Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

MOSSBERG Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

Whether you're looking for a versatile rimfire rifle for plinking at the range, hunting or a cost-effective training tool, the Mossberg International line of 715T tactical rifles has one to fit your needs. Available: 715T Flat Top – .22 LR, 16-1/4" blued barrel with A-2-style muzzle brake, six-position adjustable black synthetic stock, quad-rail forearm, Picatinny-mounted front/adjustable rear sights, available with 10- or 25-round detachable magazine and accessory magazine loader. 715T Carry Handle – .22 LR, 18" blued barrel, six-position adjustable black synthetic stock, quad-rail forearm, carry handle/rear sight/top rail, front post sight, available with 10- or 25-round detachable magazine and accessory magazine loader.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
9
25 out of 35(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Review 1 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2014

Sweet!

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have had this rifle for a couple of weeks and have been shooting twice. I watched a lot of videos about the rifle before I purchased it and I am very glad for making the purchase!
Both times I was shooting the rifle the rifle preformed flawlessly. I have run about 300 rounds through it now and it never jammed. Performance is 100%!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014

Excellant weapon

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Went to the range today,after cleaning ,light oil as per manual.Fired over 700 rounds without any issues,very great quality weapon.Range officer said MAN THAT SHOOTS AWESOME,also had great comments from other shooters on the range. Was shooting targets at 100 yards,50,25 no problem. Would defiantly recommend getting one.Had a awesome time today.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2013

Great Little Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I cautiously prurchased my carry handle style Mossberg AR .22 rifle a few months ago. I cleaned it and then took it to the range. Sighted in easy with mil-style sights, a jam 1st round, but that was because of resting on mag, after 500+ rounds, no other isssues with firing, jamming or misfeeds. I later topped it with a scope and with low mounts, had to shorten front post sight to be able to use open sights too. Well over 1500 rounds thru it now and no issues. Accuracy is quite surprising for such a cheap little gun. 10 shots touching at 40 yds ain't too bad. The mag release does get a bit ornery once in awhile, but overall for the price, this is one heck of a rifle. Now if we could just find ammo to feed it...........
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2013

Mossberg 715T Carry Handle

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this gun after reading several reviews both good and bad with few in between. This is great for plinking around and what not with very few jams or problems. Buy at least two extra 25 rd mags (they go as fast as your finger can pull), I didn't have problems with the magazine springs either. If you are looking for more than that such as cheaper range practice for a true AR I would suggest the S&W 15-22 (built and operates more like the real deal). All in all for the money this gun is a good time. I enjoy it anyway!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2013

Good Little Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I love Mossberg firearms and own many. I was a little dissapointed to see that this was just the 702 in a fancy shell, but gave it a shot anyway. I'm glad I did. Its worked well for me so far. It takes whatever ammo I feed it, usually federal or remington 525rd bulk, hardly ever jams, and is pretty accurate and fun to shoot. I've got a sweet looking, functional .22 for half the price of most other AR22s.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

OU MUST CLEAN IT FROM NEW BEFORE SHOOTING

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The reviews that say it jams or doesn't load I guarantee you never took it apart and cleaned it as described in directions.
I completely cleaned and oiled mine before the first shoot went down the barrel,this includes the clip.
And you must use the fast loader sleeve or the ammo will jam in the clip.I got all 25 in the clip the first time and it was a little hard the first time but the more times I loaded the clip the easier they went in and it must be lubed .
I ran 225 rounds through it with no problems.
All semis need broke in and anyone that doesn't clean the factory machined shavings and dirt out will most likely have trouble even if they clean them the second time after having problems from not cleaning them first because they will scratch and mark up the slides and other parts like the follower etc. in the clip cause things to not work smoothly .Sure you may have some factory mistakes that will need to be taken care of but what have you bought lately that doesn't have some flaws ,broken parts or poor assemble
.It just happens now days and it is a real shame but I have learned to look for it and take care of it before it causes more trouble and high blood pressure.
Stay cool and chalk it up as the way it is and it most likely will not get better as manufactures try to cut corners to save money and labor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013

Excellent Purchase

By
Great gun for shooting and having fun! Cheap ammo and cheap gun, for me it doesn't jam, I have the flat top. Not my #1 choice for self defense obviously but I would use it if I had to. All in all, great purchase!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2013

Nice tactical 22

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This is a nice little 22. I bought 3 months ago as a varmint rifle. It shoots well and I am happy with my purchase. Some things future buyers should note
- this is just the 702 Mossberg Plinkster action in a plastic composite case.
- cleaning takes a while since to get to the action you must take out all screws to get to action. (Take apart and clean once then just use a Hoppes Boresnake)
- Mine does not like lead jacketed bullets. Mini Mags and copper jacketed hollow points work fine.
- No great place to hook a one point sling
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2013

Very reliable

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've had the Flatop a few weeks now & it shoots reliably. It hasn't jammed yet, & I've tried to jam it. The magazine will take all 25 rounds. Others have issues with that, but I can only assume that their magazine is stiff & they haven't worked it enough.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2012

Great for price

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I got gun cleaned it, oiled it, took it out to shoot. filled mags to 25 each time ran 500 rounds through it had 3 jams. I am very happy with this gun for the price I paid. Just keep it clean and oil it before use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2012

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We have a sig 400 and the .22 mossburg.
My wife loves shooting this gun. We have a great time at the range. very accurate. We had a few FTE, I attribute to the mag springs being tight vs gun. I clean after evrey outing. We bought three exra mags so we shoot between 100 to 200 rounds an outing. Put the red dot .22 site on and it makes it even more fun. Great gun, fun and cheap to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012

awesome

By
this gun is the perfect gun to shoot cheap and have a great time! ive shot mine several times now and haven't had any problems. My girlfriends not the girl to shoot any gun and finally i got her to shoot it and now i cant keep it out of her hands. she loves it i love it if you don't already have one its defiantly worth its money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2012

Like it alot

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
What a great AR for the price. Put 200+ rounds through it at the range with not a hic-up. It needs a good cleaning and lube upon purchase, but after that game on. Very happy with this rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2012

Great Firearm

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this 22 for my 1 year old grandson as his first rifle when he gets old enough. cleaned it and took it to the range one day not knowing what to expect. holy moly, what a great liitle rifle for the price. fired about 500 rounds with it and never had any issues, very accurate. i bought a cheap tactical scope and extra mags the next week to take it back out and plink around. ill probably have to buy another one for my grandson cause i think im keeping this one...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2012

Excellent plinking rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I received this rifle as a gift and have put about 3000 rounds through it so far. Do not let the price point fool you, this is a real gun. The trigger and action are smooth (I've only had some very old Fedaral ammo jam - 3 rounds total). The rifle feels solid and one could comfortably shoot at the range all day. Once the rifle was sighted in, I had very tight groupings (1/4" apart) at 50 yards. One final note: .22LR ammo is dirt cheap, so this would make a great gift for someone just getting into shooting or for the gun enthusiast looking for a break from the pricier .223 ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015

Great starter rifle/plinkster .22

By
Country: United States
Purchased this 715t flat-top with ready ops and a cheap red-dot sight, which came with it. It also comes with one 10rd mag(I recommend throwing it away and purchasing the 25rd mag). Opened up the box and disassembled for a good cleaning and inspection. Like many has stated, its a plinkster cased to look a more tactical part and is not much different to a regular semi-auto .22. Over all the weapon has operated just fine. 700rds and no jams or ejection issues. Just be sure to clean after each major use. I recommend this rifle for first time users looking to have the tactical feel while learning gun safety and general practice. Don't be fooled by all the reviews from individuals who were looking for a inexpensive killing machine and ended up unhappy. My advice is to buy from a trusted venue which offers a lifetime warranty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2015

Read before you buy

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Its not a bad rifle if your on a tight budget. Its by far the least expensive AR .22 available that I have found. If your are able to spend more on your set up, I recommend you look at the M&P 15 22. Keep in mind the 715T its not a "real" AR. Basically it is just the Mossberg 702 plinkster in a plastic casing, so it does not have exact functions of a real AR with the safety and loading mechanisms.
Before you use, I suggest you go on youtube and look at the reviews on how to fix the magazine. The magazine has troubles loading all 25 rounds into the clip so you need to do a bit of gluing in order to fix that problem but its pretty simple to do.
Clean the gun before you 1st shoot it. People said they had jamming issues due to not cleaning it before shooting it.
Overall, I fixed the magazine issue and cleaned it before I put 1 round through it and so far its been working flawlessly for me. Just a few jams here and there but that's due to cheap .22 ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013

mossberg fix!

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
my 715t kept sticking open after every shot.the charging handle was grabbing the post that holds the bolt open.short of sending it back to the factory.i tried everything.then I drilled an 1/8 in hole in the back of the charging handle.i placed a small spring in the hole.this kept pressure on the charging handle against the bolt.this little gun flys now!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2013

Great little plinker

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Mossberg 715T is just FUN!! That's it, it is fun. No problems with it for the two weeks I have had it. I have ordered 3 extra 25rd mags from Mossberg.
I can't wait to trick this little guy out. My son wants one and that'll prolly be his Christmas present this year. Thanks Cody in Buda for helping me out on this purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mossberg® 715T Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2013

fun toy

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Got this for my son along with a caliber specific scope of cabelas. Once home we put 300 rounds threw her that day and another 200 the next day. Fought that it likes federal, cci, and winchester ammo havent tried anything it didnt fire yet. Will say the clip is touchy to release you have to learn the feel of it but other wise a great little toy might have 1500 rounds threw it by now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 35