Customer Reviews for BENELLI Benelli SuperNova Shotguns

BENELLI Benelli SuperNova Shotguns

The heart of this shotgun is the lightweight steel skeleton framework over-molded with polymer for lightweight strength and weather resistance. Dual action bars and a two-lug rotating bolt head make the SuperNova a solid, reliable choice for every hunter. Includes IC, M and F standard choke tubes.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
37 out of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Review 1 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2015

Out of the Box Issues

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Straight out of the box I had issues with the action of the pump. I shot several boxes of shells through hoping it would "break in". It never did I took it to my local gun smith and found out that my forend was warped making it hang up. I replaced it through Benelli and am now having issues with the forend hanging up at the bottom end of the pump. With so many good reviews I thought I couldn't go wrong! Regardless I am dumping it and sticking with my BPS this season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2015

Great gun! Great purchase!

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This gun has treated me more than well! Great price for the quality of the gun. Had it about 2 years and the only thing that has gone wrong is the camo around the stock has can been worn down because of the bug spray i used! (Which was mine own fault) Other than that, it is a great gun and a great purchase!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2015

Great All Around Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
My Grandfather bought me this gun for an early Christmas present so I could us it for deer season. Right out of the box I was punching out bullseyes at 50 yards with 2 3/4 rifled slugs (28 inch barrel). On the second day of deer season I downed a doe at 30 yards. This gun was my first slug gun and and I was not disappointed. I have used it for just about everything from squirrel (little overkill) to whitetail deer. Great gun overall!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015

Awesome gun

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've had this gun for about 6 years now and it has performed flawlessly. I've shot thousands of rounds through it and it has never missed a beet, even after being completely submerged in water after our duck boat sunk ("sigh" long story). I've shot any thing from simple target loads, turkey loads and up to 3 1\2" 00 magnum buck shot. Great looking gun. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great high quality gun that doesn't brake the bank.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014

Great pump action for almost everything

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Brought it for home defense and somehow started trap shooting: put full choke on (comes with) doing great with 22+/25 90% of the time. Never jam and really reliable, great for the money.
If you thinking about a multi-purpose pump action or a beginner , this is going to be great for you!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2014

New Supernova

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Picked this up the other day after handling one in the store several times. Feels great in my hands. The buttstock on the Supernova is great for reducing recoil, spent 50 target rounds and felt nothing. Curious as to how it will feel with 3 inch loads. My only complaint is that it felt like it stuck a couple of times when trying to rack in the next shell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014

Great gun, poor safety

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I love this gun. In fact, I own 2 other novas in 12 and 20. By far the most reliable gun on the market. Disassembly is a breeze on this gun, far superior to ANY other pump in the market. Complete break down and cleaning takes less than 5 minutes. Shims also give an extra edge for a custom fit. My ONLY complaint is the safety. It is horrible. The size and forward position take a great deal of getting used to, particularly with the new trigger guard design. If you have short fingers, you are out of luck. It is nearly impossible to engage with a gloved hand. Benelli should have designed an oversized safety like on the SBE II. Try it before you buy...it is not for everyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2013

Great Gun!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Yesterday morning I shot my supernova 12 gauge 26" barrel at the local shotgun club. Out of the box this gun was perfect for me. Scored 18/25 for trap first time and 34/50 on sporting clays. After 200 hundreds had 0 problems and I am very confident that my first year of upland and waterfowl hunting are going to be extremely successful
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

great gun

By
really enjoy shooting this shotgun. no problems whatsoever
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2012

Catastorpic Jamming on New Supernova ;(

By
Location: Torrance, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I own two autoloader 12 ga. and I wanted a "Reliable" Pump shotgun...So I went with What I thought was a "Quality Name" in Shotguns(What a Big mistake!)
Barrel was not fitted correctly and 2 3/4" shells would catch on the sharp edge of the barrel during battery cycle...Causing the slide to get stuck and not cycle any shells until the slide was un-jammed(Check out Youtube video about someone with the same problems-Search:Benelli Supernova - problems, jams and sadness)! Just a bunch of minor stuff that you would not expect from a name like Benelli (I.e. front sight backs out when barrel warmed up and shells would not eject and fall into the receiver if it was not fired!) I feel that Benelli is just focused on all their Military contracts and don't care about the regular every day shooters. Should have went with an 870 or a browning!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

By
Location: brussels IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Amazing gun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Lightest recoiling lightweight ever!

By
Location: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have been shooting competitive clays and trap for over 10yrs, and I purchased my first Benelli Supernova in 2007 on a whim. A buddy and I were out of town for work and wanted to enter a trap competition so we just went into the local shop and picked up two shotguns, figuring we could sell them later if we didn't like them.
What a stroke of dumb luck! Fast forward 4yrs and now I own 5 benelli supernovas. This shotgun is lightweight, incredibly well balanced, reliable, and looks great to boot (camo coat).
When my wife started shotgunning, she started out with that same Supernova I bought for that competition, and she fell in love with it, so she decided she needed one of her own. She's 5'3" and 125lbs, and she handles 3 1/2" turkey loads with ease (Thanks to the comfortech stock!!) and can swing the 26" barrel of her supernova on pheasant and dove with ease (thanks to the lightweight and great balance of he Supernova!)
The modularity is also great. I have a 30" goose barrel, an 18" coyote barrel, and a 26" upland barrel (all share the same chokes) that I use for different tasks, and they only take a matter of minutes to swap out. Being able to transport my pumpgun in a breakdown double case is also a benefit, since it stows under the back seat of my truck with ample room to spare.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011

Puts meat on the table

By
Location: kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
no problems with this gun all year, points great, can't say i have noticed anything with the recoil management but duck and goose loads never bothered me to start with, and turkey loads always kick. patterns steel good with factory chokes and shoots to point of aim, don't even notice i'm pumping it now that the action is broke in. will say the camo is starting to fade away around pump handle and grip, as for trigger sticking, didn't anyone ever tell them never oil trigger assemble for that very reason?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2011

Great Gun

By
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this gun to use strictly for waterfowl. Handled the Canadians extremely well. No problems loading, or jamming. Ejected shells cleanly, cycled smooth. Very accurate and reliable. Comfortech stock is great! Great great gun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Trigger problems

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought the supernova a few years ago for the reliability and resale that goes with the Benelli name. I use it 75% for waterfowling and the other 25% for clays and turkey. No complaints about the accuracy or recoil, in addition the gun is as accurate and ejects shells as good as any other shotgun I've used. General maintenance is also easy. My problems start and end with trigger jamming which seems to happen when grit gets in the trigger guard - the amount of grit needed to cause a problem varies and sometimes amounted to only a few grains of sand. I've adapted my behavior and managed to get through this waterfowl season with no problems and will get serious about trading up to an automatic if this continues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2011

Amazing gun!

By
I bought this gun in Max-4 for waterfowl season. Not a single hiccup. I even took 4 boxes of the cheapest federal ammo I could find and shot clays as fast as I could. didn't jam once. i will be buying the extended magazine tube so I can hold 10 rounds for snow goose hunting. :)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2011

BEST SHOTGUN EVER

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Very reliable shotgun.Handles recoil from 3/1/2 inch magnums very well. I would recommend this shotgun to anyone who wants a very reliable pump action shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Great Shotgun I've ever shot!

By
Location: Michigan
Gender: Male
Got this gun for my birthday, and I immediately noticed that the kick on it is that of a 20 ga. or less. It works very well and it will shoot in any situation! Whether waiting by a pond in the rain for duck or walking through the woods for grouse in a thunderstorm. It is an excellent weapon and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good shotgun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Best All-A-Round shotgun!

By
Location: Colusa, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I use this gun for just about everything except deer hunting. I got the 28" max-4 supernova and it gets used and abused and still operates flawlessly. I have had this for a few years and use it from shooting clays to shooting turkeys. The camo finish shows no sign of coming off and still looks new after a quick wipe down. When I got this gun I was also looking at the new 887 which was about a $100 cheaper. Spend the extra $$$ and get the Benelli or a 870. The new max4 887 already had the camo finish coming off along with appearing 'cheap'. This benelli wont disappoint! Hope this review was helpful
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2011

Slug Tack Driver

By
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Being from IL, I needed a slug gun for deer season. I bought the Supernova. It came with a 28" bird barrel. I ended up finding a great company in WI ( Badger barrels) that makes a cantilever rifled slug barrel (24"). I threw a Leopuld 4X on there and went to the range. After shooting different slugs, I found that the setup responded best to Hornady SSTs. I love this shotgun. The action is smooth and the recoil is minimal, even with magnum loads in the bird barrel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 41