Customer Reviews for Browning Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Browning Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter

The accuracy and durability of the classic A-Bolt has made it the choice for hunters for decades. Its reputation for rugged reliability lives on in the FLD model. Its glass-bedded, free-floating barrel has a low-luster blued finish and is drilled and tapped for scope mounts. The bolt-action has a 60° bolt lift and a non-rotating sleeve. The satin-finish walnut stock features a raised cheekpiece, recoil pad and fine checkering. Includes a detachable box magazine, hinged floorplate, top-tang safety and factory-installed sling swivels.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Review 1 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New-Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very very good!

Date:September 17, 2010
I have a LH Stainless Stalker, in 30-06 sprg. with BOSS. I can already tell you that this will be my favourite go-to rifle for almost everything I hunt (Deer, Black Bears, Moose). It just fits right when I shoulder it. The fit and finish is good overall. The bolt-action is smooth, progressive and has a feeling of strenght. I've just liked it the minute I held it in my hands and ever since. But nothing is perfect and there is some disappointements. The stock, even if I like it, came in with what looks like particles stucked in the finish. And the magazine hindge does not close as thight as my Ruger Hawkeye Sporter for example. But for it's hunting capabilities and attributes I've got to say it's the best I've got. Better than my Tikka T3, Better than my Winchester Model 70 Super Grade, Better than my Ruger Hawkeye. It's simply a better balanced rifle overall than all of those. What a beautifull package! I'm giving it 4 stars, only because it does not deserve 5; but if I could of picked 4 1/2, that is what I would of given it. It's the most expansive rifle I own, right in-line with my Winchester Model 70 Super Grade, but I still think it's worth every penny, just like the Winchester for that matter. I guess my rifle experience truly does come to getting what you pay for.
In conclusion I'll say: Browning is now my true hunting rifle in the field. Winchester is my beauty to play with, observe and admire when I'm home. The others I've got are good, but don't measure up with those two overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fuquay Varina, NC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning A-Bolt

Date:February 28, 2012
Purchased Browning A-Bolt in .308 and Zeiss Scope in December 2011. I have always owned Remington high power rifles. Still love them and would not trade. However, I have never owned a rifle quite like the Browning A-Bolt. I like to shoot any and all guns. I am not the best shot in the world. There is something about the A-Bolt I cannot explain. I consistently have 3 shot groups at 100 meters the size of a quarter no matter what ammo I use. I have never experienced such accuracy with any other weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning A-Bolt 30:06

Date:June 9, 2011
I bought this A-Bolt in 30:06. I put a 3-9x50 Redfield scope on it got it bore sighted last week. I also bought Hornady 165gr Interbond's for it. I took it to the Range this morning. 3 Shots and it was dialed in. I shot another 3 shots at 100 yards and you could cover all 3 up with a penny. Its a amazing Rifle straight out of the box with the correct ammo. Looking into buying another very soon! I hope the rumor about the A-bolt being discontinued isnt true they are great Rifles!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning Rifles are Top-Line for Hunters

Date:May 3, 2011
My friends and family started buying Browning hunting rifles back in the 1980's when the A-Bolt Stainless Stalker and Silent Stalker were introduced, and we're still buying them. Browning rifles are hard to beat in every way (except maybe on price, lately). Over the years, we've added A-Bolt II and X-Bolt models, both synthetic and wood stocked, and both stainless and blued. Calibers have included: .300 Win Mag, 300 WSM, 7mm Mag, 7mm WSM, 30-06, Rem .280, 270 Win, 270 WSM, and a .243. Now, I'm itching for an A-Bolt II in 300 REUM. I use my own 300 Win Mag on everything from Elk and Caribou to Deer and Antelope, because it is so incredibly accurate. Browning's advantages have included: the quick and silent tang safety switch, its detachable magazine, its short bolt throw and strong bolt lockup, its rugged and clean-designed stocks, the sturdy true glass-bedded and free-floated barrels, the recessed muzzle, its longer 26" barrel length barrels on most magnum calibers, Browning's strong warranty (which we've never had to use), and the classy BrowninG name and reputation. Being mostly a meat hunter, I've taken nearly 100 animals now (including a few trophies) shooting mostly offhand with our very first Browning rifle, a Silent Stalker in 300 Win Mag, and can say that when it comes to harvesting meat, it is accuracy, shot placement, and confidence that count most. The long barrel of the Browning magnums bolsters all of those, while also making the .300 really sweet to shoot given its modest recoil, stability, and consistent accuracy. Our other family members and friends say the same good things about their own favorite Browning rifles. We've never had a reason to switch to any other rifle brand than our Brownings, because they just keep on doing the job for us. Thought you'd like to hear about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A-Bolt .308

Date:March 2, 2011
first rifle i have even owner. Within 20 shots i was shooting MOA @ 100 yards. Everything feels great on the gun and it looks very good. Most importantly is shoots very well! i am very happy with this rifle and im sure it will last me a lifetime!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California fooot hills
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning A Bolt II SS 325 wsm

Date:September 1, 2010
I did a lot of research on this rifle; a nice light/small powerful rifle that will not break the bank and I can hunt with it from the Sierra Nevada mountians to Alaska. The Browning A Bolt II SS is about 1 lb heavier than the TI model and $900. less.
Very nicely put together for a hunting rifle. ALL the pieces fit. No under cuts or overlays. No over tooling marks. The way one would except for good money!
The 325 wsm with 200gr. Accubonds @ 2950 fps is nothing to laugh about.
The glass was an Alaskan Guide 30 mm SF.(junk) The cross hairs turned inside the scope after a couple rounds.
It now has a 3x9 Ziess, and a Limbsaver. The recoil was not bad at all. One could carry this rifle all day in the brush or open plains. It is now part of the equipment for the Rhino.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tacoma, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning A-Bolt II 300 Win Mag

Date:August 21, 2010
Just pick up this rifle about 3 weeks ago and just now had a chance to scope it all in. This is my first Browning and this rifle has me hooked for sure, shot about 40 rounds through it and wow does it shoot great, it really only took about 6-9 shots to get it on the money at a 100 yds. The Browning A-Bolt II has great groupings,shoots smooth and love the looks.
Cabelas really knows how to find the right rifle for you and has great service. Cabelas you have a customer for life thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A bolt 270

Date:May 23, 2010
I've been hunting for a number of years with a Browning 270 A bolt. I use this gun in N.W. Oregon for deer and Elk. Have dropped both species with single shots several times. I absolutely love this gun, looks and performance have been extremely pleasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bronx, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-06 A-Bolt II Hunter

Date:January 31, 2010
This is my first rifle and I couldn't be happier. The wood stock is what I expected of a "traditional" hunting rifle. Mounted a Leupold 3-9x40 scope. Sighted in and it shoots great every time I hit the range. If you're going into heavy brush or rough hunting areas then I'd skip the attractive look of a wood stock in favor of synthetic finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than model 700

Date:December 24, 2009
This is my favorite "go to" deer rifle. I had a model 700 in .270, but my A-bolt II in 7mm-08 equals it out to 300 yards. I've never had to shoot more than 120 yards at a deer or hog in FL, GA and Louisiana where I have lived, but this one shoots very well out to 200 for me with ease. Benefits of the A-bolt Hunter.
Matte finish so it wont reflect glare.
Wood is waxed and repels water and rain fairly well.
Glass bedded barrel
Removable magazine/hinged floorplate combination is great
Safety can be engaged without moving your hand position like on most rifles since it is on the tang.
22" barrel vs. 24" for model 700, vanguard, model 70 etc.
3 lug bolt is stronger than remington actions and others.
Wood to metal fit is better quality than comparable rifles for the price.
I still prefer the A-bolt to the x-bolt with its plastic parts and jimmy neutron looking styling.
Mouned a 3x9 nikon prostaff with leupold rings and bases and this thing is a tack driver.
7mm-08 shoots like a .243 and hits as hard as a .270 and makes bigger holes. Best round I have found besides .30-30 and .308 for swamp hunting and hardwood bottoms and I can group it like a .22 from the light recoil.
PS, boring green box core lokts shoot great out of this gun and the deer don't seem to stop and see if it has a colored plastic tip before they drop dead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Browning® A-Bolt II Hunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning

Date:December 20, 2009
This is the first Browning I have owned. I purchased it for varmit hunting in a .243. This firearm has proved its value and is true to form. I use it now on deer, bear, and boar. I had a Bushnell 3-9X40 scope mounted and it to has proven its worth. With several guns in my case, this is my first choice when I head out the door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.