Customer Reviews for GAMO Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle

GAMO Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Firing .177-caliber PBA® Raptor ammo at a screaming 1,200 fps and outfitted with a durable 4x32 scope with a Gamo reticle, the single-shot Hornet is a varmint’s worst nightmare. Tough, all-weather gray synthetic stock with twin cheek pads for a sure grip and comfortable, ambidextrous shooting. Nonslip checkering on grip and forearm. The fluted, 18" rifled steel barrel has a polymer jacket for protection against the elements. Thick, ventilated rubber butt pad soaks up recoil. Automatic cocking safety and manual trigger safety. Two-stage adjustable trigger. Spring-piston, break-barrel cocking. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 43.3". Weight: 6.1 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Review 1 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Air Rifle

Date:June 3, 2015
Nice Rifle, sighted in at 50 yards, groups at 1.5 inches.
impressive for an air rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too Loud

Date:April 30, 2015
This is probably a great air rifle. I took it out of the box cocked and dry fired it in the basement. It was loud. I thought maybe outside in the backyard it might be different. There were some neighbors out two houses over. I cocked it and watched them to see how they would react when dry fired again. Their heads spun on a swivel. I'll bet you could have heard it a block away.
I've never shot a 22 in the backyard, but I suspect it would sound about the same.
If a quiet, shoot it in your neighborhood backyard air rifle is your goal, this probably isn't what you are looking for.
I never mounted the scope, never fired a pellet. It wasn't a close call purely from a sound point of view.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Woodchucks Begone

Date:April 13, 2015
Purchased this today on sale locally it's more than adequate for the task at hand. The rifle is made in Spain the scope in China. Even though I'm not a fan of Chinese Scopes this is not the worst I've peeped through.
It took all of 5 minutes to adjust it to a nice tight grouping @ 50 yards. Most of the gun is synthetic material great in the fact there is no pretty walnut stock to worry about dinging. I can toss this in the truck and just go.
The geometry of the stock is nice I was able to shoot comfortably using it. The rubber recoil butt plate is nice but I personally didn't feel enough recoil to deem it a necessity.
I've read for some it's hard to cock I didn't experience any issue but I also am used to drawing a 50lb Bear re curve bow so that might have helped. The barrel is rifled another obvious boon to accuracy.
All in all a decent airgun for the price shoots as well as the Ruger. I had previously and at a fraction of the price I have zero complaints. Just make sure you are consistent with the ammo you run through it for best accuracy, I purchased 300 rounds of Gamo Rocket Superior .177 pellets "also on sale. I'll probably stick with them as they go through thin steel quite easily I test shot the airgun to penetrate our local yellow pages it penetrated around an inch and left an indent for another quarter inch, So I'm fairly confident in it's ability to take out lawn pests.
I can see where this could become my daily eliminator of lawn pests, or shooting for fun to keep from getting rusty. The area I live is infested with Woodchucks this year that have destroyed the misses gardening efforts to date. This should help alleviate that issue nicely.
Minus 1 star only because of the Chinese scope on a European airgun which for the record is not Cabellas fault.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The GAMO Hornet .177 Caliber rifle

Date:April 7, 2015
I've had this rifle for about 3 years, this rifle has had absolutely no problems for a full 3 years and counting. It is very simple to dial in the scope, once you get that done then your set. This gun works with pretty much any ammo you put in that barrel. I'm currently 13 and it is very simple to cock the barrel and fire the rifle. Overall, this is a PERFECT starter rifle and a veteran rifle also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

true story

Date:January 6, 2015
I purchased this gun for an older friend of mine. He has had a serious problem with squirrls chewing his house and garage. he bought a sling shot and told me he was going to take care of them. As time passed I asked how his problem was, as no surprise he had not had one hit. I purchased this gun for him for Christmas and in a couple hours of instruction he got one of the little squirrles. Great value and fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:December 16, 2014
Very close grouping of rounds. I joked about the sissy pad until I fired the rifle. The air is supplied by a spring driven piston. When fired, the spring causes quite a reaction. The butt pad helps to keep the gun steady while the pellet exits the barrel. The noise is almost as loud as a real .22 gun but not at all the same sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very happy with purchase

Date:November 12, 2014
I found the product to be more accurate than I anticipated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forget the other reveiws

Date:October 10, 2014
I will say, don't read another reviews read this. The scope on my gun works great. I put it on myself and didn't need to adjust anything,which is quite rare. I've shot various raccoons and bird with this gun. I recommend only shooting gamo pellets through it because other pellets don't shoot as well. I shoot gamo pba's at 1200fps and it works great. Buy this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gets job done

Date:May 2, 2014
Accurate but very loud. Hours of affordable fun. I would recommend for anyone who enjoys plinking but can't get to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good first springer

Date:March 18, 2014
I got this gun for plinking and occasional pest control. Great gun, but the scope is not so great. Got a better scope, and I was able to hit a 2-3" empty pellet tin at ~50 yds. after the third shot. Overall, I am quite pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Troubled purchase

Date:February 6, 2014
Like a lot of other reviewers I found the scope totally useless. After several attempts to site it in, It doesn't work or hold setting. Other problems, unless held in a mount the rifle jumps about 2 to 3 inches when it finally fires. Which leads to the other criticism, the trigger has way to much travel before it fires. Feels like it is going about 2". Way to long for me, takes about 5 seconds or more to squeeze off a shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great, But Needs A Better Scope

Date:January 21, 2014
I got a gamo hornet for Christmas. I shot it with the gamo scope but it didn't shoot good. I got a utg scope and found that the pba ARMOUR pellets shoot great!!!! I can put 4 shots in an area of about 3/4 inches. I have already shot 3 pigeons and 3 birds with it. It also works good to shot coons with in a trap. It is a great gun but needs a better scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varmint Getter

Date:January 15, 2014
Very accurate from 30 to 40 yards. Nice groupings. Hits with a lot of power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Hornet

Date:December 31, 2013
Great product for the price. I have shot over 500 pellets though the Gamo so far and it is very accurate. Like others have said the scope isn't great but functional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hunting

Date:November 12, 2013
It is a good squirrel hunting air rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great air rifle

Date:October 17, 2013
This gun is a really fun gun, both for small game and for targets. I use lead pellets with a polymer core on squirrels, crows, and rabbits. I have even shot trapped coons and a small coyote. Rarely requires a second shot. Only problem is the scope works loose and I don't realize until I have missed by several feet. Then again, it gets kicked around a lot. Overall very, very pleased. Looking to get another one, as I and my friend share this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:September 28, 2013
Although I'm a dedicated target shooter--.223 and 22-250--the Gamo Hornet is my first air rifle. I wanted it to do some back yard plinking. With minimal sighting in of the scope I shot a 3/4 inch group with Gamo Red Fire pellets. In spite of other reviewer's criticism of the scope I found it to be perfectly adequate for this rifle. The length of the rifle seems excessive but this may be necessary in an air rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:June 6, 2013
This gun is great for young people. It is easy to shoot and the second you align the sights it is very accurate. I can shoot a mango at 100 yards every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GAMO HORNET

Date:June 2, 2013
The pellet gun is very powerful and pretty accurate. The scope is a piece of junk ! They might as well keep that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun junk scope

Date:April 2, 2013
The gun is accurate but the scope is junk. Gun shoots fast and har. The spring is loud you can hear it when you shoot it. I suggest getting a Leapers scope for the gun and shooting a crosman ultramag pellet through it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27