Customer Reviews for WEATHERBY Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns

WEATHERBY Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns

Easy-to-use, lightweight, reliable and affordable pump-action shotguns worthy of bearing the Weatherby name. Each has a 3" chamber and 28" barrel with a heat-dissipating vent rib and sight bead. Matte-black metalwork reduces glare. Brass-bead front sight. Three screw-in chokes included: full, modified and improved-cylinder. Available: PA-08 Upland – Its handsome walnut-wood stock has a gloss finish that nicely complements the gloss-black finish on all metalwork. Its light weight makes it ideal for full-day upland game hunting. PA-08 Synthetic – Ready to hunt in any weather with a rugged, lightweight, injection-molded synthetic stock. PA-08 Waterfowler – Ideal for waterfowlers with a Mothwing® Marsh Mimicry® camo pattern. Rugged, lightweight, injection-molded synthetic stock. Swivel studs included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:September 11, 2014
I bought this gun 2 years ago as my first Shotgun, I use it for skeet and trap shooting and i must say that it is a Really great gun, I have only had 1 Jam and it was due to Operator Error (my fault) and thats after nearly 600 rounds through it as with any gun, if you keep it clean it will work well, I dont know where the negative reviews are coming from, but i would guess people are mad about spending Hundreds more for a lesser quality Gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Took some warming up

Date:May 20, 2014
I surprisingly really like this weapon. I bought it a few years ago and never used it because I realized it was made it Turkey and I didn't want anything to do with it. Then a buddy told me to use it or sell it, so I took it to the range and shot clay pigeons.
I had some ejection issues for the first 50 rounds, but that has since disappeared.
I am surprised how well it shoots. I have shots less than 500 clays in my life and and I am able to shoot 18 out of 25 with this gun. That's nothing amazing but for a pump action with IC choke that came with the gun, that's not bad. I have also used it for Turkey season and got my first Turkey with the Full choke.
In the end I am very pleased with this gun, it took some time and ammo, but a great beginner gun. Almost as good as an 870 or 500.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Shotgun for the

Date:March 4, 2014
I bought the PA-08 one year ago for my first shotgun and after putting 300 rounds through it and shooting various other shotguns, this gun is accurate and precise, strait out of the box! the Bad reviews from people must just be bad luck because I have had no Jams of any kind or any other trouble with this gun and this is my first Shotgun in my collection and I would recommend it to everyone and buy it again and again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun

Date:February 2, 2014
This gun is intended to be an upland hunter/skeet-trap shotgun and for those purposes it is a solid gun. I've had mine for about 8 months now with no problems. This is NOT a tactical shotgun so if you're a soldier of fortune wannabe, this is not the gun for you. I own many guns, including several shotguns and for the price, it's a great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

An 870 clone with none of the perks

Date:May 16, 2013
The PA-08 is a functional gun in it's own right, unfortunately it's poorly supported and manufactured.
There are no mag extensions, aftermarket furniture, or general parts readily available, your only option is to call Weatherby for direct replacements.
The gun can and will jam on occasion, unfortunately the magazine tube is welded to the receiver and a crimp on the cap end prevents spring and follower replacement.
The only saving grace is as a clone it can wear 870 furniture, the tube crimp unfortunately prevents mag extensions.
No matter your reason for getting a 12 Gauge, if the PA-08 draws your eye...just get an 870, you can easily trick out the Remington to look even prettier than a PA-08 Upland with the large aftermarket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Shotgun

Date:March 19, 2013
This shotgun is easily as reliable and made with quality as the 870. The wood grain is one of the nicest that I have ever seen, along with a super smooth action . If you want a shotgun with incredible looks and function the PA-08 Upland is the way to go hands down!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Shotgun

Date:February 26, 2013
Over much debate and research I finally pulled the trigger and picked one of these up today. Great looking shotgun. I love that the barrel and bolt face are chromed to prevent corrosion. I also like that it has a hardwood stock. Shotguns at this price level are either synthetic stock or composite pressed wood. The only reason that I didnt give it 5 stars is that the barrel is very tempermental with the removal and istallation. The usual half rack of the slide as most pump guns is the ticket, but this gun just seems more picky on the spot then most.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My son Hijacked mine for trap

Date:February 10, 2013
Saw it in a cabelas ad last spring and just happened to be headed that way so stopped in to look at it. It felt good, shouldered nicely, and the cabelas rep even let me break it down on the counter to inspect it. I was thoroughly impressed with the build qualify for the price. And given the price, I just couldn't pass it up. Got it home, put a few rounds through it to pattern it. Went to the local GS and picked up a couple of thumb chokes to make it even better and easier to change only to have my teenage son hijack it for his trap shooting as he liked it better than the remington he was shooting. He put 1,500 rounds through it in 3 months without a single issue. No jams, no FTF, nothing. And it still feels solid and ready for this years trap season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Inexpensive Shotgun

Date:May 25, 2012
I got the Weatherby PA-08 12 gauge shotgun for my son. It feels like an 870 Wingmaster but at 1/2 the price. It never jams, shoots consitantly and works well even when dirty from the marsh. I am very happy with the overall function of the shotgun and will buy another one for my daughter too. The salesman said we'd love it and we do!Great duck and Pheasant gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Clarksville,TN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:April 17, 2012
You get what you pay for. This gun does not deliver any more or less than what I paid for it. I use it turkey hunting and it has no problem downing birds at 45-50 yards with a Carlson choke tube and Hevi-Shot. If you expect this gun to perform in the duck woods like an Italian made shotgun you'll be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pleasant Grove UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing gun

Date:April 6, 2012
I got this as a gift and it has worked flawlessly since. I dont know where people are getting all this bad stuff about it... I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:March 26, 2012
I won't even say "Great gun for the money" It is just a great gun. I had purchased a Remington 870 Express last fall which I thought would be a good gun for grouse hunting in the Northern Minnesota woods. When I saw the Weatherby in Cabelas ad I figured for that price I would be crazy not to buy it. When I got home and compared the two guns side by side, I promptly sold the 870! I am not a big fan of selling guns, but I figured I would take the money and buy another Weatherby. I have about 200 rounds through it so far and it has been flawless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality: Do Not Buy

Date:March 25, 2012
Weatherby used to be a decent brand, way back in the day, but now that they have all their guns manufactured abroad, you don't want to touch these guns. There are many problems with the PA-08. It is manufactured out of cheap wood, the glossy finish looks good online but is overly reflective on bright days, and there are many plastic pieces on the gun that do not stand the test of time.
These are just cosmetic issues, however, and the gun has more serious flaws. For example:
1) If you plan on cleaning this gun, you will need to purchase special ratchet extensions to get the stock off of the receiver.
2) The cartridge tube ends may not be removed except by a gunsmith (this is a very serious flaw), and this means you cannot clean the cartridge tube if it gets dirty.
3) The aftermarket choke selection for the gun is poor, so you will have limited choices for turkey chokes, etc.
4) If you damage the recoil pad, you are out of luck, because Weatherby does not manufacture replacement pads; you have to buy custom pads and have them ground to fit.
5) Possibly worst, the gun does not shoot straight to point of target out of box like many other models. Once you get used to a gun that shoots high and to the right, you will have better luck at bringing things down.
I have owned my Weatherby PA-08 for three years now, and have hunted with it in all sorts of circumstances. The best thing I can say about it is that the gun will function well as a spare kayak paddle. My advice is to spend a few extra dollars and get a better gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase for my son

Date:February 21, 2012
My 17 year old wanted a shotgun and I purchased this for him. He is a dead on shot with this gun and it has never had to be sighted in. Would recommend this gun to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:January 26, 2012
I bought this gun to shoot trap. My O/U was getting too heavy, round after round. When I first tried this gun, it jammed and then it wouldn't cycle the spent shell. I took it apart and re-assembled it, and that problem was fixed. Then the shot shell wouldn't eject. Out of 100 rounds, the gun jammed 3 times. I figure the "break in" time will fix this. With an aluminum receiver and steel shell I'm hoping that the break-in won't be long. I've shot 400 rounds as of 1-25-12 and have had only 1 jam, which was yesterday. I keep a very small flathead screwdriver in my vest and just pop out the shell. Overall, I love this gun. I have multiple disabilities and really appreciate the lightness of the gun. With extended chokes I'm still working on hitting clays, but I'm having a blast...so to speak. Buy one, you'll be glad you did, especially after 4 rds of trap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Madison WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value, solid shooter

Date:August 7, 2011
I purchased this shotgun in January of this year, and hunt and shoot clays with it. The gun has performed flawlessly. I have been very impressed with the performance, especially at the price point. The only drawbacks I have seen with the gun are the finish on the wood stock is too shiny, and gets a little slippery at times, and the butt pad could use a little more cushion. I have had no jams or misfires with this shotgun. On e thing I have to make sure of with mine, however, is that your last shell is fully loaded into the magazine. If it isn,t it will hang up on the feed ramp when you cycle it. Not the guns fault in my opinion.
For the money you really can't expect more out of this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Duck Gun

Date:July 23, 2011
I have used this gun exclusively for waterfowl and it has worked very well. The only difficulty I have had with the gun is I tried to attach a sling and in the sling stud in the magazine end cap there must have been a bur or some other malformation of the metal because the pin on the sling would not go in easily. Once I got the pin in it wouldn't come out. Other than that there haven't been any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Waubay, SD
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worest puchase ever stick with Remington

Date:February 9, 2011
The gun proformed poor when i took it out duck hunting the gun would misfire and i put the same shell back in the gun and then it would fire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: The Willamette Valley
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

An Inferior Gun: Avoid, Avoid

Date:December 29, 2010
I purchased the Weatherby PA-08 shotgun in 2008, so plenty of time has passed for me to consider (and re-consider) my purchase. In the final knell, I would not recommend this gun to any buyer, even a beginner or "amateur" enthusiast. Yes, there are a few positive aspects about the gun, but the detriments outweigh the assets. The root of the problem, in my opinion, is that the gun is poorly designed ... and that your range of options for having the gun serviced (or servicing it yourself) are highly limited.
Consider the following:
1) The bolts that attach the stock to the barrel are so deeply inset and tightly anchored that separating these components risks damaging the gun. If you are someone who hunts in watery situations, particularly saltwater estuaries, it is necessary to perform this operation to clean your gun properly, thereby avoiding rust. IN SHORT, this gun was not designed to break down and reassemble.
2) If you order the PA-08 with a wooden stock, Weatherby does not stock parts for the gun, for example the recoil pad. If you damage these parts somehow, you will need to pray that you can find aftermarket parts from other providers, and then will need to have them customized by a professional gunsmith in order to make them fit.
3) The finish on the wooden stock is highly glossy and cheap, much more so than on similar guns, making it thereby difficult to conceal on bright days, and giving your position away to the quarry.
4) The gun has difficulty cycling through larger sized shells, and will stick when pumping through 3-inch 12 gauge loads. You can hunt with 2 3/4 inch shells if you want to, but it is difficult to drop large birds with loads that small, and inhibits your range of fire.
I am going to keep my Weatherby PA-08, because I have put some energy into fine-tuning its kinks, and because I have no inhibitions about abusing the gun in hard core situations. I need a gun that I can drop in the mud or slam into rocks when I am hiking up canyon walls in eastern Oregon. Now that "the honeymoon is over" between me and Weatherby PA-08, I have few reservations about bashing the thing into stones now and then! But would I ever purchase this gun ... or any gun by Weatherby ... ever again? The answer is clearly "NO."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Biloxi, MS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a beauty!

Date:December 17, 2010
Purchased this a few months ago. It took me a while to chose because of the many choices out there (Remington, Mossberg, Stoeger, etc.). I chose the Weatherby because it looks great and the price was not bad. I promised the salesman to let him know how it shot.
I took it out to the range, and it performed flawless. It was easy to aim and I hit what I was aiming for. Tracking clay targets with the gold bead was easy. And it felt very natural.
Recoil felt better than my 870 express.
I have not taken it hunting yet. Planning on buying an extra full choke for spring turkey.
I've had several comments that it looks to good of a gun to take out in teh woods and go hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22