Customer Reviews for Ruger Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Ruger Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo

We've made a special buy on these refurbished to like-new quality guns and are passing the savings on to you. They're break-action with a cocking effort of 30 lbs. with spring pistons that shoot .177-caliber pellets up to 1,000 fps. Each has a safety that engages automatically when cocked. The handsome ambidextrous hardwood stocks are outfitted with rubber recoil pads. Every gun comes with a 4x32 scope as well as adjustable fiber-optic sights. You'll want to hurry because supplies are limited and, at this price, they won't last long.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.C.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Buy Bar None

Date:August 15, 2011
Most people buy a gun load it, point it ,shoot it.If its not accurate well its junk.Pathetic,IMHO,ITS like this buy it clean it ,tighten the screws, break it in and get used to the trigger, which won't be hard with this gun.The right ammo is also a problem ,not with this gun it LOVES crosman premiere hollow points 7.9 grain.It takes a couple hundred to break any gun in well, and the more you shoot it, the better it gets.This is BAR NONE THE BEST DEAL ANYWHERE. IF you can get one for this price and your a seasoned airgunner you will thank yourself. Mine shot 1070 over the chrony and settled down to a consistant 960 fps average and yes it was a reconditioned gun. This is a very well made and beautiful gun at 3x the price and Ive got 26 air guns this was the least expensive and one of the most impressive of them all with the exception of my Beeman which cost a lot more.Im talkin Benjamin crosman gamo walther airforce and a few others
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: AZ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo

Date:July 27, 2011
I have issues with progressive glasses and open sites. Can see the sites, but not the target (with glasses), or see the target, but not the sites (without glasses). Very frustrating. Especially with my pistol sites. The Pigeons and squirrels just sit back and laugh at me.
Have been looking for a sighted pump pellet rifle for a while. Found this referb. Ruger and took the chance, as the price was right for a well known manufacturer.
Received it yesterday. It was in very good condition.
Like others, the Scope mounting is on the week side. But this rifle is not going to be bounced around in the back of the truck. It is stored in the safe until needed.
The sighting was quite a bit off, but after many shots was able to get it down to 2 sets of 3 shots all within a quarter size target at 100 feet.
Very impressed with the power and consistency (even with my human factor elements measured in).
So far, 2 shots at intended flying rodents perched on powerlines @125Ft+, with desired results.
I gave this a 4 only because of the Scope mounting.
Very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy for the price

Date:July 11, 2011
sighted in with gamo pellets. Both the iron sights,and the scope are accurate. I do have a rattle as some reviews state. But this does not affect the accuracy and i havent checked for loose screws.Very strong gun. May buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:November 20, 2010
Could not hit a target at 20 ft. Rear sights would not
adjust far enough to come within 2" of center.
I then installed the scope, and it did no better.
This is with Cabelas pellets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant Mo.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy at Cabella's

Date:July 11, 2010
After reading the reviews I was a little hesitant to order a refurbished rifle. However after getting it and taking it out of the box I was very pleased that it had no marks or evidence of any use whatsoever, and looks brand new. After mounting the scope and sighting it in, I found it to be a very accurate rifle and can keep all the shots within a quarter size pattern at 10 yards. After sighting the gun in I checked all the screws and like most of the reviews state they were loose but this didn't affect the accuracy at all. The penetrating power is better then my Remington Summit which really amazed me. This is a very nice quality gun and for the price I may buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ham Lake, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Problems!!

Date:July 7, 2010
I read many reviews on this pellet rifle. Most really like it and feel it is a great buy. The few that don't mainly talk about poor accuracy and not being able to make adjustments to get it sighted in. Here is my experience:
Brought the Airhawk home and swabbed the bore and wiped it down (good amount of protective lube on it). It took 4 shots to get the open sights dialed in. Grouped consistantly at 1 inch at 20 yards.
Moved on to mounting the scope. Here is where I suspect the negative and frustrating reviews come from. Being a refurb I am guessing the company checked the function of the rifle, made sure the scope was clear and focused, and packed it for resale. When I took the scope out of the box I found that someone had mounted it in the rings 90 degrees counterclockwise from the correct orientation. Since the adjustment dials are clearly marked "up" and "L" for elevation and windage adjustments like all scopes, this must have made attempts to sight it in a hair puller! Adjust up - it shoots left, correct by adjusting right - it shoots up! No wonder problems and frustration occurred.
After I got the scope oriented and mounted properly (blue loctite on all screws) sighting in was a breeze. three shots and three adjustments later it was grouping at the same 1 inch at 20 yards. Not from a bench, just resting it on a deck railing for support.
Great pellet rifle for a remarkably good price. I suggest that if you never mounted a scope before, get assistance from someone who has. Many people who have "been shooting for 30 years" and are fine shots have never mounted a scope before.
Buy one. You will like it.
David
P.S. It really likes to shoot B/S Diablo pellets!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deal

Date:July 5, 2010
Purchased this refurbished model. Made in China for Ruger. Great deal for the price! No problems with scope or getting it sighted in. Using Gamo Magnums & they work fine. Gun is on the heavy side, but not a problem. Lots of power at 1K FPS. NOT a toy and it has more kick than my 22 rim fire! Great rifle to use for small pests & plinking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:July 2, 2010
I received my refurbed Air Hawk the other day. There were a few scratches along the pistol grip piece, but I was able to touch those up with a furniture marker. R was stamped on both sides of the forearm. The stamping was only about a half inch tall, so it wasn't too noticeable.
The rifle has a lot of power. I liked the scope that came with it, but I found the mounts to be very flimsy. The mount came loose after the first few shots. The rifle has a surprising amount of recoil. I took a Center Point scope and mounts off of my .22 rifle and mounted it on the Air Hawk and it seems more sturdy.
The squirrels and chipmunks are about to stop digging in my yard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor grouping

Date:June 30, 2010
Bought the rifle and had a few nicks on it which was expected. The dove tails were nicked up as well but mounted the scope and shot 20 rounds and was all over the place. Spent two hours trying different things to correct it. The iron sights werent even grouping right I made all the right corrections. I gave it a two star instead of one because of the great customer service I recieved from cabelas on helping me get my refund on this item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger does it again

Date:November 19, 2009
I ordered this rifle wanting something larger than a crosman. I figured that the Ruger name would hold value, even with a refurb gun. I was not disappointed at all!! The stock was a little dinged up but I didnt expect a pristine gun, being a refurb.
The scope zero'd quickly and has held true after approx 200 shots. I am so pleased with it that I purchased one for my friend and mailed it to him.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for the next step above a "starter" rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Quality

Date:October 9, 2009
I have had my refurbished Ruger Air Hawk fo about a month now and I can report that it is an excellent deal. I was a little concerned ordering a refurbished product but in this case I am very pleased. The rifle and scope look brand new and shoots great. The scope mounts are a little on the weak side and did shoot loose but some lock-tight fixed the problem. The power of the rifle is amazing. As a kid I had the normal pump pellet guns that lack power but this gun is not a toy. It shoots through 1/4 inch plywood and possibly 1/2 but I haven't tried that. I believe for the money you can't go wrong with this rifle. I gave it a four rating because of the poor quality scope mounts other than that it's an easy five. R.D.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Napanoch,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Absolute JUNK

Date:September 23, 2009
I am amazed both that Ruger would put their name on this,and that Cabela's would carry it. First time out,it operated pretty rough. It shot ok(not great) for maybe 5-10 shots,then scattered pellets everywhere!! My son had his kid-sized BB gun,and I tried it at the same distance.It was MORE ACCURATE!! I'm sending it back to Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shawnee County KS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger .177 refurbished pellet rifle

Date:September 10, 2009
The squirrels would just sit and laugh at me and my daisy but their not laughing now.........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: st.pete fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rebfurished air hawk

Date:September 10, 2009
The rifle I got had some minor things but since it was refurbished you have to expect some things that need attention, it has a great accurate barrel very important , and it fires nice and smooth with a good trigger and good bluing the stock had some dings but since I was going to re carve and refinish the stock this is very minor for me at least. it has good sights and I am very happy with this rifle , I have had a RWS 34 which this rifle is a copy of and I would rather have the Ruger especially at this price.I have no problem doing one holers at 10 yards with the rifle. thanks again howie
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional buy

Date:September 5, 2009
Real good price for this air gun. Ruger quality except for the iron sights. Never could get the gun sighted in using the sights. Rear sight is plastic and flimsy. Finally gave up and installed the scope and was able to sight it in fairly easily. Few dings on the stock, but minor. For the price, you can't beat this deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new rochelle ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rifle

Date:September 4, 2009
nice wood finish looks perfect its going to look great in my gun cabniet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger air rifle

Date:September 4, 2009
A nice rifle until cabelas stamped An R on the barrel and the stock , why not put it where it doesnot stand out like a sore thumb!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ruger Air Hawk

Date:September 4, 2009
I was so excited when I ordered this air rifle. Boy, was I dissapointed. I first tried to sight it in using the open sights. The shots were grouping all over the place. So I installed the scope and tried to sight it in. Same thing. I was shooting between 4" & "5" groups at 12 yards. I tried more than I kind of pellets and it made little difference. The second problem was that this rifle is advertised to shoot 1000 fps. It is no where near that. Returned for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reconditioned ruger

Date:September 1, 2009
Excellent buy. Good groups. Took ME some time to work out the iron sights with the Monte Carlo comb. Also took ME some time to work out how much adjustment was needed on the scope to get it zeroed at 10 yds. But I've never OWNED a scope before. There are a few blemishes on the stock, but am convinced that a bit of oil and steel wool will fix 'em. Anyway, lots of fun and good practice at a VERY reasonable price. ('course I DO own stock in the company... ;-) )
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® Refurbished Air Hawk Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rollinsville
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

combo

Date:September 1, 2009
For the bucks the thing works great. The only bad thing is that the tru glow in the sights fell off but I am using the scope so no worries. The scope took a little work to sight in. but after that. The squirrles don't have a chance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22