Customer Reviews for IMMI Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

IMMI Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy

At 13-1/4"L and 6-1/2"W, these decoys have a natural, highly visible profile. Vibrant, anatomically perfect paint schemes along with natural, relaxed body and head postures convince ducks all's well. The weighted keel's front end tapers for fast, efficient line storage and provides space for a decoy weight. Plus the wide-bottomed triangular keel requires less decoy-bag space. Made of indestructible polyethylene for reliable performance through punishing conditions. Six drakes, six hens. Per 12.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
42 out of 46(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Review 21 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: E-City N.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GHG Hot Buy II

Date:September 19, 2009
These decoys are awesome! After receiving them I was very impressed with the paint and mold scheme. They are compact not to heavy and feel very sturdy. I have used GHG decoys in the past and can attest to there durability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Head Mallards

Date:August 28, 2009
i bought the green head mallards hot buy in 2005 i have used them in the toughest condions you can think of from hot weather to so cold these freeze in ice. i have killed many numbers over them but i only have 4 left so ill be getting more!!!! for the small price and the increase $ in every thing else they are the best!!!! " THANKS GREEN HEAD"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rhode island ri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

another great product from ghg

Date:August 17, 2009
i really like them. i hunt just about every day. ghg are the only decoys to use. the only problem i see is they are small. but that is the only problem i see. i have found all other decoys leek or the paint chips easly. thanks ghg for great decoys. also im not very nice to the decoys they live in the boat and get thrown around. people ask me are those brad new. these decoys are tough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:November 4, 2012
Realistic paint scheme
-I recommend applying a matte clear coat
Low profile weighted keel
-limits some weight options
-1 point to attach line to keel
Small size
All decoys have a relaxed/resting body posture
Great for getting started on a budget or adding numbers to your spread
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good decoys!!!

Date:October 12, 2012
I was a little iffy on buying these decoys when I started reading reviews, but I took a chance and bought a couple dozen. I'm here to tell you these are great decoys for the money. The paint scheme is pretty good for the most part, but the best way to keep the paint on these decoys is to go to hobby lobby and get a can of clear coat spray paint with a dull finish not glossy and paint your decoys. I have used these decoys on 10 or more hunts and they still look good on the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the money...

Date:April 3, 2012
Good decoys for the money. The paint scheme is realistic and they float well. So far the've held up well against the Colorado winters. Good base decoy for a large spread. I gave it four stars because the paint is pretty fragile but that can be fixed with a can of protective sealant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good "filler" decoy

Date:September 22, 2011
I use these to mix in with the more expensive flock. They are a great filler. They do have minor chips in the paint but nothing to concerning after one season. The birds flock into them just fine. Since they are smaller than a regular size decoy I can put out more when the migration starts without causing to much back pain. I like them and will continue to get them to make the flock look bigger on the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Middletown. DE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent Decoys

Date:September 22, 2011
These are okay decoys. They are Best for the beginning hunters.The bottoms paint chipped a little, but not as bad. I probably treat these things the worst than any other decoy, and they look they best. Save ur money for better ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Harrison, AR
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hot buy mallards

Date:July 31, 2011
Great decoys for the money. I gave them a 4 because the paint comes off pretty easy and all of them are in the same body position. If you do what I did and spray all of them with a flat clear coat, it saves the paint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:July 9, 2011
Bought this set, and two others from GHG for my first season last year. Held up great so far, even being dragged around in thick brush. We have strong currents and drastic tide changes here so weight them good. I used stretch cord 7.5 oz weights on each and a 2 pounder to keep the spread from drifting too much. Got them seperated in a 12 slot bag, so the paint has not chipped yet. Been hunted about 15 times last season and even brought some Mallards directly into my spread. Worth the money to build a decent spread.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Spread

Date:January 16, 2011
Bought these two seasons ago when I first started to get into duck hunting, they are a great way to start your decoy collection. Quality for a great price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great deal

Date:January 11, 2011
these are great decs for the price a little small but still the more decoys the better right. the only problem i had with mine was one of the keels were broken but i didnt really care i bought 4 dozen of them, it would be great if they made other spiecies
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado River - California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot Buy

Date:December 21, 2010
just got mine in today..took them out of the package and inspected them...yes there are some flaws but for the pricee i dont think one could complain...time will tell how they hold up..overall i think there a good buy..paint quality could be better tho..lots of over spray
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kearney, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for the price

Date:September 8, 2010
I bought these 2 seasons ago and are still in fairly good shape. there are a few that are chipping paint but these decoys have had there use and abuse. no problems with sinking and they look overall really good. cant really complain for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: istanbul,turkiye
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:March 15, 2010
useful, lifelike shape and color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: west tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for price

Date:January 11, 2010
they are a little smale but do the job. look real and dont glare.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: chardon,OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smaller than full size

Date:October 20, 2009
i got 2 dozen of these deeks and they look great birds don't shy away because of a great paint job.....the only reason i gve it 4 stars instead of 5 is that they never mentioned that they were smaller than the full size deeks. love ghg stuff....just wish they would inform u more about deek size....also would be nice to see some "armor" plated deeks like herters has
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Looking but Very Fragile

Date:October 31, 2011
I love the look of these decoys but am suprised at how easy the paint is damaged. I am a very careful person when it comes to my decoys. I don't use decoys bags. I gently stack my decoys in a jet sled and gently place them in and out of the water. I also only use weights that wrap around the keel. never the neck or body of the decoy. After 3 uses I noticed scuffs on them. I don't expect these dekes to last more than 2-3 seasons. I am trying the whole clearcoat method others have talked about. We will see how that works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aliright to add numbers to spread

Date:July 22, 2011
The paint on the drakes head is chipping away after a year, probably about 20 or so uses. Its not terrible and can could be touched up rather easily. I wouldn't buy them expecting them to hold up for too long though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Greenhead Gear® "Hot Buy II"™ Weighted-Keel Mallard Decoy
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: chicago
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

HOT BUY not so much

Date:August 15, 2010
Very good decoys for the price. I have been hunting ducks for 10 yrs now. These decoys have a great paint scheme, but they chip scratch very easily, once the paint chips it doesn't stop and i had 5 out of my 12 decoys with paint chips right out of the box. So if you are looking for decoys to use for a year these are them, if you are looking for decoys to last a few years i wouldn't recommend these spend a little more money and get a better grade decoy. Also the keel is very short and ACE anchors don't work on the keels they slip right off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 46