Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns

For more than five decades the 870 has set the standard for pump-action performance. Receivers are milled from a solid billet of steel for strength and durability. Twin action bars ensure smooth, reliable nonbinding action. We now offer several of these shotguns for personal- and home-defense applications. Available: 870 Express Synthetic Seven-Round – Weatherproof black synthetic stock. 18" fixed-cylinder-choke barrel with a single-bead front sight. Magazine holds six 2-3/4" or 3" shells and one in the chamber for seven-shot capacity. Molded-in sling swivel studs. 870 Express Synthetic 18" – An ideal 12-gauge utility gun featuring an 18" fixed-cylinder-choke barrel, single-bead front sight, nonglare matte finish and a magazine that holds three 3" shells or four 2-3/4" shells. This model is intended for personal use and will not accept law-enforcement accessories. 870 Express Tactical – The No. 1 choice of law enforcement agencies across the country. Quick-pointing 18-1/2" barrels with an extended ported Tactical Rem™ Chokes. Magazines hold seven rounds of 2-3/4" or 3" shells with a factory-installed two-shot extension. Black synthetic stocks and forends with sling swivel studs. Receivers are drilled and tapped. The blasted black-oxide model has an XS® Ghost Ring rear sight and XS blade front sight along with an XS Ghost Ring sight rail for optics and sight systems. The gunmetal-gray powder-coated model has a single-bead front sight. 870 Express Tactical Blackhawk! Spec Ops – The seven-position tactical stock adjusts the length of the shotgun to fit the situation and the shooter. It’s outfitted with a recoil-reduction system and a SuperCell recoil pad for fast follow-up shots. The enhanced pistol grip improves control. Sling mounts can be removed or configured for right- and left-handed shooters. Receiver is drilled and tapped to accept optics. 6+1 capacity using 2-3/4" or 3" shells.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Home Defense Shotgun

Date:July 2, 2014
You just cannot find a better pump shotgun than the tried and proven (for 50 years) Remington 870. I recently bought the 870 Tactical (6+1) synthetic stock, 18" barrel 12 gauge and it is a delight to handle and although I have plenty of other shotguns in my collection, well, this one just looks scary! I have no doubt that should the time come I need to use it to defend life and home it will do the job very well.
I also considered a Mossberg 500 or 590 because I like the tang safety and the behind the trigger guard slide release on the 500 and the Mossberg 500 is also a tried and true shotgun. To be honest I got a better deal on the Remington 870, so I bought it. I have other Remingtons that I have had for years and they have never let me down.
I do plan to have a Tritium front sight and a ghost ring rear site added and will sight it in with slugs and a shell carrier, either on the side of the receiver or a butt stock sleeve. Maybe also add a light and a single point sling. This is now my "go to" shotgun for self-defense in and around my home if the need arises. I keep it stoked with five rounds of 00 buck and a single round of #8 that is first up in case of more rattlesnakes in the yard. :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SIMPLE BUT POWERFULL

Date:June 24, 2014
GREAT SHOT GUN, VERY SIMPLE AND GREAT DEAL WITH A NAME THAT YOU CAN TRUST. IT'S A GOOD HOME DEFENSE AND BACK YARD OR FARM YARD UTILITY SHOT GUN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotty

Date:December 31, 2013
I love this shotgun. It is great for home defense and to just have fun at the range. I changed it up a little bit by getting an ati stock for it which comes with a pistol grip and tactical stock. I'm lovin my shotty even more now. I highly recommend this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

870 Express Synthetic Seven-Round

Date:October 11, 2013
I bought this gun about a year ago. I have put about 125 rounds of slugs (because the local range will not allow anything else) through it. Only one failure to feed, no failures to eject.
It is a good gun for it's purpose, home defense. I like my shotguns to be able to do double duty. I found I could not swap barrels on this model. I should have looked more closely into the specs before I bought it. My bad. i would recommend the gun, but only for someone not interested in using guns for multiple functions.
I added the Remington saddle mount for a scope and the supercell pad. Both installed very easily and removed equally easy, which was necessary because I sold the gun. I can recommend both additions for anyone planning to buy this gun. They look good on the gun and add great functionality to the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

#1 shotgun

Date:September 24, 2013
My grandpa bought a remington 870 express almost 15 years ago and it served him as a very reliable shotgun he used for hunting the very same gun he gave to me when i was only six years old (18 now) and to this day it serves me for the same thing and has never failed to fire or eject a round the action is still as smooth as the day it was bought ! If your thinking about buying a good shotgun for home defense or just a reliable gun to hunt with there is a remington 870 for you it was my first shotgun and its always been so good to me buyin another model shotgun would almost feel like i was cheatin on a woman i had been with for 12 or so years so im going to buy another one for home defense. Hey if it aint broke dont fix it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great home defense

Date:April 4, 2013
bought this shotgun after looking at a lot of others this felt great and its performance at the range proved it looking for a good home shotgun check this one out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 870 Pump

Date:December 17, 2012
A Remington 870 virtually identical to this utilitarian model was my "partner" during a 30 year law enforcement career. There's a reason police, sheriff, highway patrol, state police, and federal agencies have been carrying these as standard equipment in their patrol cars since the 1950's. The 870 is simply the most well made, rugged, and reliable pump action shotgun out there, bar none. There's no need for all the fancy Hollywood tactical features. Believe me, this no-frill model gets the job done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth it!

Date:December 11, 2012
Picked up one of these to just have a standard 12 gauge around the house. Also if you are interested in slugs out of this 18inch barrel, the Winchester Super X rifled slugs are awesome. I used it for firearm season and it shot 2 inch goups at 75 yards with just the bead sight. So very pleased :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buyer Beware

Date:November 27, 2012
I recently purchased the 870 Express Home Tactical/Home Defense Firearm. Something you should be aware of. In 2012 Remington came out with the attached 6 round magazine. Look closely and you will see that the barrel guide on this firearm is mounted up further then other 870's. Previously made 870 barrels will not fit this model of 870. A call to the Remington factory led to the following information. This shotgun was issued in 2012 and at this point other 870 barrels are not available for it. If barrel changability is important to you then I would say get the mossberg or the regular 870 and add the extented tube. I assume that someone will come up with a barrel or a spacer that will work on older barrels but I have yet to discover any. I love the 870's and wish this issue could be addressed, It would be nice to stick a plug in and add a different hunting barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

jam jam jam

Date:August 15, 2012
i bought this gun brand new in box went out and shot it a week later and it jammed failure to extract the spent shells. About 8 out of 10 times it would do this other than that the gun feels and looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great, reliable, easy-to-use twelve gauge...

Date:May 23, 2012
I purchased this firearm from a sporting goods store and have yet to regret it. It was my first one and a great one at that. It is easy to clean and lubricate, disassemble and reassemble, and will shoot almost any type of round you feed it. So long as you maintain the barrel cleaned and lubricated, jams will not be an issue. I have shot several types of birdshot, buckshot, and slugs through the 870 with no alterations made to the gun prior to shooting. I still have it completely stock. Aside from the normal wear-and-tear of the finish, the Remington 870 has given me no trouble. Great way to get into firearms and holds its own in terms of reliability, firepower, and accuracy. There is a reason why law enforcement looks to the 870 and the Mossberg 500 as viable resources on the field! I am looking forward to the purchase of the Versamax very soon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IT'S A REMINGTON!

Date:May 21, 2012
JUST LIKE THE TWO WINGMASTERS THAT I OWN, THIS "IS" A VERY RELIABLE SHOT GUN. VERY RUGGED, AND WITH THE PROPER CARE WILL GIVE A SEVERAL LIFE TIMES OF SERVICE. I HAVE NO TROUBLE RECOMENDING THIS GUN. BUTTOM LINE? "OUTSTANDING"!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Shotgun

Date:May 17, 2012
Purchased Remington's 870 Home Defense pump action shotgun and have been quite pleased with its feel, quality, ease of use, and flawless performance.
This shotgun should be in every home whose owner believes in protecting life and limb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Shotguns

Date:April 5, 2012
Picked up a NIB 870, has been an excellent shotgun so far. Reliably feeds everything I've put through it, light and sturdy, many after market add-ons available. Have read a few things online about poor coating that easily wears off, we'll see...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An Excellent Choice.

Date:January 26, 2012
You will not be disappointed with this firearm! It is very versatile as I use it for home defense, target shooting, and also bird hunting! I highly recommend this shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fenton, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Gun

Date:January 14, 2012
Great home defense gun but versatile for target shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: plainview tx
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best gun

Date:December 18, 2011
we love are remington exoress synthic 18" 12ga shotgun and i hunt everything with it from dove to geese and prosper with it, i recomened this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:November 18, 2011
I have hunted with the 870 for years and it has never let me down. It seemed natural that I would turn to my "old reliable" for a tactical gun and was not disappointed. This is a well balanced shotgun, even when fully loaded. The action cycles beautifully round after round. I may swap out the butt stock for a collapsable, but that is a personal preference and not a shortcomming with the gun. If you are in the market for a hard hitting and reliable tactical shotgun, this one will not let you down. For the price, you really can't beat it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yakima
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE BEST SECURITY GUN

Date:December 8, 2010
I recently bought this gun altough its rust a bit i give the gun a 5-5 stars because it is the best shooting security shotgun ive shot. put a liitle bit of hoppes gun lube and rub it down this will protect the gun from rust!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 870™ Express® Tactical/Home-Defense Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: In Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One good shotgun

Date:September 26, 2010
I have two of these-one is my on duty weapon in my unit and the other is for my home.
I have never had a major problem with the 870-it does the job simply and does it well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22