Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns

MOSSBERG Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns

Loaded with features, these Youth Series Bantam and Super Bantam Pump-Action Shotguns provide an affordable opportunity for beginning and growing shooters to get started with a safe and reliable shotgun. With the same standards of dependability and safety in mind, Mossberg offers the 500 Super Bantam 20-ga. pump. Its superior versatility, is what makes these guns truly "super." Features a standard 12" length of pull (one full inch shorter than the standard Bantam) and an innovative stock spacer and extra rubber recoil pad to bring the synthetic stock to 13" overall. When the shooter is ready for a full-sized length of pull (14"+), just turn in the included certificate for a full 50% off the price of the full-sized stock. Available: 500 Super Bantam Field/Deer Combo – Includes two barrels: 22" vent rib with AccuChokes (improved cylinder, modified and full) and 24" fully rifled slug barrel with adjustable sights. 500 Super Bantam All Purpose – Available with a weatherproof black synthetic stock or pink marble finish and 22" blued vent-rib barrel with twin-bead front sights. Stock is adjustable for length of pull. Includes AccuChokes (improved cylinder, modified and full). 500 Bantam All Purpose – 20-ga. model with 22" blued barrel and wood stock. Twin-bead sights and rubber recoil pads. Includes AccuChokes (improved cylinder, modified and full). 505 Youth All Purpose – .410 bore model with wood stock, 20" vent-rib barrel with twin-bead sights and 12" length of pull.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Youth Model Shotgun

Date:August 24, 2014
I bought this shotgun a few years back for my grandchildren to use on their first bird hunts. We are not big people and so this shotgun fits nicely in their smaller frames. I purchased it in 20 gauge as well so the kick isn't so bad. The gun has been on several turkey hunts and performs very well. No flaws whatsoever. It has yet to bag a bird, but it is perfectly capable in the right hands. I highly recommend this shotgun to anyone wishing to have a high quality gun for a lesser price than other brands!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid little shotgun

Date:September 27, 2013
I bought this for my 12-year old twins (one boy, one girl) for dove season. Having the slide so far to the rear of the gun makes it very easy for them to rack. Gun is light, but the kick is negligible--perfect for kids. The only reason this didn't get five stars was the thumb safety. The safety was so stiff that I could barely move it myself. A lot of birds were missed early on because the kids couldn't take the gun off safe. Lots of oil and cycling the safety on and off about a thousand times (literally) has finally loosened it up to the point they can switch it to fire fairly easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth every penny!!!

Date:December 23, 2012
I bought my 12year old son a super bantam 3 years ago,just now putting the one inch piece back in as he is growing into it.We shoot skeet,hunt deer,turkey,and pheasant.Just purchased another one for my 10 year old daughter.Can't go wrong with this shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:December 16, 2012
Been shooting shotguns since 1965. Reluctantly purchased a Mossberg 500 10 years ago due to the fact I had to be so careful with feeding my Winchester Mod. 12s.
I absolutely have zero negative things to say about my 500 now with an 18 1/4 inch slug barrel.
OK, my 110 lb wife retired recently and we live rural. Needed something in case of problems, both 2 legged and 4. Takes us 5 years to agree on a paint color, and the choice of a home defense gun was heading down this line.
We tried everything, handguns x5, semi auto shotguns, bada bing.
Walked by a Super Bantam 20 gauge Mossberg and was love at first sight. What a fine shotgun for not only her, but I like shooting the little thing. So great to have an all round gun which goes so much further than just home defense.
She was nervous the first few shots, but now shoots blue-rock without even a concern about recoil.
In my humble opinion the best gun for the dollar I've ever seen. A near 60 year old women now is thinking of duck hunting........cool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUN!

Date:August 2, 2012
i Shoot my mosberg every year for ducks and geese and grouse and a turkey, it shoots great i have been shooting it for 5 years and it jammed a few time but easy fix there. i would rather have this gun than any Remington.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Woodsfield OH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does everything well

Date:February 27, 2012
I was told my a gunsmith a few years ago that mossbergs were the only shotguns that he didn't have to fix,?? I have a model 935 & like everything about it,so with that it wasn't hard to decide as far as brand,I bought this for my grandson he's 7yrs old not quite old enough,but i plan on letting other family members use it,"combo"whatever season,I believe it's quite the deal for all it'll do,Mossberg is great,providing quality without draining your bank account, only put about 20 rnds thru it,& I'm very pleased with what I've seen
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: concord, Mi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:December 14, 2011
ive had this gun since i was 10 and have taken many animals with it. The riffled barrel is a plus except the cost of sabots therefor im getiin an 870
this guns also great for turkeys
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

500 youth

Date:March 5, 2011
best bang for your buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seward, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for kids

Date:February 8, 2011
Great gun for kids with shot arms it has a very short pump unlike its Remington 870 equivalent. very few moving parts around the shell insertion point the shell ramp is not constantly in the way as with most other shotguns so there is no complex loading pres eager to do this makes re lodes much faster. low recoil and lite weight and the barrel is very short perfect for turkey and varmint hunting. The fact the gun can hold 5 + 1 shells is very nice. beware the mag tube blocker is a full tube blocker for training easy to fix just unscrew the mag cap and tip the gun comes right out and just put the # of shells u wont it to limit to like they would go in the mag tube and cut it and move the o rings and put it back in. Carlson and Mossberg both make great choke tubes for the 500
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bantaam youth shotgun

Date:January 18, 2011
Bought this for 10 year old son . Seems to fit fine. quality and overall workmanship are very good. Like all Mosseberg products I have purchased before good product in an affordable price range
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Zanesville, OH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg Bantam Youth 500 combo

Date:September 2, 2010
Great shotgun for youth. I have purchased 3 for my daughters and added red dot scopes to each. They can handle the firearm well for their small stature. My 12 and 10 year olds have each taken whitetail at 40+ yards. Very accurate. I would highly recommend this shotgun for someone looking to get their kids in to hunting. I like them so much i have even taken the shotgun in the field for myself when the kids are unable to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 500 Pump

Date:December 26, 2009
The Mossberg 500 was my first and still my only pump shotgun. Always reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg 500® Youth Series Bantam™ and Super Bantam™ Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Newnan, Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good pump

Date:November 29, 2009
This was my first shotgun and I received it as a gift. It was previously owned and a few things that were loose but nothing that was beyond fixing. I mostly use it to duck hunt and have been very successful. There is one problem: the barrel is curved slightly to the left. I'm not sure if that's from the previous owner but now if i have ducks coming from the left I have to lead them a lot less and vice-versa. Overall its a good pump.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.