Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns

For more than five decades the Remington Model 870 Express Tactical Pump-Action Shotgun has set the standard for pump-action performance. Receivers are milled from a solid billet of steel for strength and durability. Twin action bars ensure smooth, reliable nonbinding action. Available: • 870 Express Synthetic Tactical – Seven-Round Capacity – Weatherproof matte-black synthetic stock. 18.5" barrel with fixed-cylinder-bore choke and single-bead front sight. Magazine holds six 2-3/4" or five 3" shells and one in the chamber for seven-shot capacity. Factory-installed two-shot extension. • 870 Express Synthetic Tactical – Five-Round Capacity – Weatherproof matte-black synthetic stock. 18.5" barrel with fixed-cylinder-bore choke and single-bead front sight. Magazine, holds four 2-3/4" or three 3" shells and one in the chanber for five-shot capacity. • 870 Express Synthetic Tactical with Ghost Ring Sights – The No. 1 choice of law-enforcement agencies across the country. Quick-pointing 18.5" barrel with an extended ported Tactical Rem™ choke tube and Pro Bore IC choke. Magazine holds six 2-3/4" or five 3" shells with a factory-installed two-shot extension for seven-shot capacity. Matte-black synthetic stock and forend with sling swivel studs. Receiver is drilled and tapped for scope mounts. Includes an XS® Ghost Ring rear sight and XS front blade sight along with an XS Ghost Ring sight rail for optics and sight systems.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2015

Buyer's Remorse

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'd echo several of the other commenters on here. Please be aware that this model DOES NOT ACCEPT BARREL LENGTHS OTHER THAN 18". Because of this (frustratingly hidden) limitation, this shotgun is not fit for purpose for bird hunting, rifled deer slugs, trap, or skeet.
Other than this issue, the gun is of good quality, and lives up to the reputation of the 870. However, I wish I'd known before my purchase and bought a more flexible/adaptable shotgun, as these weapons are expensive and this is my sole firearm. Until Remington resolves this issue, I would point others to something like the Mossberg 500 Flex.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-25points
4out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2014

Great Home Defense Shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
You just cannot find a better pump shotgun than the tried and proven (for 50 years) Remington 870. I recently bought the 870 Tactical (6+1) synthetic stock, 18" barrel 12 gauge and it is a delight to handle and although I have plenty of other shotguns in my collection, well, this one just looks scary! I have no doubt that should the time come I need to use it to defend life and home it will do the job very well.
I also considered a Mossberg 500 or 590 because I like the tang safety and the behind the trigger guard slide release on the 500 and the Mossberg 500 is also a tried and true shotgun. To be honest I got a better deal on the Remington 870, so I bought it. I have other Remingtons that I have had for years and they have never let me down.
I do plan to have a Tritium front sight and a ghost ring rear site added and will sight it in with slugs and a shell carrier, either on the side of the receiver or a butt stock sleeve. Maybe also add a light and a single point sling. This is now my "go to" shotgun for self-defense in and around my home if the need arises. I keep it stoked with five rounds of 00 buck and a single round of #8 that is first up in case of more rattlesnakes in the yard. :-)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2014

SIMPLE BUT POWERFULL

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
GREAT SHOT GUN, VERY SIMPLE AND GREAT DEAL WITH A NAME THAT YOU CAN TRUST. IT'S A GOOD HOME DEFENSE AND BACK YARD OR FARM YARD UTILITY SHOT GUN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Great Shotty

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
I love this shotgun. It is great for home defense and to just have fun at the range. I changed it up a little bit by getting an ati stock for it which comes with a pistol grip and tactical stock. I'm lovin my shotty even more now. I highly recommend this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2013

870 Express Synthetic Seven-Round

By
I bought this gun about a year ago. I have put about 125 rounds of slugs (because the local range will not allow anything else) through it. Only one failure to feed, no failures to eject.
It is a good gun for it's purpose, home defense. I like my shotguns to be able to do double duty. I found I could not swap barrels on this model. I should have looked more closely into the specs before I bought it. My bad. i would recommend the gun, but only for someone not interested in using guns for multiple functions.
I added the Remington saddle mount for a scope and the supercell pad. Both installed very easily and removed equally easy, which was necessary because I sold the gun. I can recommend both additions for anyone planning to buy this gun. They look good on the gun and add great functionality to the gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013

#1 shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
My grandpa bought a remington 870 express almost 15 years ago and it served him as a very reliable shotgun he used for hunting the very same gun he gave to me when i was only six years old (18 now) and to this day it serves me for the same thing and has never failed to fire or eject a round the action is still as smooth as the day it was bought ! If your thinking about buying a good shotgun for home defense or just a reliable gun to hunt with there is a remington 870 for you it was my first shotgun and its always been so good to me buyin another model shotgun would almost feel like i was cheatin on a woman i had been with for 12 or so years so im going to buy another one for home defense. Hey if it aint broke dont fix it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2013

great home defense

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
bought this shotgun after looking at a lot of others this felt great and its performance at the range proved it looking for a good home shotgun check this one out
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2012

Remington 870 Pump

By
A Remington 870 virtually identical to this utilitarian model was my "partner" during a 30 year law enforcement career. There's a reason police, sheriff, highway patrol, state police, and federal agencies have been carrying these as standard equipment in their patrol cars since the 1950's. The 870 is simply the most well made, rugged, and reliable pump action shotgun out there, bar none. There's no need for all the fancy Hollywood tactical features. Believe me, this no-frill model gets the job done.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Well worth it!

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Picked up one of these to just have a standard 12 gauge around the house. Also if you are interested in slugs out of this 18inch barrel, the Winchester Super X rifled slugs are awesome. I used it for firearm season and it shot 2 inch goups at 75 yards with just the bead sight. So very pleased :)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Buyer Beware

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently purchased the 870 Express Home Tactical/Home Defense Firearm. Something you should be aware of. In 2012 Remington came out with the attached 6 round magazine. Look closely and you will see that the barrel guide on this firearm is mounted up further then other 870's. Previously made 870 barrels will not fit this model of 870. A call to the Remington factory led to the following information. This shotgun was issued in 2012 and at this point other 870 barrels are not available for it. If barrel changability is important to you then I would say get the mossberg or the regular 870 and add the extented tube. I assume that someone will come up with a barrel or a spacer that will work on older barrels but I have yet to discover any. I love the 870's and wish this issue could be addressed, It would be nice to stick a plug in and add a different hunting barrel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2012

jam jam jam

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i bought this gun brand new in box went out and shot it a week later and it jammed failure to extract the spent shells. About 8 out of 10 times it would do this other than that the gun feels and looks great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2012

Great, reliable, easy-to-use twelve gauge...

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased this firearm from a sporting goods store and have yet to regret it. It was my first one and a great one at that. It is easy to clean and lubricate, disassemble and reassemble, and will shoot almost any type of round you feed it. So long as you maintain the barrel cleaned and lubricated, jams will not be an issue. I have shot several types of birdshot, buckshot, and slugs through the 870 with no alterations made to the gun prior to shooting. I still have it completely stock. Aside from the normal wear-and-tear of the finish, the Remington 870 has given me no trouble. Great way to get into firearms and holds its own in terms of reliability, firepower, and accuracy. There is a reason why law enforcement looks to the 870 and the Mossberg 500 as viable resources on the field! I am looking forward to the purchase of the Versamax very soon!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2012

IT'S A REMINGTON!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
JUST LIKE THE TWO WINGMASTERS THAT I OWN, THIS "IS" A VERY RELIABLE SHOT GUN. VERY RUGGED, AND WITH THE PROPER CARE WILL GIVE A SEVERAL LIFE TIMES OF SERVICE. I HAVE NO TROUBLE RECOMENDING THIS GUN. BUTTOM LINE? "OUTSTANDING"!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

Solid Shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased Remington's 870 Home Defense pump action shotgun and have been quite pleased with its feel, quality, ease of use, and flawless performance.
This shotgun should be in every home whose owner believes in protecting life and limb.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2012

Excellent Shotguns

By
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Picked up a NIB 870, has been an excellent shotgun so far. Reliably feeds everything I've put through it, light and sturdy, many after market add-ons available. Have read a few things online about poor coating that easily wears off, we'll see...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2012

An Excellent Choice.

By
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Gender: Male
You will not be disappointed with this firearm! It is very versatile as I use it for home defense, target shooting, and also bird hunting! I highly recommend this shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2012

Awesome Gun

By
Location: Fenton, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great home defense gun but versatile for target shooting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2011

best gun

By
Location: plainview tx
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
we love are remington exoress synthic 18" 12ga shotgun and i hunt everything with it from dove to geese and prosper with it, i recomened this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2011

Great Gun!

By
Location: Washington State
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have hunted with the 870 for years and it has never let me down. It seemed natural that I would turn to my "old reliable" for a tactical gun and was not disappointed. This is a well balanced shotgun, even when fully loaded. The action cycles beautifully round after round. I may swap out the butt stock for a collapsable, but that is a personal preference and not a shortcomming with the gun. If you are in the market for a hard hitting and reliable tactical shotgun, this one will not let you down. For the price, you really can't beat it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Model 870™ Express® Synthetic Tactical Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2010

THE BEST SECURITY GUN

By
Location: Yakima
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I recently bought this gun altough its rust a bit i give the gun a 5-5 stars because it is the best shooting security shotgun ive shot. put a liitle bit of hoppes gun lube and rub it down this will protect the gun from rust!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 23