags is ridiculous. Buy,buy,buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XDm are great firearms. Farewell my Glock 22

Date:May 30, 2012
1 year ago I purchased my Glock 22 believing the hype that it was the only best polymer gun. However 6 months ago, my friend took me to the range and let me shoot his XDm 9mm and 0.40S&W. I was hooked instantly and I sold my Glock and bought the XDm 9mm 3.8" and the also recently the XD 3" 0.40 S&W subcompact that went on sale for my CCW. These are revolutionary guns with amazing accuracy and grip.
This is the next classic gun and excellent gun for beginners and pros alike.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Glock Alternative

Date:June 25, 2012
I purchased the XDM Compact in 9mm. It is accurate, built like a tank and fun to shoot. The sculptured design of the slide and agressive grip looks much better than a Glock. Take down to clean is easy. The grip fits good for people with small hands. It is more costly than a Glock but you get what you pay for. It is priced in between a Glock Gen 4 and a Sig Sauer. Although I would not trade or sell any of my Glocks for an XDM I would definitely recommend purchasing an XDM to anyone that does not like Glocks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:October 7, 2012
Purchased my XDM in Buda, TX from Bob K. and Matthew (cashier). Bob and Matthew's customer service cannot be praised enough! I was looking for something lightweight for her and a great product. This gun is flawless. Makes me wish I would've purchased one for myself!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Everything I was looking for! 45 ACP

Date:October 21, 2012
XD(M), the M means match grade barrel and high capacity mag. Springfield got it right with this gun They include a short mag to keep the handle short. this is one of the most important things for conceal carry as the handle is what pokes a bulge out the side of your shirt. The gun is still comfortable to shoot with the short mag and conceals a lot easier than a full size pistol. Then It comes with the full size magazine that gives you a full grip and more rounds. It's really 2 guns in one.
I replaced my previous 16 round 9mm with this 13 round 45 ACP. 13 rounds for a 45 is very high capacity. Even with the compact mag it holds 9 rounds you get 19 rounds with the 9mm, 16 with the 40, and 13 with the 45.
The gun also comes with a holser, magazine holster, and different grip sizes. It is easy to shoot and shoots where I point it. It feeds everything I've tried so far. I'm glad I purchased this pistol as it instils confidence in my shooting ability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You're Going to Love This Handgun!

Date:January 8, 2013
I purchased the Springfield XDm 3.8 40 S&W just before the holidays. I've already put 350 rounds through it without a single problem. It feels like it was made for my hand. It has a very smooth trigger pull, and extremely manageable recoil. My first five rounds on target punched out the X,
Field stripping is a simple three step process. What's really nice is that the XDm comes in a sharp case already stocked with a holster, dual magazine holster, speed loader and two magazines (11 and 16 round capacity). The 11 round magazine is a bit short for my hand, so I've ordered the Pearce extension.
Overall, just a superb firearm. I'm thrilled with the XDm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XDM compact 9mm

Date:January 15, 2013
I was researching conceal carry pistols for about a year before this purchase. I tested the Ruger sr9c and sr40c. They were both ok, I liked the 9 a little better but I wasn't very impressed with the accuracy I got from either. I figured it was just because of their shorter barrel length. Recently my Dad said I should take a look at Springfield, he knew a few people who weren't happy with anything they bought until they got a Springfield. The XDM compact caught my eye, It was more pricey than the other pistols I had been looking at but it has excellent reviews and I would always rather spend more for a quality product than less for something I'm unhappy with. So I bought one and took it to the range, I put 150 rounds through it. PMC American Eagle and Federal. I never had one misfire or an issue of any kind. I only go to the rang 1 or 2 times a year but I can but 32 shots in a 7 inch circle at 35 ft. Only 2 shots were outside of the 5 inch circle. At 75 ft I got 3 inside 7 inch circle but had the other 10 in the upper left outside. But I was just using an 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper and like I said I don't shoot very much. I would recommend this gun to anybody. It does print a little with an in the pants holster when wearing a t-shirt but I don't care. I love it and I know that if I need it, it will do it's job and hit the target.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The TOTAL PACKAGE!

Date:February 21, 2013
Springfield has got it together. I have shot about 500 rounds through this gun, no problems. Super easy to field strip for cleaning. The only problem is that once you shoot it, you won't want to stop until your out of ammo. Which is kind of a big problem now that you can't find 9mm ammo anywhere. I love it so much I bought two of em.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly recommend the .45 ACP!

Date:February 22, 2013
I'm fairly new to shooting and did a lot of research before making this purchase. I shot similar guns at the local range but this one was by far the best. It shoots where you want it to and has never failed to fire. I ran about 125 rounds through it the first day and another 50 a couple of days later and it operated flawlessly. Knowing that it will do the job when/if I need it to is peace of mind that you can't put a price on. Easy enough to conceal also. This is the gun to get whether you are a new or experienced shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hungry Pistol!

Date:March 9, 2013
This pistol is just amazing! With the ammo disappearing off shelves faster than it's being stocked, I've bought whatever I could find, if it's a good price. This thing eats whatever 9mm ammo I stuff down it's throat. I haven't had a single issue with any brand and I've put about 1000 rounds through it since I bought it about a month ago. Spend the extra money on this pistol.... you will never look back.... Other than to buy another one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Springfield Armory® XD(M)™ Compact Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best feeling and working pistol

Date:May 7, 2013
This is my first firearm that I have owned. First, I want to give a shout out to Cabela's assistance to a "newbee" was fantastic (Thanks Tom). I wanted something that would give me good target practice but that would also double as a Conceal Carry weapon. The XDM Compact 9mm fit the bill for me. I have already shot about 600 rounds through this gun over the last month and am very pleased with how accurate it is and easy to to dismantle and clean. Also with 19 and a 13 round capacity it saves me time in reloading at the range. Springfield is very thoughtful when they put together this package in all that is included. It costs a bit more but it is worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30