Customer Reviews for BENELLI Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns

BENELLI Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns

The standard by which other semiautomatic shotguns are judged. Benelli’s proven Inertia Driven® bolt mechanism shoots 2-3/4", 3" and 3-1/2" shells without adjustment. It’s also lightning quick, as proven by world-record exhibition-shooting achievements. The ComforTech™ system reduces recoil up to 48% and muzzle climb by 15% without moving parts or extra weight. In fact, the SBE II weighs 13-15% less than competing shotgun models. Stainless steel action-spring system in the stocks for a lifetime of reliable, corrosion-free service. All models include C, IC, M, IM and F Crio® choke tubes and wrench. Includes custom-fitted molded gun case. Left-Hand model has a left-shoulder-contoured gel recoil pad on the ComforTech stock.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.865 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
35 out of 37(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:May 22, 2012
I guess I got the lemon? After reading positive reviews I decided to get this gun, but ended up returning it and going with the Beretta (SO much better). The Benelli jammed constantly and felt like a cheap piece of Tupperware on heavier loads-no thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: northwest, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really good but not perfect

Date:January 26, 2010
I owned a SBE2 for 2 years before I lost the thing on a hunting trip this year. That was a sad day to say the least. I used the SBE2 for 2 seasons hunting waterfowl. I liked the fact that the gun was light, but the simple fact is that light guns kick harder than heavy guns. I also have a Mossberg 935 and it kicks lighter than the SBE2 with 3.5” loads. My shoulder was in extreme pain after a 3 shot volley with 3.5” loads out of the SBE2, and I am 6’3” 210 lbs. I had to take the comfort tech pad off and replace with a limb saver pad. I found the comfort tech pad to be hard compared to the limb saver pad. The limb saver pad took away the instant pain after shooting, but this year after a case of 3.5” loads my shoulder has a constant ache to it after the hunt. Bottom line is the SBE2 kicks hard with 3.5” loads.
I also expected the SBE2 to be perfect and never malfunction. That was not the case and I was disappointed. I probably shot 4-5 cases of shells through it in 2 years and had maybe 5-10 malfunctions. Most of the 5-10 were stove pipe jams which means the spent shell would get caught in the receiver and not get ejected all the way. Keep in mind I never had a problem with my Mossberg cycling shells and never had a stove pipe jam with it. So I was a little disappointed that the SBE2 had a few jams. It did seem to happen less the longer I had the gun so maybe it gets better the more shells you put through it. I did keep the gun very clean and lubricated so that was not causing the malfunctions. Everybody always says these guns never mess up so that is what I expected, but mine did jam a few times.
The SBE2 did have high quality parts and it was very easy to take apart and clean. I liked not having to clean all the parts that are involved in a gas operated gun. The SBE2 would never really get that dirty just from shooting it unless you dropped it or it was really dusty outside.
The SBE2 is a very nice gun and well made but I think its overpriced. After having one and losing it I don’t know if I will buy another. I would have kept using my SBE2 but would have switched to 3” loads. It kicks too hard to shoot 3.5” out of it so I could just get the M2 or new Vinci and shoot 3”. It also had a few jams which I didn’t expect especially since my Mossberg never had problems like that. If you don’t want to mess with gas operated guns and think you can handle the kick shooting 3.5” loads than this is a really good gun. If you are not going to shoot 3.5” get the M2, Vinci, or consider the Franchi or Stoeger because they also use the Inertia system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best shotgun ever

Date:January 7, 2014
This is hands down the best shotgun ever made. Don't get scared by the price, consider it free after you sell all your other, now obsolete, shotguns. I am proud to say that I did manage to jam it after 750 rounds without cleaning it there was enough powder residue on the slide to prevent a 2 and 3/4 shell from getting all the way back. I took it home and cleaned the gun and lubricated the slide and back to normal. Can't wait to see it jam again 750 rounds from now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable!!

Date:December 11, 2013
I bought my first Benelli an SL380 in the mid 80's.
The SBE in 1990 and now the SBE2 2010. All of these guns have been totally reliable. They have seen mud, snow, and rain. All guns still operate flawlessly.
The comfort tech re-coil stock on the SBE2 allows me to shoot 3 1/2" loads.
In my experience the only time the inertia recoil will fail, is when you shoot 90 degrees - straight up- the shell will not eject. Happens a few times each year.
Love the "Benelli"!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bring the rain

Date:November 19, 2013
Great gun, simple design, easiest to take down and clean. Has turned my 3 other shotguns into safe queens for the last 7 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Several hundred birds down with this gun

Date:October 27, 2013
I am into my 6th season shooting a SBE. 1st it points like a dream, I've never shouldered a better pointing shotgun. 2nd it is extremely reliable. For the 1st four years the number of shells it didn't cycle could be counted on one hand. During the fourth season I started having problems especially in cold weather. Turned out to be a very dirty main spring. Once I cleaned it, it has been back to old reliable but the cycling speed now seems to be more sensitive to dirt that it used to be. But so far this year it has cycled a 1000ish rounds, everything between skeet and heavy goose without a single issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

by far my favorite gun nothing compares

Date:September 24, 2013
this gun is super fast and super smooth I put my limit of geese in the boat several times this year with it go buy one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sbe2: best gun ever

Date:May 26, 2012
This is my favorite shotgun when it comes to hunting. I use it for everything; from turkey to duck to dove. It has never ever failed to eject or had a click instead of a boom. It is so simple and reliable. It is by far the toughest gun i own. No one I hunt with has a sbe2. they all have remingtons, winchester super x2 and a browning maxus, gold, and silver. I have seen all of them fail except the maxus and winchester and my sbe2. My sbe2 is the lightest though, everyone else's gun is front heavy because of the heavy gas piston system in the front grip/ forearm area. my gun has been rained on for hours, and is the black version with parkerizing, and i have had no problems with rust. i use a light coat of rem oil and that keeps it from rusting. I just love this gun!! I accidentally got a piece of moss ( quarter sized) that was covered in mud in the bolt group area, around the rotating bolt face between the bolt face and the shot shell. the next group of ducks came by and it still fired, and functioned without a flaw. It has a hefty price tag but it is WELL worth the money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Benelli super back eagle 11 APG

Date:May 11, 2012
I've turkey hunted for 35 years and this gun is it! I've shot a lot of so called turkey guns and this gun out shoots them all bar none, get yourself one you will like it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ARKANSAS
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"BENELLI" "SIMPLY PERFECT"

Date:March 6, 2012
The name says it all "BENELLI", "SIMPLY PERFECT". If your a hard-core waterfowl hunter this is hands down the gun to invest in. Mix this sbe2 with a kicks vortex choke tube and black cloud steel shot and you will tell a difference in how many ducks you drop guaranteed. Not only that but have you seen how quick and easy it is to take apart and clean? I had to choose between a browning maxus and sbe2 but it was an easy choice after walking into a gun dealer and shouldering both shotguns. Go Big, Go Benelli !!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SBE ll - Last Auto Loader you’ll ever own!

Date:March 2, 2012
Two years of the most miserable Canadian Duck hunting weather you can imagine …snow, ice, sleet, mud & rain plus hundreds of skeet rounds, never a jam. I hunted for weeks without cleaning this gun & it never missed a beat. Less kick then my 1100. If you want a gun that will last a lifetime, buy the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly recommend!

Date:January 17, 2012
Great shot gun for all types of hunting. Mine has never had a jam or failure even with the lightest loads. I love the fact that it's light and you can shoot 3.5 out of it. Probably the best auto loader on the market. Very simple to clean and disassemble due to it being a inertia gun. I even like shooting the 000 buck during raining deer hunting in Maine as to not mess up my rifle. SBEII is well designed for horrid rainy weather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kodiak, AK
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing gun!

Date:December 14, 2011
can't buy a better gun for a do all! My old man gave me a hard time when i first bought 2 years ago, then his first time out using it he got a triple on mallards. Ever since hes been begging me to use it. Now 2 years later he finally is going to get his own. Also great for kids, barrel is alittle lontg, but the recoil reduction really keeps their mind on dusting the gobbler!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome gun!

Date:November 21, 2011
I would recommend this gun to anybody its well worth the money. Keep shooting your MossBag if you dont like the SBE2!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't Go Wrong

Date:October 27, 2011
Bought the SBE II American Series and fell in love. This is my favorite gun and I have not had one problem with it. Shot my brothers SBE II and could barely tell the difference between recoils between the two so if you can find an American Series for cheaper, buy it! If not, any price you spend on this gun will be worth the investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Puget Sound, Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Life is Short, Just Buy It

Date:October 13, 2011
The SBE II has to be the best autoloader on the market. I looked at all of them, this one felt the best to me. I bought this for turkey hunting this year. After lugging around an MAG-10 for many turkey seasons, all I can say is I should have done this years ago. It's light, quick and reliable. Plus I can shoot turkeys at the same long range of my MAG-10. Them turkeys go down like they were hit with a falling tool box. My son borrowed it after I got my first bird this last season. Now he wants one. Life is to short to hunt with a heavy shotgun. Just go buy one, you will be amazed at how nicely it handles. I am planning on using the same turkey gun this fall for pheasants. Can't wait to see how it works. I've been O/U guy for years, now this SBE II has me hooked on almost everything I shoot shotgun. And, I'm deadly on 3D sporting clays range too. Just can't seem to miss.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of a kind

Date:September 20, 2011
Allot of chatter between the Maxus and Benelli shotguns. You will notice that with Benelli reviews there are no 3 stars or lower ratings, however, with the Maxus the rating's are scattered all over which would make me believe that some of the complaints are legitimate.
I personally own the SBE2 and the Maxus, and I tell you that on the opener of each year it is the SBE2 that comes out. This shotgun is unbelievable; easy to clean, shoulders nicely, little recoil, works in freezing weather, no trigger issues and points really well.
Whatever your bias is, keep it to yourself and stick to the facts - this is the best shotgun by far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great shotgun

Date:August 19, 2011
Fired my new SBE2 today for the first time. I've owned a Benelli SBE1 for the last 12 years and although it was working just as good as the day I bought it, I wanted a new one. So, the SBE2 was purchased and I'm not at all disappointed. The gun patterned dead center from 30 yds out and I broke 24 of 25 clay targets on my very first go with this gun. The comfort tech stalk really does reduce the felt recoil. I really like this shotgun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best dadgum shotgun out there

Date:February 13, 2011
Skeet or bird, never jams! Easy to clean. Don't listen to any negatives BUY THIS GUN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Benelli Investment

Date:February 12, 2011
I had wanted to run many rounds through the SBE ll this waterfowl season, but do to unfavorable weather conditions in our region it did not happen. The rounds I did fire through the gun it worked like a dream. I have fired 2 3/4 trap loads to 3 1/2 magnum loads. I never had a missfire or malfunction with the firearm. The only down side is it goes bang, bang, bang really fast so buy lots of ammo. It will be the last shotgun you will ever purchase.
SO MAKE IT YOUR FIRST!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 37