Customer Reviews for GARMIN Garmin® Montana 650T GPS

GARMIN Garmin® Montana 650T GPS

The Montana Series outperforms everything else on the market with huge internal memory and the highest resolution in its class. These units feature a large 4" touch-screen display with exceptional 272x480-pixel resolution and true dual-orientation capability, which transitions seamlessly from portrait to landscape mode for enhanced, wide-angle map views. The premium 65K-color, transreflective TFT LCD offers smooth, highly responsive user interface, high-contrast color and crisp image clarity in all light conditions. Each is pre-loaded with the Worldwide DEM basemap for navigation around the globe. Hot-Fix™ satellite prediction pinpoints your location faster, even in heavy cover and low-lying areas. Every unit features a three-axis compass and a barometric altimeter. Share data wirelessly with other wireless-enabled Garmin units. Micro SD card-compatible for expanding memory. High-speed USB interface. This series also pulls double duty as an automotive GPS with spoken turn-by-turn directions (available with auto mount and City Navigator NT maps, both sold separately). Supports Garmin BirdsEye™ satellite imagery (sold separately). Powered by three AA batteries (20-hour run time with alkaline batteries, 16-hour run time with lithium-ion). Each comes with a USB cable and a quick reference guide. The 650T features a 5-megapixel camera and a large 3.5GB internal memory. Dimensions: 5.6"H x 2.9"W x 1.4"D. Weight: 9.7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
29 out of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Review 1 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2015

Best GPS ever

By
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I used it with my ATV, I used it to hunt (Deer,Moose, Black bear, Turkey) and on regular base as a GPS in my vehicle. Screen resolution is ,wow, tacticle screen so easy to use, go through menu, if your finger is to big as mine use a pencil, Battery life is about 10-12 hours, you can also use it with AA batteries for 8-10hrs, when light resolution and display are adjusted. If you are using several maps such as for fishing, hunting, driving, hiking you can set different profiles. Overall I highly recommend this purchase for any outdoor person.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2015

Does everything but get you to a saved point

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very expensive gps with a lot of features. But for hunting purposes its a little big and not that easy to do something simple, like go to a saved location. The large screen is nice for maps. Ill probably use it for snowmobiling and a backup gps on the boat but for hunting Ill go back to the smaller gps's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2015

Garmin Montana GPS

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I use this on my utv and love it.
Bought the Colorado map from Garmin and no matter where we ride, it shows me where I've been and how to get back. The screen is big enough to read without reading glasses which I love.
Highly recommend this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2015

Best yet

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Love this GPS, had one before this and this one is way better, does a lot of things, but not to difficult that a dummy like me can still use it. And the big screen is awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

having software problems

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Overall a real nice unit. Picks up satellites extremely fast, good graphics, very simple to operate and view screen even in bright sun light. Disappointed in the weight of the unit (heavier than expected) and cannot get it to navigate in the automobile mode, navigates correctly in other modes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Very useful device

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This GPS acquires satellite signal quickly and the regular alkaline batteries power the device longer and better than I expected. I do wish however that it came with a manual in the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Garminm Montana 650 T

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Unit does everything it was asked to do. All functions work as advertised. I am pleased. Battery life Is much longer than the Monterra
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014

awesome purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This GPS is for you if you like to find your way home. Really nice display. Great detail. Just an overall great addition to trail riding. Won't leave home without it. Cabelas is the best place to get it too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2014

Nope

By
Not as expected , no opp. Manual, hard to use , maps overlay expensive , returned
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013

great gps for hunting/tracking

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought my Montana 650T, 2 yrs ago, to replace an older Oregon that didn't have a camera. This GPS is very versatile. I use it to track deer after the shot by marking blood as I trail. That gives a great indication of the heading. I take pictures of potential stand sites. That data is recorded on my base camp map and provides a better idea of the terrain. I also find this GPS so accurate that I can navigate right to my stands in the dark without using tacks or night eyes. Helps keep my stands hidden from other hunters in the area. It is expensive but it is loaded with great features and it has never let me down in the woods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2013

Exellent but hope your 650T doesn't crash.

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Purchased the Montana 650T 2&1/2 years ago. I use it for varmint hunting and when working border security for a large ranch in southeast Montana during hunting season. The GPS with the landowner card is fantastic and allows you to identify who is trespassing and who is not. One problem. If your touch-screen crashes (quits working) and locks up your GPS . . . your only alternatives are to pay for a new one or send it back to Garmin for a refurbished exchange for your crashed GPS. If your unit is out of the ONE-YEAR warranty you'll be looking at very VERY stiff charge + shipping for a refurbished unit (not the one you originally purchased) and this unit will only be warranted for 90-days. Something to think about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

Top Quality

By
Very pleased with GPS unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013

Better then expected!

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This GPS is a must need for the topographic ability and the clear resolution. It lacks nothing and I plan to use it in the field with military.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2013

Great unit

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
But a week later it went on sale $50 less.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

my second gps. by far much better

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I love my Garmin 650t w/24k topo map. very good. ( no manual dvd. for the many you pay.)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

Great GPS

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Got it on sale so that made it even better!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

a great device.

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
used it last weekend with another application which gave us the land owner name and thier property lines.
When i showed this to the owner of the property he was amazed and was going out to buy one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2012

Better than anticipated

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Battery life is awesome. I can go all day with it on and still have 50 % battery left. I used to use Magellan, but this GPS beats it hands down. Fairly easy to program, but I was used to a different make. Almost instantly picks up on satelites so you can get going right away. Very accurate readings
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

nice

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
A little big but very nice!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2012

Excellent Product

By
Country: United States
State: California
The Garmin Montana 650T GPS performed perfectly after learning how to use it with the DVD also sold by Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 31