Customer Reviews for GARMIN Garmin® Montana 650T GPS

GARMIN Garmin® Montana 650T GPS

The Montana Series outperforms everything else on the market with huge internal memory and the highest resolution in its class. These units feature a large 4" touch-screen display with exceptional 272x480-pixel resolution and true dual-orientation capability, which transitions seamlessly from portrait to landscape mode for enhanced, wide-angle map views. The premium 65K-color, transreflective TFT LCD offers smooth, highly responsive user interface, high-contrast color and crisp image clarity in all light conditions. Each is pre-loaded with the Worldwide DEM basemap for navigation around the globe. Hot-Fix™ satellite prediction pinpoints your location faster, even in heavy cover and low-lying areas. Every unit features a three-axis compass and a barometric altimeter. Share data wirelessly with other wireless-enabled Garmin units. Micro SD card-compatible for expanding memory. High-speed USB interface. This series also pulls double duty as an automotive GPS with spoken turn-by-turn directions (available with auto mount and City Navigator NT maps, both sold separately). Supports Garmin BirdsEye™ satellite imagery (sold separately). Powered by three AA batteries (20-hour run time with alkaline batteries, 16-hour run time with lithium-ion). Each comes with a USB cable and a quick reference guide. The 650T features a 5-megapixel camera and a large 3.5GB internal memory. Dimensions: 5.6"H x 2.9"W x 1.4"D. Weight: 9.7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Review 1 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome purchase

Date:November 13, 2014
This GPS is for you if you like to find your way home. Really nice display. Great detail. Just an overall great addition to trail riding. Won't leave home without it. Cabelas is the best place to get it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nope

Date:July 9, 2014
Not as expected , no opp. Manual, hard to use , maps overlay expensive , returned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gps for hunting/tracking

Date:December 17, 2013
I bought my Montana 650T, 2 yrs ago, to replace an older Oregon that didn't have a camera. This GPS is very versatile. I use it to track deer after the shot by marking blood as I trail. That gives a great indication of the heading. I take pictures of potential stand sites. That data is recorded on my base camp map and provides a better idea of the terrain. I also find this GPS so accurate that I can navigate right to my stands in the dark without using tacks or night eyes. Helps keep my stands hidden from other hunters in the area. It is expensive but it is loaded with great features and it has never let me down in the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exellent but hope your 650T doesn't crash.

Date:November 9, 2013
Purchased the Montana 650T 2&1/2 years ago. I use it for varmint hunting and when working border security for a large ranch in southeast Montana during hunting season. The GPS with the landowner card is fantastic and allows you to identify who is trespassing and who is not. One problem. If your touch-screen crashes (quits working) and locks up your GPS . . . your only alternatives are to pay for a new one or send it back to Garmin for a refurbished exchange for your crashed GPS. If your unit is out of the ONE-YEAR warranty you'll be looking at very VERY stiff charge + shipping for a refurbished unit (not the one you originally purchased) and this unit will only be warranted for 90-days. Something to think about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Quality

Date:August 13, 2013
Very pleased with GPS unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better then expected!

Date:April 16, 2013
This GPS is a must need for the topographic ability and the clear resolution. It lacks nothing and I plan to use it in the field with military.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great unit

Date:March 26, 2013
But a week later it went on sale $50 less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my second gps. by far much better

Date:March 19, 2013
I love my Garmin 650t w/24k topo map. very good. ( no manual dvd. for the many you pay.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great GPS

Date:November 26, 2012
Got it on sale so that made it even better!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a great device.

Date:November 26, 2012
used it last weekend with another application which gave us the land owner name and thier property lines.
When i showed this to the owner of the property he was amazed and was going out to buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than anticipated

Date:November 21, 2012
Battery life is awesome. I can go all day with it on and still have 50 % battery left. I used to use Magellan, but this GPS beats it hands down. Fairly easy to program, but I was used to a different make. Almost instantly picks up on satelites so you can get going right away. Very accurate readings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice

Date:November 19, 2012
A little big but very nice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:October 31, 2012
The Garmin Montana 650T GPS performed perfectly after learning how to use it with the DVD also sold by Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outstanding

Date:October 15, 2012
the best GPS I've ever owned. Just wish the add on maps were a little cheaper
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Hunting!

Date:October 6, 2012
After 2 weeks and 90 miles hiked in the Colorado mountains, I can highly recommend the Montana 650t. Highs: water proof, camera, screen resolution, available maps, Garmin online route and data tracking, battery life when using 3 AA Lithiums. Low's: Battery life with supplied rechargeable battery, Cannot enter an address and get directions to it, so wasn't as useful as road GPS as I hoped.
Overall, GREAT GPS for outdoors/off-trail use (and on-trail too, I'm sure).
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent feature and support.

Date:October 2, 2012
Garmin has a great hand held GPS. It is versatile it
has great support. down loads from gamin is grest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional graphics but heavy for "light" hunts

Date:September 18, 2012
I purchased this unit to suplement my boat's chart plotter while hunting Alaska's inland rivers. I looked at upgrading my software in the plotter but the graphics and detail for my 5 year old unit just wasn't worth it. The G-650 is all touch screen-no more buttons or toggle sticks like my old Rino 530. The 650 is extremely easy to use, almost smartphone like. The icons are large if you need them to be and easy to read. The arrangement of the buttons fine for me out of the box but they can be re-arranged as needed. I purchased the Bird's Eye sat imagery to go with this unit and the images are so good and current, I was able to utilize the images to decide on the best river course to take even for a treacherous river I hadn't been on but one time previous. The Sat images allow you to study the actual image of where you plan top go, not just topo lines. All in all a great investment but just remember its fairly heavy unit for having in a pocket. Great purchase, I would do it again right now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome GPS

Date:September 11, 2012
I haven't put to ultimate test on Elk hunt in CO later this week but, I have used it a bit hiking and I have to tell the unit is very nice. It's cool to have the built in camera, took some nice shots of some Elk while hiking here in AZ. I am looking forward to putting the unit to work this week!!
I would highly recoment it at this stage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent GPS

Date:September 6, 2012
Great product. Have seen a few reviews stating that it is too large? It is not much larger LxW than an iPhone, just thicker. Must be girly hands reviews. Not very impressed with the pre loaded 100K Topo maps. There are better available aftermarket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin® Montana 650T GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Montana 650t

Date:August 12, 2012
Simply the best "in the field" GPS out there. Make sure and get the Plat4GPS, it's invaluable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24