Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns

These Savage Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns have the accuracy and deer-slaying feel of bolt-action centerfire rifles. Built on the legendary Savage 110 action, they feature controlled-round-feed bolts with oversized handles for fast, reliable follow-up shots. The free-floating, precision button-rifled barrels deliver Savage-famous accuracy. Crisp, clean-breaking adjustable AccuTrigger™. Receivers are drilled and tapped for scope mounting. Synthetic stocks with swivel studs. Two-round detachable magazines. Combos include a factory-installed and boresighted Bushnell® 3-9x40 scope.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Review 21 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011

Savage 220

By
Location: Pine Island, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought a 220 in camo from Cabelas in a package deal with a 3x9 Bushnell scope mounted on it. Sighted it in quickly at 150 yards wit 3" Federal Baness Expander tipped slugs. I was shooting 1 1/2" groups at 150 yards. This last week I shot a 140" 8 pointer at 85 yards and stopped him dead in his tracks! A couple days later I shot a smaller doe @140 yards with the same result! Awesome gun!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2011

accurate but loads hard

By
Location: SE MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought the 220 along with a Leopold 2x7 and had it mounted and bore sighted at Cabela's. It shoots dead on at 80 yds when sighted in at 40 yds, and 2 inches high at 100 yds. Using Federal 3 inch tipped Barnes Expanders.
The two shell clip loads hard. If you look closely at the Federal 3 inch shells, there is a slight ridge between the casing and the plastic. The second shell tends to hang up when its casing hits the front of the casing of the first shell in the cllip. I am unable to get my finger into the cllip to hold the first shell down, and used a pen. I haven't tried the Remingtons, but plan to.
The clip also snaps into the gun hard, requiring a pretty good hit to pop it in. Plus, Savage doesn't have second clips in stock.
The bolt works fairly smoothly, and I did not have trouble injecting or rejecting shells. But it does not have the feel of a quality rifle bolt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011

EPIC WIN

By
Location: East KY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My father purchased one of these in the 20g for gun season in Ohio last year. The brand of the scope eludes me, but I do know that it has the Nikon BDC type reticle designed for shotguns, its sighted in using the remington 3" accu tip slugs.
I was lucky enough to get to use it as my father killed out before I could get to camp.
Under normal circumstances I would have never taken 236 yard shot at that 9 pointer, but after hearing all the hype from my father and his friends about the gun, I could not help myself.
At the crack of the gun 2 things happened. Slug hit deer and deer hit ground. I was blown away and called my dad and made him come to my stand and double check the distance cause I refused to believe a shot gun slug could be so accurate at that distance. I have since that day bought 2 of these, one for the wife, and one for me.
Bottom line, if you hunt in an area that does not allow High powered rifles for deer, then get yourself one of these they are as close as you gonna get and I promise you you wont be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2011

Best "All Purpose" Gun I've owned!

By
Location: South East Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I live in Maryland, can't hunt rifle in all but 2 counties here. Let me tell you, this thing does it all! I topped it with a Bushnell Trophy 3x9 and used it twice last year. 2 hunts, 2 dead deer. I just took it out when sighting in my muzzle loader to make sure it was still "dialed in" and shot 3 times at 100yds, 1.5" apart right on the bullseye! It groups well with most loads but I prefer 3" Federal Premium with tipped Barnes expander. Ammo is pricy but you don't need many with this Gun! Anything you set your sights on under 150 yards is dropping in it's tracks on the first shot!
Do yourself and add this gun to your wishlist!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2011

Tack Driver

By
Location: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased this shotgun from Cabela's a few months ago and finally got time to sight her in, she is topped off with a Leupold VX-II 3-9x40, I'm using Remington Accu-Tip 3", at 100 yds. I'm 4" above center with a 1" group, this is just amazing for a shotgun. Th action isn't smooth like most rifles, somewhat stiff, but then I don't care, they way she shoots only one shot will count !!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2010

Best Slug Gun on Market

By
Location: Freeland, MD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased the 20ga. this fall and topped the gun with the EGW one piece base, Leupold high rings and a Leupold Ultimate Slam 3-9x scope. Shooting Remington Accu-Tips the gun was sighted in with five shots and had two shots touching at 100 yards. Tried the 3 inch Federal Barnes Tipped shells that also shot acceptable but with more kick.
The gun requires the bolt to be worked with authority in order to eject the shells properly but they do eject without hitting the scope by using the EGW base. The magazine can be a little hard to load with the base of the slug catching and is a little tricky snapping into the gun. These two minor glitches are far exceeded by the crisp accu-trigger and overall accuracy of the gun. It is great hunting with a shotgun that feels and shoots like a rifle. Killed a buck and two doe this season in the same morning.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2010

One shot, one kill

By
Location: Howell, MI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased the Savage 220F from Cabelas and mounted a Cabelas Slugger EXT scope. Had it sighted in with three shots at 100 yards and waited for deer season. Got lucky and the buck came within 40 yards but I feel comfortable that he would have been in the freezer at 100 yards. Very comfortable and very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2010

Savage 220F slug gun

By
Location: Ellington, CT.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought this gun this year. I hunt private land, usually with a Sako 30-06. The land borders state forrest. Can't hunt with rifle on state land. Bought this gun so I could wander. What a shooter!!!!. Sighted it in first at 50 yards. One hole 3 shot group. Moved back to 100 yards. consistantly shoots 1 inch groups at that range. Come on deer season!!! I am ready.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2010

This F gets an A+

By
Location: Northern Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently purchased the Savage 220F 20G in camo finish. I mounted a Bushnell Trophy slug scope (1.75 X- 4 X) using a one piece picatinny base (as recommended by Savage). I shot 3- shot groups at 50 yards from a Caldwell Lead Sled using Hornady SST(2 3/4 in), Federal Barnes Tipped Expander(3 in), and Remington Accutip (2 3/4 in). The Hornadys did not group well, the Federals grouped acceptably, and the Remingtons grouped very well (1 in. groups at 50 yds). While the 3 in. did not eject smoothly, the 2 3/4 Remingtons all ejected fine without any unnecessary force being applied to the bolt.
The gun itself has a nice feel, and the accutrigger is crisp with no detectable creep. The fit and finish of the gun is what you would expect from a moderately priced synthetic. Overall, I am very impressed with the Savage 220F and give it an A+!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

nice

By
the best sluge gun i'v shot.if you don't have one get one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2010

Savage 210F

By
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Guns shoots excellent groups and is not picky about different brands of ammo. The one problem that I have had is with the shell ejection. If you don't work the bolt very hard the shell often fails to eject. Prime example this past hunting season, I shot a doe but wasn't certain of the hit as the deer ran closer, I tried to work the bolt action nice as easy and the shell failed to eject. I have had this happen a few times now and have read of others online having the same problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2010

Savage 220

By
Location: Easton Pa
I bought a Savage 220 (20 guage) Slug gun from Cabelas
I had them set up the gun They put on the following Weaver 2-46M top mounts with Warne Maxima rings Med hieght and a scope from them I'll review the scope in the scope reviews
They bore sited it in and with in 4 shots One at 25yds One at 50yds and the last two where touching at 100 yds All I had to do was dial it in after that There are no problems with ejecting the
spent shells I learned from a reliable sorce the Savage needs to ejected in a smooth method Too slow or to fast can cause the shells to hang up (slow) or bounce off the scope (fast)
So I would recommend this gun It out shoots my Winchester Model 70 Great job by the Staff at Hamburg Pa for there help
Also Savage give recommadations as to what slugs shoot best
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010

Savage 210 F

By
Location: New Jersey
I have had mine 3 years now. It has 3x9 nikon slug hunter scope on it. This gun shoots great under 1 inch 3 shot groups at 100 yards. And yes that is with 2 3/4 inch hornady sst sabots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Savage® Arms Model 220 and 212 Bolt-Action Slug Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2009

Shoots great, loading is a problem

By
Location: Ohio
The 210 shoots great. It replaced my Winchester 1300 with a rifled barrel. The savage is a much better shooting gun and has less kick than the Winchester. Even at 100 yards, when using good ammunition, you can shoot a 3 shot group within a few inches and many times touching impact holes. It will only shoot 3" sabots. The magazine will not support 2 3/4" shells. But that was fine with me since I only use 3".
Loading is a pain. The shells load through the chamber down into the magazine. There is a little lip in the top of the magazine that holds the brass end down. You cannot do it with gloves on. You load two into the magazine and then have to slide a third shell into the chamber and hold the shell in the magazine down as you slide the bolt forward. Otherwise the bolt tries to chamber the magazine shell. If you only want to hunt with 2 shells than it is less of a problem. But in either case, you cannot load this gun with gloves on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-34 of 34