Customer Reviews for CALDWELL Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo

CALDWELL Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo

The most affordable Lead Sled is also one of the most compact gunrests you can buy. It may be small, but this design is just as stable and versatile as you would expect from the brand. Smooth pivoting elevation system adjusts fast and precisely using a single knob. Heavy-duty steel construction ensures you of a rock-solid shooting platform. Integrated weight tray holds a 25-lb. bag of shot. The added weight and a heavy-duty spring in the frame significantly reduces recoil on all calibers. Offset frame accommodates all rifles including detachable high-capacity magazine models like the AR-15, as well as lever-action guns. Durable rubberized coating on front support. Welded steel brace with rubber boot secures the butt of the gun. Gun-retention strap on front support. Imported. Weight: 15 lbs. Dimensions: 26-1/2"L x 18-1/2"W x 13"H.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.699 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
80 out of 83(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Review 1 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not impressed

Date:January 6, 2015
Not happy with the lead sled solo. Hard to keep gun from shifting around in the rest. Hard to get into a position where you can actually look straight through your scope. In my opinion, you're much better off with some good sand bags.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for pump shotguns

Date:October 27, 2013
never even made it to the range put it together in my house put my pump shotgun in the holders strap it in and realized i would have to unstrap the gun to chamber a new round butt of gun does not fit tight to much play
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sled Solo Stinks

Date:October 2, 2012
The Solo is a cheaper Caldwel Sled in price, and quality. I have used the bigger more expensive sleds that function flawlessly. I purchased the Solo thinking that it was lighter and smaller, making it easier to carry to and from the range, what a mistake. Spend the extra money, the others are the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead Sled

Date:June 3, 2013
I used this with 30.06 and could not come up with better groups than on sand bags. My results are just sub MOA without sled, and about 1.5 with it. The recoil is reduced tremendously. But I won't bring it to the range anymore . Oh , it holds the rifle very nicely for cleaning .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product for the money

Date:January 7, 2015
I purchased a new 7mm-08 last year,and i was unable to zero it in, so i decided to buy the led sled solo to see if the problem was me,or the rifle.With the lead sled i was able to zero it in. I was going to sell the rifle,glad i bought the sled.One draw back is,i have to re-adjust the sled between every shot.Make sure you get a 25 lb. bag of shot for it, or it will move around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for sighting your gun!

Date:December 30, 2014
This gun sled works great keeping the gun in the same position and absorbs all the kick. It was four different ways to adjust the gun. This sled is almost useless with out having any weight in it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rest

Date:December 30, 2014
Works pretty good. I put a sand bag on the front legs and it doesn't move at all now!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice

Date:December 30, 2014
does the job. good deal for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great item

Date:October 21, 2014
Great item & easy to assemble & use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent for the money

Date:April 1, 2014
Bought this product and with a little assemble required had it on the range the same day. Excellent for sighting in any caliber. I put a 25lb dumbbell in the holder and never felt a recoil from my 30-06 to my 308 even sighting in my 12 with 3" slugs for deer hunting it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

more then adequate

Date:March 4, 2014
I found it good for lower powered rifles, my 30-06 made the front hop even with 25 lb in the tray so you do have to re-sight after every shot but that is not a big problem. it does suck up the recoil quite well so it saves your shoulder. It is very good for bore sighting and zeroing in as you can have your hand free when adjusting you scope. and checking your grouping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo

Date:August 27, 2013
l tryed with different rifles. place 25# of lead in the sled and started with the 25.06 nicely hit target in center after a few rounds. The bigger bores worked well to but be sure to put your shoulder behind the butt stop on the rest cause the 30-06, 7mm mag and the 300 mag will still push it back. After many rounds fired my shoulder didn't have any pain and it gave me a better feel of my weapons. It takes the human flinching out of the equation.
But once Zeroed shoot it free hand and see if you are hold true to the recoil cause the Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo want be in the field when you are hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value!

Date:August 27, 2013
Good rest, increased my accuracy at the range and removed recoil. Only drawback for me was being left handed. This sled model is set up more for righties.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead Sled

Date:July 16, 2013
Tried with .22 and AR with no issues. Adjustments were easy. Required assembly which was no problem and simple. Need to get some lead yet...also bought the caldwell lead bag but with the lighter calibers haven't needed the extra weight yet. Will try that next on .50cal ML, 30-06, and 12ga slugs. Should make sighting it much easier on the range. Very well constructed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product at a good price

Date:December 5, 2012
Very easy to assemble and use. Rock solid and steady for sighting in. Easy to make elevation adjustments when sighting in guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lead Sled OK

Date:February 23, 2012
It works ok. It does jump around a bit, so I need some extra weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid gunrest

Date:July 29, 2015
I like everything about this rest . The elevation adjustments are great . I also like the velcro strap that helps to hold down the barrel .I know the cut away design is for guns with multi- round / longer magazines , but I like that I can reach around and into the trigger of my gun .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reloading Helper

Date:March 31, 2015
The Caldwell Lead Sled Sols help me eliminate one more human error in reloading. That is the shooting part and help me find the balance of powder, bullet and the rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it

Date:January 27, 2015
Should have bought one of these long ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Caldwell® Lead Sled Solo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rock solid

Date:January 14, 2015
Over the years I invested in several different products that are similar to the Lead Sled Solo but nothing came close to what I wanted. I should have purchased the Lead Sled Solo to begin with. The Solo is rock solid and performs perfectly regardless of the weapon I put in it. The Lead Sled is capable of handling rifles with high capacity magazines which the others could not. It can be adjusted for any situation. I love my Lead Sled Solo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 83