Customer Reviews for GAMO Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle

GAMO Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle

Ideal for any level shooter, the Viper IGT Air Rifle comes fully loaded. It starts with Inert Gas Technology (IGT) that shoots pellets using a pneumatic inert gas cylinder in place of conventional spring systems. The advantage includes extreme durability; more accuracy and precision; and steady, consistent power. Without spring friction, the cocking effort is more constant and smooth. Combining Whisper technology with an integrated noise dampener ND52, this break-action air rifle delivers more velocity and terminal penetration, while producing less noise and vibration. Shock Wave Absorber recoil pad provides enhanced shock absorption. 3-9x40WR Gamo scope included. One-piece solid scope mount. Comes in a durable all-weather black synthetic stock with rubber grip panels on the forearm and grip. Caliber: .177. Length of pull: 14-1/4". Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Barrel length: 18". Overall length: 46". Weight: 5.3 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.562 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Review 1 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very accurate

Date:March 2, 2014
Bought this in December and have been very pleased with the accuracy and power of this gun. After trying about 6 different pellets I have settled on CPHP and RWS Super Domes as the go to pellets. Not much difference in the spread out to 50yds. I have shot many sparrows and starlings out to 65yds. and several squirrels at 45 to 50yds. All have been one shot kills. Even at 65yds you can still hear the impact, this gun packs a punch. I have a 50yd range and I'm using 3/4 inch plywood to put my targets on. Pellets usually penetrate the plywood at 50yds. Plan on getting a better mil dot scope to increase accuracy for those longer shots. Trigger is better than the old Gamo trigger but could still stand an improvement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great All Around Scope!!!

Date:February 23, 2014
Great gun right out of the box. Very easy to get zeroed. Would like to have a higher magnification, but you really don't need it. Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy if you take the time

Date:February 11, 2014
Take the time to find the right pellet for this rifle and it will treat you very well. It does not like cheap lead pellets. But shoots higher end lead pellets with great accuracy. I have been able to consistantly produce 11/32" shot groups at 40yrds with this rifle. It is very comfortable to carry and shoot. Its pretty picky about pellets, but keep the barrel clean and find the right pellet and you will be very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Picky about pellets.

Date:February 10, 2014
This is a very comfortable rifle to shoot and carry. But, I think the safety could be better placed. It is also very picky about pellets if you want it to hold a consistant group.
I have put many pellets through this rifle and can get it to consistantly shoot an 11/32" group at 40yrds with the right pellets. But, if you plan on shooting cheap pellets and never cleaning your barrel, this is not the rifle for you.
I produced excellent grouping using Gamo Red Fires, Gamo Blue Flames, and Skenco Orange Stingers. All of which group at 1/2" or less at 40yrds. Expect far larger groups when using cheaper pellets. Even Crossman Destoyer EX's shoot a fairly large grouping of 2" at 40 yrds.
For hunting I recommend Red Fires which delivers a devistating blow to small game.
I have not experienced any of the issues others have expressed after putting roughly 2000 pellets down range. Spend time with this rifle, get your pellet combo right, and clean your barrel and I think you'll enjoy your purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!

Date:February 8, 2014
I purchased this gun and noticed immediately it would not stay true. every shot you take the scope slides back and eventually tears up the rail it is mounted to. once it reaches a certain spot it hits a steel screw. after it hits the screw the screw starts to tear up the actual gun. I had this happen TWICE! i will never trust gamo again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

scope trouble

Date:February 5, 2014
if you plan to use this gun without the scope it is great! shoots fast and accurate. The trouble starts when you use the scope. the scope mounts to a rail that mounts to the gun. with every shot the scope moves a little bit and eventually starts to tear up the aluminum on the rail until it hits the screw that is made to keep the rail in place. when it gets to this point i noticed the screw started to do the same to the actual gun. it is impossible to have an accurate shot with this gun because every time you shoot the scope moves. i returned the gun and cabelas replaced it and i am having the same problem with the second one. I will be returning it and buying something not made by GAMO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ideal purchase

Date:January 28, 2014
I am very satisfied with my purchase of the Gamo Viper IGT Air Rifle. It is a quality rifle with a better than average scope. I like the fact that it is extremely quiet, one of the reasons I wanted it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Viper IGT Accuracy Issues

Date:January 23, 2014
I purchased my Gamo Viper IGT in November of 2013 along with five different pellet sizes and those recommended by Gamo. I mounted the scope and began shooting. Since not much in the line of directions came with the rifle, I relied on others and various forum related sources to learn from other's experiences. I read in several places that the gun didn't want to "settle in" until at least 500- rounds had been shot through it. So I did that without concern for accuracy... And then sat down at the shooting bench with bags and began trying to get a decent group out of the various pellets. Nothing I have fired gave me a consistent group smaller than 3 inches at 25 yards. I had also heard that the scope that came with the rifle was not the best of quality, so I was prepared for this. I put a Leopold Vari X II on it that I have been shooting on my .223 for the last 15 years and then tried to get a group. I have shot another 500 rounds, and still cannot get a group better than the three inches at 25 yards with several rounds out at least 5 inches. I don't know what to do with it now except get with Gamo or Cabelas and try to get an exchange because I really like the rifle, the trigger, and how it shoots... But I just can't use it for my intended purpose of light varmit, squirels, and target shooting because of the poor accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gamo viper igt great air rifle

Date:January 19, 2014
This is a great air rifle shooting with the open sights is is dead on once sighted in. I would have rated it a 5 star if not been for the scope i could not get the windage adjusted the closest i could get is about 2 inches to the left of the bulls eye. i will be buying a different scope for it and i will be very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Inaccurate Using The Scope It Came With

Date:January 9, 2014
Using the Pellets and Scope this pellet gun came with produced shotgun like accuracy! I'm not too sure whether or not it's the gun, the scope, or the pellets it came with at this point. I bought the Gamo Performance Pellets Combo Pack and will try them all with and without the scope to determine what is causing the accuracy problem. Nonetheless, I think that Gamo should have corrected this accuracy problem before selling this pellet gun with this scope, so the user doesn't have to go through this experience trying to get this rifle to shoot accurately.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceeds my expectations

Date:January 7, 2014
Had a friend who had purchased a gamo air rifle and was very pleased with it so after some investigation and reading reviews I settled on this air rifle.......Wow, it truly exceeds my expectations. First of all, it was very easy to sight in. Some other reviews were less than complimentary about this process. Once you are dialed in, the accuracy is most impressive. That said, I will agree with other reviews in that the choice of pellet REALLY does dictate accuracy. Changing pellets may alter my point of impact as much as two inches and I never know which way it will go.......up, down left or right. I have had no problems with the scope as some reviews complain about. It is not a Leupold Vari X3 but plenty adequate for this application. Rifle has a GREAT feel to it and comes up perfect for my eye relief. As far as loud sound as some reference, personally I think it is pretty quiet. All for all, a great purchase, accurate, and well made. Hard to go wrong AND the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More than a pellet rifle

Date:December 30, 2013
I have a Daisy pellet rifle that I use for squirrel control around the house. I wanted to upgrade from my Daisy and got this Gamo Viper at a great Cabela's sale price. It is way more rifle than your average air pellet rifle. It is about 7 inches longer than the Daisy and a couple of pounds heavier. The scope is OK but hard to get a good tight group at 15 to 20 yards which is my average range for taking squirrels in the yard. It is also very loud probably due to the 1300 fps pellet coming out of the barrel compared to about 700 fps for the Daisy. If you're looking for a longer range pellet rifle this is a good one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Viper IGT

Date:December 25, 2013
First off in high school I used to have a large collection of pellet rifles and sold em all when I got to college. Now that I'm out of college and want to relive some of my past I got the Gamo Viper IGT about 2 months ago and have thus far shot about 800 pellets through it and it's a great shooter. I have it sighted in at about 35 yards and I'm using the iron sights only. The only thing I've had to do to it to make it consistent is take apart the rear sight and glue the base down with locktite. It's a shooter for sure and I can't wait to take it squirrel hunting now that it's consistent enough with the irons glued down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great air rifle

Date:December 24, 2013
I got this gun because I wanted a gas piston engine. This gun is lightweight, accurate and powerful. It shoots most of the pellets I've tried very well. I just use the open sights, trying to get a scope to work well on a spring or gas piston gun is just too much work. There is just too much forward and rearward recoil. With open sights they work just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Performance

Date:October 29, 2013
I can not make this thing "Group" consistently. I have a Stoeger which is much more consistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo® Viper IGT Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Pellet Rifle

Date:September 8, 2013
I have a pellet pistol but needed a rifle. The sales person at the Cabela's store in Reno was very helpful in pointing out features of the various guns. I am very pleased with this purchase. After getting the gun sighted in with both iron sights and the included scope I was surprised at the accuracy of repeated shots. I am glad I got a rifle with a silencer since it is still fairly loud. I have also learned that diffent pellets give larger or smaller groupings which has led me to settle on three pellets. I recommend this rifle for purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.