Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit

Save on ammunition costs, hone your shooting skills and just have fun. A complete replacement assembly, the Rimfire Conversion Kit installs as easily as field stripping the pistol. Simply remove the standard slide assembly, slide on the conversion kit, add the .22 LR magazine (included) and fire away. The .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit is available for SIG. Sauer P220 and P226 models. The conversion features a hard-coat aluminum billet. The kit features adjustable target sights and comes complete with a hard carry case. Available: SIG 220, SIG 226.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
11 out of 17(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Piece

Date:March 1, 2014
Shot the conversion kit right out of the box; literally right out of the box, no cleaning, no wipe down. The range only had Remington 22 ammo. 500 rounds, only one jam. Absolutely loved it.
The rear sights were not centered when I took it out of the box. Sight adjustment tool was included, quick fix. Shot dead on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Learning Tool

Date:November 14, 2013
I purchased this conversion for my P220R. I used Winchester Wild Cat ammo. Not one hiccup in over two years of use with the Wild Cat. Had some issues with other bulk ammo. I use this set up with my CCW students who need some more time with the fundamentals or that are new to shooting. This gives them the feel of a full size firearm with out the cost of normal ammo. While the mags will not lock the slide back and are very expensive, they are durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Typical SIG - It Just Works...

Date:August 26, 2013
Understanding that .22LR semi-auto firearms, whether rifle or pistol, all have 'that certain ammo' that the firearm functions well with, I haven't found the conversion kit I purchased for the P226 Elite to have a favorite.
It just works. Period.
I could only find CCI Standard Velocity .22LR when the kit was delivered in June. After running 5 rounds at a time through it, letting the barrel cool down, run the Boresnake through it, run 5 more through...continued like that for the first box without one hiccup.
After the initial first box break-in, I continued to shoot the CCI Standard through it - again with no hiccups.
Only issue with the design is the slide not locking back on the last round - if a Sig enthusiast can figure out how to change the follower and sell one on his own website, surely Exeter can figure it out. The eventual peening of the breechface will adversely affect the reliability of ignition.
Keep your firearm properly cleaned and lubed, and you'll have few issues. This is a good alternative to expensive 9mm for plinking or target practice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like all .22LR's, it can be ammo picky

Date:July 15, 2013
I own this kit for my P226 and it works incredibly well. Keep in mind, anytime you fire a .22LR, all .22's I've ever owned have been picky (with the exception of my .22 lever action rifle and revolver).
SIG recommends CCI Min-mags for break-in and I'd consider it broken in after 1,000 rounds. Most of the issues I've had were FTF's or FTE's, but they are not common at all.
With this set-up, you need to shoot a high velocity round or it will not work. Please, do not fire standard velocity rounds or you will not be happy with the outcome, as the slide will not cycle.
Also, be sure to clean and lube properly. I'd suggest using a lube like TW25B on the rails or something similar and not oil. This solves many of the problems with these kits.
From my experience, it doesn't always cycle well with a hollow point bullet. Many of the Remington bullets don't feed well at all.
If you don't like the fact the slide does not lock back on the last round, there are a few aftermarket fixes that replace the magazine follower and fix this issue. I've put them into mine and I'm extremely happy now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap way to fire your full framed weapon

Date:June 11, 2013
Practice with your P226 9mm at the cost of 22lr. Have run all types of ammo with only 2 jams, out of 600+ rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LEARN HOW IT WORKS !

Date:June 2, 2013
These conversion kits operate on a very small powder charge so you must maintain a firm grip and a locked elbow when firing. If you give any momentum back to the cycle you will have problems. I have used mine often and it is a joy to shoot. Load a spent shell in your mag first and your slide will stay open when your last round is fired. Go to the range and try again , if done with some effort, you will have fun. P.S. KEEP THE SYSTEM CLEAN!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great disappointment

Date:December 30, 2012
I purchased this for my Sig P220. After much trial & error I have come to the following conclusions. All of the unfavorable reports on Cabela's reviews and reviews on other web sights, blogs and forums all agree on the same thing. The slide won't stay back after the last shot is fired. This conversion kit demands high velocity ammo or else you will constantly get FTF & FTE. It will only properly fire CCI Mini-Mags, CCI Stingers or Federal Game Shok (810 not 510) bullets to make the action function. The problem is with the ammo rather than the product. If you try to use the bulk .22 ammo sold by Cabela's, regardless of the manufacturer (Federal, Remington, Winchester etc.) you will be guaranteed constant FTF & FTE. I've even polished the feed ramp but it didn't help. You have to buy the expensive .22 ammo to make this conversion kit work. This defeats the purpose of being able to go plinking with low cost .22 ammo. A box of 50 CCI Stingers costs almost double what it costs me to reload 50 45 ACP bullets. At that cost I might as well shoot the 45's that the gun was originally designed to shoot. As far as accuracy goes, when using the proper ammo, this will be able to hammer nails at 25 yards - it's that accurate. The bullets seem like they go through the same holes. Sig needs to redesign this thing. Maybe a lighter recoil spring will work. Another reviewer stated not to buy this and get a dedicated .22 instead. I agree. Sorry, Cabela's but I'm returning this and buying a .22 that works - like a revolver. Revolvers shoot anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Upstate, NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor quality

Date:April 16, 2012
I can't believe Sig makes this. I put it on my Sig 226 and ran a box of Winchester HV ammo through it, or at least tried to. It FTE'd and/or FTF'd almost every round!!!!!!. In one mag full I had to rack the slide manually every round to get it to feed. Basically it became a non-auto, manually operated gun. Then I grabbed a box of cheapo federal HV solids, and to my surprise, I had no problems. I went back to the Winchester HV's and the problems reoccurred now about 50% of the time. I never would have believed Sig would have made something that ammo sensitive. So what, it will only shoot CCI's and a few other brands?!?!?!?!?!!? When it works and shoots, it's sweet, when it doesn't , it's a piece of garbage. I'd be curious to see if the problems clear up after some kind of a break-in period. As another reviewer stated, maybe it needs more lube, but I cleaned and oiled it exactly as recommended before shooting it. Maybe there is a design problem with the spring tension, the plastic recoil guide, the ejectors and extractors, and the design of the mag. Maybe there are burrs or the parts are misaligned. They put all this attention on an ATI adjustable rear sight while the other components are a pile of junk. While I dislike the slide not locking back with the last round, my Kimber 1911 conversion kit doesn't either, but that one works flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baghdad Embassy Security Force, Baghdad, Iraq
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Practice

Date:December 29, 2011
Does everything you would expect, except stay open after the last round. If that is a problem for you, then just put a dummy round in the magazine first then load the live ammo on top. It isn't generally a good idea to mindlessly pull the trigger until the magazine runs dry anyway. You should always know how many you have fired and how many are remaining. That's part of the practice session! Most "combat" qualification courses require you to fire a specific number of shots, not just rock and roll until the slide locks back. Pay attention to what you are doing. This isn't a toy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Expected More

Date:January 28, 2011
Like many people I liked the idea of practicing the trigger pull and the cost savings with using .22 ammo with my full size Sig pistol.
However, the fact that the slide doesn’t stay open on the last round ended up being a deal breaker for me. I discovered this lack of functionality is the same weather you buy this .22 conversion kit or you start by buying the .22 classic Pxxx and later convert it to a center fire.
I was ready to buy until I discovered this and would consider it a major design deficiency. With the slide not staying open on the last round fired you are guaranteed to end up dry firing it and eventually damaging the gun, not to mentioning the annoyance of not knowing for sure if the camber is empty. I doubt anyone really wants to always have to count the number of shots fired to eliminate dry firing.
I know Sig Arms is regarded as one of the top manufactures but this idea needs to be taken back to the drawing board.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERY GOOD .22LR Conversion, Works Excellent

Date:January 16, 2010
I've had my .22 conversion for more than 1 year now, and have nothing bad to say about the kit, Mines has functioned virtually Flawless with me No defects in Workmanship or cycling various ammo through it. Any high velocity ammo cycles well as well as the lower end stuff. Only the occasional misfeed will happen on the ramp, but only once in a while. Fired atleast 8000 rounds if not more and shows no meaningful wear. Also makes me feel so much better knowing switching between .45 and .22 only takes seconds literally. Only at the range does it gets mistaken for the mosquito sometimes but thats something I can live with. Get extra Clips. Shoots very accurate out of the box. I average 1"-2" groupings at 15 yards depending on ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LOUISIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:November 4, 2009
AS MUCH AS I ENJOY SHOOTING, THE COST BREAK ON AMMO MADE IT NECESSARY. BUT , THIS THING IS A JOY.
TRIGGER TRAINING IS AMAZING. LIKE DRY FIRE PRACTICE
WITH A TARGET TO SCORE. 500 ROUNDS AND NOT A FLAW (EXCLUDING A FEW AMMO MISFIRES).
WISH IT LOCKED BACK ON EMPTY, BUT YOU CAN'T HAVE EVERYTHING.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: central virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Conversions dissappointment

Date:September 14, 2009
I may trash mine or take it to a gun smith to see if I can salvage anything. Excellent idea, poor execution.
As a real lover of plinking, and target shooting I thought the SIG conversion kit for my P.220 would be ideal. Best of both worlds so to say, cheap ammo, practice with a gun I love to shoot. However, the design is lacking. The guide rod is plastic so it gets out of position easily as the rough edges of the guide spring gouges into the plastic with every shot. There are severe ramping issues as well. I've never seen a gun split a .22 calibur bullet in half until I got the conversion kit, even while using the recommended ammo.
The problem lies in the magazine which you have to press up on to keep in the correct position but if you press too hard then it causes the round to get stove piped instead of entering the barrel. The magazine fails to ramp correctly when you put more than four rounds in it at a time though it claims to hold 10.
When it does shoot it is highly accurate, but you have to oil the slide about every 3 rounds. This conversion requires plenty of "oil" till it almost drips out, or else the slide will not operate correctly.
All in all I expected more from such a renowned and respected company. They should go back to the drawing board for a re-design or perhaps just some refinements may solve all the problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig Sauer Conversion

Date:August 23, 2009
The Sig Sauer .22 Conversion kit worked flawlessly on my model .226 without failure using .22 high velocity over 500 rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Milford, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't bother

Date:August 9, 2009
For the price, get yourself a dedicated .22 pistol. Tried many types of ammo, the CCI hyper velocity stuff works pretty well but pretty much anything else just doesn't work. Very surprised, Sig is a very well regarded manufacturer of pistols, this thing is a real piece of junk. Do love my 226 though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: New Hartford, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P220 .22 LR Conversion Kit

Date:April 3, 2009
Bought this conversion kit for my Sig P220 for a little cheaper shooting.
The switch between the .45ACP slide to the .22LR slide is fast and convenient.
Sig Sauer recommends CCI Mini-Mags 40 Grain Hollowpoints with 1235 FPS velocity for the kit. I have tried two other types of .22LR ammunition with the kit. So you should get ammo which matches these performance criteria.
.22LR - Winchester XPERT22 Hollow Point 36 Grains did NOT fully function the slide. It would eject the expended shell casing but would not strip the new round from the magazine.
.22LR - Remington High Velocity 40 grain hollow point functioned flawlessy with it. No issues with magazine, seated well and tightly.
Magazine does not lock the slide back on last round which is explained in the kit literature. My son's Kimber conversion kit did not either. Seems the norm because of the switch to .22 from .45.
Great way to work on your shooting mechanics without incurring the costs of the full bore centerfire cartridges.
I am happy with the investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® P Series .22 LR Rimfire Conversion Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Adirondack foothills NYS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not ready

Date:March 10, 2009
My Sig P-220 never had feeding or ejection problems until I attempted to run the .22 conversion.
The feeding and ejection difficulties were over-shadowed, however, by the magazine falling out every time I fired the gun.
I am certain a company with such an excellent reputation as Sig Arms will work the thing out, but to say I was disappointed is really understating my overall feeling about this item.
BTW, the conversion for my 1911 runs incredibly reliably.. But, that's another make and model, so to speak.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.