Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo

A tack-driving bolt-action rifle that comes with a mounted and boresighted 3-9x40mm variable scope. The carbon-steel barrel sports a matte-black finish and is mated with a synthetic Next Camo® G1™ stock with sling studs. Includes a detachable five-round magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
32 out of 35(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Review 1 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:March 21, 2014
This is a very good rifle! it is very accurate but only after you do a little trigger work. It is easy to do, just look it up on youtube. I would have given it 5 out 5 stars but the scope is not up to par for what this rifle is able to do. Just get a good scope and you will love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Could not ask for more

Date:March 12, 2014
ok so a call to the Savage Factory says to use 69gr bullets in the 223 and they will guarantee 1.5" 3 shot groups at 100 yds because of the twist rate. Before I go spent money on ammo or reloading components I happen to have the cheaper Federal (223A) 55gr SP on hand so I mounted up a cheap Bushnell 3x9 40mm I had laying around and off to the range. I could tell during sight-in this was going to be amazing. Forget the 69gr and forget reloading. I will let the target speak for itself. Three shots all touching in a very nice triangle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

For the money you have to start somewhere

Date:January 10, 2014
I bought this rifle combination because after years of shooting without a scope I figured if I wanted really tight groups I have better get a scope.
At the range it was almost off the target at the lower right but with some help I started to hit in the center, put two bullets over lapping and one out a bit.
Just like the reviews the scope rings got lose so I used lock tight as suggested and I think that will work.
I don't know how it would hold up hunting because I just use it for target shooting with 3006 cal. but with 6 pounds it kicks a bit more than my other 3006's rifles which are military.
So far I like the rifle for the money but should have checked out the Remington 770 more, which was my first choice, but didn't like the reviews it got.
So check out both and make your choice, this one is nice, no complaints yet, I think it's zeroed in we'll see at my next trip to the range. My last trip I used my military rifle so I can't wait to get this at the range again. I use 180 gr to keep the bullet straight but will try my 150 boattail FMJ and see if that shoots better.
The 180 gr shoot straight and the wind doesn't bother them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First rifle

Date:December 16, 2013
Good gun for my first rifle. Only compliant is reloading after shot. Unless the next round is farthest front part of the clip, you must manually push the next round to the front of the clip with your finger to be loaded into the gun to be able to slide the bolt in position for a follow up shot. Will probably bother me more as I get more into hunting. So far though, 1/1.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bushnell scope and mount failure

Date:December 8, 2013
I purchased this rifle scope combination package. The scope should have been bore sighted at the factory, but at the range it was not even on paper at 50 yards. Took it back and Cabela’s bore sighted. Was 14” high at range, but I tweaked it in to the center at 100 yards. While deer hunting out of state I turn the power from 9 to 3 and the whole scope turned loosely in the rings. I was afraid of this cheap Bushnell scope to start with from other reviews. Cabela’s gave me a discount on a Nikon Prostaff & a good set of Leupold scope rings and did a good job of adjusting everything perfectly to my satisfaction. I would not recommend this package as is with the Bushnell scope mounted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gun

Date:December 6, 2013
got my 30-06 over the summer and very impressed at the target range. only drawback has a slighty heavier recoil than what I'm use to but nothing that is to bothersome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice rifle

Date:November 28, 2013
I bought this gun for my son's first year out. I think who ever bore sighted it at the factory was cross eyed. It was about 10" low and 6" to the right, that's why we target shoot right? Anyway, after I put a nice group in the bull to it home for a cleaning. I decided to grid mark the scope just in case. Then I realized the rear scope mount was loose. Don't say it I already know... that's your fault. Oh well... gives me an excuse to shoot again. Other than that I like the gun. I use a Remington model 700 bdl, and thinking about retiring it and getting one of these. considering the value has gone up so much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:November 25, 2013
I bought this for my son, but it shoots so nice I'm thinking I'll keep it. Shot a nice 9 point with it this year.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.270 Savage Arms

Date:November 24, 2013
Great Gun! Shot my buck from 70yds and dropped it and then shot a doe from 311yds and dropped it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First rifle for my daughter

Date:November 4, 2013
bought a .223 for my daughter to shoot, very pleased with the workmanship and accuracy of this rifle. We shot MOA groups with factory ammo at 100 yards and sub MOA groups with 3 out of the 4 handloads I tried. Very happy. Alyssa took her first deer this past weekend with her Axis and Sierra Game King bullets. Completely happy customer!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good starter rifle

Date:October 12, 2013
Looks good, functions well, no complaints yet with the rifle. The problem occurred while trying to zero scope. Shots were all over the place which was frustrating as I had just verified my 5.56, .22, and my 30-06. Then about 3/4 way thru the box of ammo the inside of the scope showed the problem. The crosshairs shifted hard left and I could see the outer of the glass or whatever. So, we took it back to cabelas, and being an avid hunter and not having wife have another scope issue, I upgraded to a leupold, why you may ask? Because the first upgrade I purchase (Bushnell) wouldn't fit the bases. Second wouldn't allow bolt to go forward due to LARGE eyepiece of scope. All my rifles have leupold, so I pointed to a VX-1, for wife's starter rifle. Therefore combo only gets 4 stars. Funny, while I was getting ours replaced, next to us, same rifle of someone else getting scope swapped out due to issues. Hunting manager that helped us says he has same rifle, problems sighting it and so we chuckled and said, replace the scope. That scope is hurting Savages reputation on this one, this is my first Savage purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage Axis Rifle

Date:September 24, 2013
I purchased this rifle three years ago for my son, who was 10 at the time. Well, three years and three deer later, he is just as happy with this gun as I am. It's a .243 and it likes the Winchester ammo the best. 1" groups at 150 yards for a starter rifle with a cheap scope is nothing to complain about. Speaking of the scope, it has not needed any adjusting since the original sight in. No fog up problems in winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DECENT FIRST RIFLE

Date:August 4, 2013
I would have to say at first look it is an awesone deal and you can get a rifle to hunt with for a good price it does nice groups even with cheap ammo at 100 yd, but I dont think they make many guns that wont nowdays. Scope is decent the sights were way off to start, and I eventually sighted it in at 300 yd with decent groups in a kill zone. What I really dont like is the magazine plastic and cheap it broke and the replacement is very expensive over 10% of the gun cost. I will be looking to upgrade soon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for the price

Date:July 30, 2013
I purchased this gun in .243 a while back and I honestly have nothing but good things to say about it. The rifle pulls up nice and has a good feel to it. It is light in weight so I don't mind carrying it all day. The scope isn't bad at all for being included with the rifle. I have been using it and I haven't had to re-adjust it after the initial sighting in. I have been shooting off the shelf factory ammo and it holds a group at about an inch at 100 yards. In my book that a nice shooting gun. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone that is looking for a high quality, yet fair priced gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage Axis 22-250

Date:July 16, 2013
After searching around for a good varmint gun, I decided to go with the axis 22-250 mainly because it was cheap and already had a scope. My buddy had one and had nothing but good things to say about it. The scope was close out of the box so it only took a few shots to get it dead on. One thing I wish it had is an accutrigger but since it didn't, I put an aftermarket trigger on to get the pull down to around 2lb, making it even more deadly. So far, I've only shot a few small critters inside 150yds but have no doubts that it will reach out to a few hundred yards and drop coyotes in their tracks. Overall, I am extremely pleased with the look, accuracy, and dependability of the gun and would recommend it to anyone from beginners to seasoned veterans!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Worth It!!!

Date:July 14, 2013
Very well gun. Shoots dead on out of the box and the scope is very good for a package deal scope. Highly recommend if just starting hunting or been doing it for years!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The reviews were right!

Date:May 13, 2013
I was looking for a rifle to put a scope on when I came across this Savage with a scope for a reasonable cost.
I read the reviews for this and another rifle and chose the Savage because the reviews had less complaints about the rifle.
The rifle was suppose to be factory sighted in but it was way off, after sighting it in I hit one shot right in the bulls eye and two shots just outside both shots almost in the same hole.
That is good shooting for me. No jams or problems but the screws on the scope were coming lose so used some lock tight on it as I read in a review and it worked to lock the scope screws down.
I have to get back to the range but I can't wait to shoot it again to make sure it's sighted in right.
It's light and fun to shoot, even in 3006, I would recommend this rifle for the money, I think it's a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What can ya say

Date:May 5, 2013
Does what its designed to do and does it well. I purchased one in 22-250. All I can say is for the money you can't go wrong with this rifle. Watch out coyotes and sage rats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great little gun

Date:March 24, 2013
i purchased this rifle in a 25-06. I took it right to the range and found it was way off. It took 12 shots to get it sighted in at 300 yards. For a first time hunter like myself it is a very good gun. I enjoy shooting this gun. But on the bad side the bolt is a pain to put in. it has a pretty good kick and recommend a 243 or 223 .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savage® Arms Axis Next Gen. 1 Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:February 19, 2013
I was a little skeptical at first but after shooting this i have to say its a tack driving reliable rifle. even shooting cheap ammo i easily get 1 inch groups at 100 yards. i bought it in .270 and couldn't believe how great it shot. the trigger is a little stiff but thanks to the internet i was able to bring it down to about 3lb pull and crisp as ever. scope is ok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35