Customer Reviews for STOEGER Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

STOEGER Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo

The .177-caliber X-10 shoots alloy pellets at up to 1,200 fps (1,000 fps with lead). Synthetic stock with textured grips and non-slip deluxe rubber recoil pad. Premounted 4x32mm scope is bore-sighted at 25 yards. Also equipped with fiber-optic sights &#150 rear is green and adjustable; front is red and hooded. Ergonomically cocking grip. Adjustable two-stage trigger. Automatic ambidextrous safety. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 43". Weight: 7.5 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
24 out of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent gun

Date:April 30, 2013
Like most reviews, scope was pretty loose and needed tightening throughout sighting in. Started with predator polymer tips and also tried Gamo pellets. Shot a couple hundred rounds and can get about a fist size group at 30 yds. Not bad gun for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great air rifle for the money

Date:March 26, 2013
super accurate rifle for the money, my 7 yearold son is putting 3 in groups at 125 feet. The scope is good and easy to dial in. Don't even try the alloy pellets that cone with the rifle they are too light and noisy. I use the crosman hollow points for my first choice. they are the best with penetration and accuracy. They almost go through a 5/8 piece of plywood at 50 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 19, 2013
No complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Holly Cow

Date:February 5, 2013
Pulled it out of the box... read the warnings and instructions... Loaded her up... almost shot the bulls eye out at 25 yards... WHAT A BANG!!! It is by no means quiet, I thought I was shooting a .22 long. Lots of punch too. This is more rifle that I thought and the scope is very accurate as well. I've been shooting for 50 years and this is NOT my old daisy... (or Crossman) Retired USA 1SG & Drill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stoeger X- 10

Date:January 22, 2013
The rifle is very nice. The scope on the other hand wasnt even attached on the rear rings so I took it off. Hadnt planned on useing it anyways because of the fiber optic sites which work very well. I was surprised at the penetration power. Shooting at a steel coffee can it made a very little hole going in, and a big one coming out. Cant wait to try it on a squirrel or rabbit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good air rifle

Date:December 11, 2012
I would highly recommend this air rifle for any level shooter. I bought the x10 and a Gamo Whisper Cat, planning on shooting both and selling the one that I liked least. Ended up keeping both... The x10 is the better of the two by far, though. Shooting Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum lead pellets on a 70' range in my back yard, I consistently shoot <2" 10 shot groups with the occasional pelet (maybe 1 out of 20) flying "wild" and hitting 3-4" off center - probably due to inconsistencies in ammo. The only improvement that I can think of would be a more consistent trigger - some pulls it releases with less force than others (possibly also contributing to the wild shots.) Shooting PBA ammo through this rifle isn't for a back yard shooter - the crack is comparable to a .22 short, and it isn't near that loud with lead pellets. Whichever you shoot, make sure you have a good backstop, this rifle has no trouble puttings PBA or lead pellets through 1/2" OSB and the fence pickets behind it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Air rifle

Date:December 11, 2012
Had not had an air rifle since I was a kid. It was the kind of air gun that went "pop" and could knock over an empty can. I was very pleased to have one that fired and felt like the rest of my rifles. This is definately not a kids toy, it's a man toy. Good scope for an entry level air rifle. Fires accurate. Not as quiet as I would have hoped. Sounds like my .22lr.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'll give it the benefit of the doubt.

Date:December 5, 2012
This gun felt great ( feels like a rifle) and shot tight groups for the most part but 2 out of every 10 shots I had a flyer. I put over 250 pellets through it so it may have tightened up more with time. However the majority of the pellets shot tight as a ( insert analogy here.)
This caused me to think the particular gun I had was defective. I do like the stoeger and I do suggest this model it but I did end up returning it for a Gamo Solocam.
On a side note, the return process with Cabelas was stellar and they even through in 3 times the pellets I shot to compensate for the 250 i used up sighting in the stoeger plus additional to sight in the new air gun. I had the new gun before I mailed back the old one. Gotta love Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Pellet Rife

Date:November 23, 2012
Awesome rifle. A little heavier than I thought. Tightened everything up as was suggested by other reviews. A little loud, sounds like a 22. Sighted in at about 20 yards using Raptor Gold pellets. On the money at any distance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get what you pay for

Date:November 21, 2012
Well first would say that if you don't have a thimble to push the pellets in you won't be shooting very long, I was shocked at how hard the pellets went into the barrel, my 12yr old can't even load it. 2nd I used a 1ft X 2ft target and it's a good thing because I covered it, no two short even close to the other at 50ft, I mean some of the shots were 10 inches apart with same site picture. I couldn't find my reciept so I called the 800# and they are emailing it to me so I can return it to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very satisfied

Date:September 4, 2012
i bought this stoeger x10 and the rapter 177 pellets and to my surprise the accuracy and power was better than my benjamin 22 pellet rifle.i sited the barrel sites and the scope within 15 pellets. i killed a squirrel faster than the squirrel knew he was dead.amazing power, the shot was at 45yrds. i recomend this and give it 5 stars
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than expected

Date:August 9, 2011
I've been shopping for an air rifle for months. Reading every review I can. It seems you can always find someone who loves it and someone who doesn't when reading reviews. And that you are never going to get everything you want in an air rifle. A friend has a Gamo and I had about decided on a Gamo also. But I decided to give the Stoeger X10 a try and I'm glad I did. I have only had it for about three weeks but so far it has exceeding my expectations. I first checked to make sure all the screws were tight. Then bought several different types of pellets that most reviews I read liked. Then I sighted in the scope and commenced to taking care of my pest problem. A lot of reviews said you had to shoot these guns a lot before they settled in. Not mine, after sighting it in I put 30 consecutive pellets inside a silver dollar sized spot at 25 yards. It is quieter than my friends Gamo. I like the stock, the scope, and the trigger is fine too. No complaints, yet. I have a safe full of guns and have hunted most of my 55 years so I am not new to guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:July 13, 2011
I’ve out over 500 pellets through the X-10, so it’s time for a review.
When I first got it, I took off the scope to check and regulate the iron sights. (I mean, fiber-optic sights.) They were very close to POA. A few clicks and they were right on. I shot several 15 yard groups that were dime-sized to quarter sized. Impressive. The fiber optic sights are quite nice. Very visible, precise and easy to use. So don’t be afraid to take off the scope and use ‘em. First 2 pellets I fired “dieseled.” But it settled right down.
I like the safety. It is easy to access, and it is positive. I have a friend who got a nasty wound from an air rifle, and I have an air rifle with a “safety” that only makes the trigger a little harder to pull, so I care about these things. And this is a good safety.
With the scope back on, I sighted it in at 25 yards. Using Crossman Premier hollow point pellets, I got consistent quarter-sized groups at 25 yards. At 40 yards, the drop was one and a half inches, and groups opened up significantly. Still, pretty darn good accuracy for the price.
I don’t have a Chronograph, but at 20 yards, there’s no discernable gap between the report of the rifle and the pellet hitting the target. At 25 yards, there’s a barely discernable gap. At 40 yards, the gap is apparent. Sounds fast to me, anyway.
I’m very pleased with the X-10. It’s a great value, especially at the current sale price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super value

Date:May 21, 2011
My X-10 combo was delivered yesterday, out of the box at 5 pm dead squirrel first shot at 5:05. Really struggled with which gun to buy, the reviews for all guns are all over the place. My typical MO is bigger (or more expensive) the better, but I kept going back to the adjustable sights on the X-10 since the X-20 did not have them. The reviews of the scope are scary, so I figured if the scope sucked I could go old school. I've only shot it once, but I am excited about giving it a real workout this weekend. The X-10 seemed to have the best ratings in the $125 to $200 dollar range. Still a little confused about the ammo differences. Shot my squirrel with the RWS HyperMax I ordered randomly. I was expecting more bang with all the supersonic stuff I read, maybe as it breaks in it will change. It would be nice to have a shoulder sling to carry it since it is fairly heavy. I'm buying some Loctite today and tightening all the scope screws. So far it looks like the bird feeders are going to be filled far less often.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: calif.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun so far

Date:April 7, 2011
tried a gamo big cat first,shot all over place defective.have found that this rifle needs to have all screws and scope mounting tightened and loctite. used a gun sled to hoild and shoot. found better accuracey when laid on a sand bag. if you are having trouble with this problem,dont hold it tight in a gun vise or sled, I think there is too much vibration when held tight ,thus causing inaccuracey, I believe someone else wrote about htis accuracy problem and it solved mine. try diferent ammo to find out what works best. also clean,clean, clean the gun regularly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle,WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

X-10 is Spot-On

Date:October 25, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for in a breaker; good heft, excellent optics, reasonable trigger experience, and of course, consistant accuracy.
The scope mount screws were all loose and needed repeated tightening during sight-in. Eventually, all was tight and secure. Tried 4 or 5 different pellets; amazed at the difference in accuracy. Finished off sighting in with Predator Polymer tip, item GA - 224838. Nice tight group at 25 yards. The pellets sure look aggressive but have no idea if they perform any better than solid ones at these velocities.
I am very satisfied with this purchase, a good gun at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Geneva, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

She's a high-maintenance companion

Date:September 26, 2010
This is my first spring-piston air rifle. I selected this model based on the positive reviews here on Cabela's website. The following information will help you get the most out of this gun with the least amount of frustration:
1.) The construction quality is superior. Every physical detail of the gun is superb.
2.) As mentioned in several reviews, tighten ALL (i.e. 10 scope mounting screws before you shoot and periodically during use. This gun jumps a LOT so you really have to keep checking all of the mounting hardware to ensure it's snug.
3.) Periodically tighten ALL of the screws attaching the stock to the shooting mechanism (i.e., two in the forearm and one at the back of the trigger guard. You will notice a significant decline in performance if you don't.
4.) Don't mess with any ammo except Beeman Kodiaks. I have tried all sorts of GAMO (inconsistent), RWS (too big), Crosman (inconsistent), Crosman Premier (too big), Beeman H&N Match (?? too light??). The only ammo that has given me consistent patterns is the Beeman Kodiak. The rounds are consistently sized and the weight is right for this gun.
5.) Use the artillery hold. You can find videos and images of this hold on the internet. You will not get decent patterns if you don't.
6.) Use a pellet trap with some duct sealant in the back to catch the pellets. I got a GAMO conical backyard trap which included 100 targets for around $15 and stuffed three pounds of duct sealant (about $2 per pound at all the major home improvement stores) in the back of it and it works great. The trap holds the targets, is quiet with the sealant in place, and the pellets only go about 1/2" into the sealant. This gun is powerful. It will eat up your trap if you don't use the duct sealant.
If you do all of these things, you'll really enjoy this gun. I know I have so far. Can't wait to unleash it on a few red fox squirrels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Beach, OR
Age: 46-55
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:September 25, 2010
I puchased the X10 to replace my 20 year old Benjamin blue streak. The difference in velocity is amazing! At thirty yards it easily puts crossman hollow point pellets through half inch marine plywood. The trigger pull is very smooth and after dailing in the scope to my liking, it is very consistant and accurate. Even with alloy pellets it is not as loud as a .22 short. For the money I can't see what more you could ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: VT & MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Close, but no cigar

Date:August 27, 2010
I shopped around for my first spring piston air rifle for quite a while. I have a Stoeger rifle scope that has served very well for years, even falling off a 4' ledge (with rifle attached) and still kept it's zero. I chose the Stoeger X-10 because it has an adjustable trigger, open sights (for night hunting bullfrogs) and great reviews. I feel like I got a lone bad rifle, but this is my experience.
The rifle looked great right out of the box. I cleaned it, tightened all the screws and the scope and fired nearly 100 rounds through it, with a few cleanings between, just to work it in. My first impression was, wow, what a cool looking piece. After the first 100 shots, though, I noticed that the balance wasn't very good and it is heavier than many of my .22 rifles. The sound wasn't too bad, but it was louder than I expected. The spring piston action also takes a but of getting used to.
Using a rest to sight it in, I first removed the scope and adjusted in the open sights, for night frog hunting. I then attached the scope and zero'd it in. I got mostly 1" groups at 20 yards with the scope from a rest. That's the best it did with the several different pellets I tried, including match pellets. I did shoot a ground squirrel at about 25 yards and it tumbled like a stone. It definitely will take them if you hit them right.
My Issue was, the trigger pull left a lot to be desired. I followed the instructions to adjust it, but no matter which way I turned the screw, or how much, the trigger pull didn't change. (I shoot bench rest and know how to adjust a trigger). Unfortunately, my Stoeger was defective.
Fortunately, Cabelas came through with their usual award winning service. They took back the rifle and even credited me for the pellets used.
I decided to wait and try one of the gas piston rifles, when more reviews come in. I know many have been happy with this rifle, and Stoeger has a great reputation in my eyes, but I just can't recommend this rifle. Perhaps I just don't care for the spring piston (although I really want to), or am too picky about small stuff, but for my money, I'd buy a .22 rifle. But then again, I live in the country and can shoot it in my back yard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stoeger X-10 Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

at this price point this is a good deal

Date:August 23, 2010
I haven't shot for years. Had a few rats show up by my bird feeder. I decided to try a springer with scope because I live in an urban area( and they look really cool). The guy said the people who buy these seem really happy with them so I got one. Yes the scope was loose, yes it was loud for the first shots, yes there was a bit of trigger pull. These all resolve quickly and after 200 or so shots you get really used to it's big gun feel and your groups get very respectable as you sight it in. The trigger will even lighten up a bit. This is not a toy. Mine will go thru an inch of phone book and has gone thru and thru the 3 rats and 2 mice that thought my feeder was for everyone. I have 2 pellets for it. Beeman pointed lead and Gamo Raptors(blue tip). OH YEA there's a difference. The Raptors sound much faster and a bit louder. I think I get better groups with the Beemans,(less than one inch at 20 yards) but I don't shoot as many of the Raptors because of the cost. Either one are completely devestating to varmits at 20 yards, and both fit perfectly with great repeatability. Gamo has a better can. This gun made plinking fun again and has completely resolved my varmit issue. I love mine and it surprised me how well it is made and works at a price like this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 26