Customer Reviews for THINSULATE Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

THINSULATE Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles

An affordable rifle and scope combo available in a variety of popular calibers. Sturdy, accurate and reliable, it sports an all-weather synthetic matte black stock and a blued carbon steel barrel. Short-action with four-round capacity. Comes with a mounted and boresighted 3-9x40 scope.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Review 1 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SAVAGE 111 .270

Date:May 2, 2012
I bought this rifle in .270 Winchester, people say it's not the prettiest and i would have to agree though its not bad and that's not what matters on this gun. This gun is about getting the job done. This rifle will out perform my friends very expensive Remingtons and Winchesters any day. It also does not matter what ammo you give it, it will shoot sub 1/2in MOA for dayzzz. Scope aint the best but heck, it aint that bad and what would you expect anyways? Put it on a .22 or something, its not bad. Very smooth, never jams, best rifle i have owned... Do yourself a favor.
BUY IT NOW!!! :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alright

Date:April 27, 2012
Its not a bad rifle. The action is smooth, looks nice, tough. Its an inexpensive rifle that will do what you need. Although does have some kick to it. I have it in 30-06 and I can say my 300 win mag model 70 kicks less. I would recommend replacing the scope it comes with to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Searsboro, IA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just a little Overkill

Date:January 31, 2012
I shot a for at 75 yards with the .270 and the outcome wass grusome! Absolutely rapped the exit side! Still a great gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: northwest connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poorly made

Date:November 25, 2011
I purchased the 308 with the "next generation" camo stock with the Bushnell 3-9 scope combo.
The stock is hollow and everything that touches it sounds like someone tapping on a plastic tube.
(i actually have to remove the sling while in my stand to avoid noise)
The safety thumb button when pushed up into the firing postion is loose and the hollow stock ampifies the raddle.
The scope mount is fixed and gives you no room to adjust eye relief.
Even though it was bore sighted the scope was loose on the rifle when taken out of the box and had to be reattached.
The barrel is not polished and has an unfinished rough texture to it.
The clip is plastic with little support contact and when carrying the rifle can easily be knocked out (has happen twice so far).
The way the shells are loaded into the clip is a hastle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tulsa, OK
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ms. Congeniality of the Contest

Date:November 23, 2011
This rifle won't win any beauty contests. It won't be featured on the cover of a magazine. It prolly won't star in any movie. But what it will do is exactly what you want your rifle to do - shoot accurately and make clean kills.
I have the 270WSM version of this rifle. I've shot it four times at four animals (2 doe, an 8-point, and a black bear) and have 4 kills. Farthest I had to look for an animal was 20 yards. This Savage rifle is just all business. Exactly what I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lebanon, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Rifle Purchase

Date:November 21, 2011
After following the advise of my father-in-law, I went looking for this particular rifle for hunting season last year. GREAT RIFLE!!!! I was really searching for the Accu-Trigger and Accu-Stock set-up and this model had both all laid into the .308 caliber. I opted not to have a scope mounted on the rifle at time of purchase, as I went and purchased a Burress 3x9 40. To date I have close to 60 rounds fired through the barrel and at 100 yds, 3 shot groups at a quarter size. Really tight shots and a nicely managable recoil. No adjustments to the trigger pull, everything is still at factory settings. With this set-up there is hardly any creep on the trigger pull. Well balanced and nicely designed and for the price, you really are not going to find a better rifle for the price.
First time I bought a Savage and this certainly will not be the last time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RIFLE!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent rifle

Date:November 7, 2011
This rifle is not bad. The fit and finish are good. The only problem was the included scope broke after 35 rounds. The rear lens broke free inside the scope so that it was completely unusable. However, my local Cabela's replaced the scope with a slightly better one at no charge. I'm very impressed by Cabela's customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:September 21, 2011
Bought in 30. 06. Great gun, great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, Wa.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Gun I Have

Date:September 18, 2011
I bought the 111 FCXP in the 7mm... about 5yrs ago. I loved the price as it was the combo deal... I hated the 3x9x40 scope so I waited 1 yr till I got the Nikon 5x20x44 with the BDC feature....
At 100 yards I can put 3 shots in side a quarter... I have it set for 200 yards as my dead on.... I only use Hornaday ammo in the 162grain.....
Buy the gun ... you wont be disappointed......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun bad scope

Date:September 10, 2011
i got this gun in a 300 win mag an i shot it around 40 sometimes an then the cross hairs blew out of place an had to get a new scope but the gun is incredible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 Winchester

Date:July 21, 2011
Bought it before deer season went out hunting one day killed a 10 point with it in 1 shot i out shot my Remington 770 best small gun i had
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Quebec
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:May 15, 2011
My wife gave me the 300 Mag version for Xmas last year. I had trouble getting it sighted in and soon discovered that the scope was defective. A quick call to Savage Arms resolved my problem, they sent me a new scope, this time a Bushnell instead of the Simmons that came with it originally. All in all it's a excellent gun for the price and I would reccomend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:February 23, 2011
I bought this in a .308 and it will out shoot my winchester model 70 or my friends remington 700 any day with any ammo, and it cost half as much. If you are looking for a good gun at a good price this is it don't wait these are the absolute best value out there. I will never buy another model as long as these are available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOA!!!

Date:February 18, 2011
I was given a choice as the wife says, more like, this is how much you can spend on everything. Well I settled for the axis in 22 .250 over the rem 700 varmiter. I STILL had to buy scope, tripod, rings, sling, ammo. I decide to follow the break in procedure from a benchrest website, right down to the bore treatments. The groups started at 2 1/2 inches then down to 1/2 at 50yds. I shot a 10 shot group with a final size of almost 3/4 which would be more me wobbling. To prove this I did a 100yd, 200yd then 400yd shots. The results we more than fun, 1in at 100, 2in 200, 4 1/2 at 400. I know for a fact that if I had a better rest or not shooting on a snow covered mound that I could be more steady which was no fault of the gun. Do yourself a favor and save money, support the qaulity of Savage, use proper care and this gun will preform very well. Now that I am hunting several farms where 400yd shots are normal, knowing that My rifle will shoot a 41/2in group that eqautes to dead coyote, has giving me so much more confidence to take the shot. How much more could I do with practice and better ammo? Time to reload and find out! So far I have shot about 40 shots thru it. Go get one today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Rifle

Date:February 15, 2011
Got this gun last year in 7mm Rem Mag. I was impressed with the fit and finish of this inexpensive rifle. It feels like a much better gun than the price may suggest. Accuracy has been outstanding and the recoil is easy to manage despite the light weight. Package scope isn't the best, but with the money saved I was able to buy a nice Bushnell Elite 4200 3-9x40 and STILL spent less than I would have on a new Tikka T-3. I was actually debating between these two rifles initially, and to me the Savage 111 felt like a higher quality gun with the metal box mag/trigger guard and better overall balance. You will not be disappointed with this rifle for the price :~)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:January 24, 2011
Bought this in 300 win mag. Minor bore site adjustment. Took it to the range and 3 rounds later had it firing right on target. Went ahead and finished the 20 rounds and was very pleased. Fired some from standing and sitting. The gun has some "authority" to it, but no where near uncomfortable at all. My 19 year old daughter fired it, so man up. The accu-trigger is set LIGHT be aware. The scope that came with it is what you would expect. However it does the job just fine. Buy it, you won't regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: fredonia, new york
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great quality for the money

Date:January 14, 2011
only have had a chance to shoot the 300 win mag at 100 yards so far, and it does shoot tight groups. was suprized at the scope quality. better than i thought it would be. kicks like a mule, but the gel butt pad is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bang for the Buck

Date:December 20, 2010
My Dad gave me the 06 almost 20 years ago. If your looking for a work gun that you won't mind if it gets scratched but does the job when it counts then look no farther. The scope is not the best but does the job. I'm glad they went from the 3X9 30 to the 3X9 40. I tweak it every year and it's ready. 200 yds drops those bucks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ellenville, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 Works like a charm

Date:November 25, 2010
I bought this rifle Christmas Eve 2009 and have loved it ever since. I had used an older version, and I think the new accutrigger that is on the new one is better. I reload and it works great. So far I have dropped 3 deer with 3 shots - can't beat that! Scope is fine for me and it works very well as a wood-chuck gun. I would gladly recommend this gun to anyone who wants a great value for a real-world gun that works out of the box. Also an excellent choice to start a first-time hunter on, as recoil is minimal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savage® Bolt-Action Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 - Love this gun

Date:November 4, 2010
This gun holds groups like no other. I outshoot remington, winchesters, and brownings with this thing. I also use this gun for deer hunting. Great power, and doesn't ruin all the meat that a .30-06 does. Great, reliable, accurate !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23