Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols

With a slim, ergonomic textured polymer grip and aggressive front- and backstrap texturing, the Smith & Wesson SD and VE models have a solid heft and feel. They sport a 4" barrel, tritium front night sight and steel, white two-dot rear sight on the SD and white dot front and rear sight on the VE. Self Defense Trigger™ (SDT)(8/lbs. +/_) for a smooth, consistent pull round after round. It comes with a Picatinny-style accessory rail and a textured finger locator. Polymer frame with a stainless steel slide and barrel. SD features a Black Melonite® finish and VE is stainless steel. Standard capacity: 16+1 for 9mm and 14+1 for .40 S&W. Low capacity: 10+1 for 9mm and 10+1 for .40 S&W.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
31 out of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots great and value price!

Date:September 29, 2014
I haven't been shooting in a while and decided to buy this gun after watching and reading so many reviews, I was not disappointed! Shoots great, I've only put about 400 rounds through it and no problems so far. The trigger pull is long but that is to be expected with a self defence gun, I also took it to my NRA class and shot it there. Fairly accurate, light (even when loaded) and a great value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun to shoot

Date:September 23, 2014
I've taken the weapon to the range a couple of times and am absolutely delighted that I bought it. Not one single problem after firing 400 rounds.
I also use it as a conceal carry weapon, but it doesn't conceal easily. I have had a couple of conversations with people who have noticed it. My Bersa .380 conceals better.
PS, I own the 9mm version.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great budget gun

Date:August 17, 2014
great gun for the money,yes trigger is long but it breaks clean.keep in mind this is not a top of the line gun,but for the money you cant go wrong. shoots great, planning on buying another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall, great handgun!

Date:August 6, 2014
I've owned multiple guns and have purchased this as I needed an economical gun that was reliable and shoots well. This gun does it all: reliable (I've shot 800+ rounds with no problems) and accurate. It has a heavy trigger pull but after a bit of shooting, not a problem. I installed an Apex trigger kit which helped quite a bit. I shoot some great groupings at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Surprised

Date:June 27, 2014
I've owned and shot many pistols during my lifetime. I was very skeptical of this one, especially with it's low price point. Don't be...I have been very impressed. I've put many rounds in and have been very surprised by the accuracy of this pistol. Best value in any handgun out there!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:June 12, 2014
this is my first gun. I purchased the gun about six months ago. I have gone to the range three times and fired about 50 rounds each time. very reliable and easy to use gun. I would definitely recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Smith and Wesson

Date:May 10, 2014
This is my first Smith & Wesson and I love this gun. I have never had a FTF after all my range sessions. It is a little hard to disassemble because of the small latch but it is very easy to clean. Mine shoots a little low with 115s but it is so reliable I just don't care, I will take care of that with different loads. Great value and great quality you can't miss with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first gun

Date:May 5, 2014
Yes, this is my first gun that I bought , and I have to say I was a bit nervous about it. I spent a few days going over many reviews and watching many youtube videos about this gun.
I have to say that after putting 700 rounds thru it over the weekend it's better then what i expected. The trigger is not as bad as some people say it is and I found the accuracy to be better then reported.
I would recommend this for anyone's first purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Feeds like a monster!

Date:March 25, 2014
Waited a week or two before I fired it, but I was already impressed by the ergonomics and overall style. Went to our range and put a few hundred rounds through it and ended up falling in love. Purposefully fed it the cheapest, dirtiest ammo I could get my hands on: 4 different brands, even. Not one single malfunction. It outperformed every pistol out there that day. It doesn't get much better than this....and on a budget!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the gun

Date:January 25, 2014
Relative to it's price, this is one of the best home self defense guns on the market right now.
It does have a very manageable, stiffer trigger - which is desirable for home defense. Plus, you have the S&W reliability, warranty and resell ability.
It's a Glock perfected but with a much better hand-grip, and for several hundred dollars less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Budget Gun

Date:December 27, 2013
If you're reading through these reviews you'll see a few common items, some I consider valid, some definitely not. I've owned one for 6 months and have put roughly 1500 rounds through it. Overall I consider it a great purchase and a very fun gun to shoot (40SW - very snappy round).
Trigger pull - Yes, it's heavy, but as some others have mentioned it's smooth and breaks well. You will definitely get used to it. It doesn't bother me at all.
Accuracy - Other reviews claiming poor accuracy (for this gun or any gun) are absurd. Any gun in any price range is significantly more accurate than the person shooting. Spend time with a gun, get the basics down like stance, sight picture, and trigger pull, and you will become accurate with it.
Takedown Tabs - They can be hard to grip and pull down at the same time. If the serrations were slightly larger that would probably help. This is a minor item though.
Sights - They only adjust for windage, not elevation. On mine I have to hold the front dot over the item I wish to hit. I'd like to adjust that, but for the price I'm not disappointed in it and other sights can be obtained (although I've stuck with the original and do very well with them).
Again, overall this is a nice gun and I'm very pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great budget defense handgun

Date:November 18, 2013
I recently purchased the SD40VE and I have to say that it was well worth the money. I was a bit nervous about my purchase at first because of some of the reviews I'd read, but I don't regret it one bit. so far, over 100 rounds through it without a single malfunction. I use it as my every day carry gun, and I've found it very comfortable to carry, light, and easy to conceal. My only complaints are that the particular gun I purchased was shipped with the low capacity 10 round magazines instead of the standard 14 round magazines, and that it does not have a steel guide rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUN !!!

Date:November 7, 2013
I purchased this gun in 9mm about 3 weeks ago from Hoffman Estates, so far i have put 500 rounds of diff types of ammo through this thing and they all have the same results no jams no problems and ACCURATE !!!. Now when i bought this gun i was looking into a M&P the difference in price did make a difference in my decision but the main reason was the fit and feel in my hand the sd9ve felt much better to me, the M&P is a great gun i have shot it many times but it is deff not worth the $200+ more then the sd9ve. My only worry when i bought this was the complaint about the trigger. Me personally i like the trigger and i dont see any problems with it. i like that it has a nice tight trigger and felt really nice,did not tire out my hand or mess up my groupings.Actually i think it helped me shoot a bit better then i normally do. Also this is very easy to take down clean and put back. if the trigger is that much of an issue for you they do sell a trigger kit for cheep that will give it the same pull as an M&P. The biggest problem i have with this gun is that people call it a budget gun. The gun is very well made feels solid and shoots just as good as higher priced hand guns. Not to mention you can actually afford ammo after purchasing this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic, Very Reliable, Accurate & Slick 9mm!

Date:September 12, 2013
I recently puchased a SD9VE, and I'm very happy with it. This gun is comfortable and fun to shoot, and dead on accurate! So far I shot close to 2,000 rounds through it and not a single jam, FTE etc,
I can hit 75ft and hold 4 inch groupings with this gun. Comes with 2 magazines and a key lock of course.
It's a great deal, I recommend it to anyone looking to shoot a 9mm without spending alot. It's very easy to takedown and clean quick. Features Stainless slide and barrell with a steel fixed front sight and a rear adjustable sight for windage. Feels even better with a Hogue HandAll Grip on it, especially if you have big hands like me. Recoil on it is very manageable. The trigger is tight, but feels real good to me at 7 pounds it's pretty smooth action. This gun has no safety so this tight long trigger is the safety! It's also a good carry option, dimensions are similar to a Glock 17/19 but it looks better and has a nicer finish overall, get one and enjoy!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Gun

Date:August 5, 2013
This is a very good gun for the price. Very similar to the M&P. It is a full size gun with a 14+1 clip. Trigger pull is long, but very smooth. One you have the hang of how this gun shoots you will enjoy it. Accuracy is very good, not as accurate as the M&P, but close. I would definitely recommend this gun for home defense or concealed carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Defense Pistol

Date:July 28, 2013
I have seen many reviews of this pistol claiming it is only good for close in and has a bad trigger pull.
I'm sorry but they do not know what they are talking about.
This firearm is a fantastic personal defense gun. It is my EDC that I carry IWB in a FoxxHolsters Trapp. It brings 16+1 rounds to the party in my 9mm configuration. Remember the loudest sound in a gun fight is the "CLICK" of an empty chamber.
I compete with this gun in IDPA and regularly hit a 8 inch center target at 20 yards. (Yes that's 60 feet for those who can't think that way.)
This gun uses internal and trigger safety along with a long smooth trigger pull. Carrying this gun fully loaded (16+1) means carry with a round in the chamber. The long trigger pull helps you insure you don't have a negligent discharge. Learn to properly shoot and not over pull the trigger or over grip and you will center punch the target.
Lifetime warranty, picatinny rails, frame guides for proper hand placement, light weight and ergonomic 18degree tilt make this a really fantastic value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Keep looking

Date:July 26, 2013
Ok gun for the money if you never plan on shooting anything beyond 5 feet. Very inaccurate and trigger pull is terrible. Decent reliability but I'd not buy this gun again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Happy Happy

Date:June 9, 2013
I went to a local place to 'try out' semi-automatic guns and at that location I tried out various Glocks. They were nice. I then did some research and talked with friends who are very knowledgeable re: firearms. I then spoke to wonderful salesman Jack at Cabela's in Glendale, AZ. He took the time to show me the Glock and then the Smith & Wesson. I really liked the feel of the Smith & Wesson SDVE 9mm, the other feature I liked was the ease of releasing the magazine - just a push with my thumb. The rail was much easier to slide than the Glock was also. My husband told me to purchase this as my Anniversary gift (37yrs) if this is what I thought I would like. We took it out this morning and shot it. I fell in love with it on the first shot. It was much smoother than the Glock, the magazine loaded easier also - did have a bit of difficulty on #16 but that was the only issue I had (oh and my husband had the same issue, so it wasn't just a 'woman thing'. I am a novice with weapons and I am sold on this weapon. After we went shooting we went back to Cabela's and I purchased the UpLULA for loading the magazine. I came home and used it and problem solved. I also love that this weapon is so easy to dismantle for cleaning. Also the Smith & Wesson was priced at a more reasonable price over the Glock. I'm very very pleased with this purchase & would recommend it to anyone that asked. I wish I could give it a higher rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love both of these

Date:June 9, 2013
Okay, I seem to be at a loss, I own BOTH the 9mm and the 40 and "yes"... the trigger pull is long, but it is no worse then the Beretta PX4 or the Glock 10mm I also own. As far as the magazines, someone was saying they were difficult to load... that I don't understand. Let me be clear, their are better pistols out their, but for the money... you cannot beat the price and I am glad I bought both of them. They both shoot very nicely!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VALUE!!!!

Date:June 7, 2013
This is a great gun for the value! It is inexpensive, light wieght, and shoots good! A lot of people complain that the trigger is to hard and travels to far, but this gun is the self defense 9 Value enhanced. This means it is for self defense, the trigger is perfect for that. It is not built for shooting at long range. Personally i dont think the trigger is hard at all and i am very comfortable with the gun! Overall great value, and just all around a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33