Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols

With a slim, ergonomic textured polymer grip and aggressive front- and backstrap texturing, the Smith & Wesson SDVE models have a solid heft and feel. Self Defense Trigger™ (SDT)(8/lbs. +/_) for a smooth, consistent pull round after round. It comes with a Picatinny-style accessory rail and a textured finger locator. Polymer frame with a stainless steel slide and 4" barrel. White dot front and rear sight. Standard capacity: 16+1 for 9mm and 14+1 for .40 S&W. Low capacity: 10+1 for 9mm and 10+1 for .40 S&W.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
44 out of 49(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2016

Great 9mm

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased S&M SDV pistol in 9mm back in Jan of 2016. So far I have ran about 400 rounds of ammo through it with no issues. I also purchased two extra 16 round mags and a case for it. The pistol is very light weight, and easy to carry. Only real issue is with the grip, which after a few clips are fired, hands start hurting. Pistol is also very accurate out of the box, no need to sight in. Just using standard sights, for now. Again a great pistol for the price. looking forward to purchasing a second one soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2016

Worked Flawlessly

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Put 50 rounds of 180 gr target shells through my new 40S&W today and it worked flawlessly. Great handgun for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2016

big bang for low bucks

By
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought sd9ve 3 years ago at Cabela's. after break in period about 400 rounds. My sd9ve is a great pistol. I find targeting great even when compared with more expensive pistols.
Excellent first hand gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2016

SD9 VE

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got my SD9 2 years ago and it did have some jamming put with a stainless steel guide with 20lb spring Apex trigger return spring,Apex striker block spring, Apex striker spring. and Apex trigger it very much like the Glock trigger. It shoots just as good as a Glock and I let a Glock user try it and he like it better than his Glock :-) I will be getting one more SD9 soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2016

jammer

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have the sd9ve it jams with any ammo I fire in it. Winchester Remington and federal so far. all 115 gr. fmj A pistol is only good if it's reliable I would not trust this one with my life. I'll have to keep looking. Won't buy cheap again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
7out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2015

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After researching this firearm, and the helpful sales staff at my local Cabelas store, I was able to purchase a name brand S&W SD40VE at a fair price. It shoots very well (accurate) and is easy to disassemble to clean. It handles the ammo, Herter's 180 FMJ, Winchester 165 FMJ, & Blazer TNJ I've shot, very well with no issues. The self defense trigger takes a few rounds to get used to, but is a great feature since this is a striker fired pistol without an external safety. I've got my back-up sidearm ready to go Texas hog hunting in February as a side kick to my .270 when they get up close and personel!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2015

Good gun for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Gun shoots great at close range, but the trigger need a whole lot of work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2015

SD9VE

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have had this for about a month now and it just keeps getting better and more fun to shoot. I have run about 200 rounds through it so far. My wife also likes to shoot it as well. Seems pretty accurate right out of the box and you can't beat the price. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. I may even get the SD40VE as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2015

Review Update

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Since my original review I discovered that the SD40VE
has a unsupported chamber.If you don't reload this would probably mean nothing to you.It feeds and functions perfect.If you reload you need to toss any pot bellied brass,anyway I do. They have severe stretch marks even after they are resized.I have found that if I use only mild starting loads that the brass has almost no swelling at all. Since I only use my reloads and buy very little factory ammo I wouldn't purchase this firearm again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2015

Great First Handgun

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Honestly, this wasn't my first choice for my first handgun. I had actually gone to Cabelas to purchase a different gun, but it wasn't in stock. Without any news of when that handgun would be in stock, I decided to purchase the SD40VE. First and foremost, you can't go wrong with the price. At $370, this was a very affordable gun, especially for my first handgun purchase.
Before going to the range, I took the gun home and cleaned the gun thoroughly. This was the one thing that terrified me prior to purchasing because I wasn't sure how hard or time consuming this would be. However, the instructions that came with the gun were very good and after 2 successful cleanings in one week, I've already become highly efficient in cleaning the gun.
Lastly, I went to the range and at first I was all over the place. However, after 15-20 shots I started to get comfortable with the gun and my groupings got a lot closer. By the 40th to 50th round, I was hitting the bullseye regularly at 7 yards away.
Overall, this gun is extremely fun to shoot at the range and I would highly recommend purchasing this gun for any first time handgun buyer. You can't beat the price or the reliability.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015

SD40 VE

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Having this 40 cal. over six months now and I have put rounds down range almost every weekend. Being very pleased with the service and only fired FMJ rounds which I never had any trouble. I got this as a gift and being a Retired LEO I have owned and carried S&W. But I went to putting some defensive rounds down range and I started to get some trouble. Thinking that I would clean it which I always did, made a few calls to some guys that I trust. Each One of Them said get the SS guide rod with a 20lb.spring from Galloway Precision which I did. Being told that it will be a Great investment and I would be able to handle any rounds down it. I have been very pleased with this sweet rig and it feels good in my hands. I am going to say this will be a Keeper. And it was a Great Gift that was gotten from Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015

SD40VE

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The machine work on this gun is awesome.Smooth to the point that its close to a ground finish.I have only shot my reloads in this gun and it has functioned perfect.To me the trigger is fine.Accuracy?Watch some Youtube videos from people who can shoot.I think its way more accurate than I am.Some have complaints about the plastic guide rod and rear sight.You may want to note that the bottom half of the gun is plastic and this all has to do with carry weight. I think this gun is well worth the price and I would without a doubt bye it again. One thing i would add is that I have small hands and the grip size is great which is good considering the 14 round capacity .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2015

perfect range pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Have this in 9mm and love this pistol at the range.
Came with two 16 rounds and that's all you need for fun.
Really accurate out the box and well make just like every other Smith & Wesson.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2015

Update: 11 months later

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I am writing this as a follow-up to my first review. Almost a year later and this pistol has only gotten better. I did adjust the sights.Also, the trigger smooths out quite a bit after a few hundred rounds and a few cleanings. It is now a point and shoot marvel. Over all, I would say this is not only a rival to the Glock, but the price makes it superior to the old workhorse. Clean it properly before firing and religiously for the first few hundred rounds is what I would recommend. My piece has gone through adverse weather conditions (from 104 degrees F down to 5 degrees F, including in the rain and the snow, holstered for 16 hours at a time as well as in use), long periods without cleanings (everyday open carry on top of 1000 rounds fired for two months in sandy, windy weather), on top of being dropped (oops...it was empty, don't worry....cleaning time) and banged around while on my hip (it is a big gun and the blackhawk cqc sticks out a bit). Can you tell that I like this pistol? If you can, own both of these pistols in both calibers while you can get your hands on them. It is not the best on the market, but the quality is excellent as well as reliability and especially considering the price. A complement to any collection, a must for those looking to fill a specific need. This gun can play many roles.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2015

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I've had my SD40VE for just over a year now and I've fired hundreds of rounds through it without a single malfunction. Just as accurate and reliable as my Glock 22.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

NIce for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My daughter turned 21 in November and I got this for her for CCW. Usually a semi-automatic handgun has a break in period of say 3oo rounds or so. But this gun shot without a hitch right out of the box. No problems what so ever. And the trigger is much improved from the Sigma series guns of the past. NIce looking and flawless performance. You can't beat it if you're on a budget or this is your first gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2014

Shoots great and value price!

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I haven't been shooting in a while and decided to buy this gun after watching and reading so many reviews, I was not disappointed! Shoots great, I've only put about 400 rounds through it and no problems so far. The trigger pull is long but that is to be expected with a self defence gun, I also took it to my NRA class and shot it there. Fairly accurate, light (even when loaded) and a great value!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2014

Fun to shoot

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've taken the weapon to the range a couple of times and am absolutely delighted that I bought it. Not one single problem after firing 400 rounds.
I also use it as a conceal carry weapon, but it doesn't conceal easily. I have had a couple of conversations with people who have noticed it. My Bersa .380 conceals better.
PS, I own the 9mm version.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014

Great budget gun

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
great gun for the money,yes trigger is long but it breaks clean.keep in mind this is not a top of the line gun,but for the money you cant go wrong. shoots great, planning on buying another.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2014

Overall, great handgun!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've owned multiple guns and have purchased this as I needed an economical gun that was reliable and shoots well. This gun does it all: reliable (I've shot 800+ rounds with no problems) and accurate. It has a heavy trigger pull but after a bit of shooting, not a problem. I installed an Apex trigger kit which helped quite a bit. I shoot some great groupings at the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 49