Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

MOSSBERG Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

Whether you're looking for a versatile rimfire rifle for plinking at the range, hunting or a cost-effective training tool, the Mossberg International line of 715T tactical rifles has one to fit your needs. Available: 715T Flat Top – .22 LR, 16-1/4" blued barrel with A-2-style muzzle brake, six-position adjustable black synthetic stock, quad-rail forearm, Picatinny-mounted front/adjustable rear sights, available with 10- or 25-round detachable magazine and accessory magazine loader. 715T Carry Handle – .22 LR, 18" blued barrel, six-position adjustable black synthetic stock, quad-rail forearm, carry handle/rear sight/top rail, front post sight, available with 10- or 25-round detachable magazine and accessory magazine loader.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.759 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
22 out of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Review 1 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant weapon

Date:May 3, 2014
Went to the range today,after cleaning ,light oil as per manual.Fired over 700 rounds without any issues,very great quality weapon.Range officer said MAN THAT SHOOTS AWESOME,also had great comments from other shooters on the range. Was shooting targets at 100 yards,50,25 no problem. Would defiantly recommend getting one.Had a awesome time today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Rifle

Date:November 14, 2013
I cautiously prurchased my carry handle style Mossberg AR .22 rifle a few months ago. I cleaned it and then took it to the range. Sighted in easy with mil-style sights, a jam 1st round, but that was because of resting on mag, after 500+ rounds, no other isssues with firing, jamming or misfeeds. I later topped it with a scope and with low mounts, had to shorten front post sight to be able to use open sights too. Well over 1500 rounds thru it now and no issues. Accuracy is quite surprising for such a cheap little gun. 10 shots touching at 40 yds ain't too bad. The mag release does get a bit ornery once in awhile, but overall for the price, this is one heck of a rifle. Now if we could just find ammo to feed it...........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 715T Carry Handle

Date:June 13, 2013
I bought this gun after reading several reviews both good and bad with few in between. This is great for plinking around and what not with very few jams or problems. Buy at least two extra 25 rd mags (they go as fast as your finger can pull), I didn't have problems with the magazine springs either. If you are looking for more than that such as cheaper range practice for a true AR I would suggest the S&W 15-22 (built and operates more like the real deal). All in all for the money this gun is a good time. I enjoy it anyway!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Little Gun

Date:April 3, 2013
I love Mossberg firearms and own many. I was a little dissapointed to see that this was just the 702 in a fancy shell, but gave it a shot anyway. I'm glad I did. Its worked well for me so far. It takes whatever ammo I feed it, usually federal or remington 525rd bulk, hardly ever jams, and is pretty accurate and fun to shoot. I've got a sweet looking, functional .22 for half the price of most other AR22s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OU MUST CLEAN IT FROM NEW BEFORE SHOOTING

Date:April 2, 2013
The reviews that say it jams or doesn't load I guarantee you never took it apart and cleaned it as described in directions.
I completely cleaned and oiled mine before the first shoot went down the barrel,this includes the clip.
And you must use the fast loader sleeve or the ammo will jam in the clip.I got all 25 in the clip the first time and it was a little hard the first time but the more times I loaded the clip the easier they went in and it must be lubed .
I ran 225 rounds through it with no problems.
All semis need broke in and anyone that doesn't clean the factory machined shavings and dirt out will most likely have trouble even if they clean them the second time after having problems from not cleaning them first because they will scratch and mark up the slides and other parts like the follower etc. in the clip cause things to not work smoothly .Sure you may have some factory mistakes that will need to be taken care of but what have you bought lately that doesn't have some flaws ,broken parts or poor assemble
.It just happens now days and it is a real shame but I have learned to look for it and take care of it before it causes more trouble and high blood pressure.
Stay cool and chalk it up as the way it is and it most likely will not get better as manufactures try to cut corners to save money and labor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:February 19, 2013
Great gun for shooting and having fun! Cheap ammo and cheap gun, for me it doesn't jam, I have the flat top. Not my #1 choice for self defense obviously but I would use it if I had to. All in all, great purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice tactical 22

Date:February 9, 2013
This is a nice little 22. I bought 3 months ago as a varmint rifle. It shoots well and I am happy with my purchase. Some things future buyers should note
- this is just the 702 Mossberg Plinkster action in a plastic composite case.
- cleaning takes a while since to get to the action you must take out all screws to get to action. (Take apart and clean once then just use a Hoppes Boresnake)
- Mine does not like lead jacketed bullets. Mini Mags and copper jacketed hollow points work fine.
- No great place to hook a one point sling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very reliable

Date:January 21, 2013
I've had the Flatop a few weeks now & it shoots reliably. It hasn't jammed yet, & I've tried to jam it. The magazine will take all 25 rounds. Others have issues with that, but I can only assume that their magazine is stiff & they haven't worked it enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for price

Date:December 23, 2012
I got gun cleaned it, oiled it, took it out to shoot. filled mags to 25 each time ran 500 rounds through it had 3 jams. I am very happy with this gun for the price I paid. Just keep it clean and oil it before use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:November 13, 2012
We have a sig 400 and the .22 mossburg.
My wife loves shooting this gun. We have a great time at the range. very accurate. We had a few FTE, I attribute to the mag springs being tight vs gun. I clean after evrey outing. We bought three exra mags so we shoot between 100 to 200 rounds an outing. Put the red dot .22 site on and it makes it even more fun. Great gun, fun and cheap to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:August 11, 2012
this gun is the perfect gun to shoot cheap and have a great time! ive shot mine several times now and haven't had any problems. My girlfriends not the girl to shoot any gun and finally i got her to shoot it and now i cant keep it out of her hands. she loves it i love it if you don't already have one its defiantly worth its money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like it alot

Date:June 24, 2012
What a great AR for the price. Put 200+ rounds through it at the range with not a hic-up. It needs a good cleaning and lube upon purchase, but after that game on. Very happy with this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Firearm

Date:June 23, 2012
Bought this 22 for my 1 year old grandson as his first rifle when he gets old enough. cleaned it and took it to the range one day not knowing what to expect. holy moly, what a great liitle rifle for the price. fired about 500 rounds with it and never had any issues, very accurate. i bought a cheap tactical scope and extra mags the next week to take it back out and plink around. ill probably have to buy another one for my grandson cause i think im keeping this one...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent plinking rifle

Date:June 19, 2012
I received this rifle as a gift and have put about 3000 rounds through it so far. Do not let the price point fool you, this is a real gun. The trigger and action are smooth (I've only had some very old Fedaral ammo jam - 3 rounds total). The rifle feels solid and one could comfortably shoot at the range all day. Once the rifle was sighted in, I had very tight groupings (1/4" apart) at 50 yards. One final note: .22LR ammo is dirt cheap, so this would make a great gift for someone just getting into shooting or for the gun enthusiast looking for a break from the pricier .223 ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mossberg fix!

Date:December 9, 2013
my 715t kept sticking open after every shot.the charging handle was grabbing the post that holds the bolt open.short of sending it back to the factory.i tried everything.then I drilled an 1/8 in hole in the back of the charging handle.i placed a small spring in the hole.this kept pressure on the charging handle against the bolt.this little gun flys now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little plinker

Date:November 27, 2013
The Mossberg 715T is just FUN!! That's it, it is fun. No problems with it for the two weeks I have had it. I have ordered 3 extra 25rd mags from Mossberg.
I can't wait to trick this little guy out. My son wants one and that'll prolly be his Christmas present this year. Thanks Cody in Buda for helping me out on this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fun toy

Date:October 5, 2013
Got this for my son along with a caliber specific scope of cabelas. Once home we put 300 rounds threw her that day and another 200 the next day. Fought that it likes federal, cci, and winchester ammo havent tried anything it didnt fire yet. Will say the clip is touchy to release you have to learn the feel of it but other wise a great little toy might have 1500 rounds threw it by now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Really Fun Gun

Date:October 3, 2013
My wife bought me one. Took it to the range last weekend. Shoots great. Sighted in quickly and no issues with feeds, fires or ejects.
Magazine is hard to load after about 18 rounds if you don't use the small loader tool.
I use Remington Gold Hollow Point ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tactical style 22

Date:March 3, 2013
Shot 400 rounds the first day and had several jams loading only 10 rounds in the mag. After 350 rounds I increased mag capacity to 20, then 25, then received no more misfire/jams. Having shot many semi-auto 22 cal rifles, this one had about the same amount of jams as the others I've shot. For the money, this arm is just fine.
Its not a high end weapon and what you get is what I expected for the money. I'm satisfied with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little .22

Date:February 10, 2013
First of all your not taking this thing into Afghanistan, I bought this for my 13 year old daughter to plink with while she develops the muscle to carry one of my AR's. yes, it is just a dressed up 702 plinkster, But for the price, it cant be beat. first thing you do is clean it inside and out. Same with any gun you buy. We haven't had any feeding problems. But i did read somewhere that a guy took apart the mag and sanded down the transitional part where the spring goes from plastic to metal, And then it worked fine. Clean it first and keep it clean is my advice. I put a red dot sight on hers, But I first put on a 1" riser so as to clear the iron sights. Gotta keep those BUIS. you never know when you'll get into a fire fight with a gopher.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29