Customer Reviews for PROMAG ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine

PROMAG ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine

Use this 50-round capacity drum magazine to unleash a torrent of bullets out of your Ruger® 10/22 and SR-22 rimfire rifle. With double the capacity of 25-round magazines, you'll still be squeezing off rounds while others are reloading. The rugged polymer construction and stainless steel feed lips deliver a smooth and dependable feed. Black finish. Use only high-quality, plated-projectile, high-velocity, round-nose ammunition for best results.
Overall Customer Rating:
1.778 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
12
4 out of 18(22%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Review 1 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Mixed Reviews?

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I personally have had no issues with this drum.I use federal auto match ammo in it and it feeds fine for me.I have read mixed reviews but i reccomend it.Works well in my 10/22.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2012

buy 2 25-rnd banana mags

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The main thing with this is what a pain it is to load. I filled it and fired off 50 rounds. It didn't jam until toward the end, then i had 3 jams/misfeeds in the last 10-15 rounds.
But it's a HUGE pain to load. You can load up two stacked banana magazines in less than half the time it takes to load this one. It's kind of a clever design - a ratcheting lever that lets you put in a few rounds at a time, then ratchet it for a few more rounds.
It's a long & tedious process to load it, and your thumb will be mighty worn out by the time you're done.
Get two 25-round magazines instead, and just clip them together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2012

If you see it turn away.

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I'm sending mine back. Never fired a shot with it. Trying to load it, it jams. Tried extracting an unspent cartridge, it jams the action. Bottom line. It's not a plinker, it's a jammer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2012

pro-mag 50 round drum for ruger 10/22

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Initially, really hard to load, almost to the point of being too much trouble. No jams. Doesn't always seat well into the gun. Not sure if I should reccommend it or not. Maybe with more use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2012

jam city

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i think it is the way i am loading it but it jams about every tweve shots. at first it would not feed at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2012

Thanks

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was looking at buying a PPS50/22 ( a copy of a
famous Soviet PPSh-41 ). My son said "why not
get the drum magazine for your 10/22 and get
almost the same look" After reading the reviews
of this magazine, I decided not to get this magazine
for my 10/22.
Thanks to all of you for your reviews and saving
me from some certain grief
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2012

Piece of junk

By
Knew it was probably junk when I bought it, hate being right. Kept it more as a conversation piece, I use BX-25 at the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012

Pro Mag ...SHAME ON YOU

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased this item at cabelas along with my new SR22 Ruger rifle. What a sweet addition this would be for this new .22 ! NOT ! After Trying my usual brands of ammo with no success ...4 different ones... I ventured out to buy what they recommended. If you read the instruction sheet it tells you what they recommend .... I bought 2 of their recommended brands ....good stuff.. It wouldnt run in the drum mag either..Best I could do was 2 or 3 rounds befor a jam or no feed. I will be returning this product to cabelas and will give them my thoughts there as well. Oh did I mention I own 3 other rifles that this magazine will fit ? Wouldnt work in any of them either .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011

Do not buy this

By
This would not feed in my gun when i loaded it it would jam and when i put it in the gun and cocked it it jammed and ruined the bullet and bent the bullets do not buy this piece of junk
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2011

Not the best - overpriced for it's functionality

By
Recommended with reservations
This thing is rugged and solid, but is very difficult to load and finicky about ammunition.
If you don'[t figure out how to use the loading lever you will get very frustrated very quickly. I bought mine used so did not get a manual - cannot find one online.
You need to press the loading button in very hard to make it catch before you pull it down to draw back the mag follower. Took quite a while to figure it out.
Now I can get 50 rounds into it but it is still a pain and is much slower than a Butler Creek 25 with a speedloader. They are much better value and much more reliable and easy to load.
I was going to give it two stars but it gets three because it looks so wicked cool on my SR-22. When it works it is awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2011

Wont fit in gun

By
Gender: Male
The clip would not fit in my 10 22. it could not be pushed up enough to make click, therefor the rounds wouldnt cycle. I may have got a bad one but i recomend not buying!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2011

Pro Mag 10/22 Drum

By
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
*I would not purchase this*
It was a pain to load and jammed on about every shot. I loaded some 10/22 hot clips (30 rounds) and never had a problem.
I do NOT recommend this!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2011

Tons of fun

By
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this drum mag on 02-25-11 and used it on 02-27-11 I put 150 rounds on my brand new 10/22 and didn’t have a single miss feed or jam. I used bulk federal .22lr copper fmj. Once you get the hang of loading it you can reload the 50 rounds in minutes. It can be trying to get going but once you do it’s a blast. I wish the body was made of metal but I can get over that. I didn’t give it 5 stars because it can be hard on your hands to reload repeatedly. I would consider buying another one except for the price. I will get a lot of use from this when going out plinking.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2010

JUNK

By
ProMag should be ashamed selling this thing, it does not work! even after doing every imaginable adjustment under the sun for 4 days! Should be sold as a "NOVELTY ITEM" for 15 bucks, if anything.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2010

a shame

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I couldn't get this thing to even load 10 rounds without them flipping upside down or backwards, let alone trying to fire anything out of it. It looks cool but I'm ashamed to admit I didn't read the reviews of it first. This is the new and improved model with the loading lever on the back which gave me some hope it would be ok but it's going back to Promag soon. Sorry I wasted my time and money on this piece of junk.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2010

Very Disappointed

By
Location: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The dang thing does not come with instructions for loading. It's a bear to get shells loaded into drum and will not accept more than two shells at a time. I believe I would spend all of my time on any hunting trip trying to reload this thing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009

promag 10/22 50 round drum magazine

By
Location: montrose colo
Dont buy its a piece of junk cant load it right wont chamber first round constataly jamming up your rifle very poor manufactureer needs a big upgrade to even make it work i sent mine back and settled with 25 round and 30 round clips so now worry free.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProMag™ 10/22® . 50-Round Drum Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2009

not happy

By
Location: ohio waterfowel hunting is my first love
hard to load and it will jam every 3 to 4 shots looks nice but needs a lot of work to be worth the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.