Customer Reviews for GARMIN Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS

GARMIN Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS

The Garmin Montana 600T possesses huge internal memory and the highest resolution in its class. These units feature a large 4" touch-screen display with exceptional 272x480-pixel resolution and true dual-orientation capability, which transitions seamlessly from portrait to landscape mode for enhanced, wide-angle map views. The topo maps and a camo-dipped design set this Garmin apart from the other models. The premium 65K-color, transreflective TFT LCD offers smooth, highly responsive user interface, high-contrast color and crisp image clarity in all light conditions. Each is pre-loaded with the Worldwide DEM basemap for navigation around the globe. Hot-Fix™ satellite prediction pinpoints your location faster, even in heavy cover and low-lying areas. Every unit features a three-axis compass and a barometric altimeter. Share data wirelessly with other wireless-enabled Garmin units. Micro-SD card compatible for expanding memory. High-speed USB interface. This series also pulls double duty as an automotive GPS with spoken turn-by-turn directions (available: auto mount and City Navigator NT maps, both sold separately). Supports Garmin BirdsEye™ satellite imagery (sold separately). Powered by three AA batteries (20-hour run time with alkaline batteries, 16-hour run time with lithium-ion). Each comes with a USB cable, a quick reference guide and an owner's manual on disk. Dimensions: 5.6"H x 2.9"W x 1.4"D. Weight: 9.7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Review 1 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great GPS

Date:December 9, 2014
This is a great GPS. Had an Oregon 550T before which was great. Bought this because the screen was bigger and easier to see especially when using it ion my Yamaha Rhino when 4 wheeling. An added benefit is that this is easier to operate. Even my wife uses it and she could not use my Oregon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Garmin Montana, awsome unit

Date:December 1, 2014
I used this unit with just the base map it came with for a week driving around Central South Dakota duck hunting. We were able to mark several ponds with great access and also log in the private land we gained permission to hunt on. The larger 4 inch screen made it easy to quickly check the route to spots we had picked out to jump.
Wish there were a way to down load the routes though, be nice to print them off for future notes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid GPS

Date:November 25, 2014
I bought this a month ago and used it in Christmas Valley Oregon. It worked flawlessly and brought me back safe. It was easy to navigate but do take some time before you go out to learn the layout of the controls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for what I needed

Date:November 18, 2014
The large screen made it easy to read in the field. Never lost signal even in my pocket. Tracks well. I like the rechargeable battery with the option of AA battery use although never had to use them. 2 days of use without charging with battery life to spare. Works well with additional maps. recommend this unit when hunting in unfamiliar area. Didn't use the turn by turn direction function. Touch screen works well with gloves on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceellent product

Date:September 30, 2014
Used it hunting in Colorado. First time in area and it worked great. Topo, streams and all detail was a big help in getting around and finding my way back. State overlay helped keep us on BLM and federal land and off private ranches.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A really good GPS receiver

Date:November 25, 2014
This is my second gps receiver from Garmin and, in my experience with other manufacturers, the best on the market. My first, now ~13 years old, still functions like new but in preparation for a trip to the North Slope of Alaska it seemed a good time to update. Additionally, Garmin provides amazing customer service throughout the life of the gps.
My only 2 issues with this GPS:
1) It should have a protected button or slider, similar to a smart phone, to turn the touch screen on and off. Even when the touch screen is locked, every time the screen is touched a backlit window comes on telling you the screen is locked. As a hunting gps, if the screen backlight comes on at the wrong time this will result in game being spooked, a bad scenario. The only way to avoid this is cumbersome, it requires you to turn the backlight off prior to locking the screen. This is an imperfect fix since every time the screen is touched it "wakes up" up the gps and in low light will still be somewhat visible. Further, this is a drain on the precious battery life.
2) It sure would be nice if the maps loaded and refreshed on the gps much more quickly for panning around looking at the terrain.
Despite these two shortcomings, Garmin still builds the best gps receiver on the market as far as I am concerned. While researching a new gps one criticism regarding the Garmin Montana was the large size, I do not see this as a problem and in fact I wouldn't mind the screen being a little larger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but Bulky

Date:November 8, 2013
On the plus side: very fast satellite acquisition, very accurate, great graphics and intuitive to use.
Negatives: bulky and heavy. In this age of quarter inch thick cell phones and tablet computers, I have to think that Garmin has done this intentionally in the interests of being "ergonomic". I would gladly trade the satisfying hefty hand feel to a device that slips easily into my shirt pocket or hunting vest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® Montana 600T Camo GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not happy, sending back.

Date:August 11, 2013
I have owned six other Garmin units, 3 of them for hiking and hunting. I have counted on Garmin for many years but they have failed me on this one. This unit is very heavy, too heavy for hiking and hunting. Also, the maps that come with it do not have the detail needed for hunting, you will have to upgrade to the 1:24000 maps and where I live I would have to buy 2 sets and add a microSD card. You will also need mounting accessories. You will just about double your investment by the time you finish. I think Garmin has really let us down on this unit, I am sending mine back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.