Customer Reviews for UMAREX Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

UMAREX Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle

With the SilencAir noise-reduction system built into the barrel keeping it quiet, Umarex's Surge XT Air Rifle is perfect for hunting small game. Its spring-driven mechanism fires pellets at 1,200 fps. Get up close to your target with the included 4x32 scope. Lightweight, composite tactical-style stock. Caliber: .177. Length of pull: 14". Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Barrel length: 18.7". Overall length: 44.8". Weight: 7.95 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.16 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Review 1 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall Happy

Date:July 12, 2014
Picked one up and put it together started shooting with it but noticed a few issues. First was the scope, if you buy this rifle as soon as you open the box take the scope out and pitch it in the trash, junk! Could not zero it at all unless your happy with 12" - 14" groups. Tried different pellets and didn't make any difference. Had a 3-9 X 40 Simmons lying around and made a world of difference. Got it to shoot 1" groups at 20 yrds consistently using Gamo Red Fire pellets. The other thing was it has quite a lot of recoil for an air rifle; definitely need to hang on tightly or your accuracy will be off. But overall quite happy with it, but I would for sure pick up a better set of optics if purchasing this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Value

Date:July 9, 2014
This gun is silent, powerful, and accurate. It is perfect for backyard shooting in the urban areas. I am extremely impressed with the mechanics and overall performance of this rifle. The delivery was on time and the only assembly required was mounting the scope. Everything about this gun is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

umarex surge xt. .

Date:July 9, 2014
A little louder than I thought it should be. very accurate, would recomm.end
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Umarex Surge XT - Worth the price

Date:June 7, 2014
I purchased this gun for my oldest son and he, his brother and I love it. I really don't know what some of the bad reviews are all about. I mounted the scope and we had it dialed in at 25 yards within a dozen shots. It is very accurate with different pellets from cheap to expensive, they all shoot great. It is just the thing for our neighborhood gophers. It maintains the accuracy to at least 75-100 yards that we have shot it.
I would definitely recommend this gun and scope to anyone interested in a quality inexpensive air rifle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cool, but mis-labeled windage/elevation knobs

Date:June 1, 2014
I found this in the Bargain Cave (?) about half-price. The sticker on it said 'box and scope included', so there was no reason to not buy it. I mounted the scope how it should mount based on the labeling of the knobs.... when I tried to zero the rifle I couldn't get it on target and was getting pretty upset. I kept getting shots all over and I thought "what if they mis-labeled the knobs?" Who knew that I'd be right about that? I loosened the scope rings, turned the scope, and re-zeroed, now I'm on target. How could this have been overlooked during manufacture and quality and assurance reviews???
I recommend this rifle to experienced shooters, those who have the patience and knowledge to troubleshoot an issue like this. I now know why I found this in the bargain cave, their loss my gain!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK!!!! keep looking

Date:May 29, 2014
i was skeptical of the reviews and figured i would chance it. Thought i would throw a different scope on it and be ok. WRONG! scope not the only issue just inacurate. Then i went to load it and the stock split in two at the pivot point just behind the break action haven't even put 250 pellets through it yet DISAPPOINTING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice gun

Date:May 27, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised by the accuracy. I popped a half dozen or so 5" to 6" lizards off the fence right out of the box.
The only negative I have is that I expected it to be a bit quieter since it has a silencer. It's about as loud as a clap of my hands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Gun

Date:May 6, 2014
The gun is great. Plenty of power, easy to shoot. The only downside is the scope is really hard to get set right. I'd still recommend this gun for small varmints and just having fun shooting targets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap Way to Get Trigger Time

Date:April 29, 2014
I have always had a BB gun of some kind since I was a kid. But I never really appreciated the opportunity to "practice" shooting until ammunition prices began to surge upward.
The Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle is reasonably priced and accurate with very little pellet drop at 50 to 75 feet.
It's a great way to practice pointing, breathing and trigger pull for pennies!!! Give it a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deadly on squirrels

Date:April 22, 2014
the scope is pure junk. throw it away when u get it. crosshairs wood not move at all. I put a different scope on it and its deadly. Very quiet also. longest shot on a squirrel so far is roughly 35 yards, right in the dome. buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun!!!!!

Date:March 13, 2014
I'm really impressed with this gun. I've milled the stock and added the magpul rail system. Added a lazer. Plenty of power. Very accurate. And lethal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good deal

Date:March 6, 2014
shoots great, and quiet's down after about 30 shots.
you can't take the silencer off to clean it or the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy for the $$$$$$$$

Date:March 5, 2014
This is my first air rifle. I purchased the surge XT with my Cabela's points and only shot about 70-100 pellets (WRS). as of now at 35yds., I'm consistently hitting the black. Make sure you have the mounts tightened they seem to come loose easily.
The gun was quiet from the start and fits well and shoots hard, but is a hard pull to cock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice for the money

Date:March 5, 2014
accuracy is not great yet but good I can hit a dime 1 of every 10 shots I am still in break in period with 250 shots through it so not too too bad. I am using gamo match pellets from the bulk 4 packs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle - goood buy

Date:March 4, 2014
The rifle does not come with a cleaning kit, you must have one as the barrel is extremely dirty which will affect the accuracy. Pay attention to the maintenance of the rifle. Other than that you are good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good deal

Date:January 18, 2014
I read the other reviews and was looking at other choices. This model went into the bargain cave and the price dropped so I bought it. I have now put 100 rounds through it (both lead and PBA). I find it to be accurate and the scope is sufficient for my needs. I did re-torque the rails screws and scope rings to ensure tightness and remembering the reviews about the scope not holding zero. My 8 year old cannot cock the 30lb spring but last year he had trouble with a crossman 8 pump and the year before the daisy bb gun. I think in the next 12-18 months he will do it with ease. I degreased the barrel before use and the first couple shots were louder than a 22. I'm thinking the suppressor was clogged with grease. Now the gun is quieter than the crossman. Maybe it took a few cycles to get the new lubrication into the proper places?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loud but accurate

Date:January 7, 2014
Very well built and accurate. I'd given it a 5 if wasn't so loud. The sound suppressor on the barrel must be for looks only because it sure doesn't seem to be dampening the sound any. If you live in town you'll not be shooting this baby in the back yard unless your ok with having law-enforcement knocking at your door!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not very accurate

Date:December 16, 2013
The gun overall is good with a decent trigger pull, quiet, and easy to load. I just could not get it to group very well, maybe 3" at 25 yards. I was planning on using it to do head shots of the invasive Eurasian Collared Doves but it is not accurate enough for that. I tried 5 different kinds of pellets. I will return this and probably purchase the basic pump air gun,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first break barrel rifle

Date:December 7, 2013
Fantastic buy! Very accurate, only had a hard time with the scope zeroing because the label meant for the windage adjustment and elevation were wrong, should be the other way around, probably got mixed up in the production or quality control. Other than that it is very good and hard hitting air gun. 13 yards in my basement my groupings are about quarter to a dime! I'm happy with it. The trigger is adjustable to your liking, I adjusted mine to a short first stage then it crisp like a glass. 3 kinds of pellets I tried and the best one is the Air Arms Field Heavy .177 cal, 4.5mm, 10.34 grains, Dome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Umarex Surge XT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wasn't Happy

Date:November 29, 2013
First the Air Rifle has no back up sights. Second the scope that I recieved with this Air Rifle was so distorted and blurry there was absolutely in no way I would be able to sight it in at 10 yards.
The Air Rifle itself is the same as the Ruger Air Hawk with no built in sights. Made by the same company Umarex. I would buy the Ruger Air Hawk over this one simply because it did come with a better scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25