Customer Reviews for TAURUS Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol

TAURUS Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol

Taurus semiautomatic pistols deliver excellent performance at prices that make them a great value. The TCP .380 ACP is the lightest pistol in the Taurus lineup at just 10.2 oz., making it an excellent concealed-carry option. The frame is rugged polymer, and the metal components are stainless steel and titanium. Low-profile fixed sights. Double action only. Loaded-chamber indicator. Ambidextrous magazine release. 6+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
25 out of 34(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Review 1 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Early Purchaser; Very Disappointed!

Date:August 20, 2013
I bought the TCP right after it came out. It has had problems from day one, and has been back to Taurus two times for adjustment, new ejector, etc. After I got it back the second time, and found it still failing to feed and/or eject, I put it away and forgot about it; I now carry a SCCY 9mm or XDS .45, and almost forgot I bought a Terrible Cheesy Pistol.
I took the TCP back to the range this week, and (with a witness) managed to fire two consecutive rounds only twice, out of about 8 mags full. All the rest of the shots were TSSFTEM (Taurus Single Shot Failure to Eject Mode). I will be sending it back again, if Taurus is willing, and will DEFINITELY update this review if I EVER can shoot one full magazine successfully! (For the record, I have tried many brands of .380 ammo, with only S&B managing to fire two in a row!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I'm selling it!

Date:June 6, 2012
Issue #1. I tried to carry critical defense loads in it but by chambering a round in it everyday it pushed the bullet back into the case and failed to feed. If you only fire hardball this will not be a problem.
Issue #2. After using the gun for about 6 months (I had previously fired around 300 rounds through the gun) I tried to fire the gun at the range and the trigger would not pull the hammer back far enough to release the hammer. The trigger pin worked out and contacted the frame not allowing the trigger to be pulled all of the way. I pushed the pin back in and it worked out again.
Since I carry this gun for defense there will not be an issue #3 because I'm selling it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: tulsa, ok
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dont know yet

Date:January 25, 2012
bought the taurus 380 a week ago, next day i was going to the range when i noticed the slide wouldnt stay locked back without the mag in. already had to ship this gun back to taurus for repair, should never have left the factory with this kind of malfunction. slide locks with mag in, but as soon as you drop the mag the slide lock disengages... dont know if it jams or if it even fires... first taurus ive bought and possibly the last. will post follow up if i ever get it back
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Brainerd, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Yet to prove a reliable carry gun

Date:May 18, 2011
I read a review that said Federal American Eagle was the most dependable ammo for the Taurus TCP.
I went out and purchased 4 boxes thinking this would be the best for the gun. I have shot 3 boxes and have had 2-3 jams per clip and one dudd. I hope someone out there has a better idea on what to use for ammo in this gun. Federal American Eagle is not it.
Disappointed, with no confidence in this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Maple Valley, Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TCP 380 WORST EVER

Date:March 31, 2011
This was my first handgun purchased after getting out of the Marine Corps 20 years ago. I've been disappointed with gun ever since. The darn thing jams all of the time. I've tried different ammo's different grain weights, clean the gun before every outing. I can sometimes get off a whole clip of 6 before the next clip jams. I've even had 2 smiths look at it and they couldn't fix it. I still carry it because I haven't been able to sell it. I hope others don't have these problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Southwest Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Failure to eject, extract and misfires

Date:January 12, 2011
I bought the Taurus TCP .380 brand new a few months ago. The Taurus TCP .380 is very easily concealable and very lightweight. It is for that reason I purchased the gun. It is also decently accurate. Fit and finish is nice. HOWEVER, I cannot get through a magazine without at least 1 failure. Sometimes, 2 failures in the same mag. In other words, 10-15 jams out of 60 shots. I have tried two different mags and different brands of ammo, gun still "jams". I am glad that some of you are enjoying your TCP, but mine is worthless. If my life depended on it, the Taurus TCP .380 cannot be trusted. Maybe I got a lemon, but for now I would not recommend this gun to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Broke out of the box

Date:July 22, 2013
Day I purchased the gun, took it to the range, it would not fire nor eject, very disappointing. I took it to a gun shop, I was advised to send the gun in for repair as the problems were gun related (not ammo). I called Taurus, they emailed me a label to FedEx the gun to them, entire process took 7 days (I'll say this, Taurus was great and a very fast turn around. I shipped on a Monday, got the repaired gun back the following Monday). The firing pin and ejector were replaced as they were found faulty. Now the gun fires fine, no further issues as of today. I'm disappointed that the gun had issues out of box so I wonder about quality control in Taurus. This will likely be the first and last Taurus I purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unreliable

Date:May 9, 2011
Only shot about 300 rounds... had many FTE's. The slide would lock back before last round fired almost every time. Some say its because its in break-in but I want more reliability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Many Issues

Date:June 17, 2012
This is the only sub-compact that fits my arthritic hands. On other similar guns, the trigger is moving when I insert my finger between the trigger and guard. The gun is ambidextrous and the trigger pull, while somewhat long, is consistent and easy. Shot patterns are grouped well considering what you’re shooting with. That’s the good points.
On the other hand, there’s a whole hand full of issues with this weapon. First and foremost is that the gun jams open at least once a clip. The slide catches the slide catch and does not return (as if the gun believe the magazine is enpty. This might be a clip issue as the magazine follower looks like it’s missing a corner. We will see how good their warranty is.
Second, is that in a box of 50, you have 4 or 5 FTFs. All shells fired the second time.
Thirdly, the Disassembly Latch is almost impossible to re-insert. This is due to the attendant spring that needs to move down to allow the pin to be inserted. But, the spring does not move as the face of the pin is flat and can not move the pin down. A very slight bevel on the end of the pin resolved that issue. But, still.
All in all, an inexpensive pocket weapon, but not one that you can depend on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'd rate it higher but...

Date:November 18, 2011
It has a good trigger draw. Unlike most other light pistols, the draw of the trigger is steady and smooth. It is easy to shoot and easy to recover the sites back on the target. I kept my grouping within a 6" diameter immediately upon firing and there was no getting used to the recoil of this. My biggest concern is that it does tend to jam up if you use the low-end ammo. Use only brass cartridges and pay the extra dollars for the better brand rounds. Even then it tends to hesitate as the first round is entering the chamber from the clip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ok
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok Gun

Date:November 11, 2011
I bought this gun around a year ago. I've shoot several hundred rounds through it and had only a few jams. My only real complaint is when I hit the release to release the slide, you have to hit the back of the slide to make it close. Other than that it is fun to shoot and is very easily concealed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy

Date:October 18, 2013
Bought this as a concealed carry weapon. Wear it in a inside the pants holster over the wallet pocket. Very comfortable to wear. Upon purchase I disassembled the gun, cleaned it and the mag, polished the feedramp, lightly lubed everything and reassembled. At the range it handled hollow points and fmj with equal ease, and no problems. I have added a mag extension and grip jacket, these make it nicer to hold and fire. This is a well made handgun, functions well and is comfortable to carry. As noted by others it is a 10-25 foot center of mass shooter. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the Taurus TCP .380 SST

Date:March 26, 2013
I gave it a 4 only because initially I had some feed problems with round ball and hollow points jamming up on the feed ramp. 5 minutes with a light duty dremel brush and a little TLC, it shoots great. No more feed issues so far. Most likely had I just shot it more it would have been fine without the little bit of ramp work. I have put approximately 300 rounds through it now.
It fits my hand much better than the Ruger .380 compact. I also bought mag grip extenders for 2 of my 4 mags. I carry it using the mags w/out the extenders added. The little Pachmayr grip is a nice addition for shooting and looks.
It does shoot a little low (good groups at 20 ft or so). Saving up for a laser sight to solve that issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good budget gun, disapears in your pocket.

Date:January 22, 2013
I too had issues with the gun jamming until I did a lot of research. I found out that if you do not have a clean trigger pull & release (not letting go of the trigger immediately after firing a round), it will jam on occasion which is unacceptable for a CCW! But once I realized this was the issue & practiced a clean fluid trigger pull & release, I have not had a single jam yet. Remember, this is a budget gun, for the price, I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:July 9, 2012
Purchased a TCP 738 last Friday. After reading the Owners Manual I see why some people had trouble with the 738. It says that after each round to allow the trigger to return completely forward or the round might or might not fire. As for the break down pin, I had no trouble with it at all. Put it back in just as the manual instructed. Took it to the range Monday evening. It worked flawless through 50 rounds. Would bet my life on the little sidearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Phenomenal Pistol!

Date:October 21, 2014
First of all, I have rather large hands, but, even so, this pistol fits in my right hand just fine! I had an issue with the lack of white dots on the front, and, rear sights, so I bought me an oil-based fine pointed pen, and, added my own White dots, onto the front and, rear sights on this Taurus TCP38, and, "wow," what a difference it made on the pistol's accuracy. As for the trigger pull, after checking a number of .380 caliber small pistols, this Taurus, felt the best, at least to me! For some reason, out of all the pistols that I own, my Taurus pistols shoot the most accurate? I plan to add a Red Laser attachment to the trigger guard as soon as I can for added protection, if and, when needed, especially, after the sunset hours. Now, if I can only find some spare magazines for this pistol (two of them, at least), and, I'll be one very happy camper! A great pistol! You can't go wrong with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth Trigger * Eats Everything * SS Model

Date:September 27, 2013
This review is for the All Black Stainless Steel Taurus TCP 738, Made in USA. Bought this used from a fellow who claimed that he had put 100 rounds through without a hitch. Clean as a whistle. I put two mags each of WWB, MagTech, Federal American Eagle, and Remington UMC with only one caveat. All 50-count boxes. Had one slow-burn with the WWB, but I'm fairly certain it was a failure on my part to reset the trigger fully. WWB has a flat head, as you know, and fed perfectly. I'm not reporting on several-hundred rounds; my hands can only take so much at one sitting. Gun shoots really great at 15 and 25 feet. Did not try beyond that range. Trigger is immaculately smooth--nicer than my wife's Ruger LCP, a gun I happen to like quite a bit. Reset is a little long IMO, but I knew this to be the case, and the Ruger LCP or the BG380 are no better in this respect. I highly recommend this particular Taurus. I shoot it better than the Ruger LCP, which as I said, I also like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great lil gun

Date:August 19, 2013
Had mine now 6 months put about 700 rnds thru it and no problems.only problem with this gun is getting ammo for it.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good quality compact gun

Date:July 28, 2013
I have had this gun now for about 1 year and it is my concealed carry weapon. I have shot it several hundred times and it has always functioned perfectly. I have never had a jam or misfire. Before I bought it, I had read reviews saying that ammo would sometimes not feed correctly because the feed ramp needed polishing. So, before I ever shot it, I took it apart and cleaned it very good and I polished the feed ramp. The gun it light weight, so light that I sometimes forget that I have it in my pocket. I would definitely buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent gun

Date:February 26, 2013
Zero issues. Have fired a couple of hundred rounds through this with no issues. No hang-ups, feed problems, nothing. It performed flawlessly. Use this as my primary cc, and would trust my life on it. Taurus comes through again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34