Customer Reviews for WEATHERBY Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns

WEATHERBY Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns

Easy-to-use, lightweight, reliable and affordable pump-action shotguns worthy of bearing the Weatherby name. Each has a 3" chamber and 28" barrel with a heat-dissipating vent rib and sight bead. Matte-black metalwork reduces glare. Brass-bead front sight. Three screw-in chokes included: full, modified and improved-cylinder. Available: PA-08 Upland – Its handsome walnut-wood stock has a gloss finish that nicely complements the gloss-black finish on all metalwork. Its light weight makes it ideal for full-day upland game hunting. PA-08 Synthetic – Ready to hunt in any weather with a rugged, lightweight, injection-molded synthetic stock. PA-08 Waterfowler – Ideal for waterfowlers with a Mothwing® Marsh Mimicry® camo pattern. Rugged, lightweight, injection-molded synthetic stock. Swivel studs included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
22 out of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2016

All around great gun for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this shotgun with the synthetic stock from Cabelas in April of 2015. I was a little weary because I did not know a lot about this set up. The light weight nature of the gun really attracted me to it, so I thought I would give it a try. I have used it for trap shooting, and it has performed flawlessly. I have also changed barrels and shot slugs through it which also performed well. I was going to try turkey hunting for the first time this spring and planned to use my Mossberg 500. But after a trigger malfunction I gave the Weatherby a try. I patterned it, and managed to get a really nice grouping at 40 yards with the Remington Nitro Turkey #4 shot. I took it out yesterday 4-21-16 and shot a nice big bird with it. This is a great light weight gun that is perfect for any gun collection!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015

Quality gun from Weatherby

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this gun after comparing between the three main pump actions you hear about today ( the 870, 500, and obviously the PA-08), and this turned out to be a wonderful gun for duck hunting. I have the synthetic version and it has very little glare. Initially the gun did have a slight jamming problem, but only 1 out of every 50 shots or so (with 3" magnums), or when I had it out in the rain hunting and didn't clean it before the next day when it was freezing cold (the ejector was a little frozen, once I racked it a few times fast with shells it loosened up for the hunt) and the shell didn't clear the action before I came forward. The PA-08 is very hard to short rack as the action only has about a 14inch pull, the swing is smooth being its about 7- 8lbs, and the gun can take solid hits and scratches. The bead is very easy to see, it is very easy to dis/reassemble, and it performs just as well as my friends shotguns do that are much more expensive. I shot several ducks with it during the season in freezing mornings, wet cold snowing mornings, and even in the rain when it was warm enough, and it took the beating and kept shooting, ejecting, and reloading quickly and smoothly. Long story short, this is a wonderful shotgun for anyone who want a good pump shotgun or just shotgun in particular and with good cleaning and care it will last a long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2015

BUY THIS WEPON!

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought my weatherby PA-08 shotshell 12 gage shotgun on my 18th birthday. im now 22 and it still is one of the best firearms i own but ive takin care of it. i take this gun everywhere i go! im not much of a bid hunter but ive cleard over 15 bores off my land! ive never had it jam or any poblems with it for 4 years!!!! if you take poper care of your fiearm it should last a lifetime!! one thing i expecely love about this shotgun is i can shoot slugs to bird and everyting that will fit in it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015

Great 12 Gauge

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I went with the Upland version because I love the natural walnut wood look and feel. Have shot about 300 rounds of Federal through it in the past month or so and no problems with anything what-so-ever.
Chrome lined barrel, with 3 replaceable chokes, IC, Mod, and Full. All you need for shooting trap. Brass bead sight is replaceable but once I got used to it, I prefer it now. Magazine tube holds 4+1. I'd recommend cleaning / lubricating this gun before your first use.
Gun shoots very nicely with its weight and feel. I could shoot it all day. Head to Cabelas and ask them to show you one! If taken care of, your grandchildren could be shooting this Weatherby.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2014

Great Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this gun 2 years ago as my first Shotgun, I use it for skeet and trap shooting and i must say that it is a Really great gun, I have only had 1 Jam and it was due to Operator Error (my fault) and thats after nearly 600 rounds through it as with any gun, if you keep it clean it will work well, I dont know where the negative reviews are coming from, but i would guess people are mad about spending Hundreds more for a lesser quality Gun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014

Took some warming up

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I surprisingly really like this weapon. I bought it a few years ago and never used it because I realized it was made it Turkey and I didn't want anything to do with it. Then a buddy told me to use it or sell it, so I took it to the range and shot clay pigeons.
I had some ejection issues for the first 50 rounds, but that has since disappeared.
I am surprised how well it shoots. I have shots less than 500 clays in my life and and I am able to shoot 18 out of 25 with this gun. That's nothing amazing but for a pump action with IC choke that came with the gun, that's not bad. I have also used it for Turkey season and got my first Turkey with the Full choke.
In the end I am very pleased with this gun, it took some time and ammo, but a great beginner gun. Almost as good as an 870 or 500.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Best Shotgun for the

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought the PA-08 one year ago for my first shotgun and after putting 300 rounds through it and shooting various other shotguns, this gun is accurate and precise, strait out of the box! the Bad reviews from people must just be bad luck because I have had no Jams of any kind or any other trouble with this gun and this is my first Shotgun in my collection and I would recommend it to everyone and buy it again and again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014

good gun

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Gender: Male
This gun is intended to be an upland hunter/skeet-trap shotgun and for those purposes it is a solid gun. I've had mine for about 8 months now with no problems. This is NOT a tactical shotgun so if you're a soldier of fortune wannabe, this is not the gun for you. I own many guns, including several shotguns and for the price, it's a great value
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2013

An 870 clone with none of the perks

By
The PA-08 is a functional gun in it's own right, unfortunately it's poorly supported and manufactured.
There are no mag extensions, aftermarket furniture, or general parts readily available, your only option is to call Weatherby for direct replacements.
The gun can and will jam on occasion, unfortunately the magazine tube is welded to the receiver and a crimp on the cap end prevents spring and follower replacement.
The only saving grace is as a clone it can wear 870 furniture, the tube crimp unfortunately prevents mag extensions.
No matter your reason for getting a 12 Gauge, if the PA-08 draws your eye...just get an 870, you can easily trick out the Remington to look even prettier than a PA-08 Upland with the large aftermarket.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

Amazing Shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Gender: Male
This shotgun is easily as reliable and made with quality as the 870. The wood grain is one of the nicest that I have ever seen, along with a super smooth action . If you want a shotgun with incredible looks and function the PA-08 Upland is the way to go hands down!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013

Very Good Shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Over much debate and research I finally pulled the trigger and picked one of these up today. Great looking shotgun. I love that the barrel and bolt face are chromed to prevent corrosion. I also like that it has a hardwood stock. Shotguns at this price level are either synthetic stock or composite pressed wood. The only reason that I didnt give it 5 stars is that the barrel is very tempermental with the removal and istallation. The usual half rack of the slide as most pump guns is the ticket, but this gun just seems more picky on the spot then most.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2013

My son Hijacked mine for trap

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Saw it in a cabelas ad last spring and just happened to be headed that way so stopped in to look at it. It felt good, shouldered nicely, and the cabelas rep even let me break it down on the counter to inspect it. I was thoroughly impressed with the build qualify for the price. And given the price, I just couldn't pass it up. Got it home, put a few rounds through it to pattern it. Went to the local GS and picked up a couple of thumb chokes to make it even better and easier to change only to have my teenage son hijack it for his trap shooting as he liked it better than the remington he was shooting. He put 1,500 rounds through it in 3 months without a single issue. No jams, no FTF, nothing. And it still feels solid and ready for this years trap season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2012

Great Inexpensive Shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I got the Weatherby PA-08 12 gauge shotgun for my son. It feels like an 870 Wingmaster but at 1/2 the price. It never jams, shoots consitantly and works well even when dirty from the marsh. I am very happy with the overall function of the shotgun and will buy another one for my daughter too. The salesman said we'd love it and we do!Great duck and Pheasant gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2012

Good Gun

By
Location: Clarksville,TN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
You get what you pay for. This gun does not deliver any more or less than what I paid for it. I use it turkey hunting and it has no problem downing birds at 45-50 yards with a Carlson choke tube and Hevi-Shot. If you expect this gun to perform in the duck woods like an Italian made shotgun you'll be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2012

Amazing gun

By
Location: Pleasant Grove UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got this as a gift and it has worked flawlessly since. I dont know where people are getting all this bad stuff about it... I would recommend this to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012

Great Gun

By
I won't even say "Great gun for the money" It is just a great gun. I had purchased a Remington 870 Express last fall which I thought would be a good gun for grouse hunting in the Northern Minnesota woods. When I saw the Weatherby in Cabelas ad I figured for that price I would be crazy not to buy it. When I got home and compared the two guns side by side, I promptly sold the 870! I am not a big fan of selling guns, but I figured I would take the money and buy another Weatherby. I have about 200 rounds through it so far and it has been flawless.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2012

Poor Quality: Do Not Buy

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Weatherby used to be a decent brand, way back in the day, but now that they have all their guns manufactured abroad, you don't want to touch these guns. There are many problems with the PA-08. It is manufactured out of cheap wood, the glossy finish looks good online but is overly reflective on bright days, and there are many plastic pieces on the gun that do not stand the test of time.
These are just cosmetic issues, however, and the gun has more serious flaws. For example:
1) If you plan on cleaning this gun, you will need to purchase special ratchet extensions to get the stock off of the receiver.
2) The cartridge tube ends may not be removed except by a gunsmith (this is a very serious flaw), and this means you cannot clean the cartridge tube if it gets dirty.
3) The aftermarket choke selection for the gun is poor, so you will have limited choices for turkey chokes, etc.
4) If you damage the recoil pad, you are out of luck, because Weatherby does not manufacture replacement pads; you have to buy custom pads and have them ground to fit.
5) Possibly worst, the gun does not shoot straight to point of target out of box like many other models. Once you get used to a gun that shoots high and to the right, you will have better luck at bringing things down.
I have owned my Weatherby PA-08 for three years now, and have hunted with it in all sorts of circumstances. The best thing I can say about it is that the gun will function well as a spare kayak paddle. My advice is to spend a few extra dollars and get a better gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

Great purchase for my son

By
Location: Kansas City, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
My 17 year old wanted a shotgun and I purchased this for him. He is a dead on shot with this gun and it has never had to be sighted in. Would recommend this gun to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2012

Good Gun

By
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this gun to shoot trap. My O/U was getting too heavy, round after round. When I first tried this gun, it jammed and then it wouldn't cycle the spent shell. I took it apart and re-assembled it, and that problem was fixed. Then the shot shell wouldn't eject. Out of 100 rounds, the gun jammed 3 times. I figure the "break in" time will fix this. With an aluminum receiver and steel shell I'm hoping that the break-in won't be long. I've shot 400 rounds as of 1-25-12 and have had only 1 jam, which was yesterday. I keep a very small flathead screwdriver in my vest and just pop out the shell. Overall, I love this gun. I have multiple disabilities and really appreciate the lightness of the gun. With extended chokes I'm still working on hitting clays, but I'm having a blast...so to speak. Buy one, you'll be glad you did, especially after 4 rds of trap.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weatherby PA-08 Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2011

Great value, solid shooter

By
Location: Madison WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this shotgun in January of this year, and hunt and shoot clays with it. The gun has performed flawlessly. I have been very impressed with the performance, especially at the price point. The only drawbacks I have seen with the gun are the finish on the wood stock is too shiny, and gets a little slippery at times, and the butt pad could use a little more cushion. I have had no jams or misfires with this shotgun. On e thing I have to make sure of with mine, however, is that your last shell is fully loaded into the magazine. If it isn,t it will hang up on the feed ramp when you cycle it. Not the guns fault in my opinion.
For the money you really can't expect more out of this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 26