Customer Reviews for GAMO Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle

GAMO Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Firing .177-caliber PBA® Raptor ammo at a screaming 1,200 fps and outfitted with a durable 4x32 scope with a Gamo reticle, the single-shot Hornet is a varmint’s worst nightmare. Tough, all-weather gray synthetic stock with twin cheek pads for a sure grip and comfortable, ambidextrous shooting. Nonslip checkering on grip and forearm. The fluted, 18" rifled steel barrel has a polymer jacket for protection against the elements. Thick, ventilated rubber butt pad soaks up recoil. Automatic cocking safety and manual trigger safety. Two-stage adjustable trigger. Spring-piston, break-barrel cocking. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 43.3". Wt: 6.1 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Review 1 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Nice Accurate gun for the Money

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased a pair of these recently for my twin son's birthday presents. They really enjoy them, and this little gun together with the Gamo pellets is a very accurate shooter. They consistently hit metal spinner targets or pop cans at 25-30 yards, and these are the first guns they have handled. Excellent product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2016

Gamo needs a better optic

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The GAMO Hornet seems to be well made and durable......It is noisy when fired, almost as loud as my 22 L rifle.......Optic supplied leaves a lot to be desired........I wish the rifle had normal sites as I would gladly take the optic and toss it.......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This Air Rifle is built well and very accurate. What I liked the most is the weight and balance. The Hornet will do what I need it too, and yet it isn't so heavy my Grandson can't hold and shoot it.
Has the features I need. The scope isn't high end, but I wouldn't expect it to be at this price for a scope and gun. The scope did sight in easily, the pellet impact followed the adjustments as I made them.
This is the 2nd Gamo Hornet I've purchased, one for me and another for a friend. Both guns work flawlessly!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2015

First air rifle purchase - Awesome!

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is my first air rifle purchase. I love it and love the price. I think it shoots great and I shoot the Gamo Red Fire pellets. I zeroed it in at 25 yards and it grouped great I think. So if your looking for a cheaper air rifle I would recommend this one. Only thing about it is that I'm 6'4" 240 and I can cock the gun easy but my wife is 5'6" 118 soaking wet and she had a time cocking it back haha. I would not be good for a smaller kid.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2015

Great Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this to thin out the squirrels behind my house and am very pleased with its performance. Extremely accurate and well made this pellet gun is worth every dollar spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2015

Gamo Air Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Nice Rifle, sighted in at 50 yards, groups at 1.5 inches.
impressive for an air rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2015

Too Loud

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is probably a great air rifle. I took it out of the box cocked and dry fired it in the basement. It was loud. I thought maybe outside in the backyard it might be different. There were some neighbors out two houses over. I cocked it and watched them to see how they would react when dry fired again. Their heads spun on a swivel. I'll bet you could have heard it a block away.
I've never shot a 22 in the backyard, but I suspect it would sound about the same.
If a quiet, shoot it in your neighborhood backyard air rifle is your goal, this probably isn't what you are looking for.
I never mounted the scope, never fired a pellet. It wasn't a close call purely from a sound point of view.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2015

Woodchucks Begone

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased this today on sale locally it's more than adequate for the task at hand. The rifle is made in Spain the scope in China. Even though I'm not a fan of Chinese Scopes this is not the worst I've peeped through.
It took all of 5 minutes to adjust it to a nice tight grouping @ 50 yards. Most of the gun is synthetic material great in the fact there is no pretty walnut stock to worry about dinging. I can toss this in the truck and just go.
The geometry of the stock is nice I was able to shoot comfortably using it. The rubber recoil butt plate is nice but I personally didn't feel enough recoil to deem it a necessity.
I've read for some it's hard to cock I didn't experience any issue but I also am used to drawing a 50lb Bear re curve bow so that might have helped. The barrel is rifled another obvious boon to accuracy.
All in all a decent airgun for the price shoots as well as the Ruger. I had previously and at a fraction of the price I have zero complaints. Just make sure you are consistent with the ammo you run through it for best accuracy, I purchased 300 rounds of Gamo Rocket Superior .177 pellets "also on sale. I'll probably stick with them as they go through thin steel quite easily I test shot the airgun to penetrate our local yellow pages it penetrated around an inch and left an indent for another quarter inch, So I'm fairly confident in it's ability to take out lawn pests.
I can see where this could become my daily eliminator of lawn pests, or shooting for fun to keep from getting rusty. The area I live is infested with Woodchucks this year that have destroyed the misses gardening efforts to date. This should help alleviate that issue nicely.
Minus 1 star only because of the Chinese scope on a European airgun which for the record is not Cabellas fault.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

The GAMO Hornet .177 Caliber rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I've had this rifle for about 3 years, this rifle has had absolutely no problems for a full 3 years and counting. It is very simple to dial in the scope, once you get that done then your set. This gun works with pretty much any ammo you put in that barrel. I'm currently 13 and it is very simple to cock the barrel and fire the rifle. Overall, this is a PERFECT starter rifle and a veteran rifle also.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

true story

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this gun for an older friend of mine. He has had a serious problem with squirrls chewing his house and garage. he bought a sling shot and told me he was going to take care of them. As time passed I asked how his problem was, as no surprise he had not had one hit. I purchased this gun for him for Christmas and in a couple hours of instruction he got one of the little squirrles. Great value and fun to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

good value

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Very close grouping of rounds. I joked about the sissy pad until I fired the rifle. The air is supplied by a spring driven piston. When fired, the spring causes quite a reaction. The butt pad helps to keep the gun steady while the pellet exits the barrel. The noise is almost as loud as a real .22 gun but not at all the same sound.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014

very happy with purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I found the product to be more accurate than I anticipated.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2014

Forget the other reveiws

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I will say, don't read another reviews read this. The scope on my gun works great. I put it on myself and didn't need to adjust anything,which is quite rare. I've shot various raccoons and bird with this gun. I recommend only shooting gamo pellets through it because other pellets don't shoot as well. I shoot gamo pba's at 1200fps and it works great. Buy this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2014

Gets job done

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Accurate but very loud. Hours of affordable fun. I would recommend for anyone who enjoys plinking but can't get to the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Good first springer

By
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got this gun for plinking and occasional pest control. Great gun, but the scope is not so great. Got a better scope, and I was able to hit a 2-3" empty pellet tin at ~50 yds. after the third shot. Overall, I am quite pleased with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014

Troubled purchase

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Like a lot of other reviewers I found the scope totally useless. After several attempts to site it in, It doesn't work or hold setting. Other problems, unless held in a mount the rifle jumps about 2 to 3 inches when it finally fires. Which leads to the other criticism, the trigger has way to much travel before it fires. Feels like it is going about 2". Way to long for me, takes about 5 seconds or more to squeeze off a shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014

Shoots Great, But Needs A Better Scope

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got a gamo hornet for Christmas. I shot it with the gamo scope but it didn't shoot good. I got a utg scope and found that the pba ARMOUR pellets shoot great!!!! I can put 4 shots in an area of about 3/4 inches. I have already shot 3 pigeons and 3 birds with it. It also works good to shot coons with in a trap. It is a great gun but needs a better scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014

Varmint Getter

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very accurate from 30 to 40 yards. Nice groupings. Hits with a lot of power.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Gamo Hornet

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great product for the price. I have shot over 500 pellets though the Gamo so far and it is very accurate. Like others have said the scope isn't great but functional.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gamo® Hornet .177 Caliber Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Hunting

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
It is a good squirrel hunting air rifle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 32