Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns

MOSSBERG Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns

Count on these tactical shotguns for your personal/home-defense and security needs. They are civilian models that are virtual duplicates of proven military and law-enforcement pump-action shotguns. Available: 500® Home-Defense/Field Combo – A versatile solution for those wanting a shotgun for both hunting and home defense. This combo comes with two barrels. The 18-1/2" barreled home-security shotgun becomes a hard-hitting bird gun when the 28" combo barrel is installed, and after your hunt you can switch the barrels. Six-round capacity. 590A1 Nine Shot with Ghost Ring Sight – A nine-shot magazine with up to four reloads ready in the weatherproof black synthetic Speedfeed stock places incredible firepower in your hands. The parkerized 20" cylinder-bore barrel and receiver are topped with ghost-ring sights to get on target fast. 500 Persuader Eight Shot with L3 Insight Tactical Light Forearm – With an eight-round capacity and 20" cylinder bore, this shotgun is best for close-quarters situations. Synthetic stock and L3 Insight tactical light forearm. Simple bead for fast target acquisition. Thumb-operated pressure pads release 120 lumens of dark-piercing power. Runs on a single CR-123 battery (included). 500 Chainsaw – For serious shooting. With the name Chainsaw you can rest assured this shotgun aims to perform. Synthetic black stock and black pistol grip. 18-1/2" stand-off/breacher tactical barrel. Removable top handle allows for an ergonomic grip while shooting from the hip. Tri-rail forend. Matte-black finish. Six-round capacity. 500 Tactical Mariner with Marinecote – Customization is key with the adjustable black tactical stock with side saddle. Durable and corrosion-resistant Marinecote finish. Bead sight for fast target acquisition. Six-round capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

who should I be mad at?

Date:July 21, 2012
I bought a tactical 500 today in Wheeling. I'm not sure who to be mad at. Mossberg or Cabelas. No complaints with Cabelas in 40 years of patronage until today. Thought I could trust Mossberg. BUT, got the gun home and can not get it to load more than one round in a row. Sorry, take that back, i got it to load four rounds in a row, ONCE. Three different brands of factory ammo, and none of them would load. So I will be making a trip back to Wheeling tomorrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too light for the field

Date:September 27, 2010
I'm sure this is a fine tactical shotgun. I've shot many rounds and never had a mechanical problem. For the field or shooting clays this gun is just too light. Even after weighing the stock down there is still excessive recoil. I've been smacked in the face so many times I went and bought another shotgun :) (BTW Remington 1100 is a great gun)
I put the small barrell on it, and it's my home defense gun now, I'll never take it out in the field again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tactical shotgun...BUT

Date:March 15, 2011
I was happy with the tactical (20") barrel and the aftermarket pistol grip. It was manageable and fun to shoot from the hip, even with the magnum 3", #2 shot shells. The action was crisp and predictable. Switching out the barrels is super quick and easy, less than 60 seconds. BUT, the supplied stock is a sham. They didn't even try to make a stock that would function for turkey or trap. The first time I tried to put it back on after trying out the pistol grip, it broke. I wasn't even torquing the bolt down, I was just using a flat blade screwdriver. I guess they figure everybody is just going to buy an aftermarket tactical stock anyway so why put cost into a stock they'll just throw away. So add this $100 into the cost right from the beginning and you'll be very happy with the combo set, otherwise just realize the supplied stock is a plastic child toy quality. Also the mid barrel sight bead is off center (left to right on mine), so when sighting, you must compensate. If not for those 2 poor quality items, I would have given it a 5 star.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: New Prague, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

500 Home Defense/Field Combo

Date:February 17, 2011
Bought this gun in Owatonna. Out of the box, the spring in the magazine was balled up and wouldnt allow for more than 2 rounds in the mag. Kinda my fault for not looking down the peep-hole of the magazine, but where is the quality control? Other than that, the breacher is sweet, and the field barrel comes with 3 chokes. pretty sweet deal for the price, but detail the gun head-to-tail before you pay for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing shotgun

Date:January 4, 2014
This was my first of a few guns I have bought and it is still such a fun gun to shoot. I got the 590 with a heat shield. I am glad I got the shield because the barrel does get quite hot after putting 20 rounds through it quickly.
Does have some loose parts but it was made that way. This gun is VERY easy to take down and clean.
I have put hundreds of rounds through this beast and the only issues it ever had was from something I made an error doing (short shucking or along those lines).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

590A1 TALO US Service Model 9 round

Date:November 22, 2013
Very reliable and extremely durable model used by our military and police. Holds 9 - 2 3/4" or 8 - 3" rounds. Loading is very easy and it gobbles up ammo like a hungry hog. 20" barrel with small bead sight is accurate. Recoil is manageable. Shot holds a tight pattern and rifled slugs will hit a 1 foot diameter gong at 75 yards. No misfires or jams in the 105 rounds I have put through it so far. I am very happy with my purchase. This model has an attachment on the end for the Ontario M9 bayonet.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 500 JIC

Date:April 18, 2013
The M500 JIC (5-shot blued version) for the face that it's short and easy to maneuver in CQB along with easy access in a vehicle.
Some great things about the Mossberg 500; there are many companies that make lots of stocks, for grips, and accessories for it so customization is easy. Parts are very easy to find if anything breaks. American made and I love to support our own gun manufacturers.
I feel safe trusting my life, along with my families, in knowing that my M500 is an excellent tool that sheilds us from a threat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product .

Date:February 12, 2013
Mossberg has done it again. Great shotgun especially when you set it up your way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossy Combo

Date:May 16, 2012
Just what I was looking for. Able to shoot clays during the day and switch it out for a nice HD setup.
It was out of stock but Cabelas came thru with the back order in 4 days..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whats Not to Like?

Date:February 11, 2012
I bought I Mossberg 500 Pump, 6-shot. Then installed the standard 18.5" cylinder bore, six-shot side saddle (which I had to shave a bit off the forearm for), AR-15 style tactical stock, and a heavy duty sling (Limbsaver Kodiak).
Talk about versatility!
As far as performance, my Mossberg patterns great with 00 Buck, cycles flawlessly, and is a dream to modify. Switching out components is easy and well thought out.
Recoil is to be expected with a 12-ga pump; fierce but manageable. The factory stock was quite comfortable; my wife actually prefers it and I am keeping it around for when we buy her 20-ga.
If you want an inexpensive, reliable, capable all-round firearm, fear not with the Mossberg 500.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kennebunk Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best shotgun I've ever owned.

Date:January 11, 2012
I had an O/U shotgun and was not hapy with it so I sold it to Cabella and bought a Mossberg 500 pump Tacticle shotgun with two barrels. I wanted tthe 18' barrel for home protection and the 26' barrel for clay shooting. I can exchange the barrels in less than a minute. The shotgun shoots very accurate, I'm doing better at clays than with the O/U. I'm very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good and reliable tacticle shotgun. Cabela gave me a good purchase for my O/U amd a good price on the new one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun

Date:December 4, 2011
I bought the 500 Tactical Six-Shot in matte black for my home defense shotgun, i love this gun and never had any problems. Barrel comes out easy less than 60 seconds and the recoil is very easy to manage im only 160lbs and this gun with 23/4 00Buckshot was nothing. Shot the Rem. 870 which was my second choice overall and is a very good shotgun however this would be my choice hands down over the two.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 500 Home Defense/field combo

Date:March 14, 2011
I bought this shotgun in the fall of last year for home defense. It was a tad pricey, but the quality of this Mossberg is fantastic. I've put around 500 shells through it with no hiccups so far.
This shotgun is short and light with the home defense barrel. I would say it is that best choice for home defense out there.
My only complaint, which isn't a big enough issue to rate it lower, is that it's so light, it has quite a bit of recoil. 3 inch 00 buckshot can make your shoulder sore pretty quickly.
I would recommend this shotgun to anyone looking for a reliable, easy to maintain home defense weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: manchester,CT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable Shotgun

Date:October 29, 2010
I have the Mossberg 590A1 9shot speedfed shotgun and there are no words to describe how great a gun it is. First off the gun can have 13rds on it at any one time. One in the chamber 8 in the tube and 4 concealed in the stock. The gun has absolutly no kick and im a small dude so thats saying something. It feels great when ur holding it and u can bring it up real quick for upland hunting situations. I almost bought the remmington 870 Tactical express but decided to go with the mossberg just because it felt nicer and was much more ez to operate. Everything is right where it should be unlike the remington where u need to search for thing like the saftey or what have you. I have shot both the remington 870 and mossberg and they both shoot real well. But if i only could have one gun-it would be this Mossberg 590A1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glendale AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfer over the classic 870 for one reason

Date:July 12, 2010
Both maker make great shotguns. Like the classic battle Ford vs Chevy or McD vs Buger King, personal preference will make one better than the other. For me the layout of the safety made Mossberg my choice over the 870. Mossberg has a great aftermarket so you can fit the gun to you needs. Mossberg itself has great service if you need parts for your modern models. Value is the main goal from Mossberg family and I believe they perfected it with the 500 family. An American company still owned by the family name, I give any new product a try first over any other firearm company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M590A1 Tactical Shotgun

Date:December 24, 2009
I have served in the military and was deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan. I had access to the best weaponry on the planet, which taught me to not take it granted. Now that I am a civilian it is of course, not easy nor is it possible to obtain such weapons at that level. However, being an American allows us to obtain weapons at a level that is somewhat comprehensible to the military weaponry. That is why I purchased the M590A1 Tactical Shotgun from Mossberg. The weight, size and speed loading benefit making it an excellent, beyond all other tactical shotguns, for home defense or just for the veterans or gun collectors who like a good reliable Amercian made shotgun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.