Customer Reviews for BERSA Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BERSA Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols

Bersa offers a complete line of semiautomatic pistols for discreet carry in calibers ranging from .380 Auto to .45 ACP. Made with precision using high-quality materials, these handguns offer reliable performance at affordable prices – making them an exceptional value for anyone seeking a concealed-carry pistol that won’t shoot a hole in their budget. Available: Thunder .380 Gold: Sports a dark matte black finish with eye-catching gold trim accents, this sharp-looking pistol shoots as great as it looks. The first shot is double-action, then hammer cocks and trigger resets to shoot single-action for the remaining rounds. The included seven-round magazine has a finger-rest extension. Blade front and dovetail rear sight are integral with the slide. Side-mounted, thumb-operated safety. Thunder .380 Duo-Tone: Constructed of sturdy, yet lightweight alloy with polymer grip panels in a handsome two-tone finish. The first shot is double-action, then hammer cocks and trigger resets to shoot single-action for the remaining rounds. Safety features include an internal lock and side-mounted thumb-operated safety. The included seven-round magazine has a finger-rest extension. Blade front and dovetail rear sight. .380 Concealed-Carry Thunder with Matte Finish Kit: Outstanding ergonomics team with an excellent trigger pull. A hook-and-groove combat-style trigger guard facilitates finger placement. Extra-low-profile, notched-bar integral sights won’t snag on clothing on the draw. Kit includes a pocket holster, Bull Dog case and two flat-bottom, eight-round magazines (cannot be interchanged with seven- and nine-round magazines used on other Bersa Thunder pistols).
Overall Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
33 out of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A sweet little pistol!

Date:June 16, 2013
I have a 380 auto pistol that is smaller and more concealable than this, but it's not fun to shoot due to recoil and controllability. The Bersa Thunder 380 is the right balance of size and power. Very comfortable in the hand and I could shoot this all day with little fatigue. Double action is smooth and single action has a crisp trigger pull. It is my standard CCW of choice. I liked it so much that I bought a Bersa Thunder Pro 9 (full-size, not ultra compact) so that I have set of compact and full-frame pistols. What a bargain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad I found this

Date:May 13, 2013
I was looking for a Taurus .22 when I came across this Bersa. I held it and felt it had a smooth trigger pull and also thought it was a .22 but it was a .380!
After I saw the price new I couldn't believe it so I bought it. At first it jammed a bit but I figured it needed oil and to be broken in. I was right on both parts. I oiled it and shot three more rounds and it never jammed again!
I kept hearing about the Bersa .22 and finally the store had one so later I bought that as well to keep shooting costs down.
The .22 had no jams at all and is also accurate as the .380 which with my first shot in double action was a bulls eye.
Which I'm sure was luck on my part but shows the gun is accurate.
You couldn't but a better gun even if you spent more money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

T380 Deluxe Exec. Kit

Date:March 12, 2013
This is an OK gun for the money. Ran 200 rnds cheap ammo through it when first purchased. Had two stove pipes but otherwise cycled well and it did shoot accurately. An issue to be aware of when loading a magazine with the slide in the open position; if you slap in the mag with any bit of force the slide catch will release on its own. Not a big deal if your aware of it but could be a big problem if you’re not. I may take it a gunsmith to see if I can have the groove cut at a 90 degree angle and solve the issue. I think people have a tendency to rate their purchases high so they don’t feel they got a bad deal. I’ll hang on to this for a while and see if it improves after a little more breaking in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun!

Date:February 9, 2013
Been lookin' over all the handguns, lookin' for something affordable but reliable. Went to a local shooting range and tried a number of them and fell in love with the Bersa. Fits well, shoots well, not more kick than one could handle, and with the rubber grips it is awesome! .380 ammo costs a lil' more than 9 mil ammo, original factory mag is way overpriced but Pro-Mag works just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun

Date:January 29, 2013
Never had a jam. I can shoot this gun more accurately than my Glock and Ruger, consistently blowing out the red dot on every load. Has a nice solid feel and a perfect trigger pull, unlike my Ruger LC9. This is an inexpensive gun, not a cheap gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good weapon

Date:January 19, 2013
great weapon shoots all ammo i put in it no jams yes look at this weapon if you wanting a conceal and carry
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So good I bought two!

Date:January 8, 2013
I was looking to purchase a Beretta 380, as I had a pair of them years ago, but I sold them. I was shocked to see the going prices for them these days, since they are hundreds more than the 9mm! Then I remembered the Bersa Thunder, and how good they were when they came out years ago. They resemble the old Walthers, but are much more comfortable, much more accurate, and much more reliable. At a bargain price! The first one I bought was shooting slightly left, and I was going to adjust the sight, but all I needed to do was use better ammo. I can hit a soda can at 25 yds. That's good for any 380. So when Cabela's had their exclusive Thunder with the gold trim on sale, I just had to have one. And just like the first one, It's spot-on right out of the box. I have never had a single jam, even with the cheap ammo, but I recommend using top-shelf ammo for the best performance. You simply can't get a better .380 with all these safety features, even if you spend more money. Excellent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Pistol

Date:December 24, 2012
My husband purchased this gun for me over the Thanksgiving holiday and I absolutely love it. It shoots accurately and very low recoil! I did have some problems with jamming in the beginning but I switched ammo and I haven't had any more issues! I would definitely recommend this gun for any ladies looking to purchase something nice and small for concealment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little pistol!!!

Date:November 19, 2012
I was looking at either a Walther PPK or a PPK/S for my wife, when is stumbled across this little beauty (the Bersa Thunder .380 CC). Great little gun; very good for concealment. Make sure you take it apart and clean-out all the factory goo before firing it!!! Fires every time! Love the safety features as well. And it is only half the price of a Walther.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first pistol!

Date:November 14, 2012
Had been looking for a handgun for a few months. I checked out several gun shops in the area and had been encouraged to get a .38 special or a 9mm. Well, I wanted a semi-auto and the 9mm was a bit much even though I could easily rack it and being a women many men didn't think I could do that. When the salesman put the Bersa .380 Thunder Gold into my hand I knew that was "the one". Went to shoot it right after purchase and was able to be accurate with this gun after 4 shots and remember, I never fired a hand gun before. This is a fun gun to shoot, hardly any recoil felt, light weight and easy to carry on a belt. Super happy with this little gem! Highly recommend as a first time hand gun for the novice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:October 15, 2012
My wife loves her bersa thunder 380, reliable with low recoil and surprisingly accurate. Great priced concealed carry firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun for the price

Date:September 19, 2012
This is a great little gun. Nice price. Only problem was a few rounds hung up. Switched to a different brand and it shoot fine. Very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Thunder 380 Plus

Date:September 17, 2012
My new Thunder 380 Plus jammed every 2-3 rounds using Winchester white box, flat nose FMJ. No problem shooting another brand of round nose FMJ. However, I was disappointed with the jamming. Not sure I would recommend this pistol. Will see if I can fix the problem, otherwise I've lost confidence with Bersa... buy cheap, get cheap???
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bersa Thunder .380

Date:July 8, 2012
bought this pistol a few months back. excellent little shooter with good accuracy and a breeze to dis/reassemble. it's light and hardly kicks at all. i got mine with the wrap-around rubber grips and pinky mag extention which really helps. it's fun to shoot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My First Gun

Date:July 6, 2012
I shot some different 9mm before deciding on my Bersa Thunder 380. The 9's where too much for me right now and this little jewel is perfect! The slide is easy to pull and the slide release button thingy is easy to reach and push with my thumb. I tried my friend's 22 after shooting my Bersa and it felt like a pellet gun... This Bersa is a great first gun for women!
P.S. Girls - Wear a tighter fitting shirt when you shoot. Those shells are on fire when they come flying out and burn when the jump down your shirt!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

clean 1st then go shoot it

Date:June 10, 2012
I bought the gold/black model. Great looking gun shoots very straight but use good ammo! Recommend Winchester. I went straight to the range after I bought it and it jammed once every clip. Took it home and cleaned it and I works very well now. It is a heavy pistol and will hurt ur hand after u fire 50+ rounds thru it. If u want comfort and lighter gun get a walther p380.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thunder Pro 9mm

Date:June 5, 2012
Staff was patient and helpful in the process of choosing this over many other compact 9mm for conceal carry. The weapon fits nicely in your hand, breaks down very easily, and shoots tight groups right out of the box. Fit and finish is above average and just feels right on my hip and also coming out of the holster for quick draws. Would not hesitate buying another if the need arose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:April 1, 2012
Thunder uc 9mm. This is a great gun. I use it as my carry weapon. No miscues yet. The first shot double action is a little strange at first but I got used to it with a little practice. Bullets do rattle in clip slightly which can be problematic when trying to conceal weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nw indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:February 24, 2012
easy carry gun ,good shooting, nice feel even in my large hands ,especially with the deluxe magazines.the bersa thunder 380 is an underrated gun. the new ammunition shows what the 380 round can do , now your responsible for your ability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bersa Thunder Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anmoore, WV
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Gun For The Money

Date:February 4, 2012
I have had my Bersa Thunder .380 for about 3 years now. Have fired hundreds of rounds down range with no failers. Wonderful firearm for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35