Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

MOSSBERG Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

Lightweight and easy to operate, the Mossberg 702 Plinkster Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles chambered in .22 LR with last shot bolt hold-open design are ideal for beginning shooters. Ergonomic stock comfortably fits a wide range of different shooters. Rugged construction and synthetic stock withstands harsh weather conditions. Free-floating barrel provides exceptional accuracy. Fully adjustable iron sights for easy sighting in, and integral dovetailed receiver accepts standard 3/8" scope mounts. Detachable 10-round magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Review 1 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Little Shooter

Date:January 24, 2014
This gun fits somewhere between a REM 597 and a Marlin 60.
Great for new shooters, cheap, get some extra mags, lacks sling swivels. Its not my first choice in the safe but i'm glad its there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: APO/FPO AP
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase.

Date:January 6, 2014
Great purchase, bought two of these for my younger brothers ages 13 and 15 for Christmas. I came home on leave so I took them out to the range to fire one of them the other day and they put about 500 rounds of a federal value pack through it with no jams or issues at all. Overall great purchase I'd recommend it as a cheaper rifle for getting started.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little .22

Date:November 21, 2013
Bought 1 for my 11yr old grandson 6 mo. ago to teach him how to shoot and gun safety. I put a cheap 3x7 x20mm scope on it and now hes shooting spent shotgun casings off a log at 50 yds freehand with it. It's a great problem free .22
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Little Rifle

Date:November 12, 2013
The stock feels a little cheap but extremely durable. I have probably put 10,000 rounds through this gun and have had no serious issues. Easy to break down for cleaning. Would buy another in a second. Could spend all day shooting this thing and have many times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:August 27, 2013
Great little plinker, haven't had any jam or problem every time hubby & I have taken it out. We both enjoy it & it's light weight for us.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun

Date:July 2, 2013
I have been a life long shooter. This is no 10/22, but it is a lot of fun.i have put about 600 rds through it and had one misfire. I am sure it was old ammo. It ate up whatever I out in it. I also took it apart and cleaned and oiled it before I used it. The factory has a thick grease like residue all over the parts. The rifle is super light, I have heavier pellet guns. And easy to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

702 review

Date:April 10, 2013
Nice little gun. I have put well over 500 rounds through this with only 1 stovepipe. The only problem I have had with this gun is the failure to eject when shooting very fast, the spent brass will get stuck, releasing the mag and putting it back in quickly fixes it. The stock is hollow which makes it feels flimsy, but I just stuck a box of about 200 rounds in the there for emergency situation. Gun is accurate with or without scope, even my wife can get a 3 inch grouping at 100 yds. The other nice feature is that the breach will stay locked open after the last round and it will shoot with out the magazine. Even breaking down the gun to clean is easy, even taking past the point advised in the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rough start but recovered well...

Date:March 19, 2013
Bought this weapon brand new , Initially had a problem with stovepipes , Magazine works fine, exchanged recoil spring for a new one from Marlin ,as this is a Marlin clone the parts interchange, something to keep in mind if you ever need parts, Thing runs perfect now, accurate and fast. FUN TO SHOOT AND RELIABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I wish I hadn't.

Date:January 13, 2013
Lets me say this first. It is a great gun. Reliable, accurate, pointable, and fun. But I wish I had bought a 10/22 instead. You see, I'm one of those wacko's that has to customize EVERYTHING I buy, and you just can't do that with this gun. There are ZERO aftermarket parts, except for mags. No stocks, upgrade triggers, or anything!!! It's disappointing.
But that's why I gave it a 4 star rating. It's a great gun, but not perfect.
Buy a 10/22 if you like customizing. Buy this if you are a normal person. You can't go wrong!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:December 6, 2012
Over all the 702 Plinkster is a great gun for the price. It shoots accurately with no jams. I have shot over 500 rounds through this gun and it has not jammed on me yet. I do wish there was a bigger clip than the 25 round clip they have out, and that the butt stock wasn't so light (It's hollow.) Great for plinkin' and I have taken out a few Rock Chucks that were digging under the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun, Great Value & Worth Every Penny

Date:November 18, 2012
Lets keep it simple on this review. I own it, I love it!
Pros: Cheap, Well Made, Accurate, Easy to get Mags, Mags Are Cheap, Synthetic stock is all weather, Takes much abuse.
Cons: Wish stock was beefier, Hard to equip with a strap, not may accessories, Mags larger than 10 not out there yet.
Now, in summary. If I lost this one in a lake or over a cliff or something like that I would buy another 702!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg 702 Plinkster™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fun, yet problematic.

Date:June 25, 2012
Used a variety of ammo, with a couple different magazines. Tons of stove pipes or Ft F's
A friend bought the same one, and has similar problems.
When its cycling properly, its fun and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.