Customer Reviews for BENELLI Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns

BENELLI Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns

Benelli's Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns set the standard by which other semiautomatics are judged. Proven Inertia Driven® bolt mechanism shoots 2-3/4", 3"and 3-1/2" shells without adjustment. It's also lightning quick, as proven by world-record exhibition-shooting achievements. The ComforTech™ system reduces recoil up to 48% and muzzle climb by 15% without moving parts or extra weight. In fact, the SBE II weighs 13 to 15% less than competing shotgun models. Air Touch dimpled-grip checkering pattern for a firm grasp. Larger trigger guard has 30% more room, perfect for a gloved finger during cold waterfowl weather. Crio®-treated barrel. Fiber-optic red-bar front sight and metal-bead midsight. Includes set of shims to customize the gun's drop and cast. Also includes C, IC, M, IM and F Crio choke tubes and wrench as well as a custom-fitted molded gun case. Left-Hand models have left-shoulder contoured gel recoil pad on the ComforTech stock.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
44 out of 49(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015

gun will not pattern

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
the gun will not patter buckshot even with sevrel aftermarket buckshot chokes very disappointed with the gun i hunt in new jersey where we are limited to buckshot or slugs for deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2014

COMPLETE PIECE OF JUNK!

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have had this gun for a year. At first I liked it as it points and shoots nicely, but now I have been having trouble with it jamming. I have already sent it back to Benelli. They said there was a burr on the carrier dog that was causing it to jam, WRONG! After taking it out goose hunting it jammed again in the exact same way it has before. This is very disheartening because I paid so much money for this gun. I will probably be going back to my old reliable 870, which I was using while my benelli was out for repair.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2014

Flustrating

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I had the Super Black Eagle II for 5 years. Brought it to two location gunsmiths and sent back to Benelli 3 times because it would not reject 3' magnum duck loads. I hunt in Canada and it is really flustrating to get up there, set decoys, get ready and only have a one or two shot automatic. I need all three shots... Got rid of the gun this last winter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2012

Junk

By
I guess I got the lemon? After reading positive reviews I decided to get this gun, but ended up returning it and going with the Beretta (SO much better). The Benelli jammed constantly and felt like a cheap piece of Tupperware on heavier loads-no thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2015

Very Nice Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This gun reminds me of my favorite gun of all time - the Remington 1100 that I bought in the 1980's. Of course that gun was for 2 3/4 in shells, no steel shot, and a modified barrel.
The Benelli SBE II is very well balanced, it swings beautifully, and there is very little kick. The thing I think they missed on is the difficulty of disassembly, cleaning and reassembly. The parts are fitted so tightly that it's a struggle breaking it down and putting it back together. Unlike the aforementioned 1100, I don't like cleaning this gun. I own a lot of shotguns, long rifles and pistols, and this one is a challenge compared to the others.
All that being said, I do love the way this gun feels and shoots. I'm hoping after a few waterfowl seasons, it will break in and it become easier to work on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2010

Really good but not perfect

By
Location: northwest, AR
I owned a SBE2 for 2 years before I lost the thing on a hunting trip this year. That was a sad day to say the least. I used the SBE2 for 2 seasons hunting waterfowl. I liked the fact that the gun was light, but the simple fact is that light guns kick harder than heavy guns. I also have a Mossberg 935 and it kicks lighter than the SBE2 with 3.5” loads. My shoulder was in extreme pain after a 3 shot volley with 3.5” loads out of the SBE2, and I am 6’3” 210 lbs. I had to take the comfort tech pad off and replace with a limb saver pad. I found the comfort tech pad to be hard compared to the limb saver pad. The limb saver pad took away the instant pain after shooting, but this year after a case of 3.5” loads my shoulder has a constant ache to it after the hunt. Bottom line is the SBE2 kicks hard with 3.5” loads.
I also expected the SBE2 to be perfect and never malfunction. That was not the case and I was disappointed. I probably shot 4-5 cases of shells through it in 2 years and had maybe 5-10 malfunctions. Most of the 5-10 were stove pipe jams which means the spent shell would get caught in the receiver and not get ejected all the way. Keep in mind I never had a problem with my Mossberg cycling shells and never had a stove pipe jam with it. So I was a little disappointed that the SBE2 had a few jams. It did seem to happen less the longer I had the gun so maybe it gets better the more shells you put through it. I did keep the gun very clean and lubricated so that was not causing the malfunctions. Everybody always says these guns never mess up so that is what I expected, but mine did jam a few times.
The SBE2 did have high quality parts and it was very easy to take apart and clean. I liked not having to clean all the parts that are involved in a gas operated gun. The SBE2 would never really get that dirty just from shooting it unless you dropped it or it was really dusty outside.
The SBE2 is a very nice gun and well made but I think its overpriced. After having one and losing it I don’t know if I will buy another. I would have kept using my SBE2 but would have switched to 3” loads. It kicks too hard to shoot 3.5” out of it so I could just get the M2 or new Vinci and shoot 3”. It also had a few jams which I didn’t expect especially since my Mossberg never had problems like that. If you don’t want to mess with gas operated guns and think you can handle the kick shooting 3.5” loads than this is a really good gun. If you are not going to shoot 3.5” get the M2, Vinci, or consider the Franchi or Stoeger because they also use the Inertia system.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2015

Excellent waterfowl gun

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I used my SBE II yesterday for opening day duck season in New Jersey and it performed very well. My first shot with it dropped a hen mallard with a head shot from about 45 yards out using a 3 1/2" hypersonic #2. I'm still getting used to using the high power shells, there's not much of a lead required unless your shooting at a very very long ranges. Do not expect the 3 1/2" shots to recoil like a 20gauge. I still have a tender shoulder from yesterday. I have not shot a standard three inch shell since it's still in the breaking in period, I hope it's much less recoil than the hyper sonic 3 1/2. Great gun, it performed flawlessly on its first hunt. I'm very happy with it so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2015

Best shotgun ever made

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'm going into my second season with this shotgun and I could not be any happier with its performance. I've put close to 1000 rounds through it already and have never had a misfire, regardless of what I put through it. It's cycled the lightest trap load to the heaviest 3.5 magnum. It shoulders like a dream, points like an extension of my arm, and fires flawlessly. Last season I was walking to my spot through the mud and tripped in a beaver hole and completely submerged the gun. I had to use the butt of the gun as a crutch to push myself back to my feet. When I finally got to the hole, two woodies dive bombed right in front of me at 20 yards, I fired, and they both went down. 100% reliability
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2015

Spend the Cash - No Regrets!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
As my passion for waterfowl/upland hunting grew, I began the enjoyable process of searching for a new semi-automatic that could handle anything. After shooting several models and searching for months (hesitant to spend the cash), I landed on the SBE II in MAX-5. I was somewhat nervous about the comments that this could did not like to cycle light loads - I was relieved to find that after cleaning the gun and breaking in with some heavier loads, the value pack target ammo cycled flawlessly. The release button was very stiff out of the box but broke in within 200 rounds.
I plan to make this my primary hunting gun for many, many years to come. Absolutely no regrets (after the initial swipe of the card) - worth every penny!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2014

Day in, day out, best auto loader you'll ever use.

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I've moved to an automatic shotgun after years of shooting a Beretta Waterfowler over and under, due to a rotator cuff surgery that has led to a slightly tender shoulder. The Benelli is very soft shooting no matter the load I'm putting through it. It cycles everything every time. Period. The weight distribution is perfectly between your hands and the balance is right in the middle of the action. This gun points beautifully and the recoil absorption works well and keeps you on target. I wish Benelli made this model in 20 gauge for a trip to Argentina this year but I'll probably buy their Codoba model.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014

A dream boat

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have owned mine for 10 years and acquiring it was a dream come true. The action is smooth, the gun is versatile, it goes up like it was fitted to me. The 3 1/2 " chamber proves to be a death sentence for geese. I've used it for everything from deer to Pheasants. No one tops me. I love this gun! Buy one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2014

SBE II

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought my SBE II right before the 2014 early teal season. Great gun, haven't had any problems, it'll be hard to go back to a pump now!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014

No substitute

By
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have owned this gun now for over seven years and hunt in Ontario up until early December - cold, rainy, snowy mornings and this gun never fails to amaze me. I have over the past few years picked up different guns, Browning etc and I end up never using them. They just do not compare... the way the SBEII shoulders and points is impressive. I on occasion never clean it until season ends and I have never had a failed shot. Not that cleaning is hard, you can break the SBEII down in seconds, wipe it clean and oil the rails and your done. If you looking at picking up a shotgun, just try the SBEII out before committing to any specific brand. My group of duck/goose hunters all switched to the SBEII and wished they had the open mind to try it out first as their other guns are put away and never taken out again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2014

No substitute

By
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I hunt up until it snows, cold rainy days and I have never had an issue with this gun. This is by far my favourite. Shoulders nicely, points well and balanced. Every time I hunt with newbies they end up trying it and throughout the hunt they can't take their eyes off it... Huge difference from their guns and they become converted. Before committing to anyone give the SBE2 a try, you will be hooked. Expensive, however, you will always love it and look forward to using it again on the opener.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014

Best shotgun ever

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is hands down the best shotgun ever made. Don't get scared by the price, consider it free after you sell all your other, now obsolete, shotguns. I am proud to say that I did manage to jam it after 750 rounds without cleaning it there was enough powder residue on the slide to prevent a 2 and 3/4 shell from getting all the way back. I took it home and cleaned the gun and lubricated the slide and back to normal. Can't wait to see it jam again 750 rounds from now!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013

Reliable!!

By
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought my first Benelli an SL380 in the mid 80's.
The SBE in 1990 and now the SBE2 2010. All of these guns have been totally reliable. They have seen mud, snow, and rain. All guns still operate flawlessly.
The comfort tech re-coil stock on the SBE2 allows me to shoot 3 1/2" loads.
In my experience the only time the inertia recoil will fail, is when you shoot 90 degrees - straight up- the shell will not eject. Happens a few times each year.
Love the "Benelli"!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013

Bring the rain

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great gun, simple design, easiest to take down and clean. Has turned my 3 other shotguns into safe queens for the last 7 years.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2013

Several hundred birds down with this gun

By
Country: Canada
Province: New Brunswick
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I am into my 6th season shooting a SBE. 1st it points like a dream, I've never shouldered a better pointing shotgun. 2nd it is extremely reliable. For the 1st four years the number of shells it didn't cycle could be counted on one hand. During the fourth season I started having problems especially in cold weather. Turned out to be a very dirty main spring. Once I cleaned it, it has been back to old reliable but the cycling speed now seems to be more sensitive to dirt that it used to be. But so far this year it has cycled a 1000ish rounds, everything between skeet and heavy goose without a single issue.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2013

by far my favorite gun nothing compares

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
this gun is super fast and super smooth I put my limit of geese in the boat several times this year with it go buy one
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benelli Super Black Eagle II Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2012

sbe2: best gun ever

By
This is my favorite shotgun when it comes to hunting. I use it for everything; from turkey to duck to dove. It has never ever failed to eject or had a click instead of a boom. It is so simple and reliable. It is by far the toughest gun i own. No one I hunt with has a sbe2. they all have remingtons, winchester super x2 and a browning maxus, gold, and silver. I have seen all of them fail except the maxus and winchester and my sbe2. My sbe2 is the lightest though, everyone else's gun is front heavy because of the heavy gas piston system in the front grip/ forearm area. my gun has been rained on for hours, and is the black version with parkerizing, and i have had no problems with rust. i use a light coat of rem oil and that keeps it from rusting. I just love this gun!! I accidentally got a piece of moss ( quarter sized) that was covered in mud in the bolt group area, around the rotating bolt face between the bolt face and the shot shell. the next group of ducks came by and it still fired, and functioned without a flaw. It has a hefty price tag but it is WELL worth the money!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 49