Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle

True M&P15-style rifles built from the ground up as dedicated .22 LR semiautomatics – not awkward conversions. Features all the standard operating functions and accessory positions as the centerfire versions, like over-and-under forend rails and flat-top receivers with detachable dual-aperture rear sights. Other highlights include six-position collapsible stock; adjustable A2 post-style front sights and adjustable dual aperture rear sight; two-position receiver-mounted safety lever; functioning charging handles; recessed magazine releases; and ambidextrous load-assist buttons. Lightweight, high-strength polymer quad-rail handguards, upper and lower receiver with integral steel inserts. Threaded barrel (1/2 x 28" thread) with A1-style compensator. Includes 25-round detachable magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 43(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2012

Accurate .22LR

By
Location: Anson, Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I used this weapon with a Cabela's scope on it calibrated for a 40gr bullet. I used this weapon for youth qualification during a sactioned course. They shot @ 100 yrds, 20 rnds for qualification. Everyone qualified with some obtaining expert with 20 shots grouped within 6". Over 1000 rnds fired and no issues!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2016

S&W 15-22

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought the 15-22 for fun and plinking. Cool looking rifle. Cycles fine. There are 2 models 1 you are able to shoot stingers and the other is for competition. Make sure you get the right one. At 50 yds it is fine. Anything after that is iffy. It's not a bolt action type of a accuracy but still a great gun. Cycles most every kind of .22 ammo. Satisfied.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2015

Accurate and reliable.

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a fun little rifle. I have sent thousands of rounds through with good ammo and garbage ammo and it has fired all of it. Accurate and reliable doesn't begin to cover it. Next stop is its big brother .223.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2015

Nice gun

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Recently purchased the smith and Wesson rifle for my sons 18th birthday, light, well made gun, he can't wait to get it out and shoot it. !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2014

Good- but not great

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This gun is fun to shoot...but I have had casing ejection failure issues with this gun. I had many ejection failures right out of the box, but I attributed this to not cleaning the gun prior to shooting. After a thorough cleaning, I had fewer issues, but still had them. I sent the gun back to S&W and after that only had one ejection failure at a session of about 150 rounds. But this gun is so fun to shoot...I wouldn't think about trading it in. Plus, my son (11yrs) loves it and is easy for him to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2013

ruger is abetter gun..

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i bought one of the smith/ wesson m/p15 22 lr. and i bought the ruger this year. the ruger is a better gun and the slide on it where you chamber your fist round is made of metal not plastick like the smith has. but the are both good guns i just thank the ruger is better.i hold a 2inc pattern at100 yards with the ruger i cant do that with the smith. but that may be the shooter to. i hade to send the smith back to the factory for some work on it . now it shoots ok. dont get me wrong i like both of them but the ruger i like best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2013

S&W M&P 15-22 User Review

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A couple of months ago I kicked around the idea of buying an S&W M&P 15. However, after looking at the cost of ammo and the need to go to ranges allowing high-powered rifles versus just stopping by my local indoor range on a whim on the way home from work I talked myself out of buying one.
While doing my research for M&P 15’s I kept seeing reviews for its little brother, the M&P 15-22. Not just ho-hum reviews mind you, but folks raving about how much they liked them and how much fun they were.
Hmmm, might the M&P 15-22 be the answer to my dilemma? Wouldn’t it give me the best of both worlds of having an M&P 15 but with the added advantage of cheaper .22LR ammo? It would also mean I’d still be able to stop off at my local indoor range whenever I felt the urge to lob a few rounds down range on the way home from work.
The more I thought about it the more I liked the idea. Right, an S&W M&P 15-22 it shall be.
I finally found a Smith & Wesson M&P 15-22 MOE Magpul Tactical Rifle with a 6-position stock. It wasn't easy finding one as anything today with “.22LR” in it’s name or its caliber doesn’t seem to last long on the shelves. It’s a case of “buy it when you see it” or miss out on the opportunity.
First Impressions When Opening the Box:
Right out of the box I was very impressed with the quality of this rifle. I’m not sure why I was expecting something less than S&W’s usual excellent quality but I was for some reason. Well, one look and feel of the M&P 15-22 and those concerns were put right to rest.
While the M&P 15-22 is lighter than it’s big brother it shares many of the same features with things in the same place such as the mag release, bolt catch/release, and charging handle, etc. Because the M&P 15-22 is an AR platform rifle it’ll accept all of the AR accessories with the exception of things that are unique to the .22LR.
At The Range:
Getting the scope (I added at UTG 3-9x32 Compact CQB Bug Buster AO RGB) dialed in took maybe two dozen rounds firing in groups of three to get an average for each volley prior to making elevation and windage adjustments to the scope. Once dialed in it was pure fun from that point on!
The first night I put maybe 200 rounds of Remington Goldens down range with not even a hiccup; no FTFs, no FTEs, nothing. Just sheer fun and enjoyment. Groupings at 25 yards were within the 1 1/2" rings of my targets with maybe 20% of the shots touching the 3/16" bullseye. Not bad for the first time out with it (for me or the rifle).
The second time out I put another 300 rounds down the range with the same ammo, the same targets, and had the same trouble-free results and every bit as much fun as the first week.
I've tried a few brands of ammo now and the two I have the best luck with are the Remington Goldens and Federal Champions. Out of these two I'd say the Federal Champions are the better of the two for me with tighter groupings than the Remington's. Both are excellent from the standpoint of reliability and no FTEs or FTFs.
FInal Verdict:
I’d have to say the reviews were right; the M&P 15-22 is a lot of fun and looks and feels great! In fact, I can’t remember the last time I had that big of a smile on my face for so long. Well, I can but that’s another story for different audience.
If you're in the market for an AR style .22LR you really should look into the M&P 15-22. Or, if you were like me and couldn't justify buying an AR style rifle for the reasons I mentioned then the M&P 15-22 might be right for you.
Just go buy one! You'll be happy you did.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2013

Having a blast

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I traded my other 22 lr AR off and got one of these. I love this one as it is not fussy about the ammo and preforms flawlessly . I shot subsonic ammo and Hi Vel stuff, target ammo and the cheap bulk stuff. It ate them all right up with NO fail to fire or eject. Perfect. The mag are easy to reload with the loading assist button on the side of it to take off the spring pressure. I put a red dot on it and is good and accurate , better than I am off hand. As good as any of my other 22's. Plus side is that you can adjust the stock length for the kids or wife so they can enjoy it too. I have to say that I am old school and didn't really care for the AR look but I do love the gun for what it is. I am now a AR fan.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2013

Fun

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Fun for whole family. Inexpensive way to shoot. Great for home protection. Gets a lot of lead down range in a hurry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2012

You Won't Be Disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is my first review ever written for anything I have ever bought so I think that speaks for itself. I absolutely love this gun. I have fired over 3000 rounds thru this gun without any problems. I use CCI's but only because my 22 handgun requires them. I think you could fire just about anything thru this gun. It is a great gun to learn to shoot and clean the AR platform and is cheap to shoot as well. It also is highly customizable. I have put an H rail on it with a NC star see through scope mount so I can use my UTG scope but still use the iron sights without removing the scope. A tactical flashlight, bipod foregrip, and single point sling and you are ready to go. GREAT GUN!!! If you don't have one....get one!!! I can't speak highly enough about this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Fun & reliable

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
All the good stuff everyone else wrote is true. Highly reliable, fun, cheap to shoot, light weight, great quality gun.
However, this gun is NOT very accurate. It's good, but not great. My Ruger 10-22, Remington 597HB and 514 all shoot notably tighter groups.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2012

Excellent at well over 15,000 rounds!

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have owned this gun for over a year and it never seems to have any issues! Only small issue is in cold (-10- -25F) had one or two jams but excellent gun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Great Fun.

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this for my daughter and found myself shooting as much as her. Great purchase for low cost shooting fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2012

Most Solid .22 rifle you can own

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is by far one of the best guns I own. I have about 1,000 rounds fired with only one FTF so far. I've only used Federal bulk and CCI AR ammo so far and it loves them both (as stated in the manual). I have a bushnell 4x32 .22 rimfire scope and magpul MOE vertical foregrip on the gun and both are easily accommodated. I've been shooting groups about the size of a half dollar from a little over 25 yards. Extremely accurate, reliable, and just plain fun to shoot. Also, the gun fits most (if not all) AR-15 accessories and is a HIGHLY customizable gun. Highly recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

Nothing better

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Took it out today and I only had 2 misfires. I was pushing it to its limits of how fast you can pull the trigger. It will shoot more than just the recommended ammo in the manual. i started out using Winchester super x ( to sight in my red dot ) cycled fine. Then moved to Winchester 555 bulk ammo had 1 fail to feed and fail to fire out of a 100 rds. Then I shot around a 100 rds of Federal ammo and no problems. Your going to need a extra clip you go though rounds pretty quick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2012

Tactical Fun For Pennies

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
When I decided that an AR-15 style firearm was something I'd like to add to my collection I wanted to be an intelligent consumer. First, I've had experience with the M-16A1 version in Vietnam so shooting 5.56 is no big adventure; second, I'm retired so economy of use is a big deal for me. I decided a .22 LR rimfire version would be perfect for me for several reasons such as: I'm not going to war again and I don't hunt anymore so big killing power isn't really important. As for economy, I can shoot a .22 all week for what a box of decent 5.56/.223 would cost even at Cabela's great prices.
I looked around and decided on the Smith & Wesson Military & Police 15-22 as the best rifle of the many rimfire AR's around. It has a great feel, a super-fast action, and wonderful accuracy. Like every AR-type owner I have added my own custom touches and found that the stuff they make for the "big-boys" fits and works just fine. It is just a whole lot of fun for both me and my grandsons to shoot and keeps the cost of our fun within reason. Besides, the hole in the barrel is the same size as on the M-16 I had back in the day and it's a whole lot more reliable! A great gun and a great buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012

Great Platform

By
Purchased this firearm to enjoy the AR-15 feel without the high cost of ammo. It has actually improved my accuracy when shooting my AR's. I mounted a EO Tech sight on it and the accuracy of the rifle is awesome. I bought the performance center version so needed to buy 25 round magazines separately. Too much fun...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2012

Zombie Killer par excellance...

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Gender: Male
I recently purchased the Performance Center model and after shooting about 200 rounds, I am very pleased and surprised with my purchase. The rifle is very accurate, easy to load and very easy to clean. Although the factory sights are very good, I mounted a 3X9 scope on it and found my friend and I could shoot 1 to 1-1/2" inch groups at about 80 yard from a bench rest with a good, stiff side wind. During this first outing, I had one FTF and two fail to chamber in my first two magazines- after that, everything worked perefectly including several rapid fire episodes. This is a QUALITY weapon- don't let the plastic stock fool you. We both own AR-15's in .223 and I can tell you which rifle is going to get the most use. Zombies beware!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2012

m&p 15-22

By
Location: Fayetteville,WV
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Out of over 30 firearms I own, this is probably in my top 3 favorites. With the awsome feel of the ar platform and the fun .22 lr caliber it can get any better. It is very reliable and accurate. I would personaly prefer a red dot and verticle foregrip to add to the fun of shooting the rifle, but out of the box it is just a blast to shoot!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 Ai Style Comp .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2012

Buy it or regret it!!!

By
Location: Gretna, Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this gun a couple of months ago, I don't regret it at all. I've put over 5,000 rounds through it with out much trouble. Buy extra magazines otherwise it is no fun to reload every other minute. Great groups, able to shoot dimes at fifty yards. It's simpily wonderful!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 43