Customer Reviews for GARMIN Garmin® Oregon® 650T

GARMIN Garmin® Oregon® 650T

Simply tap your finger on the brightly colored, easy-to-read, 3" touch-screen display and explore like never before. Rugged, waterproof and easy to use, the dual-band GPS and GLONASS satellites provide excellent location accuracy. Includes barometric altimeter, three-axis electronic compass and ANT technology that gives you the ability to wirelessly exchange user routes, tracks, waypoints and paperless geocaches with other select Garmin devices. Bluetooth® capability allows you to transfer the same data to your computer. Dual orientation on the display lets you toggle between landscape and portrait views. Integrated basemap with digital elevation model data. Multitouch surface is glove-friendly and easy to read, even in sunlight. Waterproof down to 1 meter for up to 30 minutes (IPX7 rated). Runs on two AA batteries (not included). Micro-SD-card compatible. Compatible with all Garmin spine-mountable accessories (not included). Features additional pre-loaded U.S. 100K topo maps and an 8MP autofocus camera with an LED flashlight. Can also run on an optional rechargeable NiMH battery pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Review 1 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this because I really wanted a GPS for hunting (and Cabela's had a HUGE sale)....problem solved!!!
I was surprised to see how easy it was to use and even if I hadn't read the instructions, I think I could have felt my way through it. The lens is clear and easy to read.
All in all, I couldn't ask for a better device (except for one that showed me where the elk are!!!)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

great gps

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
this is the best gps i have ever owned. the touch screen is much easier to operate than the toggle switch on the older models. also the camera feature that marks the location on the map & gives you the coordinates is excellent for locating game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

GPS unit

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought this unit because off the screen size and it's ability to access the GLONASS system. This unit locks onto the satellites very quickly and stays locked in heavy cover and even in the house; exactly what I was looking for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2015

Amazing product.

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I just spent eight days on a float hunt in Alaska and this unit was perfect. No matter the condition or location, finding a satellite connection was never a problem. The interface is very simple to use. The most amazing feature - one battery pack lasted the entire trip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015

Garmin 650t

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Love being able to recharge the batteries while they are still in the GPS. This is handy and will save money at the same time. This GPS is a lot more touch screen friendly than my older one which makes it easier to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2014

Awesome unit.

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this before my eastern oregon elk season. The garmin worked flawlessly in the rain, snow, mud and the sun. The garmin was very accurate when you are going to a cordanites. I like how small and light weight the unit was. I just wished it came with a case instead of the carabiner. Besides that, it's an awesome gps.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014

Highly recommend

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I've used several GPS products from another manufacturer. I find the Garmin 650t to be a great product with many, many features. That said, some reservations. With so many features, the instructions (which must be downloaded) are more intuitive than specific. I found familiarity came by using & making mistakes. I will use lithium (throw aways) batteries when in the field, the NiMh batteries take a long time to re-charge. I also subscribed to Birdseye, which is also great. But downloads take awhile, and only about 230 mb's can be downloaded at a time. But, there are no restrictions, other than time & patience, on the number of downloads. I purchased a large capacity micro disc, but I feel I would been better served with several smaller ones. However, it is the best location devise I've ever owned, and I go back to RDF's & Loran C!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Oregon

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
great product easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Nice unit but ...

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Just bought this GPS from Cabela's and am very happy with the sat. reception in the back woods, size of screen, brightness, weight and battery life. Mine came with the rechargeable NiMH battery pack and lasts for about 18 hours. It seems to charge back up within an hour.
My only complaint (and reason for not giving it 5 stars) is that if you are going to buy this nice of a GPS with a pre-loaded U.S. 100K topo map installed ... it should be able to route to various addresses and waypoints using the main roads "without" having to purchase an additional piece of software.
Otherwise, it's a great little unit!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013

Nothing Special

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Battery life is poor, glad it's rechargeable. The screen is touchy, while walking the screen changes, adds it's own way points and even changed to car mode all while walking . The camera is nice. Easy to use, and acquires signal fast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2013

Great so far

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Have used on Lake of the Woods and Lac Seul so far. Will be trying it hunting shortly. Locks on satellites fast and is very accurate. Easy to mark and edit waypoints. Had a Garmin 45 and a Lowrance Expedition in the past, this seems much better although I need to figure out how to add to a track already saved. Works great with BaseCamp feature on your computer. Have not been able to test battery life much yet but it does seem to eat power pretty good during active use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® Oregon® 650T
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2013

Poor battery life

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The Oregon 650T finds the satalites rapidly. The screen is bright and easy to see. The camera
takes nice pictures but the battery life is very poor.
Recharging is very slow. If you are using this GPS
do not plan on it lasting more than two days unless you can recharge the battery and this is also very slow to reach 100 % charge. Hopefully this battery problem will be resolved by Garmin.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.