Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns

Any load, anywhere, every time – that’s the performance you can expect from Remington’s Versa Max. Its VersaPort™ gas system shatters semiautomatic-shotgun convention and all previous benchmarks for reliability. Staggered ports slightly ahead of the chamber regulate gas release automatically to handle the lightest 2-3/4" target loads all the way through the heaviest 3-1/2" goose and turkey crunchers. The VersaPort system tames recoil to 20-ga. levels, so your second and third shots are as comfortable and on-target as your first. The compact action system shifts the shotgun’s balance rearward for lightning-fast handling, too. This revolutionary system was rigorously field-tested and proven reliable in the harshest conditions imaginable, from dust-filled, two-case dove shoots to late-season duck hunts in ice-choked sloughs. The anodized-aluminum receiver, nickel-plated barrel and nickel/Teflon®-plated internal components offer extreme corrosion resistance keeping the Versa Max functioning flawlessly and looking good through wet, sloppy hunting conditions. Enlarged trigger-guard opening, large safety and Super Cell Recoil Pad offers lasting comfort and ease of use. The entire action system disassembles quickly and easily for complete, hassle-free cleaning. Features Hi-Viz® interchangeable sights and length-of-pull kit, plus a fully adjustable stock. Includes Over Decoys, Flooded Timber, Pass Shooting and Turkey/Predator extended ProBore™ choke tubes. Includes hard gun case.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
25 out of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent semi auto

Date:August 10, 2014
I love the feel and design of this gun. Shot 50 rounds out of the box after cleaning and no jams or issues. Very little recoil and great selection of chokes included. Can't wait to use it for duck season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

versamax review

Date:December 9, 2013
bought this gun to use it and abuse it not to be a safe queen. after the 100+ light load break in period thats recomended in the owners manual before shooting heavier loads through the gun this gun is byfar the best shotgun ive ever shot. spits out everything i put in it. its been sumerged in water and still shot like a charm. only one con. the MODB finish wears off kinda easy but its not how it looks its how it shoots at the end of the day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Shotgun

Date:October 7, 2013
Bought this gun about a week ago and took it to a sporting clays course over the weekend. I was looking for a backup waterfowl gun to my Browning Maxus, as well as shooting an occasional round of sporting clays. Here are my pros and cons:
Pros:
1) Stays much cleaner than my Maxus
2) I only shot target loads, but it cycled very light 7/8 oz. 1200 fps Federal factory loads with no issues. 11/8 oz. 2.75 dram trap loads cycled flawlessly as well.
3) Very low recoil
4) Easy to breakdown for cleaning
Cons:
1) This is a heavy gun, almost 8 lbs. Would not want to carry it in the pheasant fields.
2) The fit and finish is good, but not as high quality as the Browning Maxus
3) To accommodate its unique operating system, the forearm is much wider that the Maxus
4) Need an allen wrench to remove the gas pistons for a complete cleaning. Easy to remove, but the fact you need a tool to do so is a negative in my mind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good- maybe

Date:October 6, 2013
I do not really know if the Virsa Max is good or not. I took my new camo one all the way to Canada goose hunting and the first morning of the first day the shell extractor finger handle fell off into the dirt somewhere. So I was forced to go to my backup gun (Benelli B.E. II) which worked like magic. We took 282 geese in five days. I had bragged up the new Remington but was forced to eat goose! I searched the Remington site but could not even find a contact us email, so I guess I will have to try and call them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best auto loader under 2k

Date:September 28, 2013
This thing is exactly as advertised! Eats anything you can fit in it. From 2 3/4 -7/8 oz dove loads to 3 1/2 nitros. Shoots every time. No issues. Makes me laugh at the guys with big dollar benellis that still jam and need to "break in". Versa max worked right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Satisfied - Look Out Beretta and Binelli

Date:September 12, 2013
Bought this gun 3 weeks ago. Cycles everything from light trap loads to 3 1/2" goose loads as fast as you can pull the trigger.
Patterns great with Kent Fasteel #2 1550 fps with all included chokes (3" and 3 1/2").
Feels bigger than the Beretta A400 and Browning A5, but still swings great.
My only complaint: The forked shell lifter bites your thumb depending on how you load the magazine. Contacted Remington and they have a solid lifter coming out at the end of this year.
Top notch customer customer service from Remington & Cabela's + top notch firearm performance is the most you can ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best

Date:September 6, 2013
Remington versamax is one of the best shotgun I have . got it a few months ago , shot about a 1,000 round thrue it ( 23/4, 3 and 31/2 inches ammo ) works like a charms . Ducks season is starting in two weeks from now ,cant wait to put it in the action. I add a benelli sbe II and got rid of it , it jams to offenly and I hate when that happen ,I could not thrust that gun no more. versamax has a verry good grip, points great,and shoot flalesly. no jams . I only have good words for that shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best gun I have ever bought

Date:August 4, 2013
I just bought this gun today had it for an hour before I shot 75 rounds through it. I put 2-3/4 pheasent loads, 2-3/4" trap loads, 3" #2 duck loads, 3-1/2" bbb black clouds not one hang up. I mixed and matched loads and I could not get it to slip up. Gun is nice and balanced. The kick is way less than my 870 super mag. I really like the large safty button that was a smart move by remington. Don't think I will be having any issues with this gun. Duck season is near and now it is going to be even harder to wait
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

first time ever shooting!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:July 24, 2013
this was my first time ever shooting and it was a ball. this gun well i don't know what to expect but i tried this out and it was so much fun i got a 9 out of 10 and the sights our amazing. I would totally recommend this product. i tried this out at the national jamboree!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Versa Max

Date:June 29, 2013
I bought a Versa-Max on 6-12-12, as this gun is advertised to shoot any load you feed it. Upon receipt of the gun the front site was drilled crooked, barrel pitted, threads for choke tube not machined properly, machine marks on receiver. The gun only shoots (2) of the 3.5 shells. Put 3.5, 3, 2.75 only shoots 2 shells. Returned to factory, received it back in 10 days new barrel, new receive, old internal parts still does not shoot 3.5, 3, 2.75 automatic. Shot one box of 2.75 shells without any problem; however the gun still doesn't shoot 3.5 shells automatic. I purchased this gun specifically for waterfowl hunting not skeet shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VersaMax

Date:April 3, 2013
Had a benelli super black eagle 2 for 2 years but wanted something new and picked this up in the summer and absolutely love it its way better than the benelli and the recoil is minimum. no jams what so ever... flawless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Semi-Auto Shotgun on Market!

Date:March 24, 2013
After trying to get two brand new Beretta A300 Outlanders to cycle properly, I returned them both and gave the new Versamax a try. Wow! Points great and really does cycle anything you feed it! Have shot over 500 rounds of mostly low power clay loads in it, not a single malfunction and it cycles really fast!!
As an engineer, I love the brilliant design of their simplified gas metering system. Fewer moving parts is much better and letting the length of shell determine how many ports are available to to operate the bolt is the way to go!
This gun's a winner! Can't wait for duck season!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Autoloader on the market

Date:March 19, 2013
This shotgun is fantastic after shooting it heavily throughout a busy waterfowl season. I don't know that I would claim that the recoil is equivalent to a 20 gauge, but it is far from punishing. The weight is just right as anything lighter would kick harder than necessary. If packing 7.7 lbs is hard for you, lifting weights may be a good suggestion. As far as pointing ability goes, it has that unique classic Remington feel to it as you shoulder it and bring it to your cheek. I own other high dollar semi autos and this one is my favorite, can't wait to try it on turkeys! As a matter of fact, I patterned the factory turkey choke at 40 yds and found the pattern to be very impressive.VersaMax is a winner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Shotgun I've Shot

Date:February 24, 2013
This is the best shotgun i've shot and owned. I own the synthetic 26" barrel. No jams, no problem, has spent lots of time on the range and in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Versa Max Failed After One Box of Shells

Date:December 3, 2012
First of all, I am a big fan of Remington guns. I have not had any problems until now, but these are major problems that paying customers need to know about. I purchased my new Remington Versa Max 28’’ barrel in MODB. I thought this would be a great shotgun after reading all of the reviews. I will tell you my pros and cons with this gun and then a short story on how the Versa Max failed after 1 box of rounds through it and the customer service that I got.
Pros in a nut shell: Great feel, rubber grips, Hi-Viz end sights, comes with nice case, supposed to shoot any load without fail, mostly good reviews
Cons in a nut shell: It is heavy, the back end of the forearm moves up and down even with the magazine cap fully tightened down, the bolt handle literally fell off into my hand after shooting less than 1 box of shells, the extractor sheared off causing this gun to become a single shot shotgun after 1 box of rounds
Here is my story. I purchased this gun on a Friday. That night I took it apart, cleaned it, and assembled it. When the barrel is removed, there is no play in the fore end. (PROBPLEM #1) When the barrel is installed, the back part of the fore end moves up and down even with the magazine cap fully tightened down. I went duck hunting the next morning. (PROBPLEM #2) During the hunt the bolt handle fell off into my hand. I was in waist high water and this piece could have easily been dropped into the water and lost. For those who have not taken one of these guns apart yet, the bolt handle comes off and it installs with some force by pulling or pushing. There is a notch in the handle that locks it into the bolt assembly that keeps it installed. This piece was fully inserted when I started the hunt. To make sure that I did not lose bolt handle, I kept it in the boat and grabbed it if I needed to use it. (PROBPLEM #3) Shortly into the hunt, this Brand New Remington Versa Max Jammed Every Single Round! At this point I only shot 1 single box of Remington Hyper Sonic 12Ga 3” #2 shot rounds through this brand new shotgun. The extractor sheared off and was completely flush with the bolt head. I am in the middle of my first hunt with this shotgun and the fore end is loose, the bolt handle is in the boat, and my Versa Max shotgun is now a single shot shotgun. I am furious with Remington and the Versa Max.
That Monday morning, I called Remington and told them what had happened. All they said is “OK” and to send it back to the factory via UPS standard ground. The instructions Remington sent me to return the Versa Max said that “our returns process will take approximately 2-3 weeks to complete and a confirmation email will be sent once we have shipped your firearm.” I can’t wait 2-3 weeks! I talked with Remington because I already have a hunting trip planned before 2 weeks and that I need this shotgun to be sent overnight both ways because I already have money invested into this hunting trip. Remington told me that I could pay to overnight the gun, but Remington does not reimburse hunting trips and will not pay to have the gun sent overnight. This is Remington’s fault and they should pay to fix it and to get this expedited.
I am highly disappointed in Remington’s customer service and the Versa Max. My hunting partner that was with me is about to buy a new 3 ½ “ shotgun and was leaning toward the Versa Max, but after seeing what happened with mine h e said that there is no was that he would buy one now.
I am still contemplating if I should sell or trade the Versa Max after I get it back from Remington. It looks like I have 2-3 weeks to think it over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hurry up dove season

Date:August 6, 2012
I love my VersaMax. I bought it after dove season last year and have only shot trap with it so far. It works with all type of shot shells. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is that it will not let you use Remchokes in it. You have to use Remington Pro-Chokes, but it comes with plenty of chokes. All I can say is "Hurry up dove season".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Gun

Date:July 23, 2012
Everything they promised! Cleaned it out of the box then headed to the field. I cycled several different rounds 2.75 and 3s and loved the way this gun performed. My only complaint is that I have to wait for dove season to really put this gun to the test!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bucks County, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versa Max is here to STAY!

Date:April 22, 2012
The Versa Max is everything they advertise. Shoots any, and all 2 ¾ in up to 3 ½ in flawlessly! Significantly reduces recoil but all 3 ½ in loads will give you a good lick on the shoulder no matter what gun you shoot. At first I had a little bit of buyer’s guilt because of the price tag, and it being a relatively new gun with not to many people who know much about them? Now, I am extremely happy with my Remington Versa Max purchase, goes everywhere with me, from Dove hunting, goose hunting, or sitting in the Turkey woods. Thanks Remington!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERSA MAX 26" AP CAMO-----Nice!!

Date:March 17, 2012
Really like this gun so far. Turkey choke adds an inch to the barrel. Comes with 4 chokes, choke wrench, trigger lock, length of pull add ons, tool for removing gas pistons and a very nice case which requires break down to fit. Drilled and tapped for optics with 4 holes.. Purchased Tru Glo Gobble Stopper Red Dot from Cabela's but had to do some research to find out which weaver style base would fit the gun. A weaver 429 base was recommended but I ended up using a weaver 453 (483450) base because it has more slots available than the 429. Nice set-up -waiting for spring gobblers now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Versa Max® Waterfowl Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pocatello, ID
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotgun!

Date:January 22, 2012
I bought this shotgun this fall as it promised to reduce recoil. As I get older, that's becoming more and more important. I bought Black Cloud and Remington Hypersonic 3.5" shells to test. I'm very happy with my Versamax and it does reduce recoil a great deal and seems to be very accurate. It points naturally and will be the shotgun that goes to the river with me from now on. Thanks Remington for a great product and thanks Cabelas for a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28