Customer Reviews for HIGH STANDARD High Standard 1911 Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HIGH STANDARD High Standard 1911 Pistols

Patterned after John Browning’s legendary design, these American-made Model 1911 variants are rugged and affordable performers. All models are built for duty with lowered and flared ejection ports, flat main-spring housings, beveled magazine wells and come in hard-plastic cases. Available: GI 1911 – The hammer, grip safety and sights are just like those you’d find on a standard military- issue 1911. 5" barrel. Short trigger. Checkered wood grips. Parkerized finish. 7+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Review 1 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Good For The Price

Date:June 12, 2012
This is a good buy, but if you want the pistol to function well, you may need to get it tuned. When I first obtained this firearm, I fired about 200 rounds of Winchester bulk ammo that I had purchased form Cabela's (a very good deal) and had two jams. Also, the trigger pull was hard and creepy. So, I decided to have it tuned, rather than to break it in by shooting a lot of ammo through the piece. My gunsmith is a virtuoso of the 1911 and was originally impressed by this pistol. After he had worked on it, he said that it was well made, but somewhat rough inside, and that the throat needed polishing. H also said that the trigger pull was originally 11 pounds! He corrected the ramp and magazine so that it now feeds hollow points and semi-wadcutters flawlessly. Even if you need to have the gun tuned, it is still a good buy, so I recommend this firearm. If you happen to get a good one, as some of the reviewers apparently did, you are in good shape, but if you get one that needs some work like I did, it is still comparatively less expensive to buy this pistol than most others, even with the expense of tuning (provided you have a good gunsmith).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent weapon

Date:May 26, 2012
Shoots straight, never a problem and priced much lower than the competition.
I've had mine for 2 years now and this handgun is great.
As a longtime shooter, I highly recommend this one. You can pay more, but WHY?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome

Date:May 1, 2012
Have put 200 founds of Winchester FMJ rounds through this without a problem. Faithful, accurate reproduction of the original Colt 1911 pistol. Excellent value and price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Invasion Protection

Date:January 13, 2012
I stood many a watch as an Aviation Ordnanceman in the Navy with the 1911 (Carrier duty 1968) and bought this two years ago. I have always wanted my own 1911 .45 ACP. I didn't want fancy stuff, just a plain ol' rugged, service weapon, made to mil. specs. (the undercut ejection port to eliminate "stovepipes", a welcome exception) and this puppy fills the bill to a "T." It works very well with .22 cal. conversions for hours of cheap shooting and no jams with either caliber (I fired 300 rounds .45 ACP rapid fire 'til you could fry an egg on the barrel with no stoppages). I had an oversize case hang but that was the ammo, not the weapon. Good 2" groups at 25 ft., snug barrel/bushing fit and lock-up and, yes, all five of the 1911 safeties, thumb/half-cock/grip/auto-disconnect plus floating firing pin which eliminates accidental discharge when dropped on the hammer (somebody told me it doesn't have that, I tested it,.....it does, it's not a 1911 without it!)
This is, by far, the finest tool in my home protection system with it's ruggedness and knock down power and on the lighter side, I'm able to recapture my Navy youth by seeing how fast I can field strip and reassemble it. This is a fine Cabelas offering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Williamstown, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 1911

Date:January 6, 2012
I bought the High Standard 1911 about 3 months ago, and have around 400 rounds through it now without no problems at all. I'm a big 1911 fan, my favorite pistols are 1911. This one is great. Can't beat the price, and it shoots great. Very accurate, tight group shooting gun. Very nice looking gun also. I bought an extra magazine for it. I love this pistol. Recommend it to anyone that is looking for a 1911 or a good reliable pistol that looks great and shoot great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Grade

Date:November 24, 2011
This pistol's cost is much lower than most in its class, however, performs like the more expensive guns, I have shot many 1911 .45s and this High Stanard is amoung the best, Solid piece of workmanship and functions extremely well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kittery, ME
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Compare

Date:September 2, 2011
I have an original Colt 1911A1 that was issued to my father during WWII. It is a sweet gun to shoot and deadly accurate. But due to it's age and history, I do not like to shoot it as to abuse it. I purchased a HS 1911 to replace a faulty Kahn 1911 and found it be be almost as good as my original 1911A1. Basic .45 acp, no jams and accurate at 75 ft. A nice weapon. The only complaint that I have is with the rear sight's aperture, a bit too wide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Blanco, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Fine

Date:July 19, 2011
This is one fine firearm for the monies involved. I have several other hand guns and this firearm is without a doubt the most accurate "point and shoot" handgun I have. The gun manufacturer indicates the weaon is designed for "round nose" bullets, however, I successfully fired Critical Defense rounds without issue. Muzzle flip is minimal and the target is quickly reacquired after firing. The weapon has a "break in" period of around 500 rounds. I ran 350 through mine and it is still a bit "stiff". All things considered I highly recommend this firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 1911

Date:May 28, 2011
I was looking for a plain 1911A1 clone, nothing fancy or expensive. The High Standard 1911A1 fit the bill perfectly. Came with an 8 round magazine, rather than the 7 round I expected from the tag in the case. I've added a pair of Wilson Combat 8 round magazines that work perfectly, as well.
Function has been flawless. Feed it Winchester white box or Federal and it's perfectly happy. Shoots better than I hold it. Got tired of punching holes in paper today, so some clay birds in the backstop at 25 yards were substituted. The 1911A1 made short work of them. Much more fun.
Would I recommend this pistol? If you are looking for a military 1911A1 clone, go for it. Solid, good shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crusader 45acp

Date:February 27, 2011
Beautiful handgun,great workmanship, I found the 3.5 inch barrel very acurrate,and using several FMJ and hollow point loads with no feeding or jamming problems in over 500rnds. This is my concealed/carry weapon and would recomend this handgun to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nampa. ID
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value on a 1911 and more!

Date:February 1, 2011
I purchased my High Standard Crusader Compact and some Winchester 230 gr FMJ a couple days after Christmas 2010. At the shooting range the next day, I was pleasantly surprised with the accuracy. My first 8-rounds through it gave me a 5 to 6-inch group at 25 yards off-hand. After about 70 rounds I managed to get a group down to around 4-inches off-hand. No feed or ejection issues. The slide to frame fit is decent. The trigger pull was about 1 1/2 to 2 lbs. Nice for target shooting, but I thought a little light for concealed carry.
I emailed High Standard about the trigger pull and they referred me to the Armscor Armory in Pahrump Nevada (Armscor is the manufacturer of the High Standard 1911). I called Armscor and was fairly quickly connected to the head gunsmith, Dave. I explained the light trigger pull and asked if they could do comething for me. Long story short, I sent them the pistol, two weeks later it's returned to me with the ramp, throat and chamber polished better than before, the trigger pull adjusted to a very nice 4.5 lbs, tuned the extractor, test fired and lubed. Along with the pistol they included a letter listing the work completed and a "Thank you". They have a satisfied customer here!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

High Standard GI 1911

Date:June 12, 2010
I've been looking at this little jewel for several weeks and today, 6.10, Cabela's Ad and price caught my eye.(under $500) I go for a hands-on and was so impressed I whipped out the credit card brought one home. In any case here's my review and initial observations.
The pistol was packed in a nice padded plastic case with High Standard inscribed. After opening, the pistol was packed inside a clear heavy plastic and inside a bubble wrap container. When removed it was covered with oil, big time. Not grease, but heavier oil than gun oil.
Removed the magazine, checked the chamber, and field-stripped.(only one mag with pistol)
First the magazine: I was a little surprised to find an 8 round, high carbon steel, polished, black magazine with 8 numbered holes on the left and right sides. Near the base plate on the right side is marked ".45ACP", Left Side near base plate "ACT-MAG". On the left side near the front middle, ACT-MAG Italy/ PSI USA. Googling this revealed a company call, yep, ACT-MAG, a US company that is: Also manufactured with the NOVAK® logo, ACT-MAG has gained recognition as one of the best magazines available in the world of 1911. Quality construction, excellent finish and a manufacturers garantee of reliability. Nice surprise.
The pistol is nicely parkerized, checkered wood grips, it has a lowered and flared ejection port, beveled magazine well, GI hammer, narrow beaver-tail. Worked the slide with hammer down and cocked, very tight. In fact it will take working the slide and shooting to get even close to the slide function on my Colt Combat Commander. The trigger pull is about 6-8 lbs, with no creep. I can handle that.
After field stripping, turning the frame upside down, in front of the trigger guard is engraved "Apinti-Pahrump NV" and below that "Philippines". After researching and checking out the case, It seems assembly was by Armscor Precision International/Advanced Tactical in Pahrump, NV. A couple of empty brass was in an envelop with an attached inspection tag and signed by the assembler. Nice touch.
On the right side of the frame above the trigger: "HSxxxx919" and "1911-A1FS". Left side of the slide, roll mark "High Standard MTG. Co. The barrell bushing was a tight fit, the barrell and slide lock up good and tight. No play in the slide. The sights are GI. I'd like to place Novak sights on it. The feed ramp is well polished, but I'll probably take jewelers rouge make it even more shiny after firing and cleaning. There is no firing pin safety, as found in the Series 70 Colts, and which I dislike in the Series 80 Colt. Grip safety and slide safety function correctly.
I'll take it to the range early next week to see if it functions as good as it looks. I'll check it with what I have here at the house: Remighton 230gr hardball, Rem 230gr, hollowpoints, 230gr LRN handloads, and 200gr LSWC handload. The 200gr handloads are puffy load that may correctly not function the slide since my Commander, with a heavy spring and buffer won't correcty feed, producing a FTF. I will check it with the included magazines, several generics I have and Wilson stainless. I may also have a Colt blue mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for High Standard 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

High Standard 1911 GI

Date:April 11, 2010
Smooth as silk. Extraction & ejection fantastic.
Fit great. Finish great. Just like I wanted, much better than the much used 1911s in Korea. Am disappointed that I cannot get a response on where to aquire extra magazines. Guess I'll always have to hit with the first 7.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.