Customer Reviews for POF POF Semiautomatic Rifles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

POF POF Semiautomatic Rifles

Premium components and materials assembled with the utmost precision produce top-quality firearms. These are rifles built for optimal performance in the field under a wide range of conditions, whether your field is a law-enforcement patrol area or land that you ranch, farm or hunt on. Both the tactical and hunting versions of these rifles feature barrels made of 4150 Mil-B-1159F vanadium alloy. They're 70 Rockwell case-hardened, heat-treated 5R polygonal button-rifled barrels that are twice as hard as mil-spec hammer-forged barrels. The corrosion-resistant chrome lining is 10 times thicker and harder than mil-spec chromed lining. All rifles in this line have BC-A5 muzzle device. They use gas-piston-operated, rotating-bolt, short-stroke system methods of operation and have a two-position gas plug for normal and suppressed operating modes. Their Corrosion-Resistant Operating Systems (CROS) consist of chrome-plated barrel, gas block/tube, gas plug, gas piston, bolt carrier assembly and silicone nickel-plated A3 flat-top upper receiver and charging handle. The uppers and lowers are 7075 T-6 aircraft-aluminum alloy. All versions have ERGO pistol grips and VLTOR, six-position retractable buttstocks with mil-spec tubes. All have competition 4-lb. trigger groups and AMBI-BOLT release levers machined into the lower receiver. The .308-caliber models sport POF-USA Modular Railed Receivers, continuous/monolithic top rails, and tactical rail systems and accept DPMS, Knight Armament, C-Products, POF-USA and original AR-10 waffle magazines. The .223-caliber versions each have a sling/bipod mount, P-12SX Predator Tactical Rail System™, rigid Duracoat finish and a heat-sink barrel nut. Both calibers come with Ergo ladder rail covers.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Review 1 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POF: P-308

Date:January 5, 2011
POF buyers- how dependable has your rifle been? Unfortunately, my POF, P-308 with 20" barrel is going back in for repairs for a second time. My rifle once again, is stove piping or jamming due to poor or non ejecting of casing, despite using appropriate factory new ammo! Have you heard any pro's or con's on POF's reliability or quality control?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great AR

Date:December 9, 2011
Purchased the rifle about a year ago at Cabela's. Ran about 2,000 rounds through it. Ran great with no misfires, FTF, or Stovepipes. Couldn't believe that it didn't need to be oiled so I cleaned it and oiled it up. Next trip to the range, the gun was misfiring almost every round. It was actually bending the bullets. Back home it went where I stripped it and cleaned out all of the grease. Now it runs great again. When I do clean it, it is vey easy to strip and clean. The piston system keeps the action very clean. The only minor negative that I can say is that it is a very loud rifle. It draws a lot of attention. Very accurate with an EOtech Red Dot and Magnifier. Just a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Range report for 14.5" POF 308 tactical

Date:April 12, 2011
I put a Barska 3-9 "tactical" scope on top, boresighted it at 25yds, and proceeded to put 250 rounds downrange through it yesterday at my gun club in St. Paul. My Report as follows: Zero failures to eject, failures to feed, or stovepipe jams. Loads used include winchester lead-tipped, prvi partisan "match", and herters steel cased. Only shot to 50 yards, with scope sighted in 1" groups no problem. But unfortunately my scope broke, the shock from the gun rattled the internal screws loose on the scope, so am sending it back (cheap Barska). The gun however seems quality built, and is very easy to clean and lube. After 250 rounds all that was in the receiver was some brass shavings, only the breech where the barrel meets the receiver was dirty, its amazingly clean. POF claims the NP3 coated bolt needs no lube but I never believe such claims; I think it should have some gun oil to preserve the life of the bolt, and so I use Break Free CLP. This is the best non-DI AR on the market and 100% made in the USA. I have a sig 556 and DPMS, and I like this one the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GTG

Date:March 17, 2011
I own the 223 tactical and the 308 hunting and both have been nothing but flawless. 100 rounds through the 308 and 500 through the 223 and they have not had a single malfuntion of any kind. The NP3 coating is better than the cerakote for duability, but the silver is anything but camoflauge. Both of them shoot lights out. The 308 will do sub MOA easily. With FGMM 168gr I was consistently getting .5-.75 MOA. My only complaint about these rifles is the weight compared to a DI system, but I guess that goes without saying considering all the extra components for the short stroke piston system. Cleaning on the NP3 coated hardware is a breeze, not that you need to clean these as much as DI system anyways.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

POF 20" .308 Excellent weapon!

Date:January 28, 2011
I did monumental homework on this weapon platform before buying. It is everything it is cracked up to be! Incredibly accurate with BUIS, Eotech and HP scope. With the coatings used, it will take a bit of break-in before it gets super-slick. This is one of my best firearms..hands down!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

POF 308

Date:April 20, 2010
Recently purchased a POF .308 and am thrilled with the weapon, accuracy, and the .308 versus a .223. The POF was expensive, but when you look the AR over, and note the Trigger, the piston function, the stock, and other features, you can understand the price. Adding these on to an AR of lesser quality would double the price. Glad to see Cabela's carrying this weapon, a super quality weapon at a quality store. I first touched one of these at the NRA show in Phoenix and thought, "wow". Now that I have one, my opinion has not changed. Accuracy is super, and in .308 this is about all you need for hunting in AZ. I do need a scope as this will shoot accurately further than I can see well--thanks to old age. One minor issue, I had to take the front post in the supplied iron sights down slightly with a dremel to get a zero at 75 yards. It bottomed out before I got on the bulls eye. No problem. I'll go to a red-dot/scope as soon as funds allow. Great weapon, company and outlet. You can't go wrong! Thanks (retired military).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for POF Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

14.5" 308 tactical

Date:February 21, 2010
I have the 14.5" tactical P308 and personally shot a .98" group at 200 yards. I was amazed by this with a 14'5" barrel, and 8 power scope. I also took down a Buffalo with one shot in November. What else can you ask for?!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.