Customer Reviews for BUSHNELL Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS

BUSHNELL Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS

It combines the ease of operation found in the popular BackTrack series with hunt-specific features. Accurately plan your hunt and peak game movement periods knowing sunrise and sunset times, moonrise and moonset, and barometric pressure. With five standard and 20 additional saved locations you can follow the easy-to-read arrow to any of them. Breadcrumbs tracking feature stores location points along your route. It logs up to 48 hours of trip data. Time can be set to military or civilian, and temperature is measured in Fahrenheit or Celsius. Altimeter feature displays your elevation. Distances can be set to yards/miles or meters/kilometers. Latitude and longitude coordinates show your exact location. Weather-resistant construction withstands harsh elements. Upload your trips to Bushnell’s FREE application and overlay onto Google maps. Self-calibrating digital compass delivers an accurate heading while standing still. Grayscale LCD screen measures 1-5/8’’ x 1-5/8’’ for easy viewing. Powered by three AAA batteries (not included). Dimensions: 4-1/8’’H x 2-3/4’’W x 7/8’’D.
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
9 out of 17(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Review 1 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2012

bushnell huntsman gps

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
purchased this unit a few months ago and worked it every chance i got . no complaints. simple and easy to use and accurate. no problems getting a signal even in dense cover. it reallly saved my butt when i relied on it to get me back to my truck after getting turned around in the woods recovering a deer at night. highly recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

Great Buy

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is a great GPS for someone that doesn't like or understand the expensive ones.and so simple to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2012

not bad... but

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I really like this little unit, it does everything they claim every well, but it is what they don't say that seems to be a problem, very short battery life. I have tried regular to very expensive batteries and seem to get the same result, 6 to 8 hours at tops. if you use this item in the out doors for long trips, pack lots of batteries.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

poor value

By
This unit is confusing,I bought it because it was supposed to be simpleto operate.It isnt user friendly,Iwet back to my gps.dissapointed in quality,and did not preform as advertised. a gps js a much better purchase.buddy400
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013

pretty darn good

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
A must have for hunting and hiking !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

Meets my needs exactly

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The Bushnell Back Track Hunt Track does exactly what I wanted it to do. Guides me from point A to point B, and if I need to go several other place, guides me to, and back from several other places if I need mark other spots on the same trip. Very simple to operate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

Very satisfied

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I haven't been able to use my new Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS in a hunting/hiking trip yet, but I have been practicing getting familiar with the way it works. I find it is easy to use and performs to the high standards I expect from everything I buy from Cabella's. I give high marks to Bushnell for a fine product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2013

never made it to the woods

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this unit in preparation for an elk hunt this fall. Every time I turned the unit on and moved around in the yard - we have 5 acres - the compass would not display North the same bearing. Sometimes it would be off as much as 95deg. So I did not have confidence that the unit would lead back to camp or to my kill.
Cabela's accepted the return without question. Great return policy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2013

Avoid this product

By
I have had numerous GPS units, so I am familiar with how they work. This unit, my unit, is not worth $10. It takes 30 + minutes to lock on to a signal. It will not transfer data to the mapping software provided. It uses up batteries very fast. It does keep time & temp. but really? is that it's main purpose? A worthless purchase. Wish I could return it!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013

Super Hopeful

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have purchased two units now. The first worked great for the first 4 times and then I found myself lost in the woods for 2 hours because the unit went haywire. I took it back to Cabela's and they were great like always. I decide to try the same unit one more time...maybe my first was just a lemon. The next week I had an archery elk hunt and the unit did not work from the get go. Unit was freaking out and I could not rely on it. Such a bummer. The idea is great, money is right...but only if it actually worked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2013

JUNK

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am a professional hunter and I got this GPS as a backup just in case. This unit is a toy and wont work in forest used once and wont turn on any more. Called the manufacture and explain the problem they wont replace or fix !!!! very rude customer service. Please don't waist your money. Be safe
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013

Product works great!

By
Country: Canada
Province: Saskatchewan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Was undecided as to buy this item, due to the few bad reviews it had gotten. As I have never had a Bushnell product not work well for me (scopes, bino's, rangefinders), thought I would just get it & give it a try. Although the HuntTrack is a little bit tricky in knowing how to enter/program it at first (took one day to master) ... it performs flawlessly! With the download capability of your gps to home computer and to have your outings plotted onto a google map, along with your locations of trails, scrapes/rubs, potential stand or bait areas... it is simply another great tool to have in your hunting arsenal! If you can navigate around a TV remote or a smart phone, you shouldn't have any issues! Just one Ol' Saskatchewan Whitetail Hunters opinion... Have a safe & fulfilling season!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014

Bushnell back track

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have used this for two years now. I traveled all over Europe It got me back to my hotel room every time. Let a taxi drop you off 3 miles from your hotel in Athens and find your way back without it. The only problem with it is it takes about 5 minutes to lock on to the satellite initially. If you are moving it never locks on. You must be patient and stay in one spot until it locks. I never used the compass. I would not walk a strange big city with out it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014

Not a good choice

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Received this day before yesterday. Used it to hunt a new area with a friend that has the older version of this. Was losing direction in the AM and it really went squirrelly in the PM. It had no idea what it was to do. Lost direction completely and the unit would not recalibrate. Tried all three suggestions to recalibrate it to no avail. Don't buy it, get a Garmin. I have sent it back today.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2015

Made the same mistake twice

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Actually my first one worked adequately till I washed it in my rain pants. I had been satisfied with a 3 waypoint BackTrack, but needed more f to mark bear baits. As others note, this is slow to acquire satellites and I always also carried a magnetic compass. I did not do my research well when I was surprised to again get a bear tag and just ordered one of these. In this one the 5th through 25th waypoints were not only incredibly difficult to get to, but when I attempted to set a 6th, the unit crashed. Through lots of trial and error I sort of got it working, with the compass 180 degrees off, despite numerous efforts to recalibrate, but again, it could not handle a 6th waypoint and now is useless. this is not for the person who gets lost easily, as it cannot be trusted.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2015

grand piece of gear

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
used this on a whitetail hunt in northern Wisconsin and was pleased. Always found my way back to truck despite the "sameness" of the woods. Found tree stand sites and other notable locations. Takes a bit of time to lock on to satellites the first time but pretty quick after that. Works in the timber as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushnell® BackTrack HuntTrack GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2015

Sent 2 back for repair

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I sent the original purchase back, Got a replacement. Just sent the replacement back.
I hope the third one works. Better units have to be out there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.