Customer Reviews for HI-POINT Hi-Point Carbine

HI-POINT Hi-Point Carbine

This affordable American-made semiautomatic carbine is fun to shoot, but is also a serious home-defense tool. The stock is all-weather polymer with sling and swivel mounts. It has fully adjustable sights and scope mounts as well. Quick ambidextrous thumb safety and grip-mounted magazine release. 2 magazines and free trigger lock included. Vertical grip on the forearm and mounting rails for accessories included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
76 out of 78(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hi-Point Carbine
Review 1 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must have

Date:December 2, 2012
Great gun and a must have for every collection. Fun to shoot. Need a longer clip, but other than that great gun. I love mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blast to shoot!!!

Date:November 25, 2012
Bought this gun to have some fun with. One of the sales associates commented that he "would not give a dollar for one of those guns" while I was checking out. I had done considerable research and elected to go ahead an purchase it.My family and I had a blast shooting it. 250 rounds in one session with 0 jams or FTF's. 5 different brands of ammo and 3 different bullet designs (round nose, flat nose, and hollow point).Shot a 5'" group at 50 yards once sighted in. Would definitely buy again. GLAD I DID NOT LISTEN TO THE GUN SNOBS OR THE SALES ASSOCIATE!!! Went on black Friday and had a 4 hour wait to get the background check completed. Cabela's done everything they could to make us comfortable. handed out water and snacks and provided chairs. Totally not their fault, thank the government for the wait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't judge a book by it's cover.

Date:October 31, 2012
The Hi-Point carbine looks odd. The Hi-Point carbine is heavy. When dry fired the Hi-Point carbine's trigger feels less than ideal.
That's what I thought when I held one for the first time. I've wanted to own a pistol caliber carbine chambered for .45 ACP, but could not justify the cost. That was until I encountered the Hi-Point 4595TS. I took my chances, and bought one.
I am sure glad I did. The Hi-Point carbine feels perfect when shouldered. The goofy appearance does not affect the carbine's ergonomics. While a heavy carbine, it is well balanced. The fulcrum is at the grip, making it feel lighter. The trigger feels completely different under live fire, it feels just right.
The Hi-Point carbine isn't ammo sensitive. In fact of all the factory ammo, mine shoots Russian steel case the best. It also has no issues cycling my mild reloads.
Factory ammo or reloads, FMJ or hard-cast lead, I'm able to achieve 2" groups & under, using the factory iron sights, off hand, at a distance of 25 yards.
If you're thinking about buying a Hi-Point carbine of any caliber, stop thinking & go buy it already. You'll be glad you did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hi point 9mm carbine

Date:October 14, 2012
good rifle for the price. Have put a couple hundred rounds thru it so far. Had a couple of failure to ejects the first time I took it out. But none today. Make sure the cartridge is tilted up as you load them, as other reviewers have said. When that is done no problems feeding. Not much recoil with the 9mm. I a fairly new shooter and I found the gun to be pretty accurate. Would highly reccommend this gun to anyone. Great value for the price. Have read other reviews that it is an ugly gun, But I like the look of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Weapon. Inexpensive not Cheap.

Date:October 11, 2012
This is a great weapon. I bought the .45 ACP Carbine. It's shoots like a champ. Good grouping even though I am a bad shot. Took cheap ammo without a problem. It is bulky and takes some getting used to when you first try to maneuver your thumb to the saftey and magazine release. The trigger is heavier than I thought it would be but with something that packs a .45 punch I don't mind a little weight. It is still a smooth trigger though. The only real problem is not even with the weapon. The owners manual is just a two sided sheet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gun

Date:October 1, 2012
I have been wanting to get a carbine to shoot my large stock of 9mm range ammo I have, and 9mm is about the cheapest plink ammo you can do (out of 40cal, 45ACP, 5.56mm, 7.62mm). I read a lot of really good things about this gun. It is a bit "rough" on the exterior, but for the price on this gun, it has amazing quality and lots of rails for attachment. It shoots like a DREAM. Really like how accurate it is and balanced. This is a definate buy if you have overlap ammo for pistols too. If you don't, then go buy a 9mm pistol too. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Carbine for the money!

Date:August 7, 2012
I purchased the 45ACP from Cabelas in early May. I put 1500 rounds through it since then with no problems at all other than sight adjustment. It is a bit on the heavy side, but that makes it easier for me to stay on target when doing rapid fire. I can keep all 9 shots from the mag in a 6inch circle at 35yds dumping the mag. I only gave it 4 stars becuase there is a bit of side movement in the rear sight. I do plan on adding a rail to the top of the forward grip and installing magpul folding sights. I don't like how I need to remove the entire front sight assembly to do a thorough tear down and cleaning. Doing so results in have to do a complete sight in and front sight adjustment every time. I did add a muzzle compensator and mag holders. This is my favorite firearm to date. My wife likes it so much she wants one, but the 9mm. My 8yr old son even shoots it pretty well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hi Point 9mm Carbine

Date:July 13, 2012
This carbine is very well built. It comes with the vertical grip with adjustment key in the grip and the two magazines. Hi Point also includes a second adjustment key with the carbine.
The iron sights had to be adjusted for a 50 yard shot.
Once they were adjusted it was very accurate. Love the ghost ring. Tried it at 75 yards and still very accurate. I would recommend this carbine for anyone who wants to have fun at a low cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:June 3, 2012
I recently purchased this 9mm carbine and brought it to the firing range today. I was impressed. The accuracy was amazing. I was punching out the center of the target at 25 yards with ease. I was originally thinking about getting a laser for this, but the accuracy was so good, I don't think I need it. It never jammed and fired perfectly every time. I then let my wife try it who is not very experienced with guns. She first fired my 9mm hand gun and my mom's .38 Special (rarely even hit the target). Both kind of freaked her out (can't imagine her firing a 40 or 45). Then I gave her this gun. At first she aimed down range and then put the gun down and said she didn't want to shoot it ("looks too intimidating"). My mom (4'11") fired it with no problems and loved it. She figured if my mom could fire it, she would try. So, she fired it and loved it. She was also carving out the center of the target at 15 yards. To put this in perspective, she usually can't even hit the target with a hand gun from 8 yards. I think this is going to be her home defense gun. Needless to say, I'm impressed. The only two downfalls is that the dis-assembly is not very easy and the clip is not easy to load. Otherwise, I'd recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply Excellent for the price

Date:May 28, 2012
After a lot of research I decided on the purchase of the 995. I wanted a 9mm rifle to match my handguns. Though not like a 30-06 or other powerful rifle, the 995 will reach down range without any trouble. With Federal 9mm (which is all I’ve used with the 995) I’ve had no problems with the firearm. With bi-pod front legs and a red dot sight (non-magnified) I was able to hold a very tight pattern at 15, 30 and 50 yards. I had no barrel warping issues and once accustom to the trigger I became very accurate with this firearm. Full disassembly isn’t that difficult once I did it a couple of times. This is an excellent firearm for the price. Though a bit heavy, it’s not a major burden and in fact the weight helps to keep target reacquisition very short. There is not much more kick than a Ruger 10/22 produces. The warranty is good. Simply, it’s accurate and fun as well as cheap to shoot. If Cabela's allows, I've attached 2 photos of 30 and 50 yards after I properly adjusted the red dot sight. I was able to accomplish shots like shown consistently.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great weapon - a pleasure to shoot

Date:May 23, 2012
I wanted a semi-automatic carbine that was inexpensive to buy & shoot. I read all the reviews and watched a few videos. I thought it was worth a try. I have been amazed at the value for the Hi Point carbine. I bought the 9mm And I love it!!! it was accurate right out of the box and a pleasure to shoot. A guy at the range loved it and said he is going to get himself one.
My only complaint was that it was hard to get. I tried all the gun shops around Baltimore and they all said they didn't have one and can't get it. I called Cabela's in Pa. They were out but told me they were being shipped. I was able to pick it up 3 days later.
My wife, who has MS, has shot it and loves it. It actually easier for her to shot than a pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pacific Nortwest
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Firearm!

Date:April 22, 2012
Before I purchased this carbine, I read reviews and checked video clips, etc., but was still a little skeptical. However, once I took it out for target shooting, I was quite impressed. It fired inexpensive 9mm luger rounds without any issues. It is smooth shooting with very little recoil and is extremely lightweight. My daughter and wife both shot it as well and now want their own. In addition, the manufacturer's customer service line was extremely helpful when I contacted them with questions on proper ammunition, laser sight, etc. All in all, I am a satisfied customer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super cheap and a super Carbine

Date:April 17, 2012
This is absolutely the best low cost carbine in the world, period. Accurate and very reliable. 1000 rounds without a jam and only one FTF. If you gave this item one or two stars then you either got a factory defect (possible) and you should return it to the factory, or you should not be a gun owner. The reports of large groupings at 50 yards are just impossible to replicate. Every grouping is tight and consistant even with different ammo. I have all three Hi-Point models and they are all fantastic weapons for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Naples, FL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MaybeThe Best Firearm Value Out There

Date:April 2, 2012
Very inexpensive to purchase, will shoot cheap 9mm ammo (mine eats ANYTHING I feed it), easy to maintain and FUN to shoot. I am amazed everytime I take it out at how accurate I can be with iron sights. I have a friend that totally abuses his HI-POINT carbine...rarely cleaning it and it just feeds like nobody's business. I don't recommend mistreating this weapon, in fact I'm positive that with regular care and cleaning and this carbine will outlast you. Made in America, great value, love this carbine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northfield mn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hi point 9mm carbine

Date:March 31, 2012
This is a very cool gun it work flawlesly i have red many reviews on this gun and went and got one at cabelas today 03-31-12 my gun rang is close to cabelas i stop on the way home put a 100 round in it not a flech in this gun hits wher you point its right on out of the box i shot at 25 and 50 yards right on very fun gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first rifle

Date:March 26, 2012
A lot of people really talk down about Hi-Point products, telling you all sorts of horror stories, so I was very skeptical about purchasing one. And to be honest, they are kind of ugly. But, boy am I glad I didn't let the horror stories deter me from buying this rifle.
The one I purchased is the 995TS, 9mm. The only issue I have with this gun is the finish on the receiver. There are a few places where the finish has flaked off. This was causing the trigger to feel gritty.
I took the gun apart and cleaned everything and oiled it and now the trigger is nice and smooth.
Please note, the parts of the finish that flaked off are not visible when the gun is fully assembled, so for me, it isn't an issue as long as the gun is properly maintained. In the wrong environment, these bare spots could rust.
After a day at the range and 500 rounds with no issues what-so-ever, I am sold on this product. I had zero failures either to eject or feed.
It only took a few rounds to sight in and I was shooting away.
As I stated above, the finish isn't the best, which is why I only gave this a 4 stars, but I highly recommend getting this rifle. For the price it is an excellent purchase. I am looking at getting one of these in 45cal for possible home defense use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great small Carbine

Date:March 19, 2012
The first day on the range my grandson and I shot 100 round and the second day my two sons shot over 200 more without a hang up. We also had good groups on the target at 25 yards. For the asking price, this is a great 9mm carbine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice gun

Date:March 16, 2012
Picked up the 9mm last year have put about 200 rounds down range and NO problem! With 124 grain +p hollow point you get very good accuracy and expansion And the wife loves it, a plus! Will pick up the .45 A.S.A.P.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun Fun Fun

Date:March 6, 2012
Has to be the most delightful firearm I've ever used.
My eyes see the sights fine in good light, not so good in dim light. Took off the sights and installed a short 4x32 scope on it, sighted it for 50yds. 2" groups were common with off-hand shooting, and took a wild hog at close range (15yds at night under a red light) with it last week. You know I had to try that!
Mine is the .45.
No malfunctions after several hundred rounds, but make sure you give the clip a bump on the bottom after seating it.
Recoil nearly nonexistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hi-Point Carbine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wheeling wv
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thumbs up!

Date:February 24, 2012
there is a big difference between cheap and inexpensive. this is inexpensive. bought at .45 carbine. sweet. no complaints. does what is supposed to do. could have spend more, if i had the money. but i don't. so the difference i can get ammo. you can never, ever have enought ammo. american made--not much of that anymore. a+.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 78