Customer Reviews for HENRY Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles

HENRY Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles

Are you a fan of our nation’s Wild West era? Do you participate in Cowboy Action Shooting? Are you an avid big-game hunter? If you answered yes to any of those questions, you’re ready to step up to the new Henry Big Boys. Rooted in history, the .44 magnum version is the first American-made .44-caliber Henry lever action featuring a solid brass receiver since the original Henry rifle of 1860. Versions are also available in .357 magnum and .45 Long Colt. These guns are loaded with the adventure and romance of America’s Old West with distinctive octagonal barrels, straight-grip American walnut stocks with brass buttplates and brass barrel bands. A nice 19th-century touch is the use of fully adjustable Marble semi-buckhorn rear sights with white diamond inserts and brass-beaded front sights.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer Reviews for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Review 1 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Henry Big Boy 357 Mag is a great rifle!

Date:August 13, 2011
Accurate, smooth action and looks great. Puchased mine 3 weeks ago and have fired 300 rounds (50 each from 6 manufacturers), with no failures to feed or extract. Only required a slight windage adjustment to hold center at 50 yards. Lever action may hold fewer rounds and be slower to load than my detachable magazine rifles, but it sure is fun and all the holes in the center of the target silenced the "old school" comments I heard from some younger shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HENRY 44

Date:May 15, 2014
I bought this gun 2 weeks ago, took it to the range today. After getting my scope dialed, it only took 5 shots , I was cutting holes at 50 yards, not bad right out of the box . Very Happy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2nd Henry Big Boy

Date:January 6, 2014
I loved the 357 mag so much I bought the 44mag...
Absolute beauty for the second time from Henry. Shooting great groups at 100 yards right out of the box with Fiocchi 240 grain 44mags.
I will have the .22 Golden Boy by next year.
No doubt about it...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUNS

Date:December 1, 2013
I bought my first Henry 22 several years ago. It's my favorite rifle. It shoots 22 short, long and long rifle. You can load it with shorts and shoot it all day. I was so impressed with this well made fun to shoot 22 that I bought the 17 HMR Golden Boy, It is fun to shoot and is dead on out of the box. My next Henry will be the 45 LC. What a great product. It's hard to top a Henry!!
Thank you Henry for a high quality product that's American made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

45 LC Great Rifle

Date:November 23, 2013
I first bought the Henry .45 Golden Boy and then went to sight it in with my wife, well then she wanted a rifle because the Henry was such a fun and accurate gun to shoot. Back to Cabela's and bought the Henry .22 Golden Boy for her and now we both love our rifles. Then I told my wife we needed the Henry Survival AR-7 to take camping, so back to Cabela's again and bought the AR-7. I was saving up to go back and buy the Henry 45-70 but I got an email from Henry Rifles and they have a new rifle, the .22 Silver Eagle with a fully engraved nickel receiver, now not sure which one I want first. All Henry's are great rifles so get on down to Cabela's and buy one or two or three.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Henry 45LC Purchase

Date:November 12, 2013
Veterans Day I traveled to Cabelas in Hamburg, PA. It was the best shopping experience of my life. I specifically went to purchase a Henry Big boy in 45LC.
The firearms team were outstanding in helping me. The background check was a very easy process. Cabelas has their system well established and walk you through the process every step of the way.
The Henry rifle was outstanding in both metal to metal as well as metal to wood fit. The brass was outstanding as well.
It helps that it was on sale and since it was Veterans Day they allowed me to use their employee discount as a Disabled Vietnam Veteran.
Hats off to Cabelas for outstanding service and to Henry for producing and awesome American made product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A fantastic rifle.

Date:June 15, 2013
Wednesday I looked at the .45 Long Colt model at the Cabela's store. Friday I happened to get the .22 Henry Golden Boy. Immediately I went to the range and found it to be so fun to shoot.
So Friday at 5:30 I endured 2 hours of slow rush hour traffic to go back to the store for the .45 LC Henry.
The only one in the store was the counter display rifle. So they polished it up for me and I took it home. Today (Saturday) I went to the range with a friend and wow! I was even more impressed with the quality and smooth action of the Henry lever action. Something about it makes shooting really fun.
I hadn't even adjusted the sights and (as a new shooter) was hitting the 25 yard target. I partly obliterated the center of the target. I'm not sure whether I was more impressed with my new shooter's ability or the Henry. No, make that the Henry. My friend, also a novice, did very well with his first rounds with the Henry.
This rifle is easy to shoot. Very accurate right out of the box. Lots of fun to shoot.
There is something pleasurable and nostalgic about the smooth Henry lever action and the shiny brass of the receiver and trim.
If you can get a Henry lever action - get one. You will not regret it. They are simply beautiful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great to use

Date:May 27, 2013
This was a great purchase and I have the 44 magnum and it shoots great. Having a great company to back the rifle makes me want to purchase the whole line and add to my collection. This is without a doubt a rifle that if need be could be used as a survival rifle and after shooting 500 rounds I have had no issue. So go and get one to add to your collection if you can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Lever Action Period

Date:March 27, 2013
The Henry Big Boy is the best lever action rifle I have every used. I bought a .357 mag. and have run five different mag loads through it with no issues at all. I was shooting 1 to 1 1/2 inch groups with no problems. The action is silky smooth right out of the box without having to "tune" it.
The Henry drops the casings at your feet not flinging them yards away so cleanup after a session is a breeze. Speaking of cleanup, it is a very simple process to strip down for cleaning.
It is heavy in comparison to other brands, but the weight helps keep it on target as well as disapating heat during long sessions.
If you are thinking of buying a lever action, I feel you can't go wrong with a Henry. They are worth the extra dollars. Henry is made in the USA and guaranteed for life if by chance you ever need service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still stellar

Date:February 8, 2013
Bought the Big Boy .44 last May(2012)....and I have put just about 2000 rounds through it since with ZERO issues.
I have used Winchester range rounds along with Hornady leverevolution rounds with equal success.
The fit and finish of this rifle is top notch.It fired true right out of the box.
I will buy Henry again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

357 bigboy

Date:February 2, 2013
One of the best rifles I have bought, never had any problems with the firearm and I would buy another one of another caliber..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Golden Big Boy

Date:December 24, 2012
I received my Golden Big Boy .44 magnum for Christmas and love the weight and feel. Debating if I should shoot it. It's beautiful!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I have the .44

Date:November 26, 2012
The .44 caliber is an Excellent rifle. Very accurate and very usable. The action is butter smooth.If you ever shoot 1,you'll probably want 1.I love this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Henry Big Boy .44 Mag.

Date:November 25, 2012
When I got home and took gun out of the box I was so impressed, I've decided this is going to be mounted on my wall. I don't want to shoot it, it looks to perfect..Maybe my son or his son will someday fire it because I won't. I don't want any blemishes or dents or dings on this thing, not while I'm alive. The brass just shines out and says hang me. a n d so it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Henry rifle .357/.38

Date:November 16, 2012
I purchased my Henry .357/.38 at Cabelas in Hamburg, Pa. in 2011
Kudos to Cabelas and their fantastic, knowledgable staff. Thank you.
I can honestly say this Henry is by far the best rifle I own, beautiful, quality workmanship and wonderfully accurate. The action is smooth as silk. I will purchase many more Henry rifles in the future in different calibers.
The only issue is that my rifle is so beautiful I want to hang it as a display over the mantle, and I will need to buy another one to take into the woods to hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nicest Purchase

Date:September 25, 2012
I just bought the Henry Big Boy in the 45 L/C. It is the sweetest looking rifle I have. My AR used to be my favorite. And I can't beat the accuracy of this rifle. The best and smoothest rifle I now have. I am keeping this one to hand down to my boys. Anyone who is thinking about buying a Henry. Don't think about it, just do it. You wont regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:July 2, 2012
I bought a 45LC Henry rifle a couple of weeks ago and it is great. It is a very nice looking rifle. The quality of the rifle is very good. The first two shots out of the box were bulls eyes. I have shot it several times and it preformed very well. I am thinking of getting another cal. also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Warren Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap mag tube

Date:February 3, 2012
Bought the big boy in .44 mag. It shoots well and feels great but the Mag tube is junk. Henry service is great but the mag tube is not dependable. Already have sent it back twice for the mag tube and the last time I took it out and shot 50rds the mag tube broke for the 3rd time. Will not be sending it back anymore. Looks as though it will be only a display piece. A very expensive display piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: invermere b.c canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my favorite gun

Date:November 28, 2011
i bought this gun a few years ago and absolutely love it .its a great shooter and love hunting everything with it and know i can count on this little beauty every time .it doesnt jam and when you get in a pinch like i did with a bear attack as soon as you squeeze that trigger you have another round ready to go in less than a second . unfortunatly for the bear it only took one round from the 44 rem mag and it was good night nurse .recomend this gun to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Henry Big Boy Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:October 22, 2011
This is one fine piece of work...Made in the USA. Nice looking, smooth action, super accuracy right out of box. Even though it is the 44 Mag....the barrel weight kept everything perfect...superior balance and hardly any recoil to speak of. The only thing that could have made this gun more perfect is if had a longer barrel, instead of the short 20" carbine barrel. I would love to see Henry make one with a 26" or 28" octagonal barrel with an equally long feed tube. They might also use the large loop lever as standard part....let those whimps buy the smaller one if they want.
I gave this to my son after his 3rd tour to Iraq
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24