Customer Reviews for TAPCO Tapco AK Magazine

TAPCO Tapco AK Magazine

The Tapco AK magazine offers the most advanced technology to feed your Kalashnikov. Horizontal exterior grooves offer unique styling and an excellent gripping surface. The heavy-duty spring has an anti-tilt component for increased reliability. Constructed of reinforced composite with a metal floor plate. Lifetime warranty. Made in USA. Available: 10, 20, 30 Round Magazine. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tapco AK Magazine
Review 1 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Mags

Date:February 22, 2012
These mags feed perfectly and fit my Saiga 7.63x39 very well. I did have to remove some material so they would seat, but I expected that. Overall great mags and recommend to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect size for an AK

Date:January 17, 2012
This grip is perfect for my AK. The shorter size does not interfear with a mag change.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Peters, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic!!!

Date:November 19, 2011
These mags are great! Weight is roughly the same as surplus steel mags, but at half the cost. Used in a WASR 10, most mags will wobble and make noise. Not these! They fit tight and secure and being made of polymer, are very quiet. Feed and function is flawless with all ammo types from FMJ to HP. Plus, Tapco in USA manufacture and guranteed for life. Stock up now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hiawassee, Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good mag for price

Date:June 8, 2011
I now have 4 of these mags and have not had any problems with them except, before I could use them in my AK I had to slightly modify the fit. The mag would not seat in the mag well because the rear 'spring-loaded tab' would not catch the mag. Tapco states this is because all AK's are not built to exact specs. I simply had to use a file on the underside of the rear tab for about 30 seconds and it fit fine and there is no problems. (I contacted Tapco for instructions on filing the tab which was very easy)..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:April 1, 2011
Just ran about 20 rounds thur each mag ( bought 4) all fed great a little tight going in the well but they work great so no complants
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Davenport, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good clip

Date:September 19, 2009
This is the only kind of clip to get for an AK. It will always work (no jamming.)
The only improvement I’d make is the bottom cover isn’t black like the rest of the clip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rugged

Date:August 25, 2009
lightweight & durable, fine product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rector Ar.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tapco mags

Date:July 14, 2009
I think the tapco magazines are good products.They work great in both my ak's. they feed smooth and you will have no rust! Quality at a good price is what you get with tapco magazines.As allways Cabelas has good products at a good price. If I need more Magazines?They will be Tapco from Cabelas. You will not go wrong with these magazines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brandon, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:April 17, 2009
I have now purchased 14 of these TAPCO mags; they are the very best. With so much junk for sale these days, it is refreshing to see a product that is very well made, functions flawlessly, and is priced fairly. Cannot imagine a better mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waterloo, Iowa Sportsman
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough, Dependable, Flawless

Date:April 8, 2009
This Tapco 7.62x39mm 30 round magazine is light weight and solid as a rock. I loaded the magazine for the first time and was impressed. The rounds went into the clip smoothly and with a full clip I could hardly believe it was topped off, it felt so light. I tried out the Tapco magazine at the shooting range. The clip locked into the rifle like a charm, better than the rifles original magazines that require some manipulation to snap into place. I fired off all 30 rounds without a hitch. I want to thank the Cabelas review section. Reading the reviews from others who purchased a compeditors magazine was instrumental in my decision to purchase the Tapco 30 round Magazine. I will be purchasing Tapco products in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fits almost all my AK's

Date:December 9, 2012
Tapco's fit in almost all the ak's that I have. From a WASR, Norinco, to my Zastava pap. It does NOT fit in the Saiga AK's, Promag (or better yet Surefire) are the mags for the Saiga. These actually fit better than the old metal ak mags as these fit tight and do not wiggle or jiggle. I give these a solid 4, they are very well built, better than any AK Promag that's for sure. I also benefit as I live I'm a state that allow hit cap mags. Cabelas needs to start selling the Korean 75rd twist drums. Then again, three 30rd tapcos are by far a cheaper option. I love these mags. Keep them unloaded while not in use or the spring will weaken over time! They would be rated at 5 if the follower had the bolt hold open option in the magazine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great range mags

Date:July 11, 2012
These are our range magazines (metal ones stay home most of the time) and they work just fine. We have a Century Int'l Arms WASR 10/63 double stack and we haven't had problems with them.
Initially, you may have to do some trimming to get them to fit correctly (or go caveman and cycle it a few hundred times without ammo), but after that you're good to go. Only 2 of the 6 we bought needed any alterations.
Aftermarket "speed loaders" fit very well on these, so if you any stripper clips (from an SKS) you can load 30 rounds in about 10 seconds... great when you have 4 shooters using the rifle!
The bottom does flair out more than the metal mags, so if you're looking at loading these into a tacti-cool vest/mag pouch or something, the fit may not be the best.
Also, the feed lips are plastic so I wouldn't recommend storing them loaded like you would metal mags as you'll have all the spring pressure pushing on plastic. It may be fine, but I'd rather not risk it.
The front detent where you hook it into the AK receiver doesn't have the same tactile feel as the metal mags, so sometimes you have to feel around to make sure it's hooked before rocking back to lock it in. Not a big deal on the range as we're not "spray and pray commandos" (one hit is better than 30 misses), but for some newer shooters, it may be a source of anxiety by doing what they're instructed and having the mag fall out because it wasn't hooked in front..
Overall-
Pros: Lightweight, cycles well, inexpensive, durable, speed-loader compatible, good fit
Cons: May require trimming for initial fit, no metal feed lips, bottom flairs out, front catch not as pronounced as metal mags.
If it wasn't for the initial fitting thing and plastic feed lips, it would get 5 stars. I would buy again and definitely recommend them to anyone looking to add a few more mags to their collection, especially for range use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Home of the N.O.Saints. La.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tapco mags

Date:February 23, 2012
I have all 3 sizes, 10-20-30 rds. Never had a feeding problem with any of them. I will mention that they do not fit tight in my WASR10. They do wobble and are noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Calais, ME.
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tapco for yugo.

Date:September 6, 2010
This mag works well in my yugo m70. I say well and not great because the mag fits a little too tight and is a little tricky to insert in the mag well, unlike the metal mags do. I also do not like that the mag does not keep the bolt back after the mag is empty either, but i knew that beforehand so no points off there. However that aside, i like that the polymer mag is lighter in weight and has some ribbing to better grip the mag. Overall this mag functions well and have had no problems with jams or improper feeding; making this a good mag for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: indianapolis, indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NO JAMS AT ALL

Date:May 24, 2010
I found these mags to work alot better than bulgarian surplus mags I already had. They feed smoothly and seem to be pretty tough for polymer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:March 5, 2010
The only thing that i dont like is that the bottom clip is not black but got several on sale and made up for it. Awesome mag fit good into a wasr ak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: de
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:October 22, 2009
this clip looks great on my nhm-91. the only problem i had was the tab that connects to the mag release was too big and the clip wouldn't enter the receiver. since its made from reinforced composite, it was easily shaved down to its proper size. with the slight modifications with a knife... it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Tyro, VA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get out your knife

Date:February 24, 2012
After whittling down the back corners it fits well enough. its not bad for the price, but It took some getting to get it to work right. Also would be better if there was a peep hole to see when you have 30 rounds in like the metal mags I have do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TAPCO AK MAG

Date:December 11, 2012
DID NOT FIT MY AK-47, HAD TO RETURN IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tapco AK Magazine
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a Universal Solution

Date:December 6, 2012
Unfortunately, the Tapco AK-47 magazine is not a universal solution. I have a Yugo Zastava AK and I could not get the Tapco mag to fit/lock in to the magwell. It was not worth the risk of trying to grind or sand the mag to fit. I returned the mag to Cabela's and got a full refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23