Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle

True M&P15-style rifles built from the ground up as dedicated .22 LR semiautomatics – not awkward conversions. Each rifle features all the standard operating functions and accessory positions as the centerfire versions, like over-and-under forend rails and flat-top receivers with detachable dual-aperture rear sights. Other highlights include two-stage match triggers; match-grade precision barrels and chambers; six-position stocks; post-style front sights; two-position receiver-mounted safety levers; functioning charging handles; recessed magazine releases; and ambidextrous load-assist buttons. Lightweight, high-strength polymer quad-rail handguards, upper and lower receiver with integral steel inserts. 1-in-15"-twist barrel. Available: M&P15-22 A1 Style Comp – Threaded barrel (1/2 x 28" thread) with A1-style compensator. Includes 25-round detachable magazine. M&P15-22 Compliant – Fixed stock. Includes a 10-round detachable magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anson, Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate .22LR

Date:February 29, 2012
I used this weapon with a Cabela's scope on it calibrated for a 40gr bullet. I used this weapon for youth qualification during a sactioned course. They shot @ 100 yrds, 20 rnds for qualification. Everyone qualified with some obtaining expert with 20 shots grouped within 6". Over 1000 rnds fired and no issues!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger is abetter gun..

Date:September 1, 2013
i bought one of the smith/ wesson m/p15 22 lr. and i bought the ruger this year. the ruger is a better gun and the slide on it where you chamber your fist round is made of metal not plastick like the smith has. but the are both good guns i just thank the ruger is better.i hold a 2inc pattern at100 yards with the ruger i cant do that with the smith. but that may be the shooter to. i hade to send the smith back to the factory for some work on it . now it shoots ok. dont get me wrong i like both of them but the ruger i like best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&W M&P 15-22 User Review

Date:June 2, 2013
A couple of months ago I kicked around the idea of buying an S&W M&P 15. However, after looking at the cost of ammo and the need to go to ranges allowing high-powered rifles versus just stopping by my local indoor range on a whim on the way home from work I talked myself out of buying one.
While doing my research for M&P 15’s I kept seeing reviews for its little brother, the M&P 15-22. Not just ho-hum reviews mind you, but folks raving about how much they liked them and how much fun they were.
Hmmm, might the M&P 15-22 be the answer to my dilemma? Wouldn’t it give me the best of both worlds of having an M&P 15 but with the added advantage of cheaper .22LR ammo? It would also mean I’d still be able to stop off at my local indoor range whenever I felt the urge to lob a few rounds down range on the way home from work.
The more I thought about it the more I liked the idea. Right, an S&W M&P 15-22 it shall be.
I finally found a Smith & Wesson M&P 15-22 MOE Magpul Tactical Rifle with a 6-position stock. It wasn't easy finding one as anything today with “.22LR” in it’s name or its caliber doesn’t seem to last long on the shelves. It’s a case of “buy it when you see it” or miss out on the opportunity.
First Impressions When Opening the Box:
Right out of the box I was very impressed with the quality of this rifle. I’m not sure why I was expecting something less than S&W’s usual excellent quality but I was for some reason. Well, one look and feel of the M&P 15-22 and those concerns were put right to rest.
While the M&P 15-22 is lighter than it’s big brother it shares many of the same features with things in the same place such as the mag release, bolt catch/release, and charging handle, etc. Because the M&P 15-22 is an AR platform rifle it’ll accept all of the AR accessories with the exception of things that are unique to the .22LR.
At The Range:
Getting the scope (I added at UTG 3-9x32 Compact CQB Bug Buster AO RGB) dialed in took maybe two dozen rounds firing in groups of three to get an average for each volley prior to making elevation and windage adjustments to the scope. Once dialed in it was pure fun from that point on!
The first night I put maybe 200 rounds of Remington Goldens down range with not even a hiccup; no FTFs, no FTEs, nothing. Just sheer fun and enjoyment. Groupings at 25 yards were within the 1 1/2" rings of my targets with maybe 20% of the shots touching the 3/16" bullseye. Not bad for the first time out with it (for me or the rifle).
The second time out I put another 300 rounds down the range with the same ammo, the same targets, and had the same trouble-free results and every bit as much fun as the first week.
I've tried a few brands of ammo now and the two I have the best luck with are the Remington Goldens and Federal Champions. Out of these two I'd say the Federal Champions are the better of the two for me with tighter groupings than the Remington's. Both are excellent from the standpoint of reliability and no FTEs or FTFs.
FInal Verdict:
I’d have to say the reviews were right; the M&P 15-22 is a lot of fun and looks and feels great! In fact, I can’t remember the last time I had that big of a smile on my face for so long. Well, I can but that’s another story for different audience.
If you're in the market for an AR style .22LR you really should look into the M&P 15-22. Or, if you were like me and couldn't justify buying an AR style rifle for the reasons I mentioned then the M&P 15-22 might be right for you.
Just go buy one! You'll be happy you did.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Having a blast

Date:April 23, 2013
I traded my other 22 lr AR off and got one of these. I love this one as it is not fussy about the ammo and preforms flawlessly . I shot subsonic ammo and Hi Vel stuff, target ammo and the cheap bulk stuff. It ate them all right up with NO fail to fire or eject. Perfect. The mag are easy to reload with the loading assist button on the side of it to take off the spring pressure. I put a red dot on it and is good and accurate , better than I am off hand. As good as any of my other 22's. Plus side is that you can adjust the stock length for the kids or wife so they can enjoy it too. I have to say that I am old school and didn't really care for the AR look but I do love the gun for what it is. I am now a AR fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun

Date:February 11, 2013
Fun for whole family. Inexpensive way to shoot. Great for home protection. Gets a lot of lead down range in a hurry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You Won't Be Disappointed

Date:December 17, 2012
This is my first review ever written for anything I have ever bought so I think that speaks for itself. I absolutely love this gun. I have fired over 3000 rounds thru this gun without any problems. I use CCI's but only because my 22 handgun requires them. I think you could fire just about anything thru this gun. It is a great gun to learn to shoot and clean the AR platform and is cheap to shoot as well. It also is highly customizable. I have put an H rail on it with a NC star see through scope mount so I can use my UTG scope but still use the iron sights without removing the scope. A tactical flashlight, bipod foregrip, and single point sling and you are ready to go. GREAT GUN!!! If you don't have one....get one!!! I can't speak highly enough about this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun & reliable

Date:December 11, 2012
All the good stuff everyone else wrote is true. Highly reliable, fun, cheap to shoot, light weight, great quality gun.
However, this gun is NOT very accurate. It's good, but not great. My Ruger 10-22, Remington 597HB and 514 all shoot notably tighter groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent at well over 15,000 rounds!

Date:December 8, 2012
I have owned this gun for over a year and it never seems to have any issues! Only small issue is in cold (-10- -25F) had one or two jams but excellent gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Fun.

Date:December 5, 2012
Bought this for my daughter and found myself shooting as much as her. Great purchase for low cost shooting fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most Solid .22 rifle you can own

Date:October 6, 2012
This is by far one of the best guns I own. I have about 1,000 rounds fired with only one FTF so far. I've only used Federal bulk and CCI AR ammo so far and it loves them both (as stated in the manual). I have a bushnell 4x32 .22 rimfire scope and magpul MOE vertical foregrip on the gun and both are easily accommodated. I've been shooting groups about the size of a half dollar from a little over 25 yards. Extremely accurate, reliable, and just plain fun to shoot. Also, the gun fits most (if not all) AR-15 accessories and is a HIGHLY customizable gun. Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nothing better

Date:August 24, 2012
Took it out today and I only had 2 misfires. I was pushing it to its limits of how fast you can pull the trigger. It will shoot more than just the recommended ammo in the manual. i started out using Winchester super x ( to sight in my red dot ) cycled fine. Then moved to Winchester 555 bulk ammo had 1 fail to feed and fail to fire out of a 100 rds. Then I shot around a 100 rds of Federal ammo and no problems. Your going to need a extra clip you go though rounds pretty quick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tactical Fun For Pennies

Date:July 26, 2012
When I decided that an AR-15 style firearm was something I'd like to add to my collection I wanted to be an intelligent consumer. First, I've had experience with the M-16A1 version in Vietnam so shooting 5.56 is no big adventure; second, I'm retired so economy of use is a big deal for me. I decided a .22 LR rimfire version would be perfect for me for several reasons such as: I'm not going to war again and I don't hunt anymore so big killing power isn't really important. As for economy, I can shoot a .22 all week for what a box of decent 5.56/.223 would cost even at Cabela's great prices.
I looked around and decided on the Smith & Wesson Military & Police 15-22 as the best rifle of the many rimfire AR's around. It has a great feel, a super-fast action, and wonderful accuracy. Like every AR-type owner I have added my own custom touches and found that the stuff they make for the "big-boys" fits and works just fine. It is just a whole lot of fun for both me and my grandsons to shoot and keeps the cost of our fun within reason. Besides, the hole in the barrel is the same size as on the M-16 I had back in the day and it's a whole lot more reliable! A great gun and a great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Platform

Date:June 27, 2012
Purchased this firearm to enjoy the AR-15 feel without the high cost of ammo. It has actually improved my accuracy when shooting my AR's. I mounted a EO Tech sight on it and the accuracy of the rifle is awesome. I bought the performance center version so needed to buy 25 round magazines separately. Too much fun...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zombie Killer par excellance...

Date:June 4, 2012
I recently purchased the Performance Center model and after shooting about 200 rounds, I am very pleased and surprised with my purchase. The rifle is very accurate, easy to load and very easy to clean. Although the factory sights are very good, I mounted a 3X9 scope on it and found my friend and I could shoot 1 to 1-1/2" inch groups at about 80 yard from a bench rest with a good, stiff side wind. During this first outing, I had one FTF and two fail to chamber in my first two magazines- after that, everything worked perefectly including several rapid fire episodes. This is a QUALITY weapon- don't let the plastic stock fool you. We both own AR-15's in .223 and I can tell you which rifle is going to get the most use. Zombies beware!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fayetteville,WV
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

m&p 15-22

Date:March 17, 2012
Out of over 30 firearms I own, this is probably in my top 3 favorites. With the awsome feel of the ar platform and the fun .22 lr caliber it can get any better. It is very reliable and accurate. I would personaly prefer a red dot and verticle foregrip to add to the fun of shooting the rifle, but out of the box it is just a blast to shoot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gretna, Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy it or regret it!!!

Date:February 24, 2012
I bought this gun a couple of months ago, I don't regret it at all. I've put over 5,000 rounds through it with out much trouble. Buy extra magazines otherwise it is no fun to reload every other minute. Great groups, able to shoot dimes at fifty yards. It's simpily wonderful!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stockton Springs, ME
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice plinker and practice rifle

Date:January 11, 2012
I bought this rifle over a year ago. Some of my buddies made fun of me for doing it because its more like a toy (to practice with vs. using your real AR-15). After they shot a few mags through it, they all wanted one. I've put over 2000 rounds through mine, with only a few failures (remington gold dot ammo=junk). Otherwise its a great little rifle. I mounted a true glo red/green dot on mine, and it works sweet. Saves me tons of money when compared to practicing with my .223 AR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a Gun!

Date:January 7, 2012
One day on a ranch a few months back, I picked up the Colt AR 22. I didn't even know that there were .22 versions of the AR platform before this. After shooting with great accuracy up to 200 yards with mere iron sights, I knew I needed to get one for Christmas.
After much research, I settled on this gun, the S&W M&P 15-22. I think the Colt would have worked pretty well, but this gun has been everything and more that I had hoped it would be. I've shot 1000 rounds through it using the Federal Bulk ammo and have not had a single FTE or FTF.
The magazines are fantastic. I can load 25 rounds in 50 seconds and the assist feed works great. There's a way to load it that ensures the rounds will "stack up" correctly. Smith & Wesson has a great forum where a bunch of these gun owners share tips and information about this model.
The accuracy is astonishing. With a non-magnified red dot, standing up I can hit 3 inch groupings at 50 yards. If I had a scope on it, I'd be nailing the same hole from 50. Again, all with cheap ammo.
The 15-22 has a bolt relase (Colt doesn't). By the way, the fact that this gun is mostly polymer is not a negative. It is light and easy to manipulate. Honestly, I'm considering making this my home defense gun. If I put a tactical light on the side, I could bury about 3 shots up an intruder's nostril before he even knew I was standing there. No recoil!
Buy this gun and have the most fun you've ever had shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very reliable and accurrate

Date:December 28, 2011
After looking at all of the AR-15 style 22LR rifles I could find locally, I put my hard earned cash on an M&P 15-22 16" barrel with flash hider. It was the only one I could find with bolt release that functions just like a standard AR-15. In fact most of the controls function just like my Stag Arms Model 8. The only difference is the 15-22 does not have a bolt forward assist and the charging handle has about half of the stroke distance. The trigger group is a standard AR-15 assembly. The barrel thread for the flash hider is 1/2-28 so a suppresser can be installed.
The M&P 15-22 has an excellent reputation for accuracy and reliability and my particular example is no exception. No failures after consuming a couple bricks of cheap Remington plated hollowpoints. Rested on a bench, I've been able to print 1" 10 shot groups at 50 yards with a Nikon 3-9 power scope.
I'm very satisfied with this purchase. The rifle is very light, accurate, and simulates an AR-15 better than the competition. Perfect for plinking and teaching my kids how to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® M&P15-22 .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wray, Co
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:September 18, 2011
I bought this gun yesterday and have already put 1000 rounds through it! Easy to sight in and didn't a single problem. I would recommend this gun to anyone who loves to shoot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 39