Customer Reviews for BENELLI Benelli SuperNova Shotguns

BENELLI Benelli SuperNova Shotguns

The heart of this shotgun is the lightweight steel skeleton framework over-molded with polymer for lightweight strength and weather resistance. Dual action bars and a two-lug rotating bolt head make the SuperNova a solid, reliable choice for every hunter. Includes IC, M and F standard choke tubes.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
34 out of 37(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Review 1 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pump action for almost everything

Date:July 1, 2014
Brought it for home defense and somehow started trap shooting: put full choke on (comes with) doing great with 22+/25 90% of the time. Never jam and really reliable, great for the money.
If you thinking about a multi-purpose pump action or a beginner , this is going to be great for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Supernova

Date:June 5, 2014
Picked this up the other day after handling one in the store several times. Feels great in my hands. The buttstock on the Supernova is great for reducing recoil, spent 50 target rounds and felt nothing. Curious as to how it will feel with 3 inch loads. My only complaint is that it felt like it stuck a couple of times when trying to rack in the next shell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, poor safety

Date:March 11, 2014
I love this gun. In fact, I own 2 other novas in 12 and 20. By far the most reliable gun on the market. Disassembly is a breeze on this gun, far superior to ANY other pump in the market. Complete break down and cleaning takes less than 5 minutes. Shims also give an extra edge for a custom fit. My ONLY complaint is the safety. It is horrible. The size and forward position take a great deal of getting used to, particularly with the new trigger guard design. If you have short fingers, you are out of luck. It is nearly impossible to engage with a gloved hand. Benelli should have designed an oversized safety like on the SBE II. Try it before you buy...it is not for everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:August 25, 2013
Yesterday morning I shot my supernova 12 gauge 26" barrel at the local shotgun club. Out of the box this gun was perfect for me. Scored 18/25 for trap first time and 34/50 on sporting clays. After 200 hundreds had 0 problems and I am very confident that my first year of upland and waterfowl hunting are going to be extremely successful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:May 17, 2012
really enjoy shooting this shotgun. no problems whatsoever
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Torrance, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Catastorpic Jamming on New Supernova ;(

Date:April 21, 2012
I own two autoloader 12 ga. and I wanted a "Reliable" Pump shotgun...So I went with What I thought was a "Quality Name" in Shotguns(What a Big mistake!)
Barrel was not fitted correctly and 2 3/4" shells would catch on the sharp edge of the barrel during battery cycle...Causing the slide to get stuck and not cycle any shells until the slide was un-jammed(Check out Youtube video about someone with the same problems-Search:Benelli Supernova - problems, jams and sadness)! Just a bunch of minor stuff that you would not expect from a name like Benelli (I.e. front sight backs out when barrel warmed up and shells would not eject and fall into the receiver if it was not fired!) I feel that Benelli is just focused on all their Military contracts and don't care about the regular every day shooters. Should have went with an 870 or a browning!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: brussels IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:March 18, 2012
Amazing gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightest recoiling lightweight ever!

Date:January 9, 2012
I have been shooting competitive clays and trap for over 10yrs, and I purchased my first Benelli Supernova in 2007 on a whim. A buddy and I were out of town for work and wanted to enter a trap competition so we just went into the local shop and picked up two shotguns, figuring we could sell them later if we didn't like them.
What a stroke of dumb luck! Fast forward 4yrs and now I own 5 benelli supernovas. This shotgun is lightweight, incredibly well balanced, reliable, and looks great to boot (camo coat).
When my wife started shotgunning, she started out with that same Supernova I bought for that competition, and she fell in love with it, so she decided she needed one of her own. She's 5'3" and 125lbs, and she handles 3 1/2" turkey loads with ease (Thanks to the comfortech stock!!) and can swing the 26" barrel of her supernova on pheasant and dove with ease (thanks to the lightweight and great balance of he Supernova!)
The modularity is also great. I have a 30" goose barrel, an 18" coyote barrel, and a 26" upland barrel (all share the same chokes) that I use for different tasks, and they only take a matter of minutes to swap out. Being able to transport my pumpgun in a breakdown double case is also a benefit, since it stows under the back seat of my truck with ample room to spare.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Puts meat on the table

Date:December 29, 2011
no problems with this gun all year, points great, can't say i have noticed anything with the recoil management but duck and goose loads never bothered me to start with, and turkey loads always kick. patterns steel good with factory chokes and shoots to point of aim, don't even notice i'm pumping it now that the action is broke in. will say the camo is starting to fade away around pump handle and grip, as for trigger sticking, didn't anyone ever tell them never oil trigger assemble for that very reason?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:December 20, 2011
I purchased this gun to use strictly for waterfowl. Handled the Canadians extremely well. No problems loading, or jamming. Ejected shells cleanly, cycled smooth. Very accurate and reliable. Comfortech stock is great! Great great gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Trigger problems

Date:December 17, 2011
Bought the supernova a few years ago for the reliability and resale that goes with the Benelli name. I use it 75% for waterfowling and the other 25% for clays and turkey. No complaints about the accuracy or recoil, in addition the gun is as accurate and ejects shells as good as any other shotgun I've used. General maintenance is also easy. My problems start and end with trigger jamming which seems to happen when grit gets in the trigger guard - the amount of grit needed to cause a problem varies and sometimes amounted to only a few grains of sand. I've adapted my behavior and managed to get through this waterfowl season with no problems and will get serious about trading up to an automatic if this continues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing gun!

Date:December 11, 2011
I bought this gun in Max-4 for waterfowl season. Not a single hiccup. I even took 4 boxes of the cheapest federal ammo I could find and shot clays as fast as I could. didn't jam once. i will be buying the extended magazine tube so I can hold 10 rounds for snow goose hunting. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST SHOTGUN EVER

Date:December 8, 2011
Very reliable shotgun.Handles recoil from 3/1/2 inch magnums very well. I would recommend this shotgun to anyone who wants a very reliable pump action shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotgun I've ever shot!

Date:November 28, 2011
Got this gun for my birthday, and I immediately noticed that the kick on it is that of a 20 ga. or less. It works very well and it will shoot in any situation! Whether waiting by a pond in the rain for duck or walking through the woods for grouse in a thunderstorm. It is an excellent weapon and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good shotgun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colusa, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best All-A-Round shotgun!

Date:November 27, 2011
I use this gun for just about everything except deer hunting. I got the 28" max-4 supernova and it gets used and abused and still operates flawlessly. I have had this for a few years and use it from shooting clays to shooting turkeys. The camo finish shows no sign of coming off and still looks new after a quick wipe down. When I got this gun I was also looking at the new 887 which was about a $100 cheaper. Spend the extra $$$ and get the Benelli or a 870. The new max4 887 already had the camo finish coming off along with appearing 'cheap'. This benelli wont disappoint! Hope this review was helpful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slug Tack Driver

Date:November 7, 2011
Being from IL, I needed a slug gun for deer season. I bought the Supernova. It came with a 28" bird barrel. I ended up finding a great company in WI ( Badger barrels) that makes a cantilever rifled slug barrel (24"). I threw a Leopuld 4X on there and went to the range. After shooting different slugs, I found that the setup responded best to Hornady SSTs. I love this shotgun. The action is smooth and the recoil is minimal, even with magnum loads in the bird barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hanford, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very excited, but let down so far

Date:October 25, 2011
I have a feeling my experience so far has been an isolated incident, but I have been pretty disappointed. My buddies bought me this gun two years ago for my wedding gift. I have not been able to shoot it well, but I do not blame it for that as that might be just me. However, I have had problems with the trigger. It gets stuck and will not fire from time to time. It has gotten in my head and screwed me up on a few hunts. I have taken it apart, oiled it up and still the same problem. I will be sending it to Benelli after this waterfowl season. A little bummed, b/c i bet it is a great gun, but I had more reliability with my Remington 870 express.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best pump ever!

Date:October 23, 2011
I've had my supernova for four years and have fired several thousand rounds through it. My supernova is equipped in black synthetic with the comfortec stock and the 28inch barrel. I can shoot this thing all day in comfort "no more sore shoulders". The ease of cleaning on the supernova is amazing! Plus you can achieve tight 2" groups @ 100yds with slugs no problem with this barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:October 23, 2011
I needed a good waterfowl gun that could take a beating but would still work when it was time to shoot. THIS is that gun! Shoots well, easy to pump, and I get right on the birds. I have the camo, 28'' barrel and this was definitely the best choice for taking down geese at long distance. I love this gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benelli SuperNova Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Cadillac!

Date:October 19, 2011
I have shot three boxes of shells threw my super nova so far and I havent had one problem. Theres bareley any recoil it cycles so smooth. Definitely the best shotgun on the market for the price. I would recommend it to anyone and that advantage max camo looks awesome! Great for waterfowl I cant wait to take it out!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 37