Customer Reviews for DPMS DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles

DPMS DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles

From tactical carbines for personal defense and law enforcement to modern sporting-rifle applications, DPMS has a trustworthy reputation for producing affordable AR platforms. Each of these Oracle models is a gas-operated, rotating-bolt semiautomatic tactical rifle with an 8620 steel bolt carrier, plated per military specifications, that gives you standard AR-15 fire control. 16" lightweight chrome-moly steel barrel. The DPMS Pardus six-position adjustable stock is impervious to the elements. Outfitted with a dust cover, shell deflector and right-hand ejection. Both the upper and lower receivers are 7029 T6 aluminum alloy that is hard-coated-anodized per military specifications and Teflon®-coated. MIL-STD A3 flat-top upper receiver and railed gas block accommodate your choice of optics. Lower receiver features a standard AR-15 trigger group, integrated trigger guard and aluminum magazine release button. Carbine-length GlacierGuard handguard. A2 pistol grip and A2 birdcage flash hider. Available: Oracle™ .223 Rem./5.56 NATO Compliant – The 16" lightweight 4140 chrome-moly steel barrel brings the gun's total weight down to just 6.3 lbs. 1:9 right-hand rate-of-twist rifling. Includes one 10-round magazine. Oracle™ .223 Rem./5.56 NATO – The 16" lightweight 4140 chrome-moly steel barrel brings the gun's total weight down to just 6.4 lbs. 1:9 right-hand rate-of-twist rifling. Includes one 30-round magazine. Panther Oracle .308 Win./7.62 NATO – Configured with a 16" HBAR button-rifled 4140 chrome-moly steel barrel with 1:10 right-hand rate-of-twist rifling. Both the upper and lower receivers are 7029-T6 aluminum alloy that's hardcoat-anodized per military specifications and Teflon®-coated. Includes one 20-round magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Review 1 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Austin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good. LR. 308 bull

Date:September 1, 2010
Clean it really good before you go shooting. It jammed up a lot when I took it out the first time. Stripped, cleaned and lubed everything alone with the clips. After that, it worked Great. 100 yards no prob. Looking to go further. A little heavy but if you go to the gym once an a while your be fine. Good price, great gun so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine after break-in and cleaning

Date:December 12, 2010
Like the other reviewer mentioned, this rifle is absolutey terrible right out of the box. After extensive cleaning and lubrication, I have had no issues. I would also recommend replacing the magazines, the stock magazines seemed to also cause FTL's occationally.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: boise
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DPMS LR.308

Date:April 28, 2011
Very sweet shooter!
As with all new firearm purchases I ran an oiled patch down the bore.....and took her shooting.
This Panther has preformed flawlessly!
After 200 rounds not one jam,"stove pipe", or malfunction!
DPMS seems to know what they're doing when it comes to punching a bore!
The bore is smooth as glass and cleaning is a breeze.Never....with the exception of a custom barrel,have a I had a bore that cleans up so easy!
This beast seems to prefer a heavier bullet.
So far my best 100 yard grouping is with Blackhills 168gr.Match( 5 rounds at 7/8).200 yards went right at 2".....off the hood of my truck!
I have no info on sustained fire......I don't abuse my equipment like that....but 10 rounds as fast as you can pull the trigger is a blast!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phila, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:August 19, 2011
Took it to the range 3 times. I shot about 150 rounds out of it, no jams. Very accurate rifle. I had to send it back to DPMS for one thing. There was no catch on the upper receiver for the charging handle to latch on to. Don't know how they over looked that. Other than that, great gun....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First AR

Date:November 20, 2011
This is my first AR. As is my practice I performed a thorough cleaning before shooting. I have to know how they work too. I shot it before putting any sights on it just for function testing and it was flawless. I have since installed a riser (.83") and mounted a Weaver K2.5 on it. The scope aligns perfectly with my eye. It shoots 1.5" groups at 100 yds with a generic load. I don't like adjustable stocks so will eventually replace it with an A2 later. The trigger is better than an issue M16A2 but is still terrible. I'll probably replace that too. With more magnification and some load development it will surely shoot even better. I am also looking into some folding backup sights. Overall, I am very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5.56 ORACLE

Date:November 26, 2011
WOW! Recoil like a .22 with great accuracy. I can see the bullet splash through the scope. I WILL be buying another one. Great gun for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LR-308

Date:November 29, 2011
I took my DPMS LR-308 topped with a good scope to the range last weekend and made accurate hits on steel at 200yds, 300yds, 380yds, 565yds and 600yds over and over all day long with cheap 150 grain off the shelf soft points. I love this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Phoenix
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME FIREARM

Date:December 29, 2011
ive shot several variations of AR's and M4's and this is the first ive decided to purchase and im extremely happy with it. i can put it down. its highly accurate with any half decent optics fro 25-60 with my holographic sight and ive only got out to 200 yards so far with my 3-9 scope and if i were capable of putting a bullet threw the exact same hole as the previous, im positive this rifle would do it with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy, Very Accurate!

Date:March 11, 2012
I was interested in purchasing a different sport style AR-15, but the person at cabelas sold me on this DPMS, and i'm glad he did. This gun comes with a decent hard plastic case, and two magazines. I did have one jam issue with this gun, on the very first round that I chambered, which could be my fault as well, but the next 119 rounds I had shot through the gun were perfect, no jams. This gun, although, does not have any sights on it, so you will have to buy new. I opted for the Bushnell trs-25 red dot attachment. The scary thing with this red dot is how accurate mine was, right out of the box. A very good investment all around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DPMS Panther arms 5.56 NATO Oracle

Date:March 20, 2012
I originally went to Cabelas to buy a bushmaster O.R.C. ar-15 but they were sold out of them. So i went with the Oracle. This AR is a quality AR-15 for the price. I have put about 190 (not alot) rounds threw this firearm with out a single malfunction. I even drowned the weapon in gun solvent rite out of the box and fired it the next day which you want it dry or you can cause it to malfunction, but worked flawlessly. I strongly advise you to buy this weapon. I am a very picky gun owner and done alot of review of the Bushmaster and Panther arms before the purchase and both are very good makers but i would'nt thave created a Cabelas account just to write this review on this weapon if i did'nt truly believe in its quality. Stop thinking about it and buy it. Can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Weirton, WV
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Panther 5.56 NATO Oracle

Date:March 21, 2012
Great shooter right out of the box. Sighted in my optics and was holding nice groups right off the bat with cheap ammo. Looking forward to shooting with my own rounds to see the groups get even tighter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LR-308 great semi rifle

Date:March 30, 2012
I have had this rifle for 10 months now, and it is amazing what it can do. The first thing I did is replace the trigger with a Geissele National Match trigger. Amazing 2 stage trigger. I have shot many 5 round groups with Sierra 168 match HPBT that you could cover with a dime at 100 yds, 20 power scope. Factory Federal match 168 Sierra's will go 5.8".
My goal is 10 round groups, and it AVERAGES less than 1 inch groups with 100 rounds. 10 groups of 10 shots each. Bench shooting.
Its heavy (13# with scope), but great fun. Outshoots ALL the 5.56's at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Frisco, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish I had money for a second one!!

Date:April 18, 2012
I had originally planned on purchasing a different name brand .308 rifle when a friend of mine (former Marine armorer) recommended I look at DPMS. I was a little skeptical because of the price difference but went with his recommendation. Glad I did. My rifle eats the X out of the bulls eye with extremely tight groups. Already have my first coyote kill with it and planning my next hunt for next week.
There are some higher priced, better known names in this calliber but I don't think you can go wrong buying this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Panther 5.56 NATO Oracle

Date:May 12, 2012
This is my first AR. I went round and round looking at AR's at up $2000.00. The salesman at Cabelas was very knowledgeable and showed me every AR they had. He highly recommended this rifle. Since this was my 1st AR I decided to spend less as I figured I could upgrade this rifle to my liking later. This weapon fired flawlessly. I have put about 300 rounds through it without skipping a beat. It is a joy to shoot. The fit and finish was as good as or better than AR's that cost $300 to $400 more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DPMS Panther Arms ORACLE

Date:July 9, 2012
I bought one of these in .556 about 2 years ago. It shoots the cheap ammo almost as well as handloads. I have never had any problem with it. The stock trigger left a lot t be desired. I replaced it with one from another rifle. Overall I couldn't be happier. Nice rifle for a good price. I will buy from DPMS again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy This Amazing Rifle!

Date:August 11, 2012
I bought the DPMS 5.56/2.23 NATO oracle last December. This AR-15 has all the basic features you could ever need. I have fired 200+ rounds of American Eagle brass ammuntion flawlessly. I had one FTF but that was because I didn't have the mag seated properly. And so i used the forward asisst and it worked as it should. My only complaint is the buttstock wiggles a bit but that does not hinder the accuracy one bit. This thing is a tack driver with the right optics/sights. This rifle is probably one of the cheapest AR-15's out there and is just as good and reliable as a Colt M4. If you are thinking about buying this gun do it!! This is a great gun to accessorize for your specific needs. I, myself have put a red dot, folding foregrip, bungee sling, quad rail, folding bipod, flashlight, and there is still room for more! It is a great varmit hunter, plinking gun, and definately a force to be reckoned with in home defense. The 2 factory 30 round mags is a bonus. Mine even came with a hard case. Cabela's staff was also very helpful when buying this gun. I enjoy this weapon and I recommend it to anyone. But I do warn you: shooting any steel ammuntion voids the warranty on it so don't do it! It will scratch the gun because it is harder than brass. It is worth paying a couple extra bucks for quailty ammuntion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recon 556

Date:August 21, 2012
I served our country for 22years and carried M16/M4's of every configuration you can imagine. I would put this DPMS up against any Direct Gas Impengment weapon I ever had. FN or Colts. I have put around 1K rounds thru my Recon without a Hick-Up, no FTF or FTE. It is very accurate, Love the AAC Blackout Flash Supressor. Weapon is a little front heavy as expected from the Recon wt barrel. I will say I run MILTEC oil in all my Weapons and learned in the extream environments of Iraq that they will stay cooler, cleaner and work longer. Make sure as with any new gun that you clean everything especially the bore with a quality lubricant and break in the barrel properly. You won't be dissatisfied. I WILL be purchasing a RECON 308 as soon as I can.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy with my purchase

Date:September 25, 2012
Did a lot of research and decided to buy the 5.56 Oracle. I haven't put a lot of rounds through it yet, but am very satisfied with its feel and functionality. I've spent a good bit of time with M16's and M4's over the last 25 years and this rifle performs as I would expect it to. My son liked my AR so much that he went out and purchased one also. His shoots well also. I understand it's not a custom build, but it's all we need at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great entry level DPMS

Date:October 2, 2012
This DPMS rifle is a well made, bare bones, great shooter. The rifle is very solid while shooting and cleaning. No iron sights but it has rails for them. (bare bones) This rifle also has a light barrel so it will heat up fast but it has also stayed very accurate. This is a great buy for a first AR or as a back up gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DPMS Oracle™ Semiautomatic Tactical Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well made and Accurate

Date:October 9, 2012
I bought the A1 lite 16 from Cabels, must have only gotten a few of them because I haven't see them in the store recently. I wanted the solid A1 sites because i like the idea of permanent sights. I did put a scope one the carry handle with a peep for the fixed sights. I have shot 3000 rounds to date and have never had a feeding or ejecting problem. With the scope i have consistently shot sub MOA at 100 yards and MOA at 200+ yards which is not bad for a 16" barrell. And i get very close to MOA with the A1 sights and consistently hit 4" targets at 100 yards with bare sights. So there rifles are very accurate and reliable, Like any AR15 they should be cleaned after every shooting session. A buddy of mine just bought the 24" bull barrel .223 from DPMS and after getting it sighted in is driving nails out to 200 yards with ease. Long story short... Accurate and reliable with proper cleaning and maintenance. Coyotes Beware!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27