Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

MOSSBERG Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

Whether you're looking for a versatile rimfire rifle for plinking at the range, hunting or a cost-effective training tool, the Mossberg International line of 715T tactical rifles has one to fit your needs. Available: 715T Flat Top – .22 LR, 16-1/4" blued barrel with A-2-style muzzle brake, six-position adjustable black synthetic stock, quad-rail forearm, Picatinny-mounted front/adjustable rear sights, available with 10- or 25-round detachable magazine and accessory magazine loader. 715T Carry Handle – .22 LR, 18" blued barrel, six-position adjustable black synthetic stock, quad-rail forearm, carry handle/rear sight/top rail, front post sight, available with 10- or 25-round detachable magazine and accessory magazine loader.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
21 out of 28(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Review 1 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mossberg fix!

Date:December 9, 2013
my 715t kept sticking open after every shot.the charging handle was grabbing the post that holds the bolt open.short of sending it back to the factory.i tried everything.then I drilled an 1/8 in hole in the back of the charging handle.i placed a small spring in the hole.this kept pressure on the charging handle against the bolt.this little gun flys now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little plinker

Date:November 27, 2013
The Mossberg 715T is just FUN!! That's it, it is fun. No problems with it for the two weeks I have had it. I have ordered 3 extra 25rd mags from Mossberg.
I can't wait to trick this little guy out. My son wants one and that'll prolly be his Christmas present this year. Thanks Cody in Buda for helping me out on this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Rifle

Date:November 14, 2013
I cautiously prurchased my carry handle style Mossberg AR .22 rifle a few months ago. I cleaned it and then took it to the range. Sighted in easy with mil-style sights, a jam 1st round, but that was because of resting on mag, after 500+ rounds, no other isssues with firing, jamming or misfeeds. I later topped it with a scope and with low mounts, had to shorten front post sight to be able to use open sights too. Well over 1500 rounds thru it now and no issues. Accuracy is quite surprising for such a cheap little gun. 10 shots touching at 40 yds ain't too bad. The mag release does get a bit ornery once in awhile, but overall for the price, this is one heck of a rifle. Now if we could just find ammo to feed it...........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fun toy

Date:October 5, 2013
Got this for my son along with a caliber specific scope of cabelas. Once home we put 300 rounds threw her that day and another 200 the next day. Fought that it likes federal, cci, and winchester ammo havent tried anything it didnt fire yet. Will say the clip is touchy to release you have to learn the feel of it but other wise a great little toy might have 1500 rounds threw it by now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Really Fun Gun

Date:October 3, 2013
My wife bought me one. Took it to the range last weekend. Shoots great. Sighted in quickly and no issues with feeds, fires or ejects.
Magazine is hard to load after about 18 rounds if you don't use the small loader tool.
I use Remington Gold Hollow Point ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mossberg Disappointment

Date:September 16, 2013
I am a long time, satisfied Mossberg customer. I have owned both shotguns and rifles. The Mossberg M-715 T is a cool looking, well balanced rifle but I am extremely disappointed with it. I have encountered the following problems: Failure to load ammo. Failure to eject casings. Sticky magazine release system requires excessive force to detach the magazine. It is very difficult to fully load the magazine. Two rounds will plug up the chamber at one time. The rails do not appear to be square and true to the centerline of the barrel. The rails seem to cock the red dot sight off line. I have changed ammo, tried a fully loaded magazine and a partially loaded a magazine, same problems each time. I am really upset with this rifle and expect a full refund if the problems cannot be eliminated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 715T Carry Handle

Date:June 13, 2013
I bought this gun after reading several reviews both good and bad with few in between. This is great for plinking around and what not with very few jams or problems. Buy at least two extra 25 rd mags (they go as fast as your finger can pull), I didn't have problems with the magazine springs either. If you are looking for more than that such as cheaper range practice for a true AR I would suggest the S&W 15-22 (built and operates more like the real deal). All in all for the money this gun is a good time. I enjoy it anyway!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Little Gun

Date:April 3, 2013
I love Mossberg firearms and own many. I was a little dissapointed to see that this was just the 702 in a fancy shell, but gave it a shot anyway. I'm glad I did. Its worked well for me so far. It takes whatever ammo I feed it, usually federal or remington 525rd bulk, hardly ever jams, and is pretty accurate and fun to shoot. I've got a sweet looking, functional .22 for half the price of most other AR22s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OU MUST CLEAN IT FROM NEW BEFORE SHOOTING

Date:April 2, 2013
The reviews that say it jams or doesn't load I guarantee you never took it apart and cleaned it as described in directions.
I completely cleaned and oiled mine before the first shoot went down the barrel,this includes the clip.
And you must use the fast loader sleeve or the ammo will jam in the clip.I got all 25 in the clip the first time and it was a little hard the first time but the more times I loaded the clip the easier they went in and it must be lubed .
I ran 225 rounds through it with no problems.
All semis need broke in and anyone that doesn't clean the factory machined shavings and dirt out will most likely have trouble even if they clean them the second time after having problems from not cleaning them first because they will scratch and mark up the slides and other parts like the follower etc. in the clip cause things to not work smoothly .Sure you may have some factory mistakes that will need to be taken care of but what have you bought lately that doesn't have some flaws ,broken parts or poor assemble
.It just happens now days and it is a real shame but I have learned to look for it and take care of it before it causes more trouble and high blood pressure.
Stay cool and chalk it up as the way it is and it most likely will not get better as manufactures try to cut corners to save money and labor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tactical style 22

Date:March 3, 2013
Shot 400 rounds the first day and had several jams loading only 10 rounds in the mag. After 350 rounds I increased mag capacity to 20, then 25, then received no more misfire/jams. Having shot many semi-auto 22 cal rifles, this one had about the same amount of jams as the others I've shot. For the money, this arm is just fine.
Its not a high end weapon and what you get is what I expected for the money. I'm satisfied with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:February 19, 2013
Great gun for shooting and having fun! Cheap ammo and cheap gun, for me it doesn't jam, I have the flat top. Not my #1 choice for self defense obviously but I would use it if I had to. All in all, great purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little .22

Date:February 10, 2013
First of all your not taking this thing into Afghanistan, I bought this for my 13 year old daughter to plink with while she develops the muscle to carry one of my AR's. yes, it is just a dressed up 702 plinkster, But for the price, it cant be beat. first thing you do is clean it inside and out. Same with any gun you buy. We haven't had any feeding problems. But i did read somewhere that a guy took apart the mag and sanded down the transitional part where the spring goes from plastic to metal, And then it worked fine. Clean it first and keep it clean is my advice. I put a red dot sight on hers, But I first put on a 1" riser so as to clear the iron sights. Gotta keep those BUIS. you never know when you'll get into a fire fight with a gopher.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice tactical 22

Date:February 9, 2013
This is a nice little 22. I bought 3 months ago as a varmint rifle. It shoots well and I am happy with my purchase. Some things future buyers should note
- this is just the 702 Mossberg Plinkster action in a plastic composite case.
- cleaning takes a while since to get to the action you must take out all screws to get to action. (Take apart and clean once then just use a Hoppes Boresnake)
- Mine does not like lead jacketed bullets. Mini Mags and copper jacketed hollow points work fine.
- No great place to hook a one point sling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst Purchase Ever

Date:February 6, 2013
Bought this rifle thinking it would be a nice addition to a collection of .22s. It turned out to be the cheap 702 plinkster disquised in a plastic clamshell. Nothing but problems failed to feed, fail to eject, fail to chamber round due to poorly constructed charging lever that keeps holding bolt open. More like a single shot.
Never again, I have a 40 year old Mossberg 250c that puts this gun to shame. Dont pay the ridiculous price for a lowend piece of junk. Warning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very reliable

Date:January 21, 2013
I've had the Flatop a few weeks now & it shoots reliably. It hasn't jammed yet, & I've tried to jam it. The magazine will take all 25 rounds. Others have issues with that, but I can only assume that their magazine is stiff & they haven't worked it enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

won't get what you purchased

Date:January 12, 2013
Was supposed to get a 25 shot clip but have repeatedly gotten a 10 shot. Getting ahold of Mossberg is impossible with 25 minute waits on hold. They do not understand that this is not the gun itself, but the clip. Will definately consider this experience with Mossberg when purchasing a gun in the future!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OK, but the SR-22 Rifle is the better buy

Date:December 29, 2012
Mossberg has jumped on the tactical 22 LR bandwagon and has produced an average rifle that looks good but simply does not compete with other manufacturer's guns except in the price area. It is an inexpensive shooter but it comes with some operational issues such as the magazine loading capacity and failures to eject fired round casings.
It isn't a bad gun, it just isn't up to par with some others in this category. IMO, pay a little more and get the Ruger SR-22 Rifle. Magazine choices are more available do not present feed problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth the money

Date:December 29, 2012
The gun jams 2 shells in it all the time and the mag says it holds 25 but we could only get 11 in it. Over all I don't like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for price

Date:December 23, 2012
I got gun cleaned it, oiled it, took it out to shoot. filled mags to 25 each time ran 500 rounds through it had 3 jams. I am very happy with this gun for the price I paid. Just keep it clean and oil it before use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mossberg 715T™ Tactical Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad cartridge ejection, Mag only holds 10 rounds

Date:December 15, 2012
The Magazine is advertised as 25 Round, it really only holds 10 rounds. The Cartridge ejection is a constant problem no matter what type of Ammo is used tried 3 different types. (CCI, Winchester, Remington)
I would not recommend this rifle. Purchase a different Brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28