Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols

With a slim, ergonomic textured polymer grip and aggressive front- and backstrap texturing, the Smith & Wesson SD and VE models have a solid heft and feel. They sport a 4" barrel, tritium front night sight and steel, white two-dot rear sight on the SD and white dot front and rear sight on the VE. Self Defense Trigger™ (SDT)(8/lbs. +/_) for a smooth, consistent pull round after round. It comes with a Picatinny-style accessory rail and a textured finger locator. Polymer frame with a stainless steel slide and barrel. SD features a Black Melonite® finish and VE is stainless steel. Standard capacity: 16+1 for 9mm and 14+1 for .40 S&W. Low capacity: 10+1 for 9mm and 10+1 for .40 S&W.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Feeds like a monster!

Date:March 25, 2014
Waited a week or two before I fired it, but I was already impressed by the ergonomics and overall style. Went to our range and put a few hundred rounds through it and ended up falling in love. Purposefully fed it the cheapest, dirtiest ammo I could get my hands on: 4 different brands, even. Not one single malfunction. It outperformed every pistol out there that day. It doesn't get much better than this....and on a budget!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the gun

Date:January 25, 2014
Relative to it's price, this is one of the best home self defense guns on the market right now.
It does have a very manageable, stiffer trigger - which is desirable for home defense. Plus, you have the S&W reliability, warranty and resell ability.
It's a Glock perfected but with a much better hand-grip, and for several hundred dollars less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Budget Gun

Date:December 27, 2013
If you're reading through these reviews you'll see a few common items, some I consider valid, some definitely not. I've owned one for 6 months and have put roughly 1500 rounds through it. Overall I consider it a great purchase and a very fun gun to shoot (40SW - very snappy round).
Trigger pull - Yes, it's heavy, but as some others have mentioned it's smooth and breaks well. You will definitely get used to it. It doesn't bother me at all.
Accuracy - Other reviews claiming poor accuracy (for this gun or any gun) are absurd. Any gun in any price range is significantly more accurate than the person shooting. Spend time with a gun, get the basics down like stance, sight picture, and trigger pull, and you will become accurate with it.
Takedown Tabs - They can be hard to grip and pull down at the same time. If the serrations were slightly larger that would probably help. This is a minor item though.
Sights - They only adjust for windage, not elevation. On mine I have to hold the front dot over the item I wish to hit. I'd like to adjust that, but for the price I'm not disappointed in it and other sights can be obtained (although I've stuck with the original and do very well with them).
Again, overall this is a nice gun and I'm very pleased with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great budget defense handgun

Date:November 18, 2013
I recently purchased the SD40VE and I have to say that it was well worth the money. I was a bit nervous about my purchase at first because of some of the reviews I'd read, but I don't regret it one bit. so far, over 100 rounds through it without a single malfunction. I use it as my every day carry gun, and I've found it very comfortable to carry, light, and easy to conceal. My only complaints are that the particular gun I purchased was shipped with the low capacity 10 round magazines instead of the standard 14 round magazines, and that it does not have a steel guide rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUN !!!

Date:November 7, 2013
I purchased this gun in 9mm about 3 weeks ago from Hoffman Estates, so far i have put 500 rounds of diff types of ammo through this thing and they all have the same results no jams no problems and ACCURATE !!!. Now when i bought this gun i was looking into a M&P the difference in price did make a difference in my decision but the main reason was the fit and feel in my hand the sd9ve felt much better to me, the M&P is a great gun i have shot it many times but it is deff not worth the $200+ more then the sd9ve. My only worry when i bought this was the complaint about the trigger. Me personally i like the trigger and i dont see any problems with it. i like that it has a nice tight trigger and felt really nice,did not tire out my hand or mess up my groupings.Actually i think it helped me shoot a bit better then i normally do. Also this is very easy to take down clean and put back. if the trigger is that much of an issue for you they do sell a trigger kit for cheep that will give it the same pull as an M&P. The biggest problem i have with this gun is that people call it a budget gun. The gun is very well made feels solid and shoots just as good as higher priced hand guns. Not to mention you can actually afford ammo after purchasing this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic, Very Reliable, Accurate & Slick 9mm!

Date:September 12, 2013
I recently puchased a SD9VE, and I'm very happy with it. This gun is comfortable and fun to shoot, and dead on accurate! So far I shot close to 2,000 rounds through it and not a single jam, FTE etc,
I can hit 75ft and hold 4 inch groupings with this gun. Comes with 2 magazines and a key lock of course.
It's a great deal, I recommend it to anyone looking to shoot a 9mm without spending alot. It's very easy to takedown and clean quick. Features Stainless slide and barrell with a steel fixed front sight and a rear adjustable sight for windage. Feels even better with a Hogue HandAll Grip on it, especially if you have big hands like me. Recoil on it is very manageable. The trigger is tight, but feels real good to me at 7 pounds it's pretty smooth action. This gun has no safety so this tight long trigger is the safety! It's also a good carry option, dimensions are similar to a Glock 17/19 but it looks better and has a nicer finish overall, get one and enjoy!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Gun

Date:August 5, 2013
This is a very good gun for the price. Very similar to the M&P. It is a full size gun with a 14+1 clip. Trigger pull is long, but very smooth. One you have the hang of how this gun shoots you will enjoy it. Accuracy is very good, not as accurate as the M&P, but close. I would definitely recommend this gun for home defense or concealed carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Defense Pistol

Date:July 28, 2013
I have seen many reviews of this pistol claiming it is only good for close in and has a bad trigger pull.
I'm sorry but they do not know what they are talking about.
This firearm is a fantastic personal defense gun. It is my EDC that I carry IWB in a FoxxHolsters Trapp. It brings 16+1 rounds to the party in my 9mm configuration. Remember the loudest sound in a gun fight is the "CLICK" of an empty chamber.
I compete with this gun in IDPA and regularly hit a 8 inch center target at 20 yards. (Yes that's 60 feet for those who can't think that way.)
This gun uses internal and trigger safety along with a long smooth trigger pull. Carrying this gun fully loaded (16+1) means carry with a round in the chamber. The long trigger pull helps you insure you don't have a negligent discharge. Learn to properly shoot and not over pull the trigger or over grip and you will center punch the target.
Lifetime warranty, picatinny rails, frame guides for proper hand placement, light weight and ergonomic 18degree tilt make this a really fantastic value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Keep looking

Date:July 26, 2013
Ok gun for the money if you never plan on shooting anything beyond 5 feet. Very inaccurate and trigger pull is terrible. Decent reliability but I'd not buy this gun again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Happy Happy

Date:June 9, 2013
I went to a local place to 'try out' semi-automatic guns and at that location I tried out various Glocks. They were nice. I then did some research and talked with friends who are very knowledgeable re: firearms. I then spoke to wonderful salesman Jack at Cabela's in Glendale, AZ. He took the time to show me the Glock and then the Smith & Wesson. I really liked the feel of the Smith & Wesson SDVE 9mm, the other feature I liked was the ease of releasing the magazine - just a push with my thumb. The rail was much easier to slide than the Glock was also. My husband told me to purchase this as my Anniversary gift (37yrs) if this is what I thought I would like. We took it out this morning and shot it. I fell in love with it on the first shot. It was much smoother than the Glock, the magazine loaded easier also - did have a bit of difficulty on #16 but that was the only issue I had (oh and my husband had the same issue, so it wasn't just a 'woman thing'. I am a novice with weapons and I am sold on this weapon. After we went shooting we went back to Cabela's and I purchased the UpLULA for loading the magazine. I came home and used it and problem solved. I also love that this weapon is so easy to dismantle for cleaning. Also the Smith & Wesson was priced at a more reasonable price over the Glock. I'm very very pleased with this purchase & would recommend it to anyone that asked. I wish I could give it a higher rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love both of these

Date:June 9, 2013
Okay, I seem to be at a loss, I own BOTH the 9mm and the 40 and "yes"... the trigger pull is long, but it is no worse then the Beretta PX4 or the Glock 10mm I also own. As far as the magazines, someone was saying they were difficult to load... that I don't understand. Let me be clear, their are better pistols out their, but for the money... you cannot beat the price and I am glad I bought both of them. They both shoot very nicely!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VALUE!!!!

Date:June 7, 2013
This is a great gun for the value! It is inexpensive, light wieght, and shoots good! A lot of people complain that the trigger is to hard and travels to far, but this gun is the self defense 9 Value enhanced. This means it is for self defense, the trigger is perfect for that. It is not built for shooting at long range. Personally i dont think the trigger is hard at all and i am very comfortable with the gun! Overall great value, and just all around a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a good range gun, but it works.

Date:April 7, 2013
My dad who is near 80 years old just got this today. Not recommended if you have weakness in your hands etc.
The trigger pull is so long... That it can really throw of your shots! 8-10 lb trigger...wow!
But it shoots ok, just use it only close range.
This would make a good buyout weapon. It's built for economics.
I think the steel is inferior, we got it used. But the gun was test fired at the factory in NOVEMBER 2012! That was 5 1/2 months ago! And it sat up in the store about two months. After looking inside of it, there was oxidation/ rust spots near the striker!
I only recomend this weapon only if you cannot afford anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good price

Date:March 26, 2013
Seems to be a good hand gun for price. Bought for home defense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best for the money hands down

Date:March 24, 2013
I have shot about 1000 rounds through my sd 40. NEVER missed a beat. Shot every time, no jamming, nice and smooth. Considering it's a self defense model the range is perfect for protecting any area of my property and has the stopping power to go with it. Great gun Great price. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fun pistol

Date:February 15, 2013
I bought the SD40VE and it is a fun shooting pistol. Shoots good and the action is smooth. I only gave it a 4 star rating for two reasons. One is the trigger pull is long. Makes it tough to get use to with the long pull. Second is that the two clips it comes with are a pain to load. I called Smith and ask them and they just said that is the way it is. Spring tension to push the shells down to load is the pain in the thumbs to do. I bought a speed loader and if you own or buy one of these pistols you must have a speed loader if you want an easy way to load the clips. Other than these two things it is a great pistol and I would say buy one if you can find one to buy right now. Shells are not a bad price compaired to other cal. again if you can find them right now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SD9

Date:February 7, 2013
Great gun! 500 rounds, cheap plinking ammo and no misfires, no stovepipe. Good groups, less the 3 inches at 15 yards.
Like another reviewer noted, only small complaint, the take down/disassembly is a little hard due to the very small clip. Considering having one custom made just a little wider/bigger.
Having owned and shot Beretta's, Colt 1911, and Glocks, I would say this the best for the money of any of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Gun Purchase..Very Pleased

Date:January 27, 2013
I am very happy with my purchase of the SD.40. The only complaint I have about the gun is that the two serrated buttons that seperate the slide from the frame are very difficult to operate. It sounds easy enough in the directions but you better have some strong finger nails to slide them both down at the same time. If anyone has any better suggestions on how to operate them, please let me know. I have put about 75 rounds through this gun and it shoots nicely at 10-15 yards. After that, it is more difficult to keep a close pattern but I believe that I will improve with more practice. No misfires or jams whatsoever. Where ear and eye protection. This pistol is loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:January 19, 2013
this is a great gun. i have a glock and a sig and i think this 40 cal is very reliable. i have over a thousand rounds in it and no jams. the rattle in the clip isn't my favorite but is tollerable. hard time finding a holster though. i use a comp-tac infidel for the s&w mp and it works great. love that the gun is american made. main reason i bought it compared to the glock 40. i would recommend it to anyone looking for something more than a 9mm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® SDVE Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very unhappy

Date:January 3, 2013
After shooting hand guns for 10 years, this is the worst hand gun i have bought. loved the feel and looks of this gun. I got it home and cleaned up and shot 100 rounds through it to, find out it will shoot 6 ''groups good at 10 yards ,at 15-20 yards it is 10''low with no adjustment for sights offered . tried all differant kinds of ammo with nochange should have bought the smith m&p or the XD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25