Customer Reviews for HERITAGE Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers

HERITAGE Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers

Born of the traditions of the Old West, Rough Rider revolvers maintain much of the look and feel of the legendary Single-Action Army revolver in scaled-down versions. Select models include .22 LR and .22 Magnum cylinders that are manufactured using precision machinery to assure accuracy and reliability. Cylinder lock-ups are tight, and the perfect timing of the actions make for handguns that put shots where you want them. Machined barrels are microthreaded and inserted into the frame for the optimal barrel/cylinder gap to give you maximum ammunition performance. A hammer block mounted in the recoil shield provides extra protection and has a red-dot indicator that lets you know when the gun is ready for action. Proudly made in the USA, all Heritage revolvers combine quality with affordability.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Review 1 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2016

Very Pleased

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Well worth it for the dollar. I bought it to show my kids how to shoot and am very pleased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

Heritage .22 revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this on a whim as a backup gun that would be dragged through the mountains. I am impressed with accuracy and ease of handling. After 300 rounds the cylinder finish is tarnished to a dull grey/black. Not a show piece but definitely reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2016

22 Mag. revoler

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was looking for an American made .22 Mag revolver. For the price an accuracy I am pleased. Plinking it can use shorts, longs or long rifle. With the two cylinders I have many options. Years ago I had one an was not impressed but these new ones are much better. A piece of paper was put next to the cylinder an fired. No lead or powder burns on the paper. A good investment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2015

Great Fun

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
A very fun handgun that is very accurate. Purchased for a fun plinking gun but it has turned into a favorite hunter too. My Dad bought a .32 auto and he was upset when this ..22 was so much more accurate and it never misfires. I like it so much I just bought another. For the money it's a great buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2015

Cowboy up

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I own several cowboy action 45 long colts and 22 revolvers. This Rough Rider is fun to shoot and feels great in the hand. Nice and solid. I have shot over 500 rounds through it so far with no misfire. It liked winchester ammo, but shot other brands as well without issue, I have the 4.75 inch barrel and it shoots pretty straight, target practiced with small targets and was about 90% on the mark, the other 10% was probably me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2015

Nice pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is a nice little rim fire pistol. Since it is a .22, you can shoot it a lot for little cost (when you can get ammo). The workmanship and finish on this gun is top notch. I have had no issues with the gun not firing, it always goes bang when I expect a bang and click when I expect a click.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2015

Outstanding Revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this Heritage 4.75 revolver about 4 months
ago and put some 1200 rounds thru it, and it is right
on. I am vary happy with this gun. It just goes to show
you, you do not have to pay alot to get a good
revolver.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2015

first gun

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was also looking at Ruger Single Six, but the Ruger price tag was discouraging. The Cabelas store in Marysville only sold the 6 inch barrel version of the Rough Rider SA. I would have chosen 4 inch barrel if it would have been available. I have shot 200 LR and 50 magnum rounds through it. PROS: +affordable, +safety feature. CONS: -paint wears off, -occasional cylinder lockup.
When pulling the hammer 2 clicks before attempting to eject cartridges the cylinder sometimes jams. This problem is solved by pulling out the center pin out and removing the cylinder. After shooting the magnum rounds I discovered that 1 screw had become completely undone and 1 screw was loose. Easily fixed w/screwdriver. Also the crooked sight problem. I did not have this problem, but some dude "Cowboy Prepper" on uTube said that barrel had become loose, and twisted a few degrees relative to the threads of the frame. If sight appears strongly leaning too much to the right or left -- then worth checking if entire barrel has rotated in the threads. The barrel problem was with a pre-owned Rough Rider. The paint wears off from high traffic areas, but I taken in account the affordable price, it is forgiven.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014

excellent inexpensive revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have owned a Rough Rider for over 10 years. Its a solid, functioning revolver that is about 2/5 of the cost of a Ruger. Its not a Ruger, but its a good gun. I have used and abused this pistol. I have shot birdshot mostly while hunting carpenter bees around my out buildings. Pretty fun. The birdshot is messy and I broke the ejector rod, that was a simple fix. And the birdshot has destroyed the barrel riflings which is not the pistols fault. I am getting a 2nd Rough Rider and it won't see birdshot. The magnum cylinder works fine. Its not pretty like the Ruger, but its about 2/5 the cost to. The pistol is fine accuracy wise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2014

nice revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
very nice and shoots great didn't try the mag cylinder only shot the lr 22s in it but seems good
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014

Amazing Revolver!

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I did a lot of research, and couldn't find a revolver that could beat this one! I was a little confused why it had a safety, but the gun is easy to manipulate and makes it easy to practice safe shooting. Some reviews said that the first few hundred rounds weren't very accurate, but I have found otherwise. It is very fun to carry around, and looks real nice if you holster it in a Triple K Cheyenne Centerfire Revolver Holster. I was somewhat disappointed when I found that the bluing was rubbing off from drawing it from the holster throughout a week's use, but it just adds to the rugged look that this revolver has. This is the first revolver I have owned, and I can't imagine anything more I would want in a revolver. It gets you started on the right foot for just a handful of cash.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014

Good deal!

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
An American-made pistol; handsome furniture, consistent bluing, parallel lines, smooth action, crisp trigger, safety features, and it shoots great!
The gun-counter at the Springfield store handled the purchase with all the fairness, professionalism, and (possible) privacy I have come to expect from this great retailer.
Thanks Cabela's!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2013

shooter

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
good gun for the price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2013

22 Combo 9 inch Rough Rider.

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I picked up the 9 inch barrel Rough Rider a few weeks ago and couldn't be any happier with it. I've shot mostly 22 mag out of it and it is very accurate. Come summer time I think some shotshells will make this a top notch frog leg harvester.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

great!! except..

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
im 15 years old and i recently bought this a few months ago this is my first handgun and i am in love with it i can shoot a chipmunk at 30-40 yards dead on like i say its very accurate and i love the way it feels BUT i have had to replace the hammer mechanism TWICE and the paint is wearing away already and theres a few chips in the metal but is a good all around begginers gun and other than that i have no problem with it. i recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

nice shooter for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was looking for a replacement for my dad's old HR 949 and found a perfect NEW fit in the rough rider. Shoots just fine for me and the magnum cylinder is very handy too. Looked at the rugers, but got the new heritage, leather holster and belt, and loads of both ammos for the same price as the single six pistol only. Very happy with my purchasa and Tulalip Cabela;s gun staff. Thanks goes out to Don.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2011

A good buy for the money

By
Location: Salem, MO
Gender: Male
I have owned mine for a while now and I am very satisfied. Its comfortable a fun to shoot. I was surprized at how easy it was too change it too the 22mag. The finsh on the gun isnt the best but for the price i cant complain. Great gun for a first time handgun owner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2011

Heritage 6.5" 22

By
Location: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very nice gun for the price. I would perfer adjustable sites but the gun was very accurate right out of the box.
I'm sure to enjoy it for years to come
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2011

Great gun, not just for the money!

By
Location: Wyoming
I bought this gun about 3 years ago and absolutely love it. I've taken a number of grouse with it and have never had any problems on the range. Its accurate as all get out, great for teaching people how to shoot handguns and I love the ability to convert to 22 mag. If I ever have the need for a second, I wouldn't hesitate to buy another and would definitely recommend it to my friends and family.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heritage Rough Rider SA Rimfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011

Great SA revolver for a great price!

By
Location: San Ramon, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought mine about 6 weeks ago. I have put about 1250 rounds through it to date. It is very accurate. I have also put 100 rounds of .22 MAG through it. I have found that when firing MAG rounds, it is not as accurate, but very fun. The gun really comes to life.
On the downside, I have had a few jams. I have found that after about 150 rounds, the firearm will tend to jam. At this point i have to pull the pin and remove the chambers to clear the jam. I attribute this to shooting cheaper ammo thats dirty.
All in all, I love this gun. Super cheap to shoot, fun, accurate, and looks good. I would definately recommend this firearm to my friends and family.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 29