Customer Reviews for GAMO Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle

GAMO Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Firing .177-caliber PBA® Raptor ammo at a screaming 1,200 fps and outfitted with a durable 4x32 scope with a Gamo reticle, the single-shot Hornet is a varmint’s worst nightmare. Tough, all-weather gray synthetic stock with twin cheek pads for a sure grip and comfortable, ambidextrous shooting. Nonslip checkering on grip and forearm. The fluted, 18" rifled steel barrel has a polymer jacket for protection against the elements. Thick, ventilated rubber butt pad soaks up recoil. Automatic cocking safety and manual trigger safety. Two-stage adjustable trigger. Spring-piston, break-barrel cocking. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 43.3". Weight: 6.1 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Review 1 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good first springer

Date:March 18, 2014
I got this gun for plinking and occasional pest control. Great gun, but the scope is not so great. Got a better scope, and I was able to hit a 2-3" empty pellet tin at ~50 yds. after the third shot. Overall, I am quite pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Troubled purchase

Date:February 6, 2014
Like a lot of other reviewers I found the scope totally useless. After several attempts to site it in, It doesn't work or hold setting. Other problems, unless held in a mount the rifle jumps about 2 to 3 inches when it finally fires. Which leads to the other criticism, the trigger has way to much travel before it fires. Feels like it is going about 2". Way to long for me, takes about 5 seconds or more to squeeze off a shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great, But Needs A Better Scope

Date:January 21, 2014
I got a gamo hornet for Christmas. I shot it with the gamo scope but it didn't shoot good. I got a utg scope and found that the pba ARMOUR pellets shoot great!!!! I can put 4 shots in an area of about 3/4 inches. I have already shot 3 pigeons and 3 birds with it. It also works good to shot coons with in a trap. It is a great gun but needs a better scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varmint Getter

Date:January 15, 2014
Very accurate from 30 to 40 yards. Nice groupings. Hits with a lot of power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Hornet

Date:December 31, 2013
Great product for the price. I have shot over 500 pellets though the Gamo so far and it is very accurate. Like others have said the scope isn't great but functional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hunting

Date:November 12, 2013
It is a good squirrel hunting air rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great air rifle

Date:October 17, 2013
This gun is a really fun gun, both for small game and for targets. I use lead pellets with a polymer core on squirrels, crows, and rabbits. I have even shot trapped coons and a small coyote. Rarely requires a second shot. Only problem is the scope works loose and I don't realize until I have missed by several feet. Then again, it gets kicked around a lot. Overall very, very pleased. Looking to get another one, as I and my friend share this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:September 28, 2013
Although I'm a dedicated target shooter--.223 and 22-250--the Gamo Hornet is my first air rifle. I wanted it to do some back yard plinking. With minimal sighting in of the scope I shot a 3/4 inch group with Gamo Red Fire pellets. In spite of other reviewer's criticism of the scope I found it to be perfectly adequate for this rifle. The length of the rifle seems excessive but this may be necessary in an air rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:June 6, 2013
This gun is great for young people. It is easy to shoot and the second you align the sights it is very accurate. I can shoot a mango at 100 yards every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GAMO HORNET

Date:June 2, 2013
The pellet gun is very powerful and pretty accurate. The scope is a piece of junk ! They might as well keep that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun junk scope

Date:April 2, 2013
The gun is accurate but the scope is junk. Gun shoots fast and har. The spring is loud you can hear it when you shoot it. I suggest getting a Leapers scope for the gun and shooting a crosman ultramag pellet through it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Hornet

Date:February 5, 2013
Very easy to sight in, and a very deadly varmint weapon within 30 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great air rifle

Date:January 29, 2013
Great air rifle but I give it 4 stars because of the scope! Replaced it with a BSA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great so Far

Date:December 29, 2012
I just bought this gun yesterday and it is my first hi-power air rifle. I sighted it in at 20 yards and it only took 7 shots for me to get 1 inch groups. I shot some mushy oranges and it ripped a hole the size of a quarter through it. It also tore through a milk jug full of water. I bought the gamo performance pack along with it. I give it an A+.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Air Rifle

Date:September 17, 2012
Seems to be a great value. All friends have liked this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very impressed!!

Date:June 25, 2012
This is very accurate, light weight, and powerful air rifle. I am impressed with the its consistency and it shoots great right out of the box!! A head above competing brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cre
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:January 7, 2012
yes i bought my gamo hornet air rifle i was out side sighting it in and shot 3 squirrels very accuret scope it good hypermax pellets arnt good the pba pellets a excellent, the gun is light so i can make better aim at targets and not lean against trees i recon mend this for any one who love air rifles =)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gamo hornet

Date:December 11, 2011
Just got back from the range to sight in my gamo hornet.I shot a total of 15 shots. Using crosman pellets at 25 yards shots were in an area of 5 inches.I purchased hypermax pellets to go along with this gun as well, from 25 yards i could not even hit my14x14inch target [ so dont waste your money on hyper max ,they are not worth it ] I think the quality of this gun is good.I would buy this gun again.The owners manual that comes with the gun is not very good.The index said scope info is on page 9 ,it is on page 12.This is my first pellet gun , I had to look some things up on line to get the info i needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.