Customer Reviews for TAURUS Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol

TAURUS Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol

Taurus semiautomatic pistols deliver excellent performance at prices that make them a great value. The TCP .380 ACP is the lightest pistol in the Taurus lineup at just 10.2 oz., making it an excellent concealed-carry option. The frame is rugged polymer, and the metal components are stainless steel and titanium. Low-profile fixed sights. Double action only. Loaded-chamber indicator. Ambidextrous magazine release. 6+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.816 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
28 out of 38(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Review 1 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2015

great little gun......but

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This little weapon has fired well,no FTE/FTF...The only problem with this one is IF you fail to release the trigger all the way it will go in to "half cock" position and will have to be cycled manually before it will fire again.
It is a common issue with this weapon and I'm surprised no on else has experienced this.
If you train well with this weapon it will serve you well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2015

You get what you pay for NOT a good CCW

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the TCP 380 brand new thinking it was going to be a good little carry gun, I liked the size and price, but was very disappointed with the quality and reliability.
During the initial break in period of fewer than 150 rounds fired the internal hammer started sticking causing a delayed in firing, (that’s very bad) and the magazine was falling out when the rounds advanced up it. So after what seemed like a hundred phone calls to get through to Taurus they had me send it back. After six months and a few more calls they couldn’t fix it so they issued me another brand new TCP (I had to pay the FFL transfer fee out of my own pocket). So the new pistol has about 300 rounds fired out of it and no matter what ammo I use the last round jams and the mag still releases now and then.
All of the reviews I read and saw on you tube recommend this pistol. I don’t !
Stay away and spend a little more money on a higher quality 380 pistol especially if you are using it for a CCW. Look at (Smith, Glock, Kar etc.).
YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2015

A REAL SLEEPER - BEST VALUE IN 380 - Made in USA

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Owned mine for about a year. No jams after several hundred rounds. The bugs appear to be worked out as most negative reviews are not recent. Like it better than than the 380 LCP I traded.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2015

Nice little pocket pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got this pistol on sale and had points on my Cabelas card so it was a sweet deal. It only came with one mag and has almost no sights so that was the down side. As small at it was, I was concerned how it would function.
I brought it home and cleaned it and it did need cleaning. I watched a couple of youtube videos and found that they made putting it back together a lot easier. Put your take down pin in your lower before you put your slide on.
I took it to the range and shot a half of box of PMC 95 grain round nose and a half of box of Winchester 95 grain flat nose and it shot great. No matter if I shot slow or as fast as i could it just ate the cartridges up.
At 7 yards, it shot low by about 4", which is a bunch but I know that and can compensate for that. It is a great pocket pistol. It won't replace my shield or my XDsc for carry guns but it is a great one for taking to work in the front pocket.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

Phenomenal Pistol!

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
First of all, I have rather large hands, but, even so, this pistol fits in my right hand just fine! I had an issue with the lack of white dots on the front, and, rear sights, so I bought me an oil-based fine pointed pen, and, added my own White dots, onto the front and, rear sights on this Taurus TCP38, and, "wow," what a difference it made on the pistol's accuracy. As for the trigger pull, after checking a number of .380 caliber small pistols, this Taurus, felt the best, at least to me! For some reason, out of all the pistols that I own, my Taurus pistols shoot the most accurate? I plan to add a Red Laser attachment to the trigger guard as soon as I can for added protection, if and, when needed, especially, after the sunset hours. Now, if I can only find some spare magazines for this pistol (two of them, at least), and, I'll be one very happy camper! A great pistol! You can't go wrong with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2013

Very Happy

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought this as a concealed carry weapon. Wear it in a inside the pants holster over the wallet pocket. Very comfortable to wear. Upon purchase I disassembled the gun, cleaned it and the mag, polished the feedramp, lightly lubed everything and reassembled. At the range it handled hollow points and fmj with equal ease, and no problems. I have added a mag extension and grip jacket, these make it nicer to hold and fire. This is a well made handgun, functions well and is comfortable to carry. As noted by others it is a 10-25 foot center of mass shooter. Highly recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2013

Smooth Trigger * Eats Everything * SS Model

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This review is for the All Black Stainless Steel Taurus TCP 738, Made in USA. Bought this used from a fellow who claimed that he had put 100 rounds through without a hitch. Clean as a whistle. I put two mags each of WWB, MagTech, Federal American Eagle, and Remington UMC with only one caveat. All 50-count boxes. Had one slow-burn with the WWB, but I'm fairly certain it was a failure on my part to reset the trigger fully. WWB has a flat head, as you know, and fed perfectly. I'm not reporting on several-hundred rounds; my hands can only take so much at one sitting. Gun shoots really great at 15 and 25 feet. Did not try beyond that range. Trigger is immaculately smooth--nicer than my wife's Ruger LCP, a gun I happen to like quite a bit. Reset is a little long IMO, but I knew this to be the case, and the Ruger LCP or the BG380 are no better in this respect. I highly recommend this particular Taurus. I shoot it better than the Ruger LCP, which as I said, I also like.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2013

Early Purchaser; Very Disappointed!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought the TCP right after it came out. It has had problems from day one, and has been back to Taurus two times for adjustment, new ejector, etc. After I got it back the second time, and found it still failing to feed and/or eject, I put it away and forgot about it; I now carry a SCCY 9mm or XDS .45, and almost forgot I bought a Terrible Cheesy Pistol.
I took the TCP back to the range this week, and (with a witness) managed to fire two consecutive rounds only twice, out of about 8 mags full. All the rest of the shots were TSSFTEM (Taurus Single Shot Failure to Eject Mode). I will be sending it back again, if Taurus is willing, and will DEFINITELY update this review if I EVER can shoot one full magazine successfully! (For the record, I have tried many brands of .380 ammo, with only S&B managing to fire two in a row!)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2013

great lil gun

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Had mine now 6 months put about 700 rnds thru it and no problems.only problem with this gun is getting ammo for it.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2013

Very good quality compact gun

By
I have had this gun now for about 1 year and it is my concealed carry weapon. I have shot it several hundred times and it has always functioned perfectly. I have never had a jam or misfire. Before I bought it, I had read reviews saying that ammo would sometimes not feed correctly because the feed ramp needed polishing. So, before I ever shot it, I took it apart and cleaned it very good and I polished the feed ramp. The gun it light weight, so light that I sometimes forget that I have it in my pocket. I would definitely buy it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2013

Broke out of the box

By
Day I purchased the gun, took it to the range, it would not fire nor eject, very disappointing. I took it to a gun shop, I was advised to send the gun in for repair as the problems were gun related (not ammo). I called Taurus, they emailed me a label to FedEx the gun to them, entire process took 7 days (I'll say this, Taurus was great and a very fast turn around. I shipped on a Monday, got the repaired gun back the following Monday). The firing pin and ejector were replaced as they were found faulty. Now the gun fires fine, no further issues as of today. I'm disappointed that the gun had issues out of box so I wonder about quality control in Taurus. This will likely be the first and last Taurus I purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2013

Love the Taurus TCP .380 SST

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I gave it a 4 only because initially I had some feed problems with round ball and hollow points jamming up on the feed ramp. 5 minutes with a light duty dremel brush and a little TLC, it shoots great. No more feed issues so far. Most likely had I just shot it more it would have been fine without the little bit of ramp work. I have put approximately 300 rounds through it now.
It fits my hand much better than the Ruger .380 compact. I also bought mag grip extenders for 2 of my 4 mags. I carry it using the mags w/out the extenders added. The little Pachmayr grip is a nice addition for shooting and looks.
It does shoot a little low (good groups at 20 ft or so). Saving up for a laser sight to solve that issue.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013

excellent gun

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Zero issues. Have fired a couple of hundred rounds through this with no issues. No hang-ups, feed problems, nothing. It performed flawlessly. Use this as my primary cc, and would trust my life on it. Taurus comes through again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Good budget gun, disapears in your pocket.

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I too had issues with the gun jamming until I did a lot of research. I found out that if you do not have a clean trigger pull & release (not letting go of the trigger immediately after firing a round), it will jam on occasion which is unacceptable for a CCW! But once I realized this was the issue & practiced a clean fluid trigger pull & release, I have not had a single jam yet. Remember, this is a budget gun, for the price, I love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2012

Excellent gun!

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this gun this past Saturday and took it to the shooting range later that day. Put 100 rounds through it with no problems.
I have shot a sub-compact Glock 9mm before and this gun was much more accurate... I was suprised because this gun was a good bit smaller than the Glock.
Def going to be my concealed weapon of choice!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2012

Good Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased a TCP 738 last Friday. After reading the Owners Manual I see why some people had trouble with the 738. It says that after each round to allow the trigger to return completely forward or the round might or might not fire. As for the break down pin, I had no trouble with it at all. Put it back in just as the manual instructed. Took it to the range Monday evening. It worked flawless through 50 rounds. Would bet my life on the little sidearm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2012

Many Issues

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is the only sub-compact that fits my arthritic hands. On other similar guns, the trigger is moving when I insert my finger between the trigger and guard. The gun is ambidextrous and the trigger pull, while somewhat long, is consistent and easy. Shot patterns are grouped well considering what you’re shooting with. That’s the good points.
On the other hand, there’s a whole hand full of issues with this weapon. First and foremost is that the gun jams open at least once a clip. The slide catches the slide catch and does not return (as if the gun believe the magazine is enpty. This might be a clip issue as the magazine follower looks like it’s missing a corner. We will see how good their warranty is.
Second, is that in a box of 50, you have 4 or 5 FTFs. All shells fired the second time.
Thirdly, the Disassembly Latch is almost impossible to re-insert. This is due to the attendant spring that needs to move down to allow the pin to be inserted. But, the spring does not move as the face of the pin is flat and can not move the pin down. A very slight bevel on the end of the pin resolved that issue. But, still.
All in all, an inexpensive pocket weapon, but not one that you can depend on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2012

I'm selling it!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Issue #1. I tried to carry critical defense loads in it but by chambering a round in it everyday it pushed the bullet back into the case and failed to feed. If you only fire hardball this will not be a problem.
Issue #2. After using the gun for about 6 months (I had previously fired around 300 rounds through the gun) I tried to fire the gun at the range and the trigger would not pull the hammer back far enough to release the hammer. The trigger pin worked out and contacted the frame not allowing the trigger to be pulled all of the way. I pushed the pin back in and it worked out again.
Since I carry this gun for defense there will not be an issue #3 because I'm selling it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2012

Bet your life...

By
Location: St. Louis
This is my 2nd TCP. First one (silver slide B) ran flawless out of the gate. Shoots a hair low and to the left....... 2nd one (bought from cabelas black slide C) i had to polish the feed ramp, and use white lithium grease on the rails. Runs flawless like the first one. Shoots dead on. Would bet my life on either.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Taurus® 738 TCP .380 Semi-Automatic Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2012

Great gun great price. Zero issues!

By
Location: St. louis
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I put 100 rounds through my 380 today and had 0 problems. I read the reviews and was worried that I would have jams or ejection issues but did not. Out of the box the slide was a little stiff but like with any new gun I cleaned and oiled it before I used it. Cycles perfectly and after 100 rounds is very smooth. Small frame took some getting used to, but the light weight makes it an awesome ccw gun.
Overall I'm extremely pleased and I recommend it to everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 38