Customer Reviews for GAMO Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle

GAMO Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle

Inert Gas Technology (IGT) shoots pellets using a pneumatic inert gas cylinder in place of conventional spring systems. Advantages of IGT include extreme durability; more accuracy and precision; and steady, consistent power. Without spring friction, the cocking effort is more constant and smooth. Combining Whisper technology with an integrated noise dampener ND52, this break-action air rifle delivers more velocity and terminal penetration, while producing less noise and vibration. All-weather tactical thumbhole stock. 3-9x40WR Gamo scope included. Cocking effort: 32 lbs. Overall length: 43". Weight: 7.15 lbs. Available: .177 caliber – Up to 1,300 fps with PBA Platinum ammo .22 caliber – Up to 975 fps with PBA Platinum ammo
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Review 1 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Little Rock, AR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Air Rifle

Date:January 13, 2012
This is a high quality gun. It is easy to cock. The scope is pretty good (for a pellet gun) and the open sites are nice too. After shooting a couple hundred rounds of cheap pellets. I am shooting 10 shot groupings the size of a dime at 30 feet. It is much quieter with lead. The PBA ammo that comes with is loud and fast. Pointed PBA pellets will go through 1.5 inches of manilla file folders at 20 feet!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo is the best

Date:January 24, 2014
Most people that have tried this gun and say it is not accurate, don't understand Pellet rifles! Because of recoil, the scope has to be put on with lock tight. The most accurate pellets I have found are premier by crossman. We shoot the end off popcicle sticks at 15 yards. It is deadly on Red squirrels! I sit in my back yard with a tripod and pick them off at 20 yards. It is the most accurate gun I have ever owned. Unless you are going to spend $1000 or more, you won't find a more accurate pellet rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pest control

Date:September 10, 2013
I purchased this air rifle as a way to control ground burrowing animals and jack rabbits on my property. It was accurate right out of the box without the scope with the scope was awesome. Pleased and successful with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Use lead pellets

Date:August 30, 2013
I've had Gamo varmint hunter for several years purchased the silent stalker for the IGT tech. Tried zeroing in with the platinum that came with rifle not so good switched to Gamo rock air lead same as I use in my other rifle much better accuracy in the red 8 out of 10 shots that's at 30-35feet just need to keep squirrels out of my peach tree varmint hunter got 8 squirrles out of 11 shots hope to do better with the stalker and not bother my neighbors with the noise use lead pellets with the brass BB in the tip very accurate and deadly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR

Date:August 27, 2013
I was excited to try this rifle out, I set up my target, I even used a bench for sighting it in. I started out short range to start with, 25ft, moved out a little further, still OK, moved out 75ft, started having trouble keeping a pattern, every time I kept having to adjust the scope, but I couldn't keep a pattern, so I knew something was wrong. Pulled the scope off and found it was being pushed back on the mount. I spent 35 years as a machinist, so I knew that the aluminum mount and their design would not work because of the recoil off this gun. I bought it at cabela's and will be returning it. I will check out other brands because I am sure that all Gamo rifles will have the same mount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Good...

Date:April 2, 2013
I bought this pellet gun for plinking with my wife, But at 30 yards accuracy is terrible. I've used everything from cheap to super expensive pellets and have had very disappointing results. where you zero the gun is the yardage you better shoot every time, not plus or minus ten or twelve ft if you want to hit ANYTHING the size of 1.5 -2 inches. Also the scope is very cheap and inaccurate, my advise is spend your money elsewhere. Definitely returning this one...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Huge disappointment

Date:October 25, 2012
I should have given more attention to the on-line reviews found elsewhere on this item. The accuracy is terrible. This is due to the fact that the scope does not attach to the barrel, which is highly mobile due to the loading motion, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:October 2, 2012
Rifle was well made, accurate and quiet. Scope was
surprisingly bright and optically clear. The scopes adjustment mechanism was "difficult" but with a little patience and many shots zeroing was achieved. Good value for your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun Ok Scope

Date:March 13, 2012
The Scope Is Not The Greatest But If You E-Quip This Gun With A New Scope Lookout !!! I Love This Gun I Own Two Gamo's This Gun And A Gamo Viper .177 Cal Which Is Spring Driven. Bottom Line My Spring Driven Viper Is Much Much Louder Than The Silent Stalker Without A Doubt. I Also Installed A New Scope On The Silent Stalker And I Can Hit Soda Cans All Day Long At 35 to 40 Yards. I Can Also Hit Soda Cans at 65 Yards Yeah Not Every Shot Connects At 65 Yards But Its Sure Fun To Try. Anyways The Trigger On This Gun Is Awesome For A Stock Trigger. Its Around A 3 Pound Pull How Great Is That!!! Its A Fun Gun And With Pratice Very Accurate . My .22 Cal Silent Stalker Likes Heaver Pellets Around 16 To 21 Grain. Upgrade The Scope Shoot The Gun And It Will Treat You Good And Like I Said The Trigger Is Very Good !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Good Product-But...

Date:February 24, 2012
This product performs pretty much according to claims. PBA pellets are super-sonic regardless of the "supressor" and are only a little quieter than a .22LR. Lead pellets are much quieter. The scope is frustrating to sight in because it's mounted on the receiver behind the break in the barrel. And, regardless of claims, the barrel, forward of the break, will NEVER realign with the point of aim set in the scope. I NEVER got consistent groups at 40 yds with PBA or lead pellets. I removed the scope and reverted to the standard straight sights which are mounted forward of the barrel break point and shot remarkably consistent groups at the same 40 yd. target. The IGT technology is good. Everything considered, it's a very good varmint tool. The scope is pure fluff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milpiotas Ca.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice christmas gift

Date:January 12, 2012
Thjis is my first air rifle since I was a kid,am now 75yrs. old,and looking for a challenge .I plan to shoot a turkey with it this spring.After mounting the scope there was very little adjusting.At 25ydsd. i am shooting a 1 inch group.Took it ground squirrel hunting and made head shot @35yrds.I am ordering my son one for his up comming birthday.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WELL

Date:January 4, 2012
MY FIRST PELLET GUN. PRETTY COOL, BUT AFTER I ORDERED IT. NEXT DAY LOOKING AROUND AT OTHER UNITS. FOUND ANOTHER ONE I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT.
MAIN THING IS I SAW THE GAMO SILENT STALKER WHISPER IGT AT $70.00 LESS WITH A CASE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Rifle

Date:November 16, 2011
I got this rifle because it works off of gas and not springs and also because it looks awesome. Having it compress gas makes folding the barrel a lot smoother. This rifle has the weight of a real rifle so it looks and feels like one.
I have not aligned the scope yet but from what I have noticed it doesn’t need much adjusting. The pellets are almost dead on with the scope at 25 yards.
I also ordered regular pellets in addition to the PBA ammo that comes with the gun. The PBA ammo is much louder because it breaks the sound barrier. The speed of sound is 1,125 feet/second and this gun can shoot PBA pellets at a max of 1,300 feet/second. I have not checked this speed with my rifle but I’ll take their word for it.
In all this is great rifle, although it is a little pricey. If you are looking a really powerful pellet rifle that looks good and will hold up for a long time then this rifle is one for you. I would highly recommend this rifle to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Silent Stalker Whisper® IGT™ Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Antietam MD
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wonderful airgun

Date:June 14, 2011
This is a good buy.I love the gas spring which is why I bought it. Real smooth and no twang. Very accurate. I read in some reveiws that the cocking mech felt week and flimsy. I don't feel any of that. In fact robust is the word I would use.The scope is ok but I did not buy it for the scope. It shoots at least as good as my Beeman R1.Oh and it looks real cool!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.