Customer Reviews for CALDWELL Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo

CALDWELL Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo

The most affordable Lead Sled is also one of the most compact gunrests you can buy. It may be small, but this design is just as stable and versatile as you would expect from the brand. Smooth pivoting elevation system adjusts fast and precisely using a single knob. Heavy-duty steel construction ensures you of a rock-solid shooting platform. Integrated weight tray holds a 25-lb. bag of shot. The added weight and a heavy-duty spring in the frame significantly reduces recoil on all calibers. Offset frame accommodates all rifles including detachable high-capacity magazine models like the AR-15, as well as lever-action guns. Durable rubberized coating on front support. Welded steel brace with rubber boot secures the butt of the gun. Gun-retention strap on front support. Imported. Weight: 15 lbs. Dimensions: 26-1/2"L x 18-1/2"W x 13"H.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
36 out of 38(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Review 1 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for pump shotguns

Date:October 27, 2013
never even made it to the range put it together in my house put my pump shotgun in the holders strap it in and realized i would have to unstrap the gun to chamber a new round butt of gun does not fit tight to much play
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sled Solo Stinks

Date:October 2, 2012
The Solo is a cheaper Caldwel Sled in price, and quality. I have used the bigger more expensive sleds that function flawlessly. I purchased the Solo thinking that it was lighter and smaller, making it easier to carry to and from the range, what a mistake. Spend the extra money, the others are the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead Sled

Date:June 3, 2013
I used this with 30.06 and could not come up with better groups than on sand bags. My results are just sub MOA without sled, and about 1.5 with it. The recoil is reduced tremendously. But I won't bring it to the range anymore . Oh , it holds the rifle very nicely for cleaning .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent for the money

Date:April 1, 2014
Bought this product and with a little assemble required had it on the range the same day. Excellent for sighting in any caliber. I put a 25lb dumbbell in the holder and never felt a recoil from my 30-06 to my 308 even sighting in my 12 with 3" slugs for deer hunting it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

more then adequate

Date:March 4, 2014
I found it good for lower powered rifles, my 30-06 made the front hop even with 25 lb in the tray so you do have to re-sight after every shot but that is not a big problem. it does suck up the recoil quite well so it saves your shoulder. It is very good for bore sighting and zeroing in as you can have your hand free when adjusting you scope. and checking your grouping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo

Date:August 27, 2013
l tryed with different rifles. place 25# of lead in the sled and started with the 25.06 nicely hit target in center after a few rounds. The bigger bores worked well to but be sure to put your shoulder behind the butt stop on the rest cause the 30-06, 7mm mag and the 300 mag will still push it back. After many rounds fired my shoulder didn't have any pain and it gave me a better feel of my weapons. It takes the human flinching out of the equation.
But once Zeroed shoot it free hand and see if you are hold true to the recoil cause the Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo want be in the field when you are hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value!

Date:August 27, 2013
Good rest, increased my accuracy at the range and removed recoil. Only drawback for me was being left handed. This sled model is set up more for righties.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead Sled

Date:July 16, 2013
Tried with .22 and AR with no issues. Adjustments were easy. Required assembly which was no problem and simple. Need to get some lead yet...also bought the caldwell lead bag but with the lighter calibers haven't needed the extra weight yet. Will try that next on .50cal ML, 30-06, and 12ga slugs. Should make sighting it much easier on the range. Very well constructed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product at a good price

Date:December 5, 2012
Very easy to assemble and use. Rock solid and steady for sighting in. Easy to make elevation adjustments when sighting in guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead Sled OK

Date:February 23, 2012
It works ok. It does jump around a bit, so I need some extra weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:September 30, 2014
Great Product
Easy to assemble
Perfect for sighting in and the range
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lead sled

Date:September 16, 2014
Great product, use all the time. Greatly reduces the recoil to my shoulder. Can shoot longer on the range and reduce my shot patterns down-range. Would recommend this product to anyone who does a lot of load research shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:January 7, 2014
Purchased the Lead Sled Solo last week and it arrived in perfect condition. Takes about 10-minutes to assemble; instructions are excellent with good photos.
I purchased this model specifically for the adaption to an AR rifle and it performs very well.
Be sure to also purchase a 25-pound lead shot bag with this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

zero with little effort

Date:December 17, 2013
after properly installing rifle on the sled there is no movement when zeroed on target. My 270 and 243's are all 5 in a quarter at 100 yards. Thanks for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

oNE OF THE Best

Date:September 27, 2013
Did its job very well with no problems at all took 6 rds to sight in from start to finish last was all in 1 inch bulls eye.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for sighting in

Date:August 13, 2013
makes sighting in rifles a lot easier was well worth the purchase especially when on sale
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy this product !!!

Date:May 19, 2013
Works great with AR platform,just makes setting up your scope that much easier. You can add some weight to the built in tray if you want, with .223 did not really need it. Well built a good investment especially for AR style.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job!

Date:May 7, 2013
Used this to sight in a 20 gauge slug gun and it performed great. Will try and sight in a 30.06 next with it. Bought 2 Caldwell bags and filled them with sand and it offered the stability needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice!

Date:February 19, 2013
Simple to use and really nice quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well !

Date:February 19, 2013
Easy to assemble and fits my rifles well. Good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 38