Customer Reviews for CROSMAN Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle

CROSMAN Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle

A great-shooting air rifle for varmints, small game and plinking fun. Its Nitro Piston break action shoots .177-cal. pellets up to 1,200 fps. The all-weather black synthetic stock is topped with a blued bull barrel. Includes 3-9x40 CenterPoint scope and mount. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 43". Weight: 8 lbs. Available: .177 cal., up to 1,200 fps.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
36 out of 41(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Review 1 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

benjamin trail

Date:April 14, 2014
very poor accuracy , groups no better than 2" at 50 feet the manual states it may take up 100 shots for gun to settle in , so far about 1500 down the bore and still a poor shooter , I have changed the scope to a better quality with no good results, I have shot both nitro and spring airguns for many years, this one has me stumped, I will either return or send in to crosman for repair
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Air rifle

Date:April 1, 2014
Big mistake
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Air rifle

Date:April 1, 2014
Big mistake
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Zero it in, Not happening.

Date:December 24, 2013
I've shot over 500 round of various ammo, put 2 other scope on it and still can't hit the bottom of a 3 pound coffee can at 25 yards. As soon as I get home from Christmas vacation, I'm going to take this rifle back to Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buy one but keep your receit!

Date:May 29, 2013
I bought two, the first one had the scope mount welded on crooked. The second won't hold a group. I thought a .22 cal would be better, wrong! Stay with .177 and Gamo at that!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NOT accurate

Date:January 17, 2012
I have shot over 300 pellets thru this gun with no accuracy. The groups are 5" at 35 feet and the next day out the groups are 10"+. I resight to 5" groups and the next day the groups are back to 10"+ right-left and up-down. I have no idea where they will go day to day. I have checked the scope setting and they did not move. Any one have any ideas? I like the gun and scope but a gun that will not shoot has no value to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Satisfied with purchase

Date:May 14, 2014
was surprised at how few shots it took to zero in scope.I might consider a better scope because of my eyes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Make sure you brek it in!

Date:April 1, 2014
Recently purchased this gun for plinking around the house. It took almost 300 rounds to break in this rifle but once the break-in period was done, it is quite accurate. I am still trying to figure out the scope. I was hoping to not have to use the turrets to make yardage adjustments but it shoots completely different from 25 feet to 25 yards. Once you sight it in at a desired yardage, it is a tack driver but if you differ from that range you must adjust the scope accordingly. To be fair. I still need some time to work with this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEARBONES32 likes his Benjamin

Date:December 5, 2012
I love this nitro piston air rifle, its a real crow killer. The only problem was the long, heavy horable trigger. I ordered a G T X, installed and now its perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality gun that needs help

Date:October 16, 2012
I shot 50 lead pellets and the groupings came within a quarter so I adjusted the sight. I shot another 50 rounds and found it shooting consistantly for a few rounds and then moving. Upon inspection I found the rail mount was loose so I tightened it up and returned to shooting. It was good for a while but then started moving every time I gently set the gun down on my winter jacket. Assuming the scope was shot, considering the gun has more kick than a .22LR I wasn't surprised, I shot 3 pellets stacking them on top of each other, flicked the scope with my finger, and then put 3 pellets on top of each other 2.5 inches higher and left. I found a scope that is shock proof. I had it mounted with high quaity rifle mounts rather than the junk the gun or scope came with. I can now stack pellets on top of each other and a variety of ranges without them moving when I set the gun down. Now, every pellet I shoot seems to shoot the same after oiling the air chamber. It is very consistant and accurate, not to mention, dropped my local gunsmiths jaw with it's looks and power. I highly recommend buying this gun but also buying a higher end, shock proof scope and high end scope mounts if you plan on critter hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Customer

Date:October 2, 2012
I've had the Benjamin Trail NP .22 gauge for a few weeks. After break-in, I find the rifle to be very accurate. The scope is great, it's quiet, and the effort required to cock the gun is not an issue. It is quite heavy and requires some type of rest to shoot accurately. My main complaint is with the trigger being too mushy. I have messed with the adjustment, but need to try again to see if I can get an improvement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.177 Benjamin Trail NP, good and bad.

Date:September 29, 2012
Came with decent scope, but the screws for mounting the scope rings were soft, and one stripped out in the hex head before it was even moderately tight. Also, all the screws needed tightening. The trigger pull was looong, and gritty, and required replacing. The rear scope ring required a .020 shim to compensate for severe barrel droop. It shoots at 905-915 fps over the chrony with RWS Diablo Basic 7.0gr.
That said, once the tune up was finished, the groups were impressive. It is fairly quiet to shoot, and easy to cock. It isn't too hold sensitive, and groups several types of pellets fairly well. It was worth the 3+ weeks wait; just don't expect it to be too good right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Good

Date:July 22, 2012
First off, I only have a few air rifles to compare this on to.
Pro's:
-Average pull weight on the barrel.
-Solid body construction
-Overall weight feels like an actual fire arm
-Move the scope back all the way and it is extremely comfortable to see and shoot.
Con's:
- The first shot was WAYYY louder than expected, but each consecutive shot got more quiet.
-Scope comes loose after about 30 shots (I will be adding LocTite to it next time.
-Should have done more research and gone with the .22 version instead of the .177 for ultimate knock down power.
- Almost indistinguishable as an air rifle (neighbors thought I was walking around with an Assault Sniper Rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun except

Date:July 14, 2012
The trigger , thats the only thing I plan on up grading . Thats why only 4 stars . The guns shoots great and holding good groups . The rail and scope vary nice and is a not as loud as I thought it would be . Great value for the money .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Peoria, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Revised my opinion

Date:September 5, 2011
I bought this gun in .177 and originally wrote a review for this gun saying I was going to return it because of inaccuracy problems. However, I have continued to shoot this rifle for a few hundred more rounds and I have since changed my opinion.
This rifle is deadly accurate when used correctly.
Because of the extra power, this gun has quite a bit of recoil that throws the shot off - especially when using a bench rest as it will bounce on the rest. I have had to experiment and find just the right way to hold this weapon and it is spot on accurate when I do (it probably took 800 rounds for me to get there). After I finally started hitting 1-inch circles consistently on paper targets at 20 yards I put this rifle to use for it's intended purposed - controlling the varmints that have overrun my backyard.
The last two days it has killed 2 raccoons, 1 chipmunk, and 1 sparrow. No doubt this .177 rifle will go on to equal and maybe surpass the hundreds of varmints I took out with my Gamo Whisper in .22 caliber.
I was a little concerned about the ability of a .177 to take out the larger critters such as raccoons and groundhogs but last night 2 raccoons dropped instantly with perfect headshots to the brain using domed pellets. I like the fact that the .177 has a much higher velocity that the .22 as it may penetrate easier, has a straighter trajectory and possibly more accurate.
Stay with domed pellets for this rifle as they are the most aerodynamic and that is important with the velocities they will by flying at. I also tried wadcutters, pointed, and hollow pointed pellets and the accuracy suffered.
The trigger feels terrible at first but can very easily be adjusted to shorten the pull using an offset Phillips screwdriver that just about every hardware store sells for a couple of bucks.
The scope will hold accuracy for several rounds but eventually the heavy recoil will required you to zero it again - but that's what practice is for if you enjoy shooting as much as I do.
I particularly like the sound this makes as opposed to a metal spring piston rifle - this is more of a loud "p-f-f-f-f-t" rather than a twang. It's not quiet however and your neighbors will hear it - just tell them you're using a nail gun for some home repair work if they ask as the two sounds are similar.
I am keeping this rifle and will probably be enjoying shooting it for many years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Benji

Date:October 1, 2010
Gets 700 FPS at best averages 660 FPs with a 14.3 lead pellet. Well made good scope, trigger takes a little time to break in overall a good gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still finding ammo

Date:March 17, 2014
Had to invest in an air rifle since 22 ammo is just about non-existent. Went with the .177 to keep the energy up.
It has been a nail driver and a small animal killer. The Nitro Piston hasn't let me down and the suppression keeps the shot quieter than the action.
2 thumbs up!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome AirGun

Date:June 11, 2013
I haven't purchased an air rifle in over 30 years and all I can say is WOW! I purchased the Benjamin All Weather with the 22 cal and have not been disappointed! Like everyone else, I think the trigger is not very crisp so I purchased an aftermarket trigger and it has become one of my favorite rifles to shoot and so very inexpensive to spend hours with honing your shooting skills. I have only shot targets and can't wait to try it out on varmints! Excellent rifle for a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best air rifle for the money

Date:June 7, 2013
I bought this air rifle in april 2013. It is very accurate and the .22 lead hollow point crosman pellets pack a good whallop. It is hard to find a case that will fit it though when scoped. I can hit the bottom of a pop can facing me consistently at 20 yards with it. Very good for making trick shots
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benjamin Trail NP All-Weather Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Benjamin Air Rifle

Date:May 18, 2013
Outstanding air rifle. Took me about 50 shots to sight in and now it's dead on. I adjusted the trigger throw to make it more sensitive. This is a top notch air rifle. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41