Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo

A tack-driving bolt-action rifle that comes with a mounted and boresighted 3-9x40mm variable scope. The carbon-steel barrel sports a matte-black finish and is mated with a synthetic Next Camo® G1™ stock with sling studs. Includes a detachable five-round magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
39 out of 42(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Review 1 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like them that much

Date:March 30, 2015
I first purchased the .223 about 5 years ago. I now own the .243, 30-06 and bought my son the 22-250. They all shoot consistent groups out to 300 yards. As mentioned use lock tight on the scope mounts rings and zero it in before hunting with it. The 22-250 and 223 still have the Bushnell 3-9x40 on them and have held zero since day 1. We hunt with these at night and the scope is just fine. I did upgrade my .243 to the coyote special from Nikon.
I've done trigger work on all them except the 22-250. The trigger out of the box is around 6 lbs +/-, I got them to around 3 lbs. and it is a nice crisp trigger.
I'm very pleased with all my Savage rifles and plan on buying more. My youngest son has the Savage 17HMR and my daughter has a Savage Rascal both have the Accu-Trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One sweet rifle

Date:March 14, 2015
I bought this in 30-06 for my daughter. we went to the gun range and sighted in, there was absolutely no problems with the low budget Bushnell scope. It zeroed in in less than 5 shots, and that is including the first shot after bore sighting. She had no problem hitting the paper and handling the rifle. We were shooting Hornady 180 grain gmx. we were shooting at a hundred yards and having fun with it. there is a photo uploaded of a black target with two bullets right next to each other. that was shot at a hundred yards with this rifle. you cannot ask for anything more with a complete package at this price.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:January 27, 2015
I bought this gun in a 30 06 this sunday I read the reviews and I tightened up the scope mounts , cleaned the bore and breach . went to shoot after work today and first shot was 3 in off center at 75 yards two more shots and I was driving tacks luv this gun. im going to buy my son one in a 243 or 270 this weekend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Value

Date:December 8, 2014
Bought the gun this past Saturday, and took it to the range Sunday. Out of the box, the gun shot only 2 inches off center. The sight was incredibly easy to dial in. Just screw off the caps and you can adjust with your fingers. Took only 15 rounds to zero it in perfectly. Very pleased with my purchase, especially for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUN!!!

Date:December 2, 2014
I love this gun and the accuracy. I'm well pleased with my gun.I've shot some more expensive rifles.They wasn't all they was blown up to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice gun for the money

Date:November 18, 2014
Helped my grandson pick this gun for hunting deer. Wish I would have read reviews on scope mounts as had it zeroed in and then had them come loose. Other than that issue I like it better than my own riffle that cost twice as much. Very nice action and appearance and accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally zeroed in

Date:July 28, 2014
Although I don't like shooting with a scope I thought I would buy this rifle since I target shoot and wanted very tight groups. Knowing I won't get that without a scope I bought this rifle.
On YouTube I saw a video where it said this rifle wouldn't shoot within an inch. Well the video was wrong.
Finally I got the rifle to zero at 100 yards and now I can shoot at the small diamonds at the corners of the target. One had three shots, one in the center and two just below all in the center of the diamond and you can cover all three shots with a quarter!
I'm not that good of a shot, so holding the rifle steady it did the job, and that is my reloads 180grs!
Even one shot with a 220 gr was just out of the center bulls-eye. I thought it would be low but it wasn't. Who says a 3006 isn't accurate!
Beginning to like the rifle more. After that hitting tighter groups was easier for me.
I did have to use lock tight to keep the scope mount tight, read that on a review here and took their advice. Thanks people. And that is with the scope that came with the rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:March 21, 2014
This is a very good rifle! it is very accurate but only after you do a little trigger work. It is easy to do, just look it up on youtube. I would have given it 5 out 5 stars but the scope is not up to par for what this rifle is able to do. Just get a good scope and you will love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Could not ask for more

Date:March 12, 2014
ok so a call to the Savage Factory says to use 69gr bullets in the 223 and they will guarantee 1.5" 3 shot groups at 100 yds because of the twist rate. Before I go spent money on ammo or reloading components I happen to have the cheaper Federal (223A) 55gr SP on hand so I mounted up a cheap Bushnell 3x9 40mm I had laying around and off to the range. I could tell during sight-in this was going to be amazing. Forget the 69gr and forget reloading. I will let the target speak for itself. Three shots all touching in a very nice triangle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For the money you have to start somewhere

Date:January 10, 2014
I bought this rifle combination because after years of shooting without a scope I figured if I wanted really tight groups I have better get a scope.
At the range it was almost off the target at the lower right but with some help I started to hit in the center, put two bullets over lapping and one out a bit.
Just like the reviews the scope rings got lose so I used lock tight as suggested and I think that will work.
I don't know how it would hold up hunting because I just use it for target shooting with 3006 cal. but with 6 pounds it kicks a bit more than my other 3006's rifles which are military.
So far I like the rifle for the money but should have checked out the Remington 770 more, which was my first choice, but didn't like the reviews it got.
So check out both and make your choice, this one is nice, no complaints yet, I think it's zeroed in we'll see at my next trip to the range. My last trip I used my military rifle so I can't wait to get this at the range again. I use 180 gr to keep the bullet straight but will try my 150 boattail FMJ and see if that shoots better.
The 180 gr shoot straight and the wind doesn't bother them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First rifle

Date:December 16, 2013
Good gun for my first rifle. Only compliant is reloading after shot. Unless the next round is farthest front part of the clip, you must manually push the next round to the front of the clip with your finger to be loaded into the gun to be able to slide the bolt in position for a follow up shot. Will probably bother me more as I get more into hunting. So far though, 1/1.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bushnell scope and mount failure

Date:December 8, 2013
I purchased this rifle scope combination package. The scope should have been bore sighted at the factory, but at the range it was not even on paper at 50 yards. Took it back and Cabela’s bore sighted. Was 14” high at range, but I tweaked it in to the center at 100 yards. While deer hunting out of state I turn the power from 9 to 3 and the whole scope turned loosely in the rings. I was afraid of this cheap Bushnell scope to start with from other reviews. Cabela’s gave me a discount on a Nikon Prostaff & a good set of Leupold scope rings and did a good job of adjusting everything perfectly to my satisfaction. I would not recommend this package as is with the Bushnell scope mounted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gun

Date:December 6, 2013
got my 30-06 over the summer and very impressed at the target range. only drawback has a slighty heavier recoil than what I'm use to but nothing that is to bothersome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice rifle

Date:November 28, 2013
I bought this gun for my son's first year out. I think who ever bore sighted it at the factory was cross eyed. It was about 10" low and 6" to the right, that's why we target shoot right? Anyway, after I put a nice group in the bull to it home for a cleaning. I decided to grid mark the scope just in case. Then I realized the rear scope mount was loose. Don't say it I already know... that's your fault. Oh well... gives me an excuse to shoot again. Other than that I like the gun. I use a Remington model 700 bdl, and thinking about retiring it and getting one of these. considering the value has gone up so much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:November 25, 2013
I bought this for my son, but it shoots so nice I'm thinking I'll keep it. Shot a nice 9 point with it this year.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.270 Savage Arms

Date:November 24, 2013
Great Gun! Shot my buck from 70yds and dropped it and then shot a doe from 311yds and dropped it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First rifle for my daughter

Date:November 4, 2013
bought a .223 for my daughter to shoot, very pleased with the workmanship and accuracy of this rifle. We shot MOA groups with factory ammo at 100 yards and sub MOA groups with 3 out of the 4 handloads I tried. Very happy. Alyssa took her first deer this past weekend with her Axis and Sierra Game King bullets. Completely happy customer!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good starter rifle

Date:October 12, 2013
Looks good, functions well, no complaints yet with the rifle. The problem occurred while trying to zero scope. Shots were all over the place which was frustrating as I had just verified my 5.56, .22, and my 30-06. Then about 3/4 way thru the box of ammo the inside of the scope showed the problem. The crosshairs shifted hard left and I could see the outer of the glass or whatever. So, we took it back to cabelas, and being an avid hunter and not having wife have another scope issue, I upgraded to a leupold, why you may ask? Because the first upgrade I purchase (Bushnell) wouldn't fit the bases. Second wouldn't allow bolt to go forward due to LARGE eyepiece of scope. All my rifles have leupold, so I pointed to a VX-1, for wife's starter rifle. Therefore combo only gets 4 stars. Funny, while I was getting ours replaced, next to us, same rifle of someone else getting scope swapped out due to issues. Hunting manager that helped us says he has same rifle, problems sighting it and so we chuckled and said, replace the scope. That scope is hurting Savages reputation on this one, this is my first Savage purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage Axis Rifle

Date:September 24, 2013
I purchased this rifle three years ago for my son, who was 10 at the time. Well, three years and three deer later, he is just as happy with this gun as I am. It's a .243 and it likes the Winchester ammo the best. 1" groups at 150 yards for a starter rifle with a cheap scope is nothing to complain about. Speaking of the scope, it has not needed any adjusting since the original sight in. No fog up problems in winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DECENT FIRST RIFLE

Date:August 4, 2013
I would have to say at first look it is an awesone deal and you can get a rifle to hunt with for a good price it does nice groups even with cheap ammo at 100 yd, but I dont think they make many guns that wont nowdays. Scope is decent the sights were way off to start, and I eventually sighted it in at 300 yd with decent groups in a kill zone. What I really dont like is the magazine plastic and cheap it broke and the replacement is very expensive over 10% of the gun cost. I will be looking to upgrade soon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 42