Customer Reviews for HENRY Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles

HENRY Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles

Are you a fan of our nation’s Wild West era? Do you participate in Cowboy Action Shooting? Are you an avid big-game hunter? If you answered yes to any of those questions, you’re ready to step up to the new Henry Big Boys. Rooted in history, the .44 magnum version is the first American-made .44-caliber Henry lever action featuring a solid brass receiver since the original Henry rifle of 1860. Versions are also available in .357 magnum and .45 Long Colt. These guns are loaded with the adventure and romance of America’s Old West with distinctive octagonal barrels, straight-grip American walnut stocks with brass buttplates and brass barrel bands. A nice 19th-century touch is the use of fully adjustable Marble semi-buckhorn rear sights with white diamond inserts and brass-beaded front sights.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer Reviews for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Review 1 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2011

Henry Big Boy 357 Mag is a great rifle!

By
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Accurate, smooth action and looks great. Puchased mine 3 weeks ago and have fired 300 rounds (50 each from 6 manufacturers), with no failures to feed or extract. Only required a slight windage adjustment to hold center at 50 yards. Lever action may hold fewer rounds and be slower to load than my detachable magazine rifles, but it sure is fun and all the holes in the center of the target silenced the "old school" comments I heard from some younger shooters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2016

Not Histoicaly correct, but Reliable

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This Yellow Boy (YB) 1866 Henry manufactured by Henry Repeating Arms is not historically correct. The original YB loaded from the side and ejected from the top. This gun loads from a tube and ejects from the side. I took off the fore grip to make it look like an 1860 Henry as was done in the movie "The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly" I use it to shoot proposed Civil War Category as a cowboy action shooter (SASS) . It is lighter and faster than an 1860 and the sights are large and perfect for Cowboy Action shooting. I find it very reliable and accurate for a gun that shoots 45 long colt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2016

44mag: Gorgeous gun, great shooter & really fun!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Nothing really new here in my review, that hasn't been said already; but, this is a sweet little rifle. It is beautifully crafted in both looks and silky smooth operation. As others have noted here and elsewhere in reviews, it doesn't like to cycle when its held tilted or not in its vertical (i.e. shot ready) orientation. Other than that it cycled and shot whatever I've fed it - so far; Magtech 240gr SJSPFN, Hornady Leverevolution and American Eagle 240gr JHPs. Around 400 rnds total only - but no complaints on operation or out of box accuracy at all. Not a huge fan of semi-buckhorns - but this thing was still really tight at 50yards. It's winter, so no outdoor 100 and 200 yard range time yet. I do have a Skinner peep sight on the way (it's barely more than a case of 50 44mags, so I figured what the hey?!). There's something about firing this brass beauty between a Steyr and M&P15 at the range, and getting all the jealous looks ;)
Old school cool here - worth every penny.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

The Jury Did Not Like the Functioning

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I sent my rifle back to the factory. The Henry guns have lifetime guarantees. They replaced a part that I am not sure needed replacing and said that they test fired my gun. It still did not function smoothly and still jammed frequently. To be honest I couldn't tell they did anything except replace a virtually brand new bolt.
At any rate, I traded it in for another brand. The difference in the smoothness and reliability is amazing. I can't speak for any other Henry rifles, but that is the story on the one I had.
I loved the way it looked and pointed and it was very accurate, it just jammed a lot and did not function reliably.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2015

Jury Is Still Out

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got one of these in .45 Long Colt. The gun is beautiful and flawless in appearance. It is very accurate. I did not intend to do Cowboy Action Shooting when I bought the gun, but now I am trying it. The gun I bought does jam some. For action shooting, that is not good. The gun is still fairly new and the functioning may smooth out with a few more rounds fired. It also may be a function of the ammunition. Some ammunition does seem to feed better than others. Still, I give the gun five stars. As for the recommendation, I still like my gun and I recommend it with a caveat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2015

Henry .44 Big Boy Lever

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is by far the best purchase rifle I have ever made. It is beautiful, accurate, and I love the weight. I was a little concerned about .44 ammo, but Hornady and S&W (even 44 special) are excellent cartridges for this gun an there was almost no difference in the sighting. Well done Henry, and welcome back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2014

Excellant Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchase a 44 MAG a week ago. Went to the range today and shot a 3 inch shot group at 50 yards out of the box with open sights. Can't wait to go back out. Shoots nice and the recoil was better than I expected.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014

HENRY 44

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this gun 2 weeks ago, took it to the range today. After getting my scope dialed, it only took 5 shots , I was cutting holes at 50 yards, not bad right out of the box . Very Happy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014

2nd Henry Big Boy

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I loved the 357 mag so much I bought the 44mag...
Absolute beauty for the second time from Henry. Shooting great groups at 100 yards right out of the box with Fiocchi 240 grain 44mags.
I will have the .22 Golden Boy by next year.
No doubt about it...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013

GREAT GUNS

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought my first Henry 22 several years ago. It's my favorite rifle. It shoots 22 short, long and long rifle. You can load it with shorts and shoot it all day. I was so impressed with this well made fun to shoot 22 that I bought the 17 HMR Golden Boy, It is fun to shoot and is dead on out of the box. My next Henry will be the 45 LC. What a great product. It's hard to top a Henry!!
Thank you Henry for a high quality product that's American made.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013

45 LC Great Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I first bought the Henry .45 Golden Boy and then went to sight it in with my wife, well then she wanted a rifle because the Henry was such a fun and accurate gun to shoot. Back to Cabela's and bought the Henry .22 Golden Boy for her and now we both love our rifles. Then I told my wife we needed the Henry Survival AR-7 to take camping, so back to Cabela's again and bought the AR-7. I was saving up to go back and buy the Henry 45-70 but I got an email from Henry Rifles and they have a new rifle, the .22 Silver Eagle with a fully engraved nickel receiver, now not sure which one I want first. All Henry's are great rifles so get on down to Cabela's and buy one or two or three.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Henry 45LC Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Veterans Day I traveled to Cabelas in Hamburg, PA. It was the best shopping experience of my life. I specifically went to purchase a Henry Big boy in 45LC.
The firearms team were outstanding in helping me. The background check was a very easy process. Cabelas has their system well established and walk you through the process every step of the way.
The Henry rifle was outstanding in both metal to metal as well as metal to wood fit. The brass was outstanding as well.
It helps that it was on sale and since it was Veterans Day they allowed me to use their employee discount as a Disabled Vietnam Veteran.
Hats off to Cabelas for outstanding service and to Henry for producing and awesome American made product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2013

A fantastic rifle.

By
Wednesday I looked at the .45 Long Colt model at the Cabela's store. Friday I happened to get the .22 Henry Golden Boy. Immediately I went to the range and found it to be so fun to shoot.
So Friday at 5:30 I endured 2 hours of slow rush hour traffic to go back to the store for the .45 LC Henry.
The only one in the store was the counter display rifle. So they polished it up for me and I took it home. Today (Saturday) I went to the range with a friend and wow! I was even more impressed with the quality and smooth action of the Henry lever action. Something about it makes shooting really fun.
I hadn't even adjusted the sights and (as a new shooter) was hitting the 25 yard target. I partly obliterated the center of the target. I'm not sure whether I was more impressed with my new shooter's ability or the Henry. No, make that the Henry. My friend, also a novice, did very well with his first rounds with the Henry.
This rifle is easy to shoot. Very accurate right out of the box. Lots of fun to shoot.
There is something pleasurable and nostalgic about the smooth Henry lever action and the shiny brass of the receiver and trim.
If you can get a Henry lever action - get one. You will not regret it. They are simply beautiful.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2013

Great to use

By
This was a great purchase and I have the 44 magnum and it shoots great. Having a great company to back the rifle makes me want to purchase the whole line and add to my collection. This is without a doubt a rifle that if need be could be used as a survival rifle and after shooting 500 rounds I have had no issue. So go and get one to add to your collection if you can.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2013

Best Lever Action Period

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The Henry Big Boy is the best lever action rifle I have every used. I bought a .357 mag. and have run five different mag loads through it with no issues at all. I was shooting 1 to 1 1/2 inch groups with no problems. The action is silky smooth right out of the box without having to "tune" it.
The Henry drops the casings at your feet not flinging them yards away so cleanup after a session is a breeze. Speaking of cleanup, it is a very simple process to strip down for cleaning.
It is heavy in comparison to other brands, but the weight helps keep it on target as well as disapating heat during long sessions.
If you are thinking of buying a lever action, I feel you can't go wrong with a Henry. They are worth the extra dollars. Henry is made in the USA and guaranteed for life if by chance you ever need service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2013

Still stellar

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought the Big Boy .44 last May(2012)....and I have put just about 2000 rounds through it since with ZERO issues.
I have used Winchester range rounds along with Hornady leverevolution rounds with equal success.
The fit and finish of this rifle is top notch.It fired true right out of the box.
I will buy Henry again
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2013

357 bigboy

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
One of the best rifles I have bought, never had any problems with the firearm and I would buy another one of another caliber..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2012

Golden Big Boy

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I received my Golden Big Boy .44 magnum for Christmas and love the weight and feel. Debating if I should shoot it. It's beautiful!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

I have the .44

By
The .44 caliber is an Excellent rifle. Very accurate and very usable. The action is butter smooth.If you ever shoot 1,you'll probably want 1.I love this rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2012

Henry Big Boy .44 Mag.

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
When I got home and took gun out of the box I was so impressed, I've decided this is going to be mounted on my wall. I don't want to shoot it, it looks to perfect..Maybe my son or his son will someday fire it because I won't. I don't want any blemishes or dents or dings on this thing, not while I'm alive. The brass just shines out and says hang me. a n d so it is.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 30