Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol

Designed as a dedicated .22 LR, the M&P22 combines the look, feel and familiar operating features of the trusted M&P series of centerfire pistols. It’s ideally suited for training or simple shooting enjoyment with the popular and inexpensive .22 LR cartridge. The 4.1" barrel is outfitted with a drift-adjustable front sight. Rear sight is click adjustable. Slide is crafted of aluminum-aerospace alloy. Other features include an ambidextrous slide stop, reversible magazine release and a Picatinny-style accessory rail.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
24 out of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st weapon purchased - love it!

Date:October 2, 2012
This is very comfortable in my hand and feels nicely balanced.
I am amazed at how accurate I am!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great .22!!!

Date:May 27, 2012
Bought this from Cabelas a month ago and have absolutely enjoyed it. My primary reason for the M&P 22 was for cheap training for IDPA, which I use (and love) my M&P 9 pro in. The 22 is identical in shape and feel (except for the safety). Best of all, it has proved very reliable and accurate. About 400 rounds through it so far. Zero failures/jams with CCI velocitor and Tactical; a few failure to chamber second round problems with Federal 36 grain bulk stuff (a little underpowered, I think, for slide to fully cycle to pick up round from the mag). Quality of workmanship is very good. Trigger is similar to centerfire models though completely different internally. In a perfect world, Smith would offer this without the safety AND include a second magazine. But neither issue keeps me from giving this weapon 5 stars. It's just too fun to shoot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun day at range

Date:February 7, 2012
I planned on buying a Mark 3, but when I physically compared it to the S&W this gun felt much better in my hand. Have had it for about 2 years now and love it. Very accurate and for a semi it's above average when it comes to breaking it down and cleaning.
Does not like Remington or other cheap ammo, but the federal will be just fine. Aquila has been the best ammo for this up to this point. Great for plinking at the range or knocking off pop cans at +25 yards. Again, very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas ciy, Ks
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent gun for the price.

Date:January 11, 2012
Bought this pistol while it was on sale at an excellent price. Good feel to the hand,not too weighty. Easy to clean after shooting. Also, 22 ammo is reasonable even at full price, but finding some on sale is also not a problem. All in all, a fun gun to take to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hazelwood, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

22A Fair Quality Pistol

Date:January 11, 2012
The 22A is a fair quality pistol. Very good feel, accurate, has rail built in on top. If you shoot a lot you will be disappointed with the quality and workmanship. The 22A has poor sights and some parts that wear out prematurely, specifically the recoil spacer (you will see S&W packed a spare with each pistol) and recoil spring.
My 22A would require a lot of cleaning, oiling and care. It would also jam using Remington and Winchester ammo.
I shoot all of my guns a lot, so quality issues stand out to me. If you don't shoot a lot, this is a fair pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Elgin, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun Plinker

Date:January 11, 2012
The S&W 22A is a great pistol for plinking. I found my pistol likes Federal ammo. The Remington misfires about 10-20% of the time. The gun is stiff at first but loosens up after some use. Can shoot all day and not break the bank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&W is the BEST!

Date:January 11, 2012
I purchased this pistol shortly before Archery season primarily for use on grouse. Well it did its job, it is light enough, not nearly as loud as other big names and easy to handle. WOW.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mineral, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&W 22A

Date:November 23, 2011
Great heft, good feel in the hand, and I like the full length optics rail on the barrel. That, and there are replacement barrels available. Swap out the 5.5" barrel for a variety of sizes. Best part is the price. Get one, you won't regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Recomendation

Date:September 25, 2011
I just purchased the S&W 22A and had a chance to take it out to the range. I also purchased several brands of ammo to see if one was better than the other. The gun was flawless with all rounds of Federal bulk ammo, and three mis-fires on Remington ammo. The 22A was very accurate at 25 feet with keeping groups inside a dime. With my shooting skills they were worse at 50 feet, but within inches. Also took my son out (12) and he loved shooting this gun and handled it well, as he shot over 500 flawless rounds. Excellent purchase as a plinking gun for the whole family, and not as expesive as shooting the .40 caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mpls.,Mn.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plink-O-Rama!!

Date:July 24, 2011
Bought the 22A at Cabela's/Rogers,Mn. store. Love it. It's a nice break from shootin 9mm,357mag,.45acp . Good cheap fun! Remoil, and a boresnake after every trip to the range keeps it runnin flawlessly. Added a reddot sight I had on another gun for the heck of it-- now it's even more fun, and it looks impressive.Great price too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good, Bad and Sometimes Ugly

Date:July 11, 2011
I bought this gun, my first, just wanting something to take to the range. So far I've put 2000 rounds though it and I can tell you that the gun is very accurate, unfortunately is also suffers from repeated FTF and FTE problems. I'd say 10%-15% of the time I have a problem with this thing. I've tried a number of different ammo brands and types with the same result. If I had to do it again I would have bought a Ruger Neo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ILLINOIS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:May 28, 2011
PIECE OF JUNK.PUT 300 RAUND AND THE FEEDING RAMP IS DAMAGED.VERY VERY DISSAPOITIT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha NE
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for the money!

Date:May 1, 2011
Recently purchased the smith and wesson 22a on sale for fifity bucks off the already reasonable price. Just got back from putting over 500 rnds of various brands of ammo through it. I had to clean it every couple of hundred rnds or so to keep it running. Over all I was impressed with the trigger, accuracy, and function of the pistol for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fortville, In
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smith vs. Ruger

Date:April 5, 2011
I bought the S&W because I like shooting 22 cal. I already have a Ruger MKll. Both shoot as-well as each other I think, but I love the easy take down of the Smith for clean-up. Very accurate, and not a single mis-fire or eject in over 250rds. Can't go wrong with this pistol for fun shooting and low cost with high quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pownal Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good

Date:March 12, 2011
Wanted to reduce my spending on shooting my high caliber pistols so I decided to purchase the S&W and give it a try. so far so good with about 300-500 rounds through this weapon[I clean after every use] it has performed perfectly without a jam or misfire,what more could i ask for????????Highly recommend this for target shooting,plinking and even small arms match shooting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

UNMATCHED QUALITY

Date:February 4, 2011
I purchased this firearm about 2 years ago and i have put hundreds of rounds through it. The S&W 22 is a veary smooth gun and is fun and veary inexpensive to shoot . The only problem that i have had with the gun is jaming up. Although it doesnt happen often, with a quick cleaning it back to the fun. I have done some competive shooting with this gun so i have a few extras added on such as new grips and an electronic red dot indercator sight, however, the preformance from this gun has paid for its self
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Belleville Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smith & Wesson 22

Date:December 27, 2010
I purchased my Smith at Cabalas and it was a very good buy but I did not check the Pistol out good enough. The 22 has a dent in the feed ramp and it can not be polished out without taking out too much metal. I called Smith & Wesson after waiting for them to reply to my E-mail for two weeks and they told me that as long as it does not cause the pistol to malfunction it would be ok, so much for quality control. I have found that there are many more of these pistols out there with same defect. The good thing is that it does shoot well, and the dent does not seem to have an effect on the accuracy. But I am disappointed on the response I received from Smith & Wesson.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange Co, N.Y.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best target guns I own

Date:December 5, 2010
I was a little apprehensive about buying a S&W 22a with all the bad reviews about FTF'S and FTE'S. I can tell you that this gun will eat anything you feed it. It will shoot Remington, Winchester, Federal bulk boxes all the way to Eley target ( I have about 1500 rds through it already). I purchased this gun to teach my sons to shoot a handgun so it being heavy is not a con but a pro it weighs about the same as my Python or 1911 National Match.
I installed a red dot scope and it will shoot the x ring out of a B2 target at 75ft (bench rest of course) with bulk ammo.
The best thing I can tell you is try to shoot one yourself and make your own judgements, I think you will be very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smith & Wesson 22a

Date:November 28, 2010
I really like the gun, it is very easy to shoot. I have shot 150 rounds so far with no jams, the gun performed flawlessly! The gun is fairly heavy which is nice because there is practically no recoil. The fit and finish of the gun are top notch.
The gun is very easy to strip and clean. I highly recommend the gun for both beginners and experience shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® M&P .22 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Swarthmore PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommend, with caveat

Date:November 4, 2010
I own the S&W 22A and have mixed feelings about this pistol. It has a very good feel, nice balance, trigger pull is good, very easy takedown, easy to clean. I fired a number of CCI and Remington rounds through it with one FTE, on the very first round, not a big deal. I would highly recommend this pistol EXCEPT for the recoil spacer (you will see S&W packed a spare with each pistol) and recoil spring. The spacer is plastic and I don't see it lasting a long time (hence, the included spare). The recoil spring seems flimsy. Both parts are very inexpensive, and easy to replace, so buying replacements is not prohibitive, but I have another brand .22 target pistol that is 25+ years, and thousands of rounds, old and has never needed a single part. I would think S&W could have designed this portion of the pistol better, for a modest increase in price and a large increase in durability. If you collect .22 pistols, you would probably like to add this to your collection, but if you want only one .22 pistol, I would look at all brands before choosing this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27