Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

REMINGTON Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle

The Remington Model 770™ is now available in a compact model that’s perfect for youth and small-statured shooters – a great choice for a young hunter’s first rifle. It comes chambered in the mild-recoiling .243 Winchester cartridge and arrives range-ready with a pre-mounted, bore-sighted 3-9x40mm scope. Matte-black stock, blued barrel, detachable four-round magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Review 1 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2015

More than I expected

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have a lot of different handguns, rifles & shotguns. I reload also. The 770 in the 308 caliber shot OK out of the box. The scope was ok. The bolt was sticky and stuck shut one time. I was a little concerned. I have several Remington rifles that are great. I took the bolt out and oiled & polished the receiver. It turned out to be a great shooter. I know you can get a 700 with a heavy barrel 24 inch for a little more but this was not a let down like a lot of people say. There are pros and cons but I would buy another one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2015

worst gun ever

By
i shot it today and it will not work at all it wont reload and cant shoot straight its the worst gun ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2014

This gun

By
this gun is not bipod compatibule the scope it comes with zooms its a very good gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2013

Youth Remington 770 youth 243

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I got this gun because of the lower price for a starter gun for my kids. They both shot their 1st deer with it this past fall. But my problem is the shell feed. My kids are always jamming the nose of the bullet up against the front of the clip, they are not sliding up into the chamber like they should. It is more like a single shot with this problem. Once the shell has jammed the clip needs to be removed and the shell pulled out to get things in place again. Its a real pain in the butt, especially when they missed the 1st shot and the deer is standing there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2011

770 compact .243win

By
Location: Powhatan,Virginia
I own Senderos , Brownings, Weatherbys,Sakos etc.
I was looking for a rifle my 11 year old son wouldn"t be afraid to shoot. Having been spoiled by the other guns I own,I was a little nervous about this one. It is no 700 however, the gun functions as well as it should. I did check the scope mounts and surpise they were way loose. I changed the scope anyway tighting them up good. I took it out to shoot and wow!! Three shots I was in. Three bullets touching at a hundred. This rifle is a real shooter!! The trigger is pretty creepy but I don't want my boy to shoot by mistake, so it is OK. Overall for the money , it is a good buy for what it is and what you want to use it for. Youth or first time shooters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2011

Success

By
Location: NW Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this gun for my son 2 years ago for his first hunt. He had no problem shooting it, no problem with the bolt, no problem with the scope.....The clip on the otherhand, is sticky. Once you get used to it, it can be loaded fairly quickly. He harvested a nice whitetail doe the first year at 50 yards, and a trophy 150 class whitetail the 2nd year at 294 yards. This gun is solid!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2010

Great gun

By
Location: Rushville NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this gun for my 10 year old daughter. She isn't a very big girl and she has no problems shooting this gun. There is virtually no recoil. It shoots very tight groups at 100 yards. She is hoping to take her first deer with it. Very good buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Centerfire Youth/Compact Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2010

Greet rifle

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I'm not much of an hunting expert because i'm still a youth and this is my first rifle but this a great gun for a youth because the recoil isn't horrible, it's light weight..... I would also like to ask anyone how to hold my breath better, and any other tips how to help a first time hunter have he's first hunt a sucess
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.