Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns

MOSSBERG Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns

Count on these tactical shotguns for your personal/home-defense and security needs. They are civilian models that are virtual duplicates of proven military and law-enforcement pump-action shotguns. Available: 500® Home-Defense/Field Combo – A versatile solution for those wanting a shotgun for both hunting and home defense. This combo comes with two barrels. The 18-1/2" barreled home-security shotgun becomes a hard-hitting bird gun when the 28" combo barrel is installed, and after your hunt you can switch the barrels. Six-round capacity. 590A1 Nine Shot with Ghost Ring Sight – A nine-shot magazine with up to four reloads ready in the weatherproof black synthetic Speedfeed stock places incredible firepower in your hands. The parkerized 20" cylinder-bore barrel and receiver are topped with ghost-ring sights to get on target fast.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015

RUST & PITTING

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I ordered one and went to pick it up. When they brought out the box and upon inspecting it, it was missing part of the rear sight and it had scratches on the right side of the receiver. The gentleman checked to see if they have another one in the back. They did, but this one as well had scratches all over the trigger guard. I wanted this gun so bad, so I was willing to overlook that. I took the gun home, took it apart to clean it, the bore close to the receiver was rusted. I tried to clean the rust, but no luck. Took it back to Cabelas and they inspected it and found that there's more rust and the barrel was pitted! They said they have never seen a barrel so chewed up, mind you this was a new shotgun.
Cabbala's customer service was great, they were willing to order another one or return the one I bought.
Mossberg need better quality control!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2012

who should I be mad at?

By
I bought a tactical 500 today in Wheeling. I'm not sure who to be mad at. Mossberg or Cabelas. No complaints with Cabelas in 40 years of patronage until today. Thought I could trust Mossberg. BUT, got the gun home and can not get it to load more than one round in a row. Sorry, take that back, i got it to load four rounds in a row, ONCE. Three different brands of factory ammo, and none of them would load. So I will be making a trip back to Wheeling tomorrow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2010

Too light for the field

By
I'm sure this is a fine tactical shotgun. I've shot many rounds and never had a mechanical problem. For the field or shooting clays this gun is just too light. Even after weighing the stock down there is still excessive recoil. I've been smacked in the face so many times I went and bought another shotgun :) (BTW Remington 1100 is a great gun)
I put the small barrell on it, and it's my home defense gun now, I'll never take it out in the field again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011

Great tactical shotgun...BUT

By
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was happy with the tactical (20") barrel and the aftermarket pistol grip. It was manageable and fun to shoot from the hip, even with the magnum 3", #2 shot shells. The action was crisp and predictable. Switching out the barrels is super quick and easy, less than 60 seconds. BUT, the supplied stock is a sham. They didn't even try to make a stock that would function for turkey or trap. The first time I tried to put it back on after trying out the pistol grip, it broke. I wasn't even torquing the bolt down, I was just using a flat blade screwdriver. I guess they figure everybody is just going to buy an aftermarket tactical stock anyway so why put cost into a stock they'll just throw away. So add this $100 into the cost right from the beginning and you'll be very happy with the combo set, otherwise just realize the supplied stock is a plastic child toy quality. Also the mid barrel sight bead is off center (left to right on mine), so when sighting, you must compensate. If not for those 2 poor quality items, I would have given it a 5 star.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011

500 Home Defense/Field Combo

By
Location: New Prague, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought this gun in Owatonna. Out of the box, the spring in the magazine was balled up and wouldnt allow for more than 2 rounds in the mag. Kinda my fault for not looking down the peep-hole of the magazine, but where is the quality control? Other than that, the breacher is sweet, and the field barrel comes with 3 chokes. pretty sweet deal for the price, but detail the gun head-to-tail before you pay for it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2015

Just what they say, home and field

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Have 3 of these. My boys and I use them all the time. Added slug barrels for deer season. Great in the field, then come home a switch out the barrels for serious home defense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014

Great shotgun for the price.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the 590a1 and I'm very pleased with it so far. I looked at the floor model and a new one in the box, and I didn't see any manufacturing problems anywhere. I know some claim that Mossberg has manufacturing problems with some units, like rust in the barrel, etc. I haven't seen this.
After changing out the standard butt stock for a Magpul version I can safely say I love this shotgun. I like both the Remington and the Mossberg, but this one has better controls, in my opinion. They are intuitively placed for quick manipulation. The safety is a slider button on the tang, the magazine chamber is really easy to load, and the action lock lever is really easy to depress without changing the position of your hand.
Also, the ghost ring sights are better than I expected and I love these, versus a standard bead.
I know some will disagree and have different preferences, but these controls really sold me on the Mossberg. This is a great shotgun for the money and I recommend it for value alone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014

Luv my Mossberg 500 Persuader

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have the 8 shot Persuader with the Insight L3 Tactical Light. The gun handles very well and the 120 Lumen light is a great addition. The fit & finish of this made in the USA weapon is outstanding. The 500 action is silky smooth and is well know for it's reliability. It's my humble opinion the Mossberg 500 series of shotguns are perfect for home defense.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014

Amazing shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This was my first of a few guns I have bought and it is still such a fun gun to shoot. I got the 590 with a heat shield. I am glad I got the shield because the barrel does get quite hot after putting 20 rounds through it quickly.
Does have some loose parts but it was made that way. This gun is VERY easy to take down and clean.
I have put hundreds of rounds through this beast and the only issues it ever had was from something I made an error doing (short shucking or along those lines).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2013

590A1 TALO US Service Model 9 round

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very reliable and extremely durable model used by our military and police. Holds 9 - 2 3/4" or 8 - 3" rounds. Loading is very easy and it gobbles up ammo like a hungry hog. 20" barrel with small bead sight is accurate. Recoil is manageable. Shot holds a tight pattern and rifled slugs will hit a 1 foot diameter gong at 75 yards. No misfires or jams in the 105 rounds I have put through it so far. I am very happy with my purchase. This model has an attachment on the end for the Ontario M9 bayonet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2013

Mossberg 500 JIC

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
The M500 JIC (5-shot blued version) for the face that it's short and easy to maneuver in CQB along with easy access in a vehicle.
Some great things about the Mossberg 500; there are many companies that make lots of stocks, for grips, and accessories for it so customization is easy. Parts are very easy to find if anything breaks. American made and I love to support our own gun manufacturers.
I feel safe trusting my life, along with my families, in knowing that my M500 is an excellent tool that sheilds us from a threat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2013

Excellent product .

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Mossberg has done it again. Great shotgun especially when you set it up your way.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Mossy Combo

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Just what I was looking for. Able to shoot clays during the day and switch it out for a nice HD setup.
It was out of stock but Cabelas came thru with the back order in 4 days..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2012

Whats Not to Like?

By
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought I Mossberg 500 Pump, 6-shot. Then installed the standard 18.5" cylinder bore, six-shot side saddle (which I had to shave a bit off the forearm for), AR-15 style tactical stock, and a heavy duty sling (Limbsaver Kodiak).
Talk about versatility!
As far as performance, my Mossberg patterns great with 00 Buck, cycles flawlessly, and is a dream to modify. Switching out components is easy and well thought out.
Recoil is to be expected with a 12-ga pump; fierce but manageable. The factory stock was quite comfortable; my wife actually prefers it and I am keeping it around for when we buy her 20-ga.
If you want an inexpensive, reliable, capable all-round firearm, fear not with the Mossberg 500.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Best shotgun I've ever owned.

By
Location: Kennebunk Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I had an O/U shotgun and was not hapy with it so I sold it to Cabella and bought a Mossberg 500 pump Tacticle shotgun with two barrels. I wanted tthe 18' barrel for home protection and the 26' barrel for clay shooting. I can exchange the barrels in less than a minute. The shotgun shoots very accurate, I'm doing better at clays than with the O/U. I'm very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good and reliable tacticle shotgun. Cabela gave me a good purchase for my O/U amd a good price on the new one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2011

Love this gun

By
I bought the 500 Tactical Six-Shot in matte black for my home defense shotgun, i love this gun and never had any problems. Barrel comes out easy less than 60 seconds and the recoil is very easy to manage im only 160lbs and this gun with 23/4 00Buckshot was nothing. Shot the Rem. 870 which was my second choice overall and is a very good shotgun however this would be my choice hands down over the two.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011

Mossberg 500 Home Defense/field combo

By
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this shotgun in the fall of last year for home defense. It was a tad pricey, but the quality of this Mossberg is fantastic. I've put around 500 shells through it with no hiccups so far.
This shotgun is short and light with the home defense barrel. I would say it is that best choice for home defense out there.
My only complaint, which isn't a big enough issue to rate it lower, is that it's so light, it has quite a bit of recoil. 3 inch 00 buckshot can make your shoulder sore pretty quickly.
I would recommend this shotgun to anyone looking for a reliable, easy to maintain home defense weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010

Unbelievable Shotgun

By
Location: manchester,CT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have the Mossberg 590A1 9shot speedfed shotgun and there are no words to describe how great a gun it is. First off the gun can have 13rds on it at any one time. One in the chamber 8 in the tube and 4 concealed in the stock. The gun has absolutly no kick and im a small dude so thats saying something. It feels great when ur holding it and u can bring it up real quick for upland hunting situations. I almost bought the remmington 870 Tactical express but decided to go with the mossberg just because it felt nicer and was much more ez to operate. Everything is right where it should be unlike the remington where u need to search for thing like the saftey or what have you. I have shot both the remington 870 and mossberg and they both shoot real well. But if i only could have one gun-it would be this Mossberg 590A1
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2010

Perfer over the classic 870 for one reason

By
Location: Glendale AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Both maker make great shotguns. Like the classic battle Ford vs Chevy or McD vs Buger King, personal preference will make one better than the other. For me the layout of the safety made Mossberg my choice over the 870. Mossberg has a great aftermarket so you can fit the gun to you needs. Mossberg itself has great service if you need parts for your modern models. Value is the main goal from Mossberg family and I believe they perfected it with the 500 family. An American company still owned by the family name, I give any new product a try first over any other firearm company.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mossberg® 500 and 590A1 Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2009

M590A1 Tactical Shotgun

By
Location: Billings, MT
I have served in the military and was deployed in Iraq and Afghanistan. I had access to the best weaponry on the planet, which taught me to not take it granted. Now that I am a civilian it is of course, not easy nor is it possible to obtain such weapons at that level. However, being an American allows us to obtain weapons at a level that is somewhat comprehensible to the military weaponry. That is why I purchased the M590A1 Tactical Shotgun from Mossberg. The weight, size and speed loading benefit making it an excellent, beyond all other tactical shotguns, for home defense or just for the veterans or gun collectors who like a good reliable Amercian made shotgun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.