Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun

This Savage Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun offers balance, style and reliability at a value-minded price. Cabela’s-exclusive silver receiver and stock engraving. Beautifully finished walnut stock and forend. Chrome barrels with choke tubes (.410 has fixed chokes) for fast, easy cleaning and long-lasting corrosion resistance. Single-selective trigger. Accepts Beretta/Benelli-style choke tubes.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Review 1 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: pa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice gun for the money

Date:October 21, 2011
I picked up a Calela's/Savage o/u shotgun recently, I
was plesently surprised by the quality of the walnut stock and forearm. The checkering pattern was very nice and well done. Most impressive was the wood to metal fit that looks like that found on a much more expensive gun. All and all the gun is very handsome. I have not shot the gun as of yet but if it shoots as well as it looks it deserves a fith star. It seems to be a very nice gun for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice

Date:December 25, 2011
I have had this gun for over a year with many hundreds of rounds fired withiut an issue. Accurate, dependable and easy to care for...especially for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Olymia, Wa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice buy!

Date:January 5, 2012
Got this 12ga. shotgun just after Christmas and took it shooting New yrs day. We had a blast. My wife, son and daughter all liked it. This is my 3rd shotgun. I currently own a 1923 Winchester M12 12ga. (it's a shooter, not a looker) and I used to own a Benelli Nova 20ga. I really enjoy the ease of cleaning and maintenance of this gun! My son loves being able to fire 2 shots in quick succession, my wife likes the way it handles and my daughter like that it has a recoil pad!
We only put 75 rounds through it, but I really like it. It is a great introduction to the O/U world!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value overall

Date:January 8, 2012
I bought this shotgun with some reluctancy due to the low cost. But after taking it out for the day and putting a couple hundred rounds through it with zero mishaps I am very pleased and have no regrets. the shotgun has very nice wood and the fit and finish is nice and tight. The only reason I didnt give the Savage a fifth star is due to the recoil pad being so stiff, although this is a easy fix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice weapon but an issue with breaching

Date:August 20, 2012
The gun looks great and it did not take long to get used to it. I took it out last year for dove season and shooting the top barrel first the gun would breach and then I would have to lock it again. When I shoot the bottom first it would not breach and then firing the top barrel on the second shot it would breach again. I have just lived with shooting bottom then top. I have to look at it as, atleast it breaks for me to do the manual shell removal but I am not sure if this is a common defect?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Spend More Money

Date:September 10, 2012
It may be balanced, stylish, and reliabile, but the lesson here is this: It now likely takes two or three times the money to get a decent O/U... The one I have has a crazy-heavy trigger, like 9 or 10 pounds, even after repeated firing and a good amount of break-in. The heavy trigger does not lend itself to accurate shooting-- as anyone with shooting experience knows...not a good gun for learning to wingshoot, or shooting in general for that matter. The other little problem is that there was wood putty filling in the quarter-inch gap between the ill-fitting wood and the back of the bottom receiver tang...at first I thought it was cosmoline/preservative, but then it started falling out...after two boxes of shells. Unfortunately, Cabelas will not accept returns on guns or it would be back with them...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:May 11, 2013
Just Picked up this gun on sale and so far am very happy with it despite reading the mixed reviews.
The gun design is beautiful in person And has a nice tight feel to it. The fact that it comes with all five choke tubes makes it a really great deal. Just something to look out for when you actually make a purchase, Check the gaps between the metal and wood because on some of them they are larger and filled with wood putty Not terribly large but enough to make me picky about it when it came down to handling the one I was going to buy. One thing that I wish was different was how the barrel select switch and safety mechanisms are incorporated together . It's a little looser and not as clear of a click as you like to hear and feel on things like that. Cabelas also did a great job in making it look different in a good way from the normal 512 gold wing. All in all I'm sure if you spend twice or three times the money you will get a better gun but for the price this is a great option .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

understated quality

Date:June 25, 2013
Let me start by saying I picked up this shotgun in 20ga. as a field/sporting clays gun in August 2012. At this quality level the gun exceeded expectations, the trigger is smooth and crisp. The action is solid and tight and overall excellent in its craftsmanship. I could not ask for more unless I were to upgrade to something twice or three times more expensive. The simple fact is this gun is a shooter and workhorse, it is very accurate and works flawlessly. Comes with 5 chokes and choke wrench which is a huge plus in my mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms 512 Over & Under Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shooting 28 gauge with this value buy

Date:January 17, 2014
A clays shooter recently converted to skeet, I picked up a copy of the 28 gauge on sale. I would rate this a good gun for the money; there are better guns out there, but if you want a shooter, this gun has no bad habits (after several hundred rounds).
The gun looks nice enough, but the devil is in the details. I found the forearm to be hard to put on and remove. It is also untreated on the inside. I opted to lightly sand the areas that were binding and this has improved the remove/reassembly operation and as the sanding was light, the fit is still tight. I'll likely treat the wood with a sealer to prevent gun oil from softening the wood.
The other item I found is the metal work on the barrels is less than stellar. I found a small metal bubble just were the barrels meet the end block, where the fore arm ends. This had made a very small nick in the wood. The bubble was removed with not too much effort during a cleaning and a bluing pen touched up the bare metal.
Also, some of the information stamped on the barrel appears to be double struck, this makes for a rough surface. The rich bluing covers it up to a degree, but if you like 'perfect' this can be annoying.
So the gun did have some easily fixed fit and finish issues. But it shoots well and I really enjoy using 28 gauge. Lighter recoil with no apparent lack of effectiveness. The light weight frame and 26 inch barrels snap to very quickly when reacting to skeet. For smaller game, 28 gauge means less shot to avoid when your game is next to the potatoes and gravy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.