Customer Reviews for MOSIN-NAGANT Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle

MOSIN-NAGANT Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle

Here’s an outstanding opportunity to own one of the most famous battle rifles of the 20th century at an exceptional low price. Cabela’s has acquired a supply of legendary Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 rifles that were stored in the Ukraine by the former Soviet Union. These bolt-action firearms are in remarkably good condition. Chambered in 7.62x54R, a caliber that falls between the American .308 and .30-06 in power and ballistics, these rifles are great shooters and suitable for vintage military matches or hunting big game. Each has a top-loading five-round magazine. Rear sights are adjustable for elevation and outfitted with range marks in meters. Front sights are military post-and-globe style. Supplies are limited, so don’t miss this chance to own a completely functional piece of firearm history.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
84 out of 85(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 184 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Review 1 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:November 1, 2014
I went into the store to shop for an AR15. I noticed the MN 91/30s on the rack and checked them out. After a little research, I went back a couple of weeks later and bought one. I ordered a recoil pad, sling, tool kit and strip clips. And I also spent a couple of hours cleaning it with Simple Green and Gun Scrubber. I took it to the range today for the first time. I had my new AR in a tactical case and the MN 91/30 slung over my shoulder like some Russian conscript on the Eastern front. Everyone at the range wanted to see and hold the MN, especially when I installed the bayonet. I shot it at 50, 75 & 101 yards. The pattern was a little high at each distance, but I will chalk that up to my inexperience with the weapon and skill. I will work on getting it sighted in better on my next trip to the range. The gun does a some kick. I was very glad to have the recoil pad. When I came out of the range, the range master said "when you started cooking that off, everyone in the place stopped and wanted to know what that was." I'm rather new to the "gun culture" and not a collector or hunter, but I am very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The good, the bad...but mostly ugly.

Date:October 20, 2014
First off, don't get me wrong. Overall these rifles are in decent shape for someone who just wants ANY Mosin in their collection. However, Cabela's is advertising them as in "remarkably good condition". They most certainly are not. I looked at 100 rifles from 2 Cabela's locations. All of them are Izzy's and they are all re-furbished, even if the salesman points out that one is not stamped as a re-furb, they all have post-war hardwood replacement stocks...re-furb! This is expected and not a deal breaker except that most are very beat-up and have pieces broken off. Nearly all of them have the usual red-flags such as 2 or more serial numbers, re-crowned barrels, worn-out bore etc. Of the 100 rifles only 5 made the first cut and 1 stood out from the rest. Even the one I chose has a force-matched floorplate but has other uncommon desirable features and is otherwise as Cabela's descibes them. They are worth looking over and maybe you will get lucky and find an exceptional one...I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing purchase

Date:September 22, 2014
You absolutely cannot go wrong buying one of these!
I made the mistake of picking up one that looked best on the outside and not messing with the action prior to purchase but they are in solid shape.
MAKE SURE YOU CHECK EVERY PART OF THE GUN
Some are in worse shape than others but the fact of the matter is these were produced in russia and probably some were used in WWII.
I have modified the outside o make it feel more like a WWII weapon and I could not be happier. My action can be a pain but that fault is my own
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate & Fun

Date:September 2, 2014
I bought one, took it home with the intention of putting a cool Archangel stock on it. After shooting it and refinishing it, I changed my mind. The Mosin has a sense of nostalgic class just the way it is. Out of the crate it shot small groups. After 75 years mine is still a beauty. Either be prepared to man-handle it, though, or walk away. Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Will Not Disappoint

Date:June 29, 2014
I first noticed the Mosin's on my first trip to the store and was intrigued by their history and after many hours of research I decided that I "needed" one. I returned to the store a week later to make my purchase and went through every rifle they had on the floor looking for the "perfect" Mosin. I cycled the action and found a few that made the cut but the stocks were less than B quality. I walked away seriously disappointed. Then I noticed them; The cream of the crop Mosin's hidden in plain sight behind the counter tightly nestled between the AR's and the horde of other "superior" rifles. Of the 10 Mosin's on that shelf, all had excellent stocks , I picked the the best action and told them to wrap it up. It's a numbers matching Izzy 1942 and was restored in the Ukraine by the Russian military a few years after WWII and crated up. After a thorough clean up of Cosmoline and fresh oil, I took her out to the range the next day. 40 rds cycled just fine with out one jam or misfeed. Windage is off a bit but I attribute that to me playing with the bayonet alil to much, it a formidable sight to see. At 40yds, I was off 1 MOA with 3" groups on open sights, blind and shaking like a leaf in the standing position w/ no rest. With optics and a few tweaks; Ill have this rifle driving tacks at 100m.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOSIN'S RULES!!!

Date:June 23, 2014
GREAT RIFLE , FUN TO SHOOT,AND GREAT FOR COLLECTIONS AND YOU DON'T HAVE TO BREAK YOUR BANK. TO COLLECT IT. (8) MOSINS VS (1)AR15/M4. WHAT A GREAT DEAL AND FUN RIFLES.
IM A HAPPY MAN. THANKS CABELAS!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:May 21, 2014
Very accurate, reliable, easy to find ammunition, cheap, and most of all a cool piece of history. Only down side to the gun is the first cleaning you need to do, it is packed in a ton of grease. Even if you clean it very well like I did, it will most likely still sweat some grease the first few times you take it to the range and fire it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rifle

Date:March 15, 2014
I bough one of these about 6 months ago. It was sticky and needed a good cleaning. People always cry about how much of a pain it is to clean one of these. first its military surplus always has cosmoline so if you buy one exspect to have to put about 3-6 hours cleaning it. After cleaning a few SKS's, and Mosins and other surplus rifles for friends the best way to really clean these is to use mineral spirts. Mininral sprirts will strip off the cosmoline very very easily and dosent damage the metal. use a bore brush (7.62 for barrel and 12 gauge shotgun for the chamber) and just put the rod into drill and it will clean the them out pretty quick. I striped everything down and put the barrel in a 2.5 inch PVC pipe with a cap on one end, a stuck the whole barrel and chamder in the PVC and filled it up with mineral spirts, let it sit for an hr or 2 in the sun. Make sure to oil up everything after removing it from the mineral spirts.
I also used 1000 grit, then 1500, then 2000 grit sand paper to polish most parts in the rifle. I polished up the firing pin, and parts in the bolts and it opens after every shot like butter. If you want to go further you can get polishing kits from homedepot and really make the bolt shine like chrome. It only takes an extra 10-20 min of your time. Alot of people at my range give me compliments on how nice it looks and preforms. The rifle hits half dollar size groups all day long. It has some real kick with 205 grain rounds. after about 10 I had to stop shooting for alittle cause it hurt. You have to sweat the stock in a black plasic bag for a few hours in direct sunlight. Not hard just wipe it down every like 30 min or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great price for a piece of history

Date:February 28, 2014
I had a nice selection to choose from. Got my 91/30 (made at the Izhevsk arsenal in 1943) home and immediately started cleaning it thoroughly. That Cosmoline can be a booger, but it must be removed. The cleaning kit & sling did not come with the rifle, but a non matching #'s bayonet did. If your new to Mosins, remember before firing it to check the firing pin depth and headspace (go/no go). Also, the front sight will need to be adjusted unless you plan on firing it with the bayonet on. The staff were very helpful during my purchase. I love my piece of history!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Less for $$$

Date:January 30, 2014
Rifle and bayonet no tools, pouches or sling much better deals to be found. Had my son pickup 2 when going through - they came home wrapped in plastic cabelas bags not impressed-will buy with accessories some where else. Enjoy collecting them other Mosins I have came with everything for less
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bolt action for the money

Date:January 29, 2014
These are by far the most bang for your buck out there. If you're looking for a sub MOA tack driver than keep looking however, if you are looking for a reliable, solid rifle that shoots well enough to do the job you've hit the jackpot. I highly recommend this rifle to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mosin nagant

Date:January 29, 2014
I bought this gun cause my friend bought shells for me at cabelas but he got wrong shells he was supposed to get sks shells but ended up buying shells for the mosin instead. Cabelas counldn't take the shells back so I bought the gun to shoot them glad I did. I can shoot a 5 rounds in a 7 to 8 inch group at 500 yds. Very accurate does have some kick to it. the gun I bought was a gun that someone had bought and brought back to resale so I didn't have to go through all the cleaning process. I wouldn't be afraid of taking a shot at a deer or antelope up to 800 yds and killing it if you can get your target in the sights you will hit it. this gun will shoot accurately farther than most people can see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fine shooting weapon

Date:January 21, 2014
at first i was sceptical about it. i fell in love with this rifle. very accurate and dependable. inexpensive as is the ammo. i like the looks of it. has a nice recoil, not too hard but enough to let you know it has some power. i like it better than my ar-10.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fun rifle

Date:January 5, 2014
After lots of cleaning and some discovery. I finally shot a box of shell through it. Shoots great I need to adjust the windage a little. All the shots on paper in a nice group. Great piece of history and a tank on a gun. Can't wait to take it out and shoot some more. Just need the weather to get better. Until then I'm going to work on refinishing the stock,
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it

Date:December 22, 2013
I bought mine at Cabelas about 2 months ago and I love it. It is a great rifle and it is very accurate at 400 yards. I shoot pop up targets at my local range and I can nail the long distant targets with ease. I plan to buy a second one and put a modern stock on it just to have my classic and a modern one. I would recommend this rifle to anyone and everyone who loves to shoot. I bought a rubber slip on recoil pad it works great for my wife to shoot it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

0excellent collectiable and shooter

Date:November 21, 2013
These guns were the Russians main battle rifle during WW2. They were used to beat back the Germans and as such are extremely robust, durable, accurate and simple in operation. They are steeped in history, and anyone who holds one cannot help but be reminded of the life and death struggle, that the owner before you might have endured.They are a long heavy rifle, with a bayonet and metal butt pad. The butt pad was as much as a weapon as the bayonet and the bullet itself. They were built in large number and after the war were arsenal refinished and stored away for the possible future war with the west. The gun itself is a 7.62 x54 caliber. That equates to a 30 caliber that fall between a 308 and 30-06 in power. The round itself is accurate and suitable (with hunting ammo), for any game that one might hunt with the above mentioned calibers. In fact the long barrel provides a long line of site and one can find themselves easily hitting targets several hundred of yards away. Buy one, admire it, shoot it, collect it or even hunt with it. It is suitable for any of the above.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oldie but a Goodie

Date:November 9, 2013
I have bought several of these, and each one is awesome. You get both a piece of history and a working, well-built, accurate rifle. Just remember to take it apart when you get it home and clean all the left-over cosmoline from ALL the pieces or you may be in for trouble down the road. Please do a little research before you buy one, people: these are NOT the same as a brand-new, modern firearm. A little bit of care, though, and you will have one of the finest rifles ever made. Whether you keep it the same for old-time's sake or strip it down and completely refinish (as I did with a couple), these things are fantastic. For those complaining about a kick, pick up a recoil pad when you stop in along with the rifle--DON'T BE AFRAID!!! PICK ONE UP!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

strong but sweet recoil

Date:October 28, 2013
I just purchased a 1939 Mosin Nagant M91/30 at the Cabela store. Gave it a standard cleaning and oiling job then took it to the outdoor range. My table was besides two other shooters with a lot of fancy pricy gear, scopes and expensive rifles. Set my target stand at 50 yards (Like them), standing up, toke aim and boom ! I hit almost every time two boxes of SP, made my target fly up in the air, keep firing as it layed on the dirt and just pulverized the target into pieces. It was funny the other guys were like "what is that"?. I love this rifle, it has a strong but sweet recoil and was not as loud as I expected it to be. Very accurate, no sticky parts, just reload and shoot every time. Ordered me a box of 440 rounds and I can't wait to go back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun shooter

Date:August 5, 2013
I bought this rifle a couple years ago and since then I have put 2000+ rounds of surplus ammo through it at the range. I am looking at getting another one in the next couple months. If you are looking for a cheap well made rifle this is the right gun to have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mosin-Nagant Model 91/30 Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:June 17, 2013
This rifle is an amazing piece of history and a great gun to have for; Hunting, competition, fun, collecting, Etc. The gun is in great shape for being over 70 years old, I have not shot it yet(in the process of cleaning out the cosmoline) but I have heard it is a sweet shooter and I look forward to doing so. To clear up one question, Yes the gun comes with accessories, but it depends on what the store has at the moment, take for example, mine came with tools and a oil can because the store I went to did not have the bayonet or the sling. Overall, this is probably the best deal Cabela's is offering right now, so go pick one of these rifles up before they're gone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 85